Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do emergency services think of eachother?

• 17-03-2008 7:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭

We spend plenty of time talking about our own jobs and giving out about them too. Im curious how other emergency services within Ireland see eachother. For example, what do firemen think of Gardai and vice versa? To make it interesting I would also be interested in the opinions of hospital staff, prison officers and soldiers should any post here.

My interaction with all the others has been mixed.

DFB: Ok so they do fire and ambulance but they are still the same guys. My experiences have been positive except for two. The first was only 1 guy from a crew of 7 or 8. It was pretty petty and Im sure the guy was just having an off day or whatever so I dont dwell on it. The second does bug me, I was dealing with a girl having a fit. Now at the time I had the girl having the fit, her drunk mates and 2 heroes fighting with eachother over who got to help. DFB arrived and the first thing the female crew member said was that I was a pervert for not covering the girl up as her skirt had riden up. Well excuse me but modesty was the last of my problems. Other than that I cant say enough positives, level headed, helpful, nothing too much trouble and they dont get big headed or snotty. In fact I have even come across a few officers in my time and lets just say I cant imagine my Chief super being so decent and helpful if the roles were reversed. I think its a reflection on how well regarded they are that DFB assistance is treated the same as a Garda assistance call.

Prison: I know a few lads from before so I tend too be positive towards them but there is definitely an air about them at times. Not very helpful on occasion and can be fairly authoritive if they think they can get away with it. Still I have to say that most appreciate that the Gardai are not too far away from themselves and were on the same side. Not a job I envy though.

Army: Theres a fierce rivalry between the two agencies. I reckon Gardai dont like the fact that when we need guns its often the army thats called in, bit of professional embarrasment however for the armies part they dont like being called in but having to take orders from a civilian. Not too much interaction myself but its been decent enough when I have done escorts or court service with them however I have seen some Gardai really look down their noses at the soldiers and also soldiers being pig ignorant towards Gardai. Just too note, this is fulltimers. As far as reserves go I have never had a positive experience. From Gardai that were reserves to current reserves. For starters, firing blanks somwhere doesnt make you Rambo. Unless you have actually seen real service with the UN or at least a high profile criminal / cash escort that got hairy then you havent done anything that impresses me and secondly, stop wearing full uniform walking around the city. No other uniform occupation does it for a reason, its illegal, against army rules and doesnt impress anyone. And you are not immune from civil law, Gardai can and will arrest you. You are obliged to give more than rank and serial number and we dont care if you want your Sargeant, military police or mammy.

Hospital: Doctors and most nurses have been friendly and nice however they seriously do not understand that professional courtesy is a two way street. They regularily leave you sitting for hours with a guy but when you say your leaving without him they suddenly have time too see him. They also have a very niave opinion of people. Often the first to argue that handcuffs arent necessary or that he is hurt because we have beaten him. No love, its because hes a coked up psychopath and the rapist in bed one isnt misunderstood, hes just scum.

No experience with mountain rescue, cost guard or civ defence so I cant comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I have only had dealings with ambulance, nurses and doctors.

Ambulance

The guys I had dealings with very professional but at the same sound. I never had any bad experiences with them at all from the EMTs to ambulance control. Any contact I have had I got the distinct impression that they appreciate our help as much as we appreciate theirs. I think more respect is given from both parties when we don't interfere in their job and they don't interfere in ours but we still work as a team. Also feel that they have more patience than we do at times. I don't know how they do that.

Nurses and Doctors

I always got the impression that the Doctors really don't want us around their A&E and only speak to us when really necessary. I realise they have a very important job (more critical than ours) and they must have a million and one things going in their heads at once.
    The nurses I met are brilliant. Not only are they good natured but also great craic. I wouldn't like to get on the wrong side of them though!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Gardai: Always found them very professional and courteous (as you guess I haven't been on the wrong side of the law :p). Always willing to help out and get their hands dirty if need be, one RTA springs to mind where off duty guards were fantastic helping me and an off duty paramedic treat the p/t and control the traffic and then when local units turned up they were even better. Another couple I encountered were great too one even brought my car home to my house while I traveled in the ambulance to help look after the patient, fair play considering they were from Balbriggan and this happened at the airport!!
    There are a few jobsworths about with Judge Dredd heads on them but every organization has their bad apples no one is perfect.

