Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Hard Dance/Trance gig

• 22-03-2008 10:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

Hello.
    I`m organising new Hard Dance/Trance gig on this summer. It will be every 2 weeks in clubs and pubs around the Dublin.
    Whats new?
    -strictly over 18 (id needed)
    -strictly no drugs policy (if you look, like on drugs, you are out)

Music will be from Hard Dance to Trance, and everything between.

Im writting here, for some advices. What entry fee you could pay for such a gig?
    What is the most annoing you thing on such a gigs?
    You prefer 1 exp DJ, or 2-3 new 1?

Thanks for any resp, Bart.
    (subject is here, because is about hard dance and trance music...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

Bart Wilde wrote: »
    Hello.
    I`m organising new Hard Dance/Trance gig on this summer. It will be every 2 weeks in clubs and pubs around the Dublin.
    Whats new?

It will never work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

It will never work out.
    You know them by their eyes :D

image.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Bart Wilde

It will never work out.
    Why? There is no such a gig in Dublin i think (maybe some "only VIP" gigs)
    You are naked, bouncing like a crazy, you are out. If you are not happy with that, Security will check your eyes. It should working...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Hello.
    Whats new?

Music will be from Hard Dance to Trance, and everything between.

Im writting here, for some advices. What entry fee you could pay for such a gig?
    What is the most annoing you thing on such a gigs?
    You prefer 1 exp DJ, or 2-3 new 1?

Thanks for any resp, Bart.
    (subject is here, because is about hard dance and trance music...)

Surely this is some sort of joke?
    Why would you kick someone out for being on drugs? Would you kick them out for being drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I am fed up going to places and having muppets come along asking me am I out of it. **** off!! I think it's a good idea. Defo more market research from your side needed.

Jay D wrote: »
    I am fed up going to places and having muppets come along asking me am I out of it. **** off!! I think it's a good idea. Defo more market research from your side needed.
    Lisa Lashes played at May Carneys in Ennis two years ago, about a dozen young women and blokes mingled in with the crowd and asked various individuals "if they were out of it" and "where would they get pills" etc. About 1/2 an hour later the lights went on and a number of people were rounded up and arrested by these undercover cops. The night club was shut for a month by court order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Naive to say the least if you think this is going to work.
    Bouncers lurking on the edge of the dancefloor checking peoples eyes....no thanks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Lmao.

A Hard Dance /Trance night where if you look too happy or dance too much/ too enthusiastically, you get kicked out.

Drunk people ruin nights for other people. I've never had someone on pills ruin a night for me. I don't see what the point of this policy is.
    Lisa Lashes played at May Carneys in Ennis two years ago, about a dozen young women and blokes mingled in with the crowd and asked various individuals "if they were out of it" and "where would they get pills" etc. About 1/2 an hour later the lights went on and a number of people were rounded up and arrested by these undercover cops. The night club was shut for a month by court order.
    Surely that's entrapment....

It's also hardly the nightclubs fault....

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    It's also hardly the nightclubs fault....
    Thats the way these guys work, they subtly mingle in with the crowd and see whats going on. It was and wasn't the night clubs fault. Some individual approached the owner and asked to hire the use of the venue for a private party, he then posted flyers about premoting Lisa Lashes about the town and county. The owner should have copped on sooner and insisted in more security. The court pointed out that the venue did very little to prevent drug abuse. I know it is impossible to search everyone going in the door for pills but it dose not take too much to have a few sober lads mingling through the crowd to see whats going on and to boot anyone out who is "off their head" or seen acting suspicious.

About 6 years ago Lisa Lashes booked into the West County Hotel in Ennis, the owner Micky Linch mistook her for a country & western singer. It was too late for them to cancel the gig as the crowds were arriving and the PA was set up. Micky Linch just went straight to the cops himself and told them his mistake, the cops were in force at the door themselves! It was a good show and went on without incident but I never saw so many pills thrown on the ground that night!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Entrapment law here isn't quite the same as the law in the US.

While in the US, a law enforcement officer can't directly incite illegal activity, they can here and probably in the UK, given that most of our laws are common.

I can't remember the exact details but there was a thread somewhere some time ago about the gardai using persons under 18 in an effort to punish those who bought drink for people under 18, and the offending off-licences. Basically the kids would hang around asking people to buy them drink, then the garda would pounce.

