Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uninsured untaxed polish driver crashed into my dads car - write off.

• 05-04-2008 3:27pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭

Oh yeah, no drivers licence either.

This has me so pissed off. Nice car and all, 2005 audi a4.

So what exactly will happen to the polish guy? Will he be fined? Jailed? Both I hope. It was a lovely feckin car:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Probably nothing, he'll vanish like a fart in the wind

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

Feck. I want to shake the guy by the head and ask him what the shyte he was thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

yup. Loada sheeeiite. He should be locked up. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

What did the garda say will happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Deport him obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Polish guys response i no speak english,
    why oh why did the iron curtain have to fall
    our country is riddled like a terminally ill cancer patient with these fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

sickpuppy wrote: »

...Infraction. Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Well your dad will get his compo from the Motor Insurance Board or whatever they're called. They're there for that reason. At least nobody was hurt. If they catch the guy he will probably pick up a sizeable fine and a driving ban. Jail time is probably out of the question unless he gets done for dangerous driving as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Will your dad's insurance pay for the damage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

"As it stands, foreign nationals using our roads enjoy all the rights of Irish nationals, but escape many of the responsibilities. So we end up blaming them for chaos on the roads, but the government sits on its hands and does nothing to level the playing field. There is anecdotal evidence that many eastern Europeans are driving without tax or insurance and generally behaving recklessly. Why? Because they have little fear of effective punishment if caught by the gardai. The problem here is that foreign drivers do not pick up penalty points for offences committed in the republic. Fines and disqualification can be applied, depending on the circumstances, but the potential accumulation of points is supposed to be the deterrent to bad driving. It’s a two-tier system that works against the Irish driver and is patently unfair. "
    - Matt Cooper, "The Sunday Times"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Yeah damn them and their help in keeping our economy afloat, damn them all to hell.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

RasTa wrote: »
    Deport him obviously.

I don't think you can deport EU citizens that easily. I think there is a EU directive only allowing serious criminals to be deported.

The guy is lucky his dad was not killed.
    By a guy who should not be on the road cars can be repalces siblings cannot.
    Keeping economy afloat my hole if dragging down wages and getting paid in cash is keeping it a float then there doinga good job

Sigh! I can see where this is going

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

The Guards took the polish guy and his panic-stricken girlfriend away in the patrol car. Dunno what happened to them after that, probably not going to find out. Their car was a write off too. My dad was grand thank feck.

And if the guy gets a driving ban, do you think that's gonna work? No way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

RasTa wrote: »
    Deport him obviously.

i can never understand the mentality of the government when a foreigner commits a crime here. get rid of them, and don't let them back. problem solved. in the case the OP brought up, someone could have been killed... but it's likely the polish guy will just face a few minor charges and pay a big fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ok, I predict two extremes:

"Damn Polish people" - already demonstrated. Because of course Irish people are incapable of driving without insurance, and one Polish person doing it means all Polish people should be held accountable.

"You people are so racist" - when there are complaints about those driving without insurance and tax (because the driver in this case happens to be Polish, but that's beside the point - driving without insurance is criminal no matter where you're from).

In order to prevent this thread descending into absolute farce (like the Irish language one) let's avoid the above two scenarios and discuss:
    (a) The pitfalls of driving without insurance, a licence, tax
    (b) Deportation issues/the fact that non Irish cars are exempt from certain traffic laws (but blame the government, NOT the foreign nationals who bring their cars over here).

Moronic comments tarring an entire nation because of the behaviour of a minority (like, for example, the Roma thread) won't be tolerated.

Yawn. The majority of Polish people are bloody hard workers - and don't command high wages. Something certain employers are only too happy to exploit. Thousands of Polish people are paying rent in this country too - when they go home there'll be a lot of vacant rooms in Celtic Tiger apartments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pheonix Ski

Its all that crazy polish vodka they drink!

