If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What do emergency services think of eachother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

My god, what were they thinking :eek:

No idea, it was an isolated incident, but there still is a big rift in trust between the army and the guards. Some of the army lads are a great laugh, but a lot of them (to my own mind) seem unstable at the best of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

i've thought over my initial and hastily written comment about consultants been lazy gits and i wish to withdraw them.

That's a nice gesture. Fair play to you :)

We all say things when we haven't really thought them true, but it's refreshing when someone admits to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

well this is a nice polite website so i thought i'd return the ethos. Heaven forbid if we ever turn this place into politics.ie !:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,823 ✭✭✭✭Victor

One comment on A&E. While of course they do triage, quite often they don't explain it to the lower priority cases and then you get the "I spent X hours waiting" complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

That is a common problem, there should be separate waiting areas for the different triage categories , I know how upset it can be in Macdonalds if one queue goes faster than yours.

If there were separate waiting rooms people would feel they were being seen in turn, I think this would diffuse much of the tension the triage system creates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dfbfire/ambo

just thought id comment on this one. work for dfb myself
    gardai: never any problems.. very halpful to us asnd no problems with closing roads ect.. they just let us get on with it .

army never had any dealings with

hse and private ambo crews.. no prob whatsoever. in fact just in relation to buzzman s comment.. sorry if you found some one on an off day but my crew always make a point of talking to other ambo crews.. 1) ya get more info on whats goin on in their job:) :) 2) ya get to start rumors and have a bit of craic:) :) (only jokin
    )
    a&e staff.. wouldnt do their job for the world... fair play to them.

prison officers.. only know a few through friends ion the gardi.. they were very clannish..:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭userfriendly

Member of DFB

Gardai Get on well with them and definitely don't envy the work they have to do.

A&E Have a huge workload so wouldn't like to do the work they do either, though there is a few that ignore you, a simple "hey lads, be with you in 5mins" would do, though thankfully they are few and far between, and the overall majority are extremely friendly and helpful towards us.

Army No dealings with

Prison service Again no dealings

Coast Guard Have worked with the coast guard helicopter a few times, and have to say I'm extremely impressed with their professionalism. Very friendly & helpful. I have allot of respect for the guys and the work they do. Never had any dealings with the volunteers though so can't comment on them.