Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

introductions!

• 25-03-2008 10:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭

It seems like we’ve had a huge influx of new faces (avatars?) round here over the last six months or so and since not everyone has made it to a meet, I thought it might be nice to do a wee introduction thread. Who are you/where are you/what do you like to shoot/any other interesting information you’d care to share? Mugshots optional ;)

I’ll start things off:

I’m Scottish (from the north, where we have real mountains and stuff), but have been living here in Dublin for about 2 years now. My favourite haunt is definitely the Botanics, you’ll generally find me with the macro lens on, peering at a flower. I also have a soft spot for quirky photography – Holga, lensbaby, alternative process type stuff. I’m usually responsible for the philosophical threads round here, too, but these days I mostly keep that to my blog, to save the sanity of everyone else around here…

Ok, who wants to go next? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

me :) only cause im avoiding thesis.

I'm a middle eastern, been in ireland for the past 10+ years. Have a Bsc in Comp Science, currently doing an MSc in multimedia. Photography is just a pass time, i like film. But the cost and waiting process has gotten the worse of me so hoping to go digital(only partially :) ) soon. I do take alot of pictures but upload only a selected few that would spark interest. Also i dont think im new, ive been here for a good while now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

This
    6162930372EC4E009B51E2AD2B947B3E-240.jpg
    and this
    D4140C18CB794074B4B6D1038F2443F3-160.jpg

is me, believe it or not. I'm Irish, living in Balbriggan for the past 4 years. I have absolutely no motiviation for photography at the moment and it's killing me. Really need a meet soon.

My photoblog is regularly updated but I say very little. I also post photos on Pixie.

I'm more of a lurker here these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Nice to refresh intros in here.

I'm an IT person by day, and photographer at the weekends and some evenings.

I've been at photography only a few years now (3-4). I'm still learning and a beginner. Thankfully, I've a good job, so I can fairly much buy whatever kit I need/want. More money than sense, some might say.

Over the last year I've really taken to sports photography. I started off with rugby and that caused me to spend more money. Now I'm branching out in to other sports too.

Aside from sports photography, I always enjoy a good day out, so any excuse for photography. I've a wide mix of subjects in my FlickR.

Most of my select stuff goes on my website, and I'll be adding to it soon.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Dublin based web/multimedia developer for nearly 8 years. Do a bit of painting and a bit of writing on the side. Only ever took casual/holiday pics before buying a DSLR in November opened up a whole new realm of interest. Think I'm hooked for life, now! Favourite subjects? Nature stuff maybe...

Flickr here, and there's a dozen pictures of me here. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭OnLooker

I am a software engineer & I've been into photography only 2/3 years now. Only have my 400d three months so still plenty to learn but progressing well with plenty of practice.

Love sports so its all about sports photography for me especially GAA.

Dam, I need a 300mm.

my FlickR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Hi I'm a Software Engineer located in Galway.

I used to work with Cambo_Gueno in real life, when I last lived in Dublin.

I've only gotten into photography in the last 6 months or so, and haven't really found my niche or style, I don't know if I will, I like taking all sorts!

My pictures and a self-mugshot are available on pix.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

I have been lurking and posting for a few months now ;-) originally from Limerick but living in Dublin for last ten years now, only gotten into photography in the last twelve months.

Joined a camera club with two friends of mine, they never bothered going back after the first night as they didn't like showing their images to people (!) but i stayed and am glad i did.

My flickr is here if you want to take a peep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I'm baz from Dublin -- started taking photographs seriously about a year ago , when i gave up the sauce , and ended a relationship and use my "new" free time doing street/urban photography of Dublin , and beyond.
    I update my flickr daily at

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/

Have a website too, that needs updating , and is geared to my last exhibition

www.barrydelaney.ie

Oh for money , i do some IT work , like may here , but want to move away from it or into a more creative muti media side of it .