DFB: Excellent guys, do a fantastic job. Quick, efficient and appreciative of your help. They have never looked down at me because of a lesser qualification but have been more then willing to accept a patient report off me as well as clinical impression. They always make sure to say thanks to you aswell. Small thing but so simple

A&E Staff: Have never encountered a doctor while doing handover at a&e but the nurses have been great. Very helpful and try sort you out as quick as possible (not always that easy) and fair dues to them they have one hell of a job. Beaumount security deserve a special mention too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 rossi1093

I have to say that it's a totally personal thing as you may have a bad incident with any of the professions whereas the next guy might have only good things to say. I have served in the army, guards and dfb and have seen all the good sides and bad sides of these jobs. I have also seen the good and bad of the hse ambulance crews, doctors and nurses. We all have good and bad days and there unprofessional people in all these jobs but you just have to take it with a pinch of salt and once you're courteous and doing your best yourself nobody can fault you (hopefully).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Just too note, this is fulltimers, the reserves are total twats from start to finish

So,I'm a twat then am I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

eroo wrote: »
    So,I'm a twat then am I?

HaHaHaHaHa

Best Post ever:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Gardai:

As a whole, no problem with any dealings with them. The odd exception like when they tell us to move the ambulance at an RTC cos they want to keep the road open. Bull****, ambo doesn't move until we're ready. Also pet hate, when we're dealing with a drunk is that some Gardai will tell the pt that they have to go to hospital when there is no clinical need for same. But as I said, in general no real problems. We both respect each other's jobs.

Fire Service:

Again some members of the fulltime svces ( who have EMFR'S) can forget that we are the experts in prehospital care & treat us with contempt. Retained usually listen to what we're saying. DFB crews tend to ignore us when we're up in Dublin. Maybe the ERAS vs DFB argument is clouding people's vision.

Army:

Haven't had any dealings with them.

Prision Service:

When called to the prision, usually on the ball. No bull with them. Sometimes pt's have to be handcuffed whilst enroute to the Emergency Department but they don't interfere with us.

Hospital based Staff:

Most nurses are ok. U do get the odd nurse that used to work on the ambulances when we were just drivers & still think that we are. Am surprised with one nurse in particular who is from the Kingdom county & is fairly young with her attitude towards Ambulance staff. Most doctor's will listen to us.

G.P.'s:

Most gp's want the monkey off their back hence the fact that they call us.

Dr's Co-Ops:

Biggest waste of taxpayers money. All they do is call us for their pt (that's if they've bothered to go see the pt in the first place)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 rossi1093

[quote=buzzman;55415446

Fire Service:

Again some members of the fulltime svces ( who have EMFR'S) can forget that we are the experts in prehospital care & treat us with contempt. Retained usually listen to what we're saying. DFB crews tend to ignore us when we're up in Dublin. Maybe the ERAS vs DFB argument is clouding people's vision.

I don't think any dfb crew would ignore any positive input. It must be remembered though that all dfb crews are paramedics, with some being advanced paramedics. The dfb handle the majority of emergency ambulance work in Dublin and we all work on the ambulances and motors on rotation. Perhaps you were not aware of this buzzman. Usually when at any sort of scene where a patient is being dealt with everybody helps each other to get the job done and the pt looked after and transported to hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

buzzman wrote: »
    Gardai:

DFB crews tend to ignore us when we're up in Dublin. Maybe the ERAS vs DFB argument is clouding people's vision.

I have to say Buzzman that i would never ignore Hse ambo crews that are up in Dublin when we pass at hospitals. I actually go out of my way to say hello. The differences that exist between some of the eras crews and the dfb ( note the word some) have nothing to do with crews from outside the area. I have interacted with crews from all over the country at scenes in dublin whilst they were on their advanced paramedic placements with dfb and have had only positive experiences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 traumagod

We spend plenty of time talking about our own jobs and giving out about them too. Im curious how other emergency services within Ireland see eachother. For example, what do firemen think of Gardai and vice versa? To make it interesting I would also be interested in the opinions of hospital staff, prison officers and soldiers should any post here.

My interaction with all the others has been mixed.

