Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cottage Cheese

• 06-04-2008 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭

Tried to eat some cottage cheese today YUK !!! Definatley can not see myself eating it on its own. So what do you guys eat it with ?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I like it, I have it with dark ryvita.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye tried it before, just couldn't stomach it at all. however I don't eat cheese anyway so. eh

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

No cheese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

yep no cheese at all, I don't even eat pizza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mack1

Tesco do one with onions and chives in it and its pretty good.

mack1 wrote: »

That one makes me want to wretch, the onion is too lumpy.
    Polish food shops have cottage cheese pots with fruit puree on the side to mix through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I don't think I've ever tasted anything more repulsive to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Last time I tried cottage cheese was probably 15 years ago and I remember it being nasty nasty stuff. Put me off it for life. :D And I'll eat nearly anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I eat it with peanut butter or cashew butter; I blend it with vanilla whey; I eat it with pineapple chunks through it; I eat it with tuna or I just eat it on its own tbh, I quite like the taste of it. It tends to be an acquired taste, and I think the texture is what puts most people off, but if ou can get over cottage cheese really is a very, very good food to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

My o/h mixed strawberry jam with it last night and said that it wasnt that bad ! il try some of your suggestions thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

Cottage cheese good when mixed with:
    Whey (particularly strawberry) and peanut butter mixed together
    Tuna
    Salmon
    Green pesto and used as a sauce
    As a dressing for a burger

Another one I do is get a baked potato skin and fill it with cottage cheese, spinach and salmon.

OP - I would agree cottage cheese is rank on its own, but its so versitile and it tastes delicious with a lot of things. You really just have to experiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I like it with brown bread toasted and some all-purpose seasoning on it.

Have also start using it instead of mayo in mixed salads that I use for sambos. Red Onion, hard-bolied eggs, tuna, sweetcorn. cottage cheese, maybe some seasoning and black pepper then mix the sh*t out of it... tasty and the CC really adds to it I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Ipso Facto cottage cheese is absolutely disgustin!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

mack1 wrote: »

With smoked salmon - and if your not dieting a bagel :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Pour 1/3 of a pint of boiling water into a jug. Sprinkle in some sugar-free jelly and stir to dissolve.
    Put a tub of cottage cheese into the blender with the same amount of water.
    Blend on high for a couple of minutes, until it is smooth.
    Add in the sugarfree jelly and a tray of ice-cubes.
    Blend until it is fluffy.
    Chill and eat.

Absolutely no taste of cottage cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

EileenG wrote: »
    Pour 1/3 of a pint of boiling water into a jug. Sprinkle in some sugar-free jelly and stir to dissolve.
    Chill and eat.

:eek::eek::eek:

What does it taste of though Eileen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

I love the cottage cheese with chives - yum yum. Don't like anything sweet added, though I do like pineapple. Usually have cottage cheese in a salad with lots of lettuce, cucumber, grated carrot and beetroot :) mmm

Cottage cheese can be used as a substitute for the 'white sauce' layer in lasagne too. So for a nice veg. lasagne use the cottage cheese, whole wheat pasta sheets and lots of veg. including different beans etc. Really yummy :) Freeze in portions and very handy for a quick dinner!

Moonbaby wrote: »
    What does it taste of though Eileen?

Depends what flavour jelly you used. Sort of a creamy jelly pudding. It's nice, my children eat it happily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I put it on grilled chicken and omelettes, sometimes spuds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

EileenG wrote:
    Chill and eat.

I have had a similar thing, it was Philadelphia (similar enough to cottage cheese) with lemon jelly on a biscuit base to make lemon cheese-cake. Was lovely.

Depends what flavour jelly you used. Sort of a creamy jelly pudding. It's nice, my children eat it happily.

That sounds similar to Kisel...which I love....I think I'll give that a go. Thanks Eileen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Moonbaby wrote: »

Thanks very much, some great ideas there.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭DéiseGirl

After reading this thread I went out and bought a tub of cottage cheese. I hadn't eaten it in years so I couldn't remember what it tasted like. I wolfed down the whole tub :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

I think cottage cheese grand, nice on a Jacobs cream cracker. Can't believe its high protei/low fat, it looks like it's swimming in fat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭lg123

i mix a sachet of options in with one pot of cottage cheese, orange is my favorite. it totally covers the taste of cottage cheese, and only 33 kcal per sachet. how gay does that sound!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Dirk_Diggler

Cottage cheese, strawberry whey and peanut butter...how much of each are we looking at? Full scoop of whey? How much of the other two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

I have it with any sort of jam.

