Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farting..

• 07-04-2008 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭

Who exactly do you fart in front of.

friends, family, work colleagues, oh, strangers?

Come again?
    It is physically impossible for a female of the species to produce noxious odors.
    Women simply don't fart.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

It takes the Y chomosome to fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭JackieO

Personally, I save it for the bathroom. Would not do it in front of anyone as I think its extremely bad manners.

Was visiting a friend a couple of weeks ago and her husband kept doing it in front of the both of us. I was disgusted at him and shocked that she didn't even comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Come again?
    It is physically impossible for a female of the species to produce noxious odors.
    Women simply don't fart.

This is because women don;t shut up long enough to build up the required pressure.

I fart in front of whoever's present. Why discriminate?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I farted in the privacy of my bedroom last night. My god it was rotten, Anyhow it was a lingerer and when Mr Quality arrived up the stairs he was nearly knocked out by the smell....

He looked at me in disgust..

I couldn't help it... I didnt think it would be that bad.. And stay there that long, or that he would come up to me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    This is because women don;t shut up long enough to build up the required pressure.
    :D:D

I may do it in front of male mates. In front of a woman never. A deliberate fart from a woman and it would be a bye bye offence. Near enough anyway. A big no no for me.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Quality wrote: »
    I farted in the privacy of my bedroom last night. My god it was rotten, Anyhow it was a lingerer and when Mr Quality arrived up the stairs he was nearly knocked out by the smell....

I couldn't help it... I didnt think it would be that bad.. And stay there that long, or that he would come up to me.

*applauds* :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Only in front of the missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Quality it's a woman's perogative to say "It was the cat" ...... even if you don't have a cat ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Classy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

JackieO wrote: »
    Was visiting a friend a couple of weeks ago and her husband kept doing it in front of the both of us. I was disgusted at him and shocked that she didn't even comment.
    Oh what a pig...

Yeah, my mate's sister does it constantly in a room full of people - god help you if you sit next to her. Silent maybe, but fuppin' deadly. It's disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

Legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

now i think this thread is quality :D lol LL is legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

I would break win in front of my two best mates as they would pay me the same respect and in front of the Mr Jules, i would be very embarrassed about it though and i would apologise. Mr Jules on the other hand farts where he wants and actually announces it to the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

JackieO wrote: »
    Personally, I save it for the bathroom. Would not do it in front of anyone as I think its extremely bad manners.

Jaysus, it's only a fart. What's so offensive about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

In front of everyone. I'm quite childish when it come to farts.
    I love them.
    The best one I had, I dropped in a ski gondolier after a weeks boozing. Hailarous stuff. Rotten mind you. What was even better - I was the only one pressed up against the (open able) window, so I'd all the fresh air I needed.
    The lads appreciated it, but there was another couple in there. I swear to god, if she could have, the woman would have stabbed me to death with her ski pole. I've never had such a venomous look in my life. I can safely say she hated me.

Deadly though.

Drift wrote: »
    Quality it's a woman's perogative to say "It was the cat" ...... even if you don't have a cat ;)

I blame the chicken sizzler I had for dinner...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

In front of oh and family. Let one go in the back garden last week, the neighbours back door was open so I think she heard it LOUD and clear. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Oh how I laughed when I read that Quality! Well I never fart in front of himself or strangers. I grew up with a family that allowed their ill winds grow free, not forceably now - but nevertheless let it go, and on occasion had a giggle at it. I avoid it, but the family environment removes the drop-dead embaressment for me.
    barbiegirl wrote: »
    Let one go in the back garden last week, the neighbours back door was open so I think she heard it LOUD and clear. :-)

Ach.. my sides are killing me from laughing at you two! :D

Being in my own home alone is another exception to the rule, but I generally take it to the bathroom. Rule of thumb for me is (thank god this is anon) there is usually something.. erm not to far behind! so its worth the bathroom visit.

I'm chronically afraid of farting or having to no.2 in any public toilet too. I think I would pass out with the embarressment if someone walked in say 'jaysus whats that smell'. You have to come out sometime! :eek:
    Drift wrote: »
    I have a cat, and that is a gold nugget piece of advice should one accidentally slip! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Legal

i too shall be seeking LEGAL ADVICE on this serious issue :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

bops wrote: »
    i too shall be seeking LEGAL ADVICE on this serious issue :mad:

Yeah, it's LEGAL advice you need bops ;)

Holla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Is anyone LEGALLY responsible for the information here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

In my experience female farts are akin to UFO's; I've never seen/heard one(possibly smelled one but no evidence) and many strange people report them hanging in the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I don't see the big deal in girls farting. We all have the same digestive systems you know, be it male or female.

My friend, when discussing this, always says, better an empty house than a bad lodger! I like this advice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

personally, i do it pretty much anywhere it comes out, unless of course its a very quiet or close-contact situation, in which case i will attempt to suppress it to make a little less noise. tbh (i'm sure you all really want to hear this, lol) i actually fart quite a lot, but in 95% of situations its silent, and has no/very little smell, so its not really something i worry about. a quick 'excuse me' will suffice if it ends up being heard by others, its a natural bodily function and hardly something to be mortified about.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I generally try to keep it a private affair but the last time my bf stayed over, I was having a particularly 'windy' day but tried my best to hold it in when he was there (while I was awake that is) woke in the morning to a very horrified looking bf :o guess I had a busy night lol

xzanti wrote: »
    I generally try to keep it a private affair but the last time my bf stayed over, I was having a particularly 'windy' day but tried my best to hold it in when he was there (while I was awake that is) woke in the morning to a very horrified looking bf :o guess I had a busy night lol

I know that feeling of trying to keep the covers held tight down!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 TradLad