DFB: Ok so they do fire and ambulance but they are still the same guys. My experiences have been positive except for two. The first was only 1 guy from a crew of 7 or 8. It was pretty petty and Im sure the guy was just having an off day or whatever so I dont dwell on it. The second does bug me, I was dealing with a girl having a fit. Now at the time I had the girl having the fit, her drunk mates and 2 heroes fighting with eachother over who got to help. DFB arrived and the first thing the female crew member said was that I was a pervert for not covering the girl up as her skirt had riden up. Well excuse me but modesty was the last of my problems. Other than that I cant say enough positives, level headed, helpful, nothing too much trouble and they dont get big headed or snotty. In fact I have even come across a few officers in my time and lets just say I cant imagine my Chief super being so decent and helpful if the roles were reversed. I think its a reflection on how well regarded they are that DFB assistance is treated the same as a Garda assistance call.

Prison: I know a few lads from before so I tend too be positive towards them but there is definitely an air about them at times. Not very helpful on occasion and can be fairly authoritive if they think they can get away with it. Still I have to say that most appreciate that the Gardai are not too far away from themselves and were on the same side. Not a job I envy though.

Army: Theres a fierce rivalry between the two agencies. I reckon Gardai dont like the fact that when we need guns its often the army thats called in, bit of professional embarrasment however for the armies part they dont like being called in but having to take orders from a civilian. Not too much interaction myself but its been decent enough when I have done escorts or court service with them however I have seen some Gardai really look down their noses at the soldiers and also soldiers being pig ignorant towards Gardai. Just too note, this is fulltimers, the reserves are total twats from start to finish.

Hospital: Doctors and most nurses have been friendly and nice however they seriously do not understand that professional courtesy is a two way street. They regularily leave you sitting for hours with a guy but when you say your leaving without him they suddenly have time too see him. They also have a very niave opinion of people. Often the first to argue that handcuffs arent necessary or that he is hurt because we have beaten him. No love, its because hes a coked up psychopath and the rapist in bed one isnt misunderstood, hes just scum.

No experience with mountain rescue, cost guard or civ defence so I cant comment.

Im a student paramedic and a member of the reserve. A twat am I?? Hope you realise a lot of parameds are reservists also. So take your ****ty attitude and shove it up your hole.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

traumagod wrote: »
    Im a student paramedic and a member of the reserve. A twat am I?? Hope you realise a lot of parameds are reservists also. So take your ****ty attitude and shove it up your hole.:mad:

:D:D LOL Great first post traumagod, can't wait for number 2.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

CLADA wrote: »
    :D:D LOL Great first post traumagod, can't wait for number 2.

There won't be a number 2.

traumagod banned from Emergency Services.

Karlitosway1978 infracted for inappropriate language.

Let's keep it respectful people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Gardai

We have a good relationship with the Gardai in Dublin. Never have any problems with closing roads during rta's or fires. They normally just go with whatever we want. There is sometimes problems with them offloading drunks onto our ambos just to get them off the street and out of their hair. I mentioned it to a garda one night when he called us for some spanner who was pissed. The guy had nothing wrong with him but drunkeness and should'nt be brought to clog up an a and e. I asked the copper why he wasn't being arrested for being drunk and disorderly instead of being pawned off on a hospital. He told me straight out that if he arrived back at ths station with this idiot his skipper would do his nut!!!. So i can understand his dilema.

Doctors and Nurses

Generally get on great with staff in A+E. They recognise our problems and we are certainly aware of theirs. Some hospitals can be a bit worse to deal with than others. One or two are notorious for the DFB "invisible uniform" syndrome. This occurs when we position ourselves in the A+E with our patient yet nobody acknowledges you are there!!!. Its amazing how dozens of staff can pass you yet nobody speaks to you. You're invisible!!. This really only happens occasionlly in one hospital. All it takes is for someone to say " I'm busy, i'll be with you in a while". We recognise the pressure your under but ignoring us won't make us go away.

Luckily most docs and nurses are excellent to deal with and i can have no complaints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

the reserves are total twats from start to finish.

Im a reservist and I think thats a pretty big brush to paint us all with.
    Fine there are a lot of walter mitty types in the organization, but at
    the same time some of us, like me, feel proud to wear our country's
    uniform, and would carry out any task assigned to us.
    I am about to leave the reserves after a 4 fantastic years to become
    a member of an Garda Siocahna an organization which I have always
    held in the highest regard.
    Do all Gardai think this way or have you suffered a negative experience???
    Will I have to keep quiet about my reserve experience for fear of ridicule???

