Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland narrow minded with fashion?

• 01-04-2008 11:47pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭

I remember when I was a kid I had long hair for a bit and used to get serious hassle in school over it until I threw in the towel and got the short back and sides shaved with that stupid little fringe thing that all kids had. It seems to be the same even for adults. I remember a mate from abroad was visiting me in Dublin and about 3 or 4 people commented on "the head on that" down the local because he had longish hair.
    I've noticed abroad that people can be a lot more expressive with the clothes they wear and hair etc. without getting any "stick" over it. I remember having youngfellas shouting at me for wearing shorts on a bus in summer LOL. I mean I always used to see kids in Dublin whether they be goth or emo or whatever, getting abuse and started on etc. by other kids with the usual tracksuit/short hair mullarkey. Why are so many people freaked out by something different? It's pretty sad really, it's a lot more colourful when you have all kinds of mad looking people about the place, everyone looks the same back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I remember when I was a kid I had long hair for a bit and used to get serious hassle in school over it until I threw in the towel and got the short back and sides shaved with that stupid little fringe thing that all kids had. It seems to be the same even for adults. I remember a mate from abroad was visiting me in Dublin and about 3 or 4 people commented on "the head on that" down the local because he had longish hair.
    I've noticed abroad that people can be a lot more expressive with the clothes they wear and hair etc. without getting any "stick" over it. I remember having youngfellas shouting at me for wearing shorts on a bus in summer LOL. I mean I always used to see kids in Dublin whether they be goth or emo or whatever, getting abuse and started on etc. by other kids with the usual tracksuit/short hair mullarkey. Why are so many people freaked out by something different? It's pretty sad really, it's a lot more colourful when you have all kinds of mad looking people about the place, everyone looks the same back home.

Ireland is narrow-minded full stop. We have a very conservative attitude and anyone who looks or acts different is someoen to be ridiculed. Someone asked in a different thread are we being Americanised? They have teenage quarebacks, we have u-18 hurling captains.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

without a doubt yes. becomes especially apparent when travelling. you can nearly always identify Irish by what they wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

The Irish are so plain looking, i lived abroad for a few months and let my hair grow and now im back and have long hair and a new style of clothing and everybody actually loves it.... i don't get stick over it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Long haired fella = Gay

**runs away laughing and pointing**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's so cool to hate ourselves these days, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

To be fair Ireland is very narrow minded in comparison to other countries. Over here no one gives a f*ck what you were and you aren't ridiculed based on your style.

Some days I'll wear boardies and a t-shirt and other days I'll wear jeans and a jersey. I don't feel as conscious about what other people think. Back home everyone from D4's to skangers is judging you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

Rather than listening to the opinions of your peers/friends/random strangers who no one gives a f*uk about, it sounds more like you have issues with self-esteem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Ireland is narrow minded. I was in London at the weekend, and everyone has there own sense of style. Its just cool. You could spot the irish a mile away with there sense of style from the 90's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Well, I'm overseas living in a university town and most everyone wears washed out and faded blacks, greys, and blues, sometimes at the same time. All very dull and boring indeed. If you wear something colourful, you really stand out. No, people tend to be polite and not comment, but you can feel odd sporting bright colours, even on a sunny warm day near the beach. There is so much subtle conformity here, in spite of the fact that students come from all over the world to study at this school. And no, it's not because they are poor at this university either and cannot afford new clothes, cause I roll my eyes at the expensive new vehicles that too many drive, obviously bought by their Da and Mum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Xavi6 wrote: »
    To be fair Ireland is very narrow minded in comparison to other countries. Over here no one gives a f*ck what you were and you aren't ridiculed based on your style.

Some days I'll wear boardies and a t-shirt and other days I'll wear jeans and a jersey. I don't feel as conscious about what other people think. Back home everyone from D4's to skangers is judging you.

Liar I got abuse for wearing a AFL jersey and shorts.

maybe I shouldn't have been wearing a Saints top in Perth.

I have rarely noticied people getting abuse for what they are wearing. I have heard people make a joke or something but I never thought of it as abuse just people having a laugh.

Only ever heard the lower classes (PC for knackers) giving stick on buses and stuff but sure they will do that about anything just because the are inscure little f**ks who want to look "mad" in fornt of there mates.

As for "D4 heads" I have have only ever heard them give the stick back to the kanckers.

Everybody knows that if you have long hair you are teh ghey. I think what makes this worse is that you let them get to you so much and got that effin stupid fringe!