It would be extremly difficult to prove entrapment. The cops would have snoopers out sussing out the crowd and informing them whats going on and who is doing what. The cop that makes the arrest may not be the same cop that would have been "looking for the pills". If they intend doing a major bust they have a crew working from outside the county. Anyone who is dealing in pills knows all the DS in their local community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Why? There is no such a gig in Dublin i think (maybe some "only VIP" gigs)
    You are naked, bouncing like a crazy, you are out. If you are not happy with that, Security will check your eyes. It should working...

hahaha security will check your eyes how lovely, in all my years of going to Raves and clubs ive never once been refused entry because "security thought i was on drugs and checked my eyes" are you actually for real here, your planning on putting on a hard dance/trance gig (music that is renowned for drug taking whether you ike it or not) and your coming out with mad stuff like this.:eek:

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Maybe there is a market for it but I would look for a small venue anyway. Hard to imagine Hard dance/trance and no drugs :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I've been to trance events at clubs with some of the strictest security around (e.g. in Northern Ireland), been on the edge of the industry for years and I've *never* had a security guard look in to my eyes...

Possibility that the fact I usually have car keys with me when they do the pocket check changes something but I seriously doubt it.

Also, how is 'strictly over 18' new? Tivoli is obsessive about ID and theres been many hard dance events there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

Skipping around the drugs conversation (I have my own views, which are mine not to dispense here), what's the story Bart about getting involved? Send in a couple of mix CD's with a portfolio and all that?

Seanie.

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Maybe there is a market for it but I would look for a small venue anyway. Hard to imagine Hard dance/trance and no drugs :confused:

Yeah, that why i create this topic, to check, if it works, and now i see that can be a bad idea ;) I will start new gig this summer anyway, but I lookin for some new form of it. I already have couple good experiences (my friends are working with leisure industry) and fresh looks on some things (promotion, etc...). We will see, first I need to buy new speakers and change My apartment for some party-hole ;)
    Seanie M wrote: »
    Skipping around the drugs conversation (I have my own views, which are mine not to dispense here), what's the story Bart about getting involved? Send in a couple of mix CD's with a portfolio and all that?

Seanie.
    Just a link for set download, portfolio and e-mail address is necessary as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

To be honest, it's one thing to keep drugs out of a club, but where on EARTH are you going to find anybody over 18 to go to a Hard Trance night????

I dont know, why everybody in Dublin think, that hard dance/trance is for kids only? For example in Limerick, in Trinity Rooms there is sometimes some nice gig, and no under age people are allowed... All over the Europe there are big trance gigs (Trance Energy, Sensation White, Sunrise Festival, Global Gathering)... Dublin is one big exemption on Europe map...

Because Dublin is the nation's capital and sees itself as being a bit more "cultured" i suppose...

You do get the occasional big gig at the point theatre or at the vaults, but really you're talking about teenage children wearing fluffy boots and taking drugs in teh sort of quantities that make me feel old even thinking about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

its hard enoughto fill a venue with out bringin in security to check your eyes it would never work-hardtrance all d way:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

anyone going to a Lisa Lashes night deserves to be arrested.

That includes that talentless scag as well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Naive to say the least if you think this is going to work.
    Bouncers lurking on the edge of the dancefloor checking peoples eyes....no thanks....

sorry but hes right, i stopped taking drugs when i was younger and still love trance nights but this is the most unappealing thing

add in the fact most bouncers are *****ers and need only half an excuse at the best of times to eject you for no reason...

just accept it for what it is and enjoy yourself, its a bit like saying what someone stated previously, i would be scared to look to enthusiastic :)

plus a few friends i know still take the odd drug from time to time, although i dont participate i would never stop them, you are kinda generalising drug taking with complete scumbags (im not defending it, but im also not promoting it before someone has a go)

hope the nights work out :) if there is a plan to rethink im all for it, there is a complete lack of decent places to go with good dance music away from "party pop / cheese / 70's"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Because Dublin is the nation's capital and sees itself as being a bit more "cultured" i suppose...