There is a sizeable portion of foreign drivers giving a two finger salute to the laws of the land.
    Insurance is expensive compared to there home country no doubt but its no excuse.
    While the majority are hard working law abiding citizens there is a large minority who really couldnt give a toss .
    Even if they get caught no insurance tax etc what happens afine?
    car confiscated ? they mostlt drive old bangers so taking the car dose not
    affect them much.
    No politcian will say we have problems with immigrants because there afraid
    of the big r word racism.
    Any foreign national should be immdeiatley shipped out and banned from coming back for serious crimes like this.
    There was huge vigil and quite rightly so for the two polish guys who were killed in drimnagh would there be the same for 2 irish guys killed by drunk or uninsured foreign driver?
    of course not

would there be the same for 2 irish guys killed by drunk or uninsured foreign driver?
    of course not

How do you know? You could have given me that crystal ball before the Grand National

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

There is a sizeable portion of foreign drivers giving a two finger salute to the laws of the land.
    Insurance is expensive compared to there home country no doubt but its no excuse.
    While the majority are hard working law abiding citizens there is a large minority who really couldnt give a toss .
    Even if they get caught no insurance tax etc what happens afine?
    car confiscated ? they mostlt drive old bangers so taking the car dose not
    affect them much.

You could say all that about Irish people or people of any nationality so stop singling one out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Lenina

I am not Polish, but this was a very, very offensive and xenophobic comment. Most Polish people speak English (and if they don't in some cases, an interpreter should be present) and obey your legislation. I don't get why it was necessary to emphasize the nationality of the unisured driver.

Anyway, the Irish are those responsible for most accidents in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Lenina wrote: »

As the Poles are in Poland or the Americans in America.

Lenina wrote: »

You kind of lost any validity when you said that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Lenina

Silly, I admit, I was very irritated by some remarks about Polish and other Central and Eastern European people. It is extremely unfair to judge all people by a few bad examples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Ekancone

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Yeah damn them and their help in keeping our economy afloat, damn them all to hell.:rolleyes:

Welcome to three years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Out of curiosity, can a foreign driver get penalty points here? And if they do and are subsequently banned from driving here, there's nothing stopping them driving back home, right?

Polish drivers aren't a problem here, as I've said previously, the overwhelming majority of Polish (both male and female) are 100% safer than the overwhelming majority of Irish women on our roads, as their driving tests are much more difficult than the ones here.

I don't see why mentioning their nationality should make an difference though, they're idiots regardless and deserve to be punished. There's many Irish people driving here without a licence or insurance and it could have just as easily been one of them that hit into the OPs dads car.

There are a huge amount of crazy foreign drivers on our roads though, just drive on any of the motorways between Dublin and Cork and you'll see that, but they're not the Polish ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

What has him being Polish got to do with it?

As soon as you bring race/nationality into it, you make any real argument you might have sound like a whole pile of ignorant drivel.

Call the guy a scumbag, asshole, ****face whatever, but him being Polish had nothing to do with it. Are you even sure he is Polish? Or are you one of those people who just hears an Eastern European accent and assumes the person to be Polish.

There are a lot of Irish scumbags joyriding around the place with no tax/insurance killing people and nothing is done about them either.

Yes, there are a lot of loopholes in the law, and the application of the law surrounding driving offences that non-nationals can take advantage of (take the border counties for example, where a common complaint is drivers from Northern Ireland not giving a toss about Irish penalty points etc).

But the guy is just one guy, who, regardless of his nationality, decided to be irresponsible which has resulted in this mess. Give him a slap, call him an asshole, bring to court for everything he owns, but do not insult a nation and its citizens in such a moronic way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Collie D wrote: »
    Well your dad will get his compo from the Motor Insurance Board or whatever they're called. They're there for that reason.

The Motor Insurers Bureau Ireland - and it is not 100% confirmed the OP father will be able to claim from the MIBI for the damages.