One thing I'm always amazed about is the way people's attitudes have changed. Anyone remember the episode of the Simpson's where Homer wears a pink shirt to work and is sent to an insane asylum. And yet it has become somewhat acceptable to wear a pink shirt now (no, it's not Salmon, it's pink!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭gaf1983

In last Sunday's Sunday Times Rod Liddle mentioned a pretty shocking case of a teenage girl in England being beaten to death recently for dressing like a goth (well specifically for coming to the aid of her boyfriend who was dressed likewise and beaten up because of it) in this article:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/columnists/rod_liddle/article3646263.ece

Now while this is an extreme example of narrow-mindedness, you do get it in a lot of places, Ireland being no exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is Ireland, buy a new shirt. Get abuse. Wear a hat. Get abuse. Take off the hat. Get abuse for buckling to pear pressure.

Giving and taking abuse is all part and parcel of the Irish mentality.

There was a lad in town with a knitting pattern shaved into the side of his head. Even though I thought it was pretty cool I gave him awful abuse over it.

I have a daft looking beard and I get abuse for it but I counter by ridiculing myself more than anyone else can, thus canceling out the abuse. Fight fire with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

ScumLord wrote: »
    This is Ireland, buy a new shirt. Get abuse. Wear a hat. Get abuse. Take off the hat. Get abuse for buckling to pear pressure.

Giving and taking abuse is all part and parcel of the Irish mentality.

There was a lad in town with a knitting pattern shaved into the side of his head. Even though I thought it was pretty cool I gave him awful abuse over it.

I have a daft looking beard and I get abuse for it but I counter by ridiculing myself more than anyone else can, thus canceling out the abuse. Fight fire with fire.
    lol unkind but so true!

now i am glad i live in city!

*oh well dont compare others big cities to dublin....*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Only ever heard the lower classes (PC for knackers)

It's PC to call everyone in the working class knackers now?

who knew?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Cactus Col wrote: »
    It's PC to call everyone in the working class knackers now?

who knew?

Obviously you didn't because you're not educated....knacker. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

rb_ie wrote: »

Quoted for truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,182 ✭✭✭✭event

rb_ie wrote: »

and remember, this never happens anywhere else

sure there people have been abroad. it didnt happen to them, so therefore it happens no where is that country :rolleyes:

event wrote: »
    and remember, this never happens anywhere else

sure there people have been abroad. it didnt happen to them, so therefore it happens no where is that country :rolleyes:

no but it happens alot in ireland. More so than anywhere els i have lived tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

9/10 men wear jeans and a shirt out and i hate when i see guys wearing a jumper over the shirt and you can just see the shirt collar. lack of fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

9/10 men wear jeans and a shirt out and i hate when i see guys wearing a jumper over the shirt and you can just see the shirt collar. lack of fashion.
    But fashion is kind of narrowed down when your going out to a club,the bouncers can be dopes about what you wear. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

lack of fashion.

Lack of Fashion????? That's a great phrase - if completely redundant.

Maybe it's just something that's not to your taste.

Lack of fashion? What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Is it possible that the good folks in Fashion & Appearances may know more about it?

If its cool to hate ourselves, does that mean we're becoming a sort of quazi emo nation? Or is that what emo's do? Frickin new fangled groups :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

I don't think it's lack of fashion, but attack of the clones. I come back to Ireland just about every year with my wife who is American. Since our earliest trips she has made the same comment. People in Ireland dress well even for the most mundane of things like a little Saturday morning shopping unlike many Americans. But on the flip side they all look the same, particularly the men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The weather has a lot to do with fashion and lets face it ,winter is for covering up and staying warm .That's not to say one cant be fashionable.In my case i go for the warm heavey lumberjack type shirt that builders wear just for the comfort value but they (imo) look cool on anybody . When abroad in a warmer climate i like the knee lenght shorts with snazzy vest or shirt .Fashion is also a state of mind and what you feel comfortable in and give me a goth ,hippie, retro, indie ,jeans and shirt man , alternitive whatever over the -black tracksuited trainers teen hoodie style -anyday .It's like looking at a bunch of chinese concentration camp victims and it shows a complete lack of individual thinking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Kernel32 wrote: »
    I don't think it's lack of fashion, but attack of the clones. I come back to Ireland just about every year with my wife who is American. Since our earliest trips she has made the same comment. People in Ireland dress well even for the most mundane of things like a little Saturday morning shopping unlike many Americans. But on the flip side they all look the same, particularly the men.
    But what choice have we? T-shirt, shirt, jumper. Jeans, pants, shorts. Is it time to bring back the kilt? I think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

ScumLord wrote: »
    But what choice have we? T-shirt, shirt, jumper. Jeans, pants, shorts. Is it time to bring back the kilt? I think so.