You do get the occasional big gig at the point theatre or at the vaults, but really you're talking about teenage children wearing fluffy boots and taking drugs in teh sort of quantities that make me feel old even thinking about it...

im 25, most of my friends are my age or older.. we are from several different cultures ranging from scottish,polish,australian,czech,slovakia,france.. etc it goes on and we go from age ranges of 24-35 and i can say without a doubt that the above comment is silly :(

look at the festivals across the continent (germany i guess would be one of the primary locations for dance music) but its not a kiddy thing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

look its very noble of you to want to do a no drugs door policy but its not only yokes people do.and a security guard checking eyes,cmon now.
    yeah and what about some muppet whos mad evil drunk.thats cool i guess.
    your not there parents let people do whatever they want.

Big Chief wrote: »
    im 25, most of my friends are my age or older.. we are from several different cultures ranging from scottish,polish,australian,czech,slovakia,france.. etc it goes on and we go from age ranges of 24-35 and i can say without a doubt that the above comment is silly :(

look at the festivals across the continent (germany i guess would be one of the primary locations for dance music) but its not a kiddy thing,

the dutch and the germans do go mad for it all right - you'd see faded heads in their late 30's all dolled up like teenager in the point... why you'd want to use their kind as an example is beyond me..

and i never said "dance music" was a kiddy thing over here - "trance" is though...

unless you're into "psy trance" in which case lol tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

and i never said "dance music" was a kiddy thing over here - "trance" is though...

True, there is a world of difference, trance as we know it is cliff richard music-a forever sunshine world of happy helium inflated lyrics and bright, beautiful furry boots, MDA masquerading as E, cliched drum breakdowns, the "unce unce" bass-Controlled chaos while being very safe, which is essentially the worst endictment of it.

A raver said to me once that trance is for those who dont really get what dance music is all about.

now, where did I leave them glowsticks....

I've never heard 'helium inflated lyrics' at a trance event, ever. Can't comment on the drugs, never seen furry boots outside of a Tiesto gig. Would be wise to note that I do most of my clubbing in the North and I suspect you've never seen anything outside of Dublin

Do I detect a spot of genre snobbery? Deliberately crossing commercial dance (which claims its hard dance in its marketing, not trance) with actual trance in an attempt to make yourself feel better about what you play is childish in the extreme. But, of course, nothing which is actually popular with the mainstream can *ever* be good :rolleyes:

MYOB wrote: »
    I suspect you've never seen anything outside of Dublin
    :

No I have never been out of dublin at any rave events :D
    You are quite correct about genre snobbery though, I am indeed a genre snob!

I was specifically referring to trance - I somehow doubt you've travelled to go to something you clearly hate with a passion now have you?

Aww relax man i was only joshing with ya :)

I hate the way the whole trance genre is 'owned' by that commercial ****e like Tiesto and that whole euphoria stuff. There is some good trance out there, gotta admit to liking stuff from Cygnus X, Blu Alphabet, Sasha, Hands Burn etc.

Euphoria possibly plumbs the depths of bad commercial at times... most of their recent releases are hard trance / borderline hardhouse or 'best of' rehashes anyway.

What else would you class as 'commercial' though? Sasha had top 20 hits in the UK (ironically, Tiesto hasn't!), but so have nearly all the 'big names' - PvD, Corsten, van Buuren, etc.

This is the borderline that moves from either mad undergeneralisation (people who claim that specific artists they don't like are commercial while claiming stuff they like isn't) to mass overgeneralisation (pretty much the same except writing off anyone who's had a hit!).

What else would you class as 'commercial' though?

Every act that gets on Clubland TV for starters!

Maybe commercial wasn't the best word, nothing wrong with shifting loads of records and making a fortune. I love acts like Underworld, and they must be just about the biggest dance act ever. Would suspect that they have not spent as much time as acts like Tiesto in building up a brand name (does he ever wear anything that doesn't have Tiesto written across it?) but I accept that that opinion is subjective and might just be a case of me saying I hate his music so I'll find any reason to diss him.

Some of his Holland shirts have had Cruijff on them I think ;)

unless you're into "psy trance" in which case lol tbh.
    Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Why?

i may ask the same question.

I've changed my tune after being at Life Festival, there is some brilliant Psy Trance out there.

jonny68 wrote: »
    there is some brilliant Psy Trance out there.