Aldi do one with pineapple chunks too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Hanley wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever tasted anything more repulsive to be honest.

I bought it once to try it after seeing it recommended here. Took one spoonful and threw the tub in the bin. Vile tasting crud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Chill and eat.

I tried this tonight....just waiting on it to set. It smells absolutely lovely. I wasn't arsed coming upstairs to read the correct way to do it, so I did this:

Make sugar free jelly liquid as normal. Pour into blender. Add cottage cheese + 2 crushed candarel (to sweeten the cottage cheese / keep the sweetness level of the jelly). Blend.

There was a lot of fluff on the top, so I put it in a wide, but not deep bowl. Might take a pic if I'm un-lazy later.

pvt.joker wrote: »
    Vile tasting crud.

They're not all the same btw. Some are much nicer than others. Can you remember which brand you got?

I don't bother with extra sweetener, I find sugar-free jelly tends to be a bit sweeter than I want, I need to put plain yogurt or something on it to kill some of the excess sweetness.

Well....I had some. Savage gear. It is a bit sweeter than I'd like, but you live and you learn. It's got 3 layers to it. A top fluffly layer, a jelly layer and a kinda set yoghurty style layer.

Anyway...nyom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Man I've been looking for some night time snacks, must try this.

I've a good one for brekkie that I made up:

some museli
    some chopped fruit (banana and an apple works well)
    natural yoghurt
    cottage cheese

NYOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Went through a period of eating tubs of this daily. Then I upped my milk intake to several litres a day and, well, the results were....interesting.

Bathroom time was not a happy time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Tis a interesting mixture of a halfway house between a yoghurt and a cheese..
    Its great on pizza too :)

I mostly eat it these days with spinach leaf salads (spinach..plus whatever is fresh chopped up..chives..loads of tomatoes..beansprouts..whatevers in the fridge and chicken fillets..sprinkled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar ) nummy goodness..tastes like sin but got all the goodness within.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

OP, I don't eat anything I don't like the taste of. Healthy eating needn't be "no pain, no gain". there are lots of alternatives to cottage cheese. Tesco Low fat Fromage Frais is actually lower in Cals with just as much protein and a lot less heavy on the ol' gag reflex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bob04

I find it very tasty with Pineapple

At first, i used to hold my nose and eat it, it was terrible

Then i tried it with pineapple, and that all changed, its actaully really tasty now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

I never realised cottage cheese was so good for you. I've never tasted it but I must try it out. I suppose food is just fuel at the end of the day, just gotta get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Khannie wrote: »
    Might take a pic if I'm un-lazy later.

And where is the pic sir??? :D

I had tried cottage cheese once or twice in the past and thought it was rotten stuff. When I was in poland the missus gave it to me on kaiser buns and it was fecking gorgeous. I must go to a polish shop tomorrow and get some and have it on said buns tomorrow.

And where is the pic sir??? :D

Tadaaaaa......

edit: Damn, that's a really bad photo. It's all I have though. It's eaten now. :)

desertwx4.jpg
    w1206.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

That looks a lot like angel delight Khannie (and I chose to believe it would taste like it too)

It's not that much like angel delight. Well....maybe a bit. Worth trying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Cottage cheese works well on corn flour porridge :o

With a bit of sour cream too yum yum

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

deep fried cottage cheese in matar paneer, YUM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Spider_Piglet

...could this thread be the reason why I haven't been able to find cottage cheese in any of the local shops for the past few weeks...? :)
    None in Dunnes, Tescos or the 2 local Centras.

I frickin' LOVE the stuff!
    Next time I find some I'll be stocking up before all you boardsies buy it all :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Prezatch

Sorry to resurrect an old thread but what brand of cottage cheese do people go for? I'm going to take the plunge and try some...with some water at hand to wash it down should I need to

I get the lidls one. It's cheap as chips (65c a tub, which works out at around 3c per gram of protein....I keep meaning to do a gram for gram price comparisson of various protein sources). The yoplait one is slightly nicer IMO. I've only tried 3 varieties: Yoplait (nicest, but not by much), Lidls normal one (blander, but nicer texture) and lidls low fat one (just grand, tastes a tiny bit salty).

IMO it's ok on ryvita, but my preferred ways of using it are with jelly (see recipes thread), in pancakes (same thread), or mixed with natural yoghurt and museli / fruit (nyom).