MIBI Claims against Uninsured

Property Damage Claims:

It is not always possible to claim compensation for vehicle or property damage under the MIBI compensation scheme. Where the offending vehicle is not identified there is no provision in the MIBI Agreements to recover losses for vehicle or property damage. Therefore, in order to establish a right to recover for damage to your car or other property you must be able to identify the vehicle which caused the damage by means of a valid registration plate.

The important part for the OP's father is this bit

Where the damaged vehicle is comprehensively insured or the damaged property is covered under a policy of insurance, the Agreement stipulates that the claim must be dealt with by the insurer of the vehicle or property.

however it is not all bad news.

There is a Protocol in place between MIBI and all companies writing motor insurance here which guarantees protection of the No Claims Bonus where the comprehensive insurer compensates the policyholder on behalf of MIBI. This Protocol ensures a speedy resolution of the claim and avoids delay in having the vehicle repaired.

rb_ie wrote: »
    Polish drivers aren't a problem here, as I've said previously, the overwhelming majority of Polish (both male and female) are 100% safer than the overwhelming majority of Irish women on our roads, as their driving tests are much more difficult than the ones here.

I don't see why mentioning their nationality should make an difference though,

So it's OK to comment on their gender but not their nationality?

Do statistics not point out that men cause more accidents?

I really hate the whole "I'm a great driver and everyone else is wrong" mentality - this is the main reason behind our high road deaths toll IMO

Profiler wrote: »
    The Motor Insurers Bureau Ireland - and it is not 100% confirmed the OP father will be able to claim from the MIBI for the damages.

MIBI Claims against Uninsured

Property Damage Claims:

It is not always possible to claim compensation for vehicle or property damage under the MIBI compensation scheme. Where the offending vehicle is not identified there is no provision in the MIBI Agreements to recover losses for vehicle or property damage. Therefore, in order to establish a right to recover for damage to your car or other property you must be able to identify the vehicle which caused the damage by means of a valid registration plate.

The important part for the OP's father is this bit

Where the damaged vehicle is comprehensively insured or the damaged property is covered under a policy of insurance, the Agreement stipulates that the claim must be dealt with by the insurer of the vehicle or property.

however it is not all bad news.

There is a Protocol in place between MIBI and all companies writing motor insurance here which guarantees protection of the No Claims Bonus where the comprehensive insurer compensates the policyholder on behalf of MIBI. This Protocol ensures a speedy resolution of the claim and avoids delay in having the vehicle repaired.

Well he said the guy was arrested so I assume his car was easily identifiable

So it's OK to comment on their gender but not their nationality?

Do statistics not point out that men cause more accidents?

I really hate the whole "I'm a great driver and everyone else is wrong" mentality - this is the main reason behind our high road deaths toll IMO
    Afaik, men cause less crashes but cause more damage, but women have more "fender benders".

Young guys just have a problem with speed, and that's certainly a huge problem, women in general though just can't drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Out of curiosity, can a foreign driver get penalty points here? And if they do and are subsequently banned from driving here, there's nothing stopping them driving back home, right?

I don't see why mentioning their nationality should make an difference though, they're idiots regardless and deserve to be punished. There's many Irish people driving here without a licence or insurance and it could have just as easily been one of them that hit into the OPs dads car.

There are a huge amount of crazy foreign drivers on our roads though, just drive on any of the motorways between Dublin and Cork and you'll see that, but they're not the Polish ones.

Yeh but it did make a difference. The thread has descended into a race issue. And posters are making comments about the economy - wtf??
    If the OP has posted that it was an American who did this then we woudn't be discussing the economy, or terminally ill cancer patients - which by the way is a disgusting analogy. No if it was an American poeple wold probably be saying 'thick Yank!' :rolleyes:

Yeh but it did make a difference. The thread has descended into a race issue. And posters are making comments about the economy - wtf??
    If the OP has posted that it was an American who did this then we woudn't be discussing the economy, or terminally ill cancer patients - which by the way is a disgusting analogy. No if it was an American poeple wold probably be saying 'thick Yank!' :rolleyes:
    I meant difference to the situation. Of course it'll make a difference to an internet thread as it'll bring out racism in people where the situation wouldn't be an different regardless of the nationality.

dotsman wrote: »
    What has him being Polish got to do with it?