I am no fashion expert myself. I have dressed the same way with the same haircut since I was 15, I'm in my 30's now. But I have to agree with my missus about there being a look of cloneness when we come to Ireland. A certain amount exists everywhere, particularly with teenagers. But in Ireland you see the same type of shoe on every girl and the same haircut on every guy, for the most part. And I have to say when I go back to Ireland I do feel more self conscious than here. In the summer here I wear shorts and sandals or runners every day. Yeah it's a bit warmer here but I am perfectly comfortable in Ireland wearing the same on a nice summers day. But when I do I feel more self conscious, I can't explain it, it must go back to growing up there and feeling like I should conform with the herd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It happens, my son is 10 and wanted to grow his hair long enough to spike it up like his fav cartoon char and he got hassled in school for not havign a shaved hiar cut but the other kids and when he was visiting relatives in wexford his lack of a hurlers head on him was commented by every one. It wasn't even that long a lil over an inch long over all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

Longer hair is a pain in the ass, that's why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

I was served recently by a married man who was over 40 and had short spiky hair so he must have thought he was 16 again.

Having seen so many tracksuits and runners plus the sovereign rings which i cant stand the sight of, as in one case when I was at a funeral and one part of the family turned up in tracksuits. They were teenagers with their child, so their parents were the mourners and they (the parents) didnt even notice of this standing out a mile but then again there are of a different culture, ie council estate uk so I felt that they should have properly dressed or stayed ed at home.

I prefer seeing a complete mix of styles.
    Have a look around harajuku. Its a complete mix. havent seen anything of it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

JavaBear wrote: »

so is getting hair cuts though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Kernel32 wrote: »
    I am no fashion expert myself. I have dressed the same way with the same haircut since I was 15, I'm in my 30's now. But I have to agree with my missus about there being a look of cloneness when we come to Ireland. A certain amount exists everywhere, particularly with teenagers. But in Ireland you see the same type of shoe on every girl and the same haircut on every guy, for the most part. And I have to say when I go back to Ireland I do feel more self conscious than here. In the summer here I wear shorts and sandals or runners every day. Yeah it's a bit warmer here but I am perfectly comfortable in Ireland wearing the same on a nice summers day. But when I do I feel more self conscious, I can't explain it, it must go back to growing up there and feeling like I should conform with the herd.

My sentiments indeed .I feel the same way to

To put it in another funny context i once a few years ago brought my slightly older brother bless him (who was not the most stylish of people ) a shirt as a gift .On opening it he said '' oh thanks er....what should i wear it to ? ''

I explained that the days of wearing your sunday best were over and you could wear this particular shirt on any day you so wished to at any event ,social or otherwise or not wear it at all , (except weddings and funerals of course ) your choice. But i also know people everywere have their own everyday comfort clothing wear and sense of fashion to . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Caring about fashion and appearance is one of the worst sins according to my new book:

The Bible: Davidius Edition

In all seriousness though I never really understood why anybody even cared about what they looked like. I don't care if it looks old, it has stains, doesn't go well with something or some other bull**** reason like that, it's comfortable so I'm going to wear it. Besides once they're on me I can't see them unless I make a point of doing so and thus I can't possibly be bothered by how it looks.

What's all the shíte about dressing in a certain style? Vain bastards the lot of ya! :pac:

On a more serious note, it's hard for people to be different when clothing shops are so incredibly constrictive in what they sell, and for the most part, people don't really have a choice. Now, I like to wear a nice shirt, but by jesus trying to find one that isn't some stripey, horrible looking thing that I wouldn't be caught dead in, that's nigh on impossible round here.
    JavaBear wrote: »

Nah, it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

On a more serious note, it's hard for people to be different when clothing shops are so incredibly constrictive in what they sell, and for the most part, people don't really have a choice. Now, I like to wear a nice shirt, but by jesus trying to find one that isn't some stripey, horrible looking thing that I wouldn't be caught dead in, that's nigh on impossible round here.

i was just going to say that. its hard to find something that isn't the same as everything else. and to drag up an old topic i started a few months ago: no jack and jones, i am not extra extra large, i'm 5'8" god damn it!!!