Unsurprisingly , I live alone but have 2 kids , Ella and Louis , who along with many hate my photography !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

I'm Ken from Waterford working in a factory in the city. Main interests are sports and nature photography. Just building my own website so hopefully I will have that done in the next week or 2 depending on free time. I'm regarded as the official club photographer for Waterford United and hopefully the range of sports I'm covering will increase soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

I'm Calina and I have been taking photographs since I was 11 years old. This is not today or yesterday

Now I'm best known for watersports stuff but I do a lot of landscape photography as well.

Although I've had a camera since I was a pre-teen, and although I was a total purist when I first got my digital camera (do the work at the point where the shutter closes) I have been utterly corrupted by digital processing technology. I never cease to be amazed by what I can do with it now. I am also a little more interested in the digital art side of things.

I have photographs on pixie and flickr, I also have three or four other photography related websites. Somehow between all that I manage to squeeze in a whole life as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭K_user

Hi, I’m Ken from Galway. Started taking pictures when I was about 10, loved it, kept it as a hobby well into my teens. But as it was too expensive I had to give it up. A few years ago, now in my 30’s and little wealthier, I thought I might give this digital thing a try and I haven’t looked back since…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Hi I'm a Software Engineer located in Galway.

I used to work with Cambo_Gueno in real life, when I last lived in Dublin.

I've only gotten into photography in the last 6 months or so, and haven't really found my niche or style, I don't know if I will, I like taking all sorts!

My pictures and a self-mugshot are available on pix.ie

and I used to work with him!! Like everyone else seems to be, I'm in IT, take some pix. I don't really have a niche, just like snapping...:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

36 y/o Catering Manager, been into Photography for a few years, got a d300 and 300mm just after Christmas, plan is to pay for them within the year from Sports Photography, on target so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Student. Enjoy taking photos but don't do it very often. Have no real preference but do tend to drift in the direction of Landscapes. Don't shoot very often, and don't shoot a lot when I do take my camera with me. Really hate processing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

IT Security Sales person, we're the people that blocks your internets :)

Been into photography as a serious hobby for a year and a half. Love taking all sorts of shots but have a love of street photography and wish I was as brave as thebaz there :) Been very lazy over the winter period so have to get out and take some shots for spring. Have met quite a few from here and am amazed at the brilliance of some of their captures.

Currently using a Canon 350D but getting real bad ideas about buying a 40D real soon !!!! And then I will need more lens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Hi, I'm rymus and I'm a photoholic. I'm also an alcoholic and an asshole, but I'm going to two other support groups for those problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

rymus wrote: »
    I'm also an alcoholic and an asshole, but I'm going to two other support groups for those problems.

See you next Tuesday, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I'm yet another IT nerd :) Only really got into photography a year ago when I got my D50. Before that I had a few point 'n shoots for casual stuff. I don't get out and shoot enough. Most of my photos would be travel stuff and cars, but I'm usually only travelling for work purposes so I don't get a lot of time to take photographs!

My flickr is full to the brim of pictures of cars. The pictures themselves aren't anything special but they get loads of traffic because of the subject matter (rare/exotic cars).

I currently lust after f2.8 lenses that I can't afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Fajitas! wrote: »
    See you next Tuesday, yeah?

Won't be there Tuesday, going on the piss instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'm Ruairí, working as a computer technician and studying real estate at the moment as well. I am Irish but currently located in central Illinois and get back to my other home in Seanchaislean, Contae na Mi whenever I can. I don't have a fancy pants camera or big lens like a fair amount of users on here as I don't feel the need for one yet. I know sweet feck all about photography, just learning as I go along from the ladies and gents here. I'm leaning more towards digital art though.

I recently got a newer camera but let my wife use it and we often go out together. I am a nature nut, not as much as I used to as a child but trying to get out there as much as I can as they were happy times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭michelleans

I'm Michelle, 22 and finishing up my Comp Eng Degree (thank God).
    Can't wait to start working, make lots of money and buy myself a decent camera. :D
    I love taking shots of nature/wildlife/my dog/people/street photos... I like a living subject to be in my photo. I have been interested in photography since I was about 10 but as a hobby. I definitely still consider myself a beginner as I really don't have the right camera/lens yet to do what I really want to do.. I am quite handy in photoshop though, and love messing around with photos.
    Nice to see the majority of you are also IT type nerds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Brian, Computer Science student/sys admin in UCC.
    I'd class myself as a beginner/hobbyist. I avoid spending time on the computer processing as it's supposed to be a break from the day job.