As soon as you bring race/nationality into it, you make any real argument you might have sound like a whole pile of ignorant drivel.
    Yep. OP I didn't really see the point in you mentioning the fact that the guy is Polish. He's a selfish, inconsiderate, careless prick - that's enough.
    But you have mentioned he's Polish so this might be a good opportunity to discuss those loopholes in traffic law that mean those who are driving non Irish cars can get away with certain things.
    But again, don't blame them for taking advantage. It's not their fault these loopholes exist. And it's not up to them to close them either.
    But the guy is just one guy, who, regardless of his nationality, decided to be irresponsible which has resulted in this mess. Give him a slap, call him an asshole, bring to court for everything he owns, but do not insult a nation and its citizens in such a moronic way.
    Quoted for emphasis.

women in general though just can't drive.
    Oh not that crap again. Where do you get it from?

Dudess wrote: »
    Oh not that crap again. Where do you get it from?
    Experience, unfortunately :(

Mods (Dudess and RB_ie) can we go back on topic please*!

* please don't ban me:D

Don't worry though Dudess, even though I think women can't drive, I think a massive amount of Irish people in general are sh1t at driving or at least can't follow the traffic laws properly.

For evidence of this, go down the m50 and have a look around you when you're in the areas designated to be 60km/ph, loads of people just speeding through well over 60 thinking they've somewhere important to be. F*cking morons, I hope the lot of them get killed in their cars and leave their children fatherless/motherless/etc. and their kids will be like "Mummy/Daddy (whichever ones alive, if either), what happened mummy/daddy" and they can be informed that their father/mother was a retard who shouldn't have been let breed and has now done society a favour by removing themselves from it.

[/rant]

F*cking morons...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭what_car

Jail the Muppett!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

So what exactly will happen to the polish guy? Will he be fined? Jailed? Both I hope.
    The Guards took the polish guy and his panic-stricken girlfriend away in the patrol car. Dunno what happened to them after that, probably not going to find out.

So..to sum up, we don't know what will or won't, did or didn't happen to the guy, but let's rant about 'the Poles' anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Well he said the guy was arrested so I assume his car was easily identifiable
    However if the OP father's car is comprehensively insured then he can not claim against the MIBI as you have said he could.

Re What Cars post - the thread is back on the racist route. Dudess can this be locked please?

Profiler wrote: »
    However if the OP father's car is comprehensively insured then he can not claim against the MIBI as you have said he could.
    Oh really? So what can be done?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

What happens when someone gets hit by an un-insured driver if it was the fault of the un-insured driver? Does the driver have to pay for the damage to the other car or what?

I thought myself that you could claim (if you were the one who was hit by an uninsured driver) against the MIBI, however Profiler now says if you've fully comp insurance you can't claim against the MIBI.

I would sincerely hope that the only way to get you car fixed isn't by claiming off your own insurance and therefore seeing your premium rise, surely there's an alternative?

what_car wrote: »
    Jail the Muppett!
    Which "Muppett" would that be? The person whom you quoted or the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Mods (Dudess and RB_ie) can we go back on topic please*!

* please don't ban me:D
    lols

It's up to the Gardai what happens tbh.

I thought myself that you could claim (if you were the one who was hit by an uninsured driver) against the MIBI, however Profiler now says if you've fully comp insurance you can't claim against the MIBI.

I would sincerely hope that the only way to get you car fixed isn't by claiming off your own insurance and therefore seeing your premium rise, surely there's an alternative?
    Yeah I can't see why being fully comp changes any thing when making a claim.