Nah, it's not.

It is if its growing out your ass.

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    i was just going to say that. its hard to find something that isn't the same as everything else. and to drag up an old topic i started a few months ago: no jack and jones, i am not extra extra large, i'm 5'8" god damn it!!!

I feel your pain, brother, I'm 6'1" and quite broad shouldered, just trying to get a jacket that can fit me is incredibly hard sometimes. I suppose it doesn't help that I do the odd bit of weightlifting as well.

I think I'm going to have to break into Ron Perlman's house at some stage, and steal his wardrobe. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I really want to know though.

Why do people care about what the clothes they wear look like when they don't even see themselves wearing them?

Self-esteem issues for all. =D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Wouldn't be overly concerned about fashion either mine or anyone else's however I don't think the Irish as a whole dress poorly. Now that's not to say that there isn't a certain level of sameness but at the same time I rather look similar to someone else than look differently but look like a gimp.

While over in America there recently I thought a lot of people didn't dress that well (we're talking Bermuda shirts and jeans shorts here). Now they weren't self concious about it but I wouldn't wear that cos I'd realise I'd look stupid. And it's not just Americans either over in Sweden recently I thought that they were very colourless and big into the goth thing (which people here may find alternative but if everyone is wearing goth stuff then surely tis mainstream).

Of course Ireland ain't London or Paris or New York or Milan and it would be wrong to compare them but overall I'd say we're alright. No worse or better than anyone else on average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Davidius wrote: »
    I really want to know though.

Why do people care about what the clothes they wear look like when they don't even see themselves wearing them?

Self-esteem issues for all. =D

Not self Esteem isssues, some people just like to be a little trendy with their look, some people like to be different like Goths or those people who wear pyjamas, others like to be fashionable for the women and for guys to look at and say, hey who's that sharp guys, he seems cool i think i'll talk to him. As someone already said, fashion is a state of mind and people have their own views on fashion.

I however think it's sad that some people give in to pear pressure when it comes to fashion, i'm hardly going to worry about some stupid knacker who has his socks pulled up past his waist and is sporting a nice tracksuit he proberly stole from someone's washing line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Now, I like to wear a nice shirt..

Liar :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

kevmy wrote: »
    over in Sweden recently I thought that they were very colourless and big into the goth thing (which people here may find alternative but if everyone is wearing goth stuff then surely tis mainstream).

/me books one way ticket to sweden.

Liar :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Good god, I'm clean shaven! That hasn't happened in a long, very long, exceedingly long time! :eek:

But don't you dare disrespect the technicolour dream shirt!
    You can't tell from the pic, but it's actually the entire print of Iron Maiden's Fear of the Dark. Awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

It has zero to do with anyone being narrow minded. We just like to extract the urine out of each other, thats part of the culture. Don't be so delicate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I don't think having a culture of "taking the piss" is an excuse. The problem I have is that if you wear something that isn't acceptable by scumbags or is a bit out of the ordinary you may very well get verbally abused over it. I buy weird sh*t in 2nd hand shops here for example, and can pass them off as cool, whereas in Dublin I'd probably get glassed or something...

kevmy wrote: »
    in Sweden recently I thought that they were very colourless and big into the goth thing (which people here may find alternative but if everyone is wearing goth stuff then surely tis mainstream).

Jesus man i don't know what part of Sweden you visited but there are fcuk all goths here. But it is true, everyone conforms to a certain look here. It's just that in London at the weekend, evryone had there own style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

A few months ago I went into one of the big sporting-clothes shops, looking for some nice runners, but every wall was filled with exactly the same nike-air type design and they were all white... lol, skanger purchasing power in action right there.
    Everywhere you go it's just variations on the same ugly crap... at least with large chain stores.
    Like last year, if you didn't like sweatshirts with a fake bit of tee-shirt neck stitched on the inside, or big stupid random ragged lettering all over... you'd have been shít out of luck. :pac:

A few months ago I went into one of the big sporting-clothes shops, looking for some nice runners, but every wall was filled with exactly the same nike-air type design and they were all white... lol, skanger purchasing power in action right there.

If you mean Marathon, Champion or Lifestyle then you are going to the wrong shops looking for nice runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

If you mean Marathon, Champion or Lifestyle then you are going to the wrong shops looking for nice runners.
    Yep, so I discovered.