I love the idea of getting a dark room and doing my own printing. I've neither the time nor the money for that unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

whyulittle, 25 year old male from Athlone, work for a shipping company. Hours are great, on a three hour break as we speak!

Always had an interest in photography, sparked mainly from another interest of mine, astronomy.

Spent a number of years as PRO for an eircom League club, giving me an outlet for another interest, web design! Packed that in last year, so now I have the free time during games to take photos. Invested heavily in my equipment lately to help me along. Only live once and money is made for spending.

I do like relaxing, so don't get out with the camera as much as I should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Nice idea for the thread!

Well, my name is Dragan though creatively i operate under the tag of Altogether-Aido. It was a new tag i created just for my photography but photography has kind of made me see that all my work can be connected.

I am originally from the Midlands but have spent some time living all over this far country. Currently based in Dublin.

I am a total photographer noob, only been at it for about a month now but have put out some stuff in that time that i am very happy with. I am lucky in that i actually live with my favourite photographer and Mentor and my circle of friends includes one or two lens minded geniuses so while i am new i am passionate and learning fast.

At the moment i like taking photographs of just about anything but just like my writing and my painting i like to explore the dark side of things so i already know that a large percentage of my set shoot work will wander towards Horror and Macabre!

I have a fascination with Comics such as The Sandman, Sin City, Preacher etc so i can see a lot of my future work being very character driven and inspired by a friend of mine which is no bad thing.

Looking forward to growing as a photographer and idea's man and have relished the pics that you guys have put up here since i have started posting.

So Hello and Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Studying fine art, aswell as earning my few bob through photography.

I like portraiture, everything from events to fashion.

I enjoy photoshopping as much as taking the photographs.

Think that's all there is to me. I'm a two dimensional character really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭YogiBear

I own a 300D & it has been a year since my last confession.
    I've spent most of my time on photoshop so I'm still learning to use the camera .... :o Since the new year though I've had more time of my own to do same & today's project is to figure out A-DEP mode (with the help of a cam-mag). I've an un-used diploma in Webdesign so I hope to get creative with that in the near future. I love photography, art, reading, film, music, current affairs - currently I'm a PA but would love to work in media or the media industry at least. :) For penance, I shall not use my credit card to buy a Wangle! ;)

Edit: I'm new to Pixie - transferred from flickr coz the group thing was too time-consuming though I still love looking at the photos there.
    www.pix.ie/deirdremarie tnx

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'm new here.
    I don't know anything about photography.
    I'll be sitting in the corner over there trying to figure out what's going on for a bit longer yet.

I do work in IT type stuff though seeing as that appears to be quite common. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Hi I'm sheesh been into photography for 3-4 years now got my first DSLR last november (400d) bought a sigma 70-300 apo last month and gps receiver to tag my photos (doing a college project on it) I have also just bought a Yashica GSN Electro. I must stop buying stuff!!
    I'm from Kerry I am a mature student finishing my computing with multimedia.

yes another computer nerd. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

I am visitor from Bohemian kingdom, working as technical support. I am trying to learn to move on (and maybe away) and also to learn a lot about this country.
    My interest in photography started by purchasing SLR and I am waiting for DSLR now. I don't show most of my pictures, because I am bad in photography and even worse in processing. But I enjoy looking around and trying to see the beauty everywhere around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Dink

Hey all. I'm Gill aka Dink! I am the worse kind of nerd as I do accounts! I think I was always into Photography, Dad gave me a Richo KR5 when I was about 10 coz I was the only one who could use it! Finished a Diploma in Applied Biology in 1998, never used it once.
    Kids came along earlier than planned and always had a PnS to capture those precious moments. Getting some time to myself now as they are 11 and 7. Got a G7 for my birthday Nov 06 and really started into digital then. Gave up smoking on the 31st July 2007 (Woo hoo) and treated myself to the 40d. Since then, nearly every waking moment is spent learning and saving for kit. Gone are the days of handbags and gladrags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Hey Ho Folks,

From kildare originally but living in dublin the last 6 years or so. I work in purchasing for a medium sized electronics company and I also look after their website.
    Like robinph above I know absolutely nothing about photography. I bought a good compact a few years ago and really enjoyed using it. I wanted to take things a step furthur but didn't feel that getting a DSLR would be the right thing to do so I bought a Panasonic DMC-FZ18 from an adverts user about 2 weeks ago. I'm enjoying the extra freedom it's given me and if I can wrangle good use from it I'll step up to a DSLR.