Think psytrance can be really good at outdoor events. Was at a rave last year in the middle of nowhere in South Kerry and 2 Swiss djs played a 6 hour psytrance live set and it was excellent. Have heard it in clubs and been underwhelmed. Some of the stuff at Life was great, some got very heavy and fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Yeah, there's definitely a time and a place for psy.
    Stomping around outside in muck fits it nicely, but it just doesn't work in an indoor environment... (imo)

Don't get me wrong here, I love the stuff and had an absolute ball dancing to it at life both this year and the year before...

True, it isn't half as good indoors.

Not that Neutronyx nights in Radio City or Tripod aren't fun, but I'd much rather dance to some electro-house or breakbeats indoors. Just something about music suiting the atmosphere.

I always liked Goa trance which I assume is much the same as psy trance?

The terms are used interchangibly, but generally Goa Trance is more "organic" and Psy Trance is more "futuristic".

Yeah was just reading up there on wiki...
    Psychedelic trance or psytrance is a form of electronic music characterized by hypnotic arrangements of synthetic rhythms and mesmerizing melodies. It first broke out into the mainstream in 1995 as the UK music press began to report on the exploding trend of Goa trance. Since then the genre has diversified immensely and now offers considerable variety in terms of mood, tempo, and style. Some examples include melodic full on, dark ("darkpsy"), progressive, suomi, psybreaks (generally quite rare), and psybient or psychedelic downtempo.
    The original Goa trance (or "old school") was often made with popular Modular synthesizers and hardware samplers, but modern psychedelic trance is typically made with VST and AU software sampler applications. The use of analog synthesizers for sound synthesis has given way to digital "virtual analog" instruments like the Nord Lead, Access Virus, Korg MS-2000, Roland JP-8000 and computer VST and AU plugins like Native Instruments Reaktor. These are usually controlled by MIDI sequencers within Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) applications. Emphasis is placed on purely synthesized timbres for programming and lead melodies. Tempos range across the spectrum depending on the style and approach of the individual producer although speeds between 140 and 150 BPM are common.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychedelic_trance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 mark3105

if you want to organize a successful night ditch the trance and spin some electro and let people take drugs what have you got agaisnt people taking drugs anyway ?

Why?

zero rhythmic inventiveness - the same rubbery compressed kickdrum running at 140-150 bpm all ****ing night long while a succession of arpeggiated synths wosh up and down, and every 64 bars there's a four bar fill.

the dj's mix in a new record every ten minutes and it sounds EXACTLY THE ****ING SAME as the previous one.

meanwhile everyone's dancing around smiling to themselves thinking they're "opening their third eye" or "realigning their chakras"

lol

zero rhythmic inventiveness - the same rubbery compressed kickdrum running at 140-150 bpm all ****ing night long while a succession of arpeggiated synths wosh up and down, and every 64 bars there's a four bar fill.

the dj's mix in a new record every ten minutes and it sounds EXACTLY THE ****ING SAME as the previous one.

meanwhile everyone's dancing around smiling to themselves thinking they're "opening their third eye" or "realigning their chakras"

lol
    Psytrance isn't about rhythmic inventiveness for the most part, neither is trance in general really. Although the rubbery compressed kick drum isn't necessarily a feature of it, it's just that too much modern stuff overuses it. Anyway, the point is to have a sustained, predictible beat, and on top of that to build layers of weird blips, psychedelic melodies etc.

As for people thinking they've gained some kind of psychic abilty or whatever, tbh they don't really, they're just on pills or acid (or nothing except maybe alcohol, psytrance is a drug in itself) and having a good time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Dublin Dancer

Hi All just wondering did anyone else hear about Dave Pearce from Ministry of Sound doing a gig in Mnatra night club Maynooth, Kildare. Where can I get tickets??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 leah.s

im a new DJ to the scene and am looking for gigs to play. my music is hard trance/style.
    although it would be a good idea to try set up a gig with no drugs, the fact is that the majority of ppl who listen to that music are ones who take drugs. in my experience i have never seen anyone on pills or anything cause trouble at clubs or parties, but the ppl who are blind drunk cause too much trouble to even talk about.

i hope this works out for you i really do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

lol
    Couldnt we take that attitude towards any form of electronic music?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

leah.s wrote: »
    i hope this works out for you i really do.

Tis a 2 year old thread, I'd say the OP has either given up on the idea, or tried it and failed/succeeded...