Dont do it myself in front of anyone but the missus but I think when its heralded with "ah good arse" then it becomes ignorant! Woman+Fart on purpose= Bye Bye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭DubLegs

I'm generally a windy person from a hugely windy family. I grew up with be able to freely do it at home without embarassment, better out than in! Seriously everyone does it - i will argue with anyone that says they don't.
    i do it infront of OH when needs must, he's not extremely fond of it but over the years now accepts it and gives as good as he gets.
    In saying the above, i tend to clench in public situations and esp around his folks as i know the general consenus is that its not a particularly nice thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

sorry to have to bring this up....but what are the opinions about the other type of fart:o

what a fanny fart.... Or a shi-art....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

yeah, the queef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

my mate is by far the worst, he actually made his girlfriend vomit one evening.
    Priceless :D

There is nothing worse than being in a pub or club and getting the whiff of a fart and some gob ****e, standing there with a pint of Guinness in his hands laughing and smirking with his mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭loopyloulou

Im in a new relationship (3 months) and he hasnt farted in front of me yet so therefore im very conscious of not farting in front of him. Now add to the fact that ive had some lower intestinal problems for the last while im very windy to put it mildly, so im guaranteed not to get ANY sleep at least 2-3 nights a week cos im trying to hold them in in bed...god damn it!!! Man being a lady is hard and tiring work :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Are we talking fanny farts or regular farts here. if so there's a time and a place for both. I would say the fanny variety be kept to the privacy of one's own chambers or perhaps the bathroom.

For the latter variety, well I think it's more the company you're in. Like if it's family/friends/partner, then bombs away 24/7, but if you're at an interview for a new job or meeting the in laws for the first time, then I think it's probably best to hold er in now and squeeze er out later... imo of course

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

I dont like the word fart. I always associated the drunk on the street as that ''drunken old fart'' so when I let one free I always use the term ''Bum Burp'' ahhhhhhhh :D

ianmc38 wrote: »
    Are we talking fanny farts or regular farts here. if so there's a time and a place for both. I would say the fanny variety be kept to the privacy of one's own chambers or perhaps the bathroom.

Whats wrong with the kitchen table.....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Zulu wrote: »
    In front of everyone. I'm quite childish when it come to farts.
    I love them.
    The best one I had, I dropped in a ski gondolier after a weeks boozing. Hailarous stuff. Rotten mind you. What was even better - I was the only one pressed up against the (open able) window, so I'd all the fresh air I needed.
    The lads appreciated it, but there was another couple in there. I swear to god, if she could have, the woman would have stabbed me to death with her ski pole. I've never had such a venomous look in my life. I can safely say she hated me.

Deadly though.

ROFL!!!!!:D:D:D:D

Only in front of Mr. Foxtrot - no-one else. Same for him in my company. Although if he did the 'stuff your head under the duvet' trick divorce would deffo be on the cards. He's rotten, so I need an escape route if it all gets to much:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I was romantically engaged with a rather burly female in a car some time ago, and after treating her to a good solid meal, was, erm, with the hand on the molten one, as they say.

Anyways,totally without warning while she was "breathin hard" she unloaded a bazooka of Three Mile Island proportions and ,swear to God, the tights rippled with the aftershock:eek:

I was almost too far gone to notice but nothing was said,but after firing the porridge,it came back to me and I must say could not recover any romantic feelings for the lass.

Let that be a warning girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Very apt tag there Bant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

I generally hold them in, and Im seriously shy about doing it in the OH house, so I get pains, and sometimes I have to let one out in front of the OH. He finds it funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

My mam judges the seriousness of relationships in general by whether you can fart in front of the person or not. Everytime she hears of a new fella of mine she asks me "Well, do ye fart in front of eachother yet?"

I wouldn't do it in front of my friends an OH on purpose, but I'd certainly slip into the bathroom to get rid of it rather than holding onto it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭wandering_star

eo980 wrote: »
    Only in front of the missus.

Now that's true love.

Only when I'm made laugh a lot, first I laugh, then I cry laughing, then I can't breath laughing, then if I'm pushed that far, I fart and it sounds like one of those muppet characters noses letting out a short honk.

Usually the OH is the culprit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

I would seriously consider dumping a girl if she let one rip around me. Girl farts are unnatural

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    I would seriously consider dumping a girl if she let one rip around me. Girl farts are unnatural

bet you'd fart in front of her though! hypocrite:D

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

bet you'd fart in front of her though! hypocrite:D

Dead on DF!!!! Boys think that they are the only ones that have a frikkin bowel & digestive system.

FFS lads wake up. it happens, we all do it. we all have to do it. Why do you wind a baby after its bottle?? Cause they just might get an ikkle pain in the tum tum if they dont release the gas. Same for adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Epitah of a girl who held in her farts:
    "Let your wind blow free,
    where ever you may be,
    because I held back,
    look what happened to me"

Seriously, I personally couldn't give a sh... er... couldn't care less if a girl farted in front of me, it's natural, and it's something that people can't exactly do anything about.

Sound the trumpets girls! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

I used to know this couple that seemed to get great pleasure in farting in front of one another. They took great pleasure in sharing this strange pastime with there mutual friends. One day they called around a told me and my OH that sometimes in the morning (They were laughing so much they could hardly finish their amusing story!?) if their OH was still asleep they crouch over them and fart in their face!!! :eek:

Needless to say they have split up!! Thank god….

There a limit to most things! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭lazernuts

that sounds like my relationship. We've no problem farting next to each other. What's the big deal!

..A tip for the bedroom - Leave one go under the duvet and all you need to do is kick up the end of the duvet with your foot, and the vacuum it creates sucks it safely away out of nasal range.