Any tips, pointers, reccomendations are always welcome as I'm in over my head at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Lady_North

First can I say, it's lovely to meet you all. :D

Have been here a while, posted some, mostly lurking.

Know nothing about photography except that I like taking photos. Never get out to take as many as I would like. Love macro shots, need to learn a lot more.

People who don't know anything about photographs say I am good, when I see what you people produce I have to disagree with them. :cool:

I'm Siobhan by the way and living in Swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭YeahOK

I'm YeahOK and I'm a long time lurker relatively new poster.

Originally from greater Dublin area, (I think they call it Dublin 32 or something like that now) I'm living in Cork, doing my best to get them to accept me as one of their own. It'll never happen btw, they're too far up their own whatsits here.:D

I've been a beginner for the last 3 years now. My wife thinks I'm a geek and is only sorry she didn't cop it before we got married, otherwise she could have weighed up her options while she still had some!

I work, nuff said!

I've no particular pref for a specific type of shot. I just like good shots (Sometimes I get one every 30,000 photos or so)

Also in Swords, Siobhan.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Hi, I'm Kevin. I currently (should be) finishing up my PhD thesis. I've recently started as a Post Doc researcher while I add the finishing touches to the thesis. Been into photography since my work experience in the Air Corps about 5 years ago where I got quite snap happy.

Finally upgraded to the dSLR just over a year ago. I'm also a Photoshopaholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Bec, law nerd (:p) and freelancer. I'm French but living in Cork since forever. Personally, I was never really into photography until I started helping my brother out when I was ill 18 months ago, but now I'm fairly addicted. I have only posted a handful of times, I'm a bit afraid most of the time tbh:o

Please don't be afraid. We most of us don't bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,540 ✭✭✭✭phog

Phog is me - I work with a communications company, married with 2 children, one in uni in Glasgow the other is studing for her leaving cert in a few weeks time.

Main interests are rugby and then when I have time some photography, I have recently started uploading to pix.ie. as you may see I love taking pictures of old castles, churches, etc. I have a D70s since summer of 2006 and had a Nikon Coolpix for a few years before that, my current kit is a Nikon D70s with an 18-70mm & a 55-200mm lens I'm probably not be using them to the full potential, however I trod along happily.

Have never made a boards meet-up but would certainly like to get to one this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭stcstc

I am steve

A freelance video and multimedia producer, got into photography to save employing someone else :-)

Also do high end printing, photos and canvases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭bradnailer

I'm Eoin,40,Site Foreman,living in Wicklow, Originally for Dalkey,lived in Canada for a few years. Had a Olympus OM10 when I was in my teens with a selection of lenses, always enjoyed talking photo's. The flexibility of digital really has let me learn a lot, easy to shoot 36 shots and not think **** hope they're ok, then have to wait a week to see they're not :D
    Don't have particular style, stopped using flickr (to slow) enjoy the boards and Pix.ie http://pix.ie/bradnailer
    Always learning it's part of the attraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Hello! My name is Danny. I work as a co-ordinator on a community development project. Had a big bypassy thingy last November and am still waiting for the after effects to go away.

When they do I'll get back to taking a few snaps. I really miss it. That said, I can go for ages without having any urge to take anything and then get a mad burst. For my sins I have met a fair few of the gang that hibernate in this cave. I find it a cosy place and have made some genuine friends.

I've been taking pics since I was a kid but am still amazed when one turns out fairly ok. My pet hate is people giving out about people who use Photoshop ;) Usually people who have never smelt a chemical (photographically speaking of course)!

Good luck to yous all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

My name is Keith and I am an alcoholic (only kidding :))
    Pro photographer from Dunshaughlin, loving every minute of meeting new people and shooting new subjects. I shoot all aspects but I started with Horses and this at the moment makes up most of my jobs, I love the diversity of the work and the interaction. I currently have loads of gear and I am busily working on getting the best out of it. I have really enjoyed meeting everybody on the Boards.ie at the meets and hope to fit in more in the future :)

Heres me and Spirit (some of you have met him already)
    2317564342_34e5f87ced.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭el_loco_blanco

Hey All, My name is John. I live in Balbriggan (originally from Kilkenny) and I work in Monaghan as Head of Research and Development for a company. My photography started while doing my PhD and I had to take photos of plants. I bought a 400D camera 2 years ago and basically bring it everywhere. I have done a few photography courses and use flickr and ye guys n dolls for my inspiration. I generally like macro and photos of irish society. My favourite place to photo is balbriggan harbour and coastline. I have my first exhibition in Balbriggan Library in a couple of weeks. Nothing special, just as a result of a good course I did over the last few month. Feel free to call in from the 2nd of April.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/collierjo/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭ShakeyBlakey

I'm Mark I'm an alchoholic(seriously:eek:), I'm a self employed builder living in Dublin, I've been into photography for about 17 years on and off, I've had a few different cameras over the years and always just experimented with whatever technique was in that weeks photography magazine. I only got my current digital camera about 9 months ago, 1Ds mk1, 24-70 2.8L, 550ex flash, Ste-2 transmitter, 70-300 IS 4-5.6, 1.4X.
    I dont take pics as much as I want to/should, was a bit sceptical about going digital but now I love the convienence of it. I used to develope and print my own B+W, sometimes colour.
    I can be an ass at times but hate being so mean, I try to help when I can if I can. Thats me;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Lady_North

Calina, we're neighbours? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

Hi

I'm John. Been a web developer for about 7 years. Working with photoshop so much kicked off my interest in photography. Got a little nikon compact a few years ago, then last year a 400D and over the last 6 months have found I'm really enjoying it and to step it up a gear I ordered a 40D which just arrived in the post today... which is nice (old fast show fans will get the reference).

I'm also Solyad on flickr...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

I'm tony. Like to lurk a little. I'm also an IT whore - SysAdmin - and in Rathgar/Rathmines (in Dublin).
    Been taking photos on & off for twenty odd years. My first love is (rock) climbing. But due to a climbing injury that has left me on crutches for almost two years I haven't climbed much or taken a lot of photos in the past 24 months or so. But am happy clicking away at any subject. Although if there are rocks involved...
    Weapon of choice is a 400d. Kinda close to convincing myself to upgrade.

And if you pick me, wherever I go, and whatever I do, I will spread the loving, caring spirit that characterizes my people - leaving you with the effulgence of a preciou... oh, hang on, that's my miss world speech.. sorry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

im kate, im a youngun still in school, live in greystones!
    first started gettin in2 photography when i got my first compact about 2 years ago then around christmas i made the plunge and got myself a dslr.
    i tend to just bring my camera everywhere and just take photos of whatever interests me really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

BanzaiBk wrote: »
    Bec, law nerd (:p) and freelancer. I'm French but living in Cork since forever. Personally, I was never really into photography until I started helping my brother out when I was ill 18 months ago, but now I'm fairly addicted. I have only posted a handful of times, I'm a bit afraid most of the time tbh:o

High five for the law nerds :)

I'm Daniel - Chinese born Irish national is how I define myself. Halfway through my law course in Trinity right now I enjoy photography as a recent hobby (only been at it for just over a year).

I shoot for the college paper and just out of self-interest - no need to upgrade the D40 - I'd upgrade my photographer's eye first of all! (cheaper too :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

I'm only here for the food.

Always had an interest in photography, but never thought it was something that I could do. I'm technical by nature, so I started by learning how the camera works. From there, I looked for inspiration & brought my images back here for constructive criticism & advice.
    My primary interest has always been sport, but I've been trying to diversify.
    Links to my pics are in my signature.