Faheywitane

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Im a reservist and I think thats a pretty big brush to paint us all with.
    Fine there are a lot of walter mitty types in the organization, but at
    the same time some of us, like me, feel proud to wear our country's
    uniform, and would carry out any task assigned to us.
    I am about to leave the reserves after a 4 fantastic years to become
    a member of an Garda Siocahna an organization which I have always
    held in the highest regard.
    Do all Gardai think this way or have you suffered a negative experience???
    Will I have to keep quiet about my reserve experience for fear of ridicule???

Faheywitane

Hi Faheywitane.

As you can see, I have dealt with Karlitosway1978's comment and would appreciate that we keep this on-topic. You should be proud of your 4 years serving your country, and you have nothing to be ashamed of whatsoever. I wish you the very best in your new career, and thank you for your efforts in the RDF (for what it's worth).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Maybe I'm missing something, but would it be possible for people to mention what their role in the Emergency Services is when they post comments on other aspects?

I'm a Joe Public very interested to read about these things but it's hard to know what perspective some of it's given from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I have amended my comment to reflect my experience and not a blanket statement. If it still offends then take it up with the people that act the maggot.

DFB,
    In my station we can only arrest a drunk if DFB refuse to take him or he refuses to go and we need DFB confirmation of this. The problem being if he dies in the cell you will get the usual comments and questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

random wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing something, but would it be possible for people to mention what their role in the Emergency Services is when they post comments on other aspects?

good point random.

just in case theres any confusion Karlitosway1978 is not a member of the reserve or permanent defence forces.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Good thread.

Gardai

I've had little real contact with the Guards, but everything has been really good. They seem more open to general chit-chat and banter with the emergency medical services at events and the like. I've even had a few laughs! :eek:

DFB

No real experience with these guys either, but the guys in the station where we park our ambulance have been really helpful and curteous.

A+E staff
    Only good experiences. The nurses I have come across have always been bright, cheerful and helpful when I've handed off a patient. I must have met the nice ones. The doctors too have been nice, one sparked up a conversation about my involvement in OMAC and recounted his own experiences with the Red Cross. You always get a few looks when you're in A+E in your vol uniform (we're rare enough and they know we're volunteers) but it's always positive curiosity. I'm sure I'll have a bad experience soon enough :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

rossi1093 wrote: »
    [quote=buzzman;55415446

Fire Service:

I don't think any dfb crew would ignore any positive input. It must be remembered though that all dfb crews are paramedics, with some being advanced paramedics. The dfb handle the majority of emergency ambulance work in Dublin and we all work on the ambulances and motors on rotation. Perhaps you were not aware of this buzzman. Usually when at any sort of scene where a patient is being dealt with everybody helps each other to get the job done and the pt looked after and transported to hospital.

Am very aware of the fact that DFB handle most of the emergency work in Dublin City. I wasn't refering to having input inrealtion to pt care. Just a casual observation of being passed either on the road or outside A&E's & not being acknowledeged or saluted. Maybe I just caught those crews on a bad day. It was unprofessional of me to tarnish all the lads & lassies in the DFB with the same brush & for that I do apologise. My comments were mainly directed at those working in F&R outside of Dublin City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Good replies, it appears we all get along pretty well. Also some information and opinions here that will benefit us all in future interactions.

Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

'my prespective - i'm a pleb mostly but i'm an ERT leader in work which i know u lot will have no respect for till my place blows up that is :).

A&E - i've worked behind the scenes in this place, nurses are good fun, junior doctors are overworked, consultants are lazy gits

Garda- i grew up with a lot of respect for these guys, i'm from dunboyne and i remember well when the sarge was murdered there, I grew up with some great cops looking out for me when they knew i needed it. in recent years i've had a few gripes with them as regards non investigation of crimes (as documented elsewere) but as a whole, they are pretty sound ( except when they are shooting fish in the barrell of course!)

Ambulance- true heros- i know a few of the lifeline guys and they are great bunch of lads- they were all on the piss in my house last week and left a ton of beer! Came across an RTA last week, was first on scene and was administering first aid from my "survival pack", when the medics arrived I think they were impressed. I had a bad experience a few years ago with DFB lads, i was giving cpr to a bloke on abbey street and they literally threw me off him.

Fire - did an ERT course in the OBI and it really opening my eyes and gave me a taste of the job, its a tough school and i have an amazing amount of respect for what these lads do. I still train once a month with the pros and i'd love to do it full time but the pays crap :(

army - 2 cousins in the army, one's on permanent sentry duty of a generals toilet, the others in chad fighting the good fight, you make ur own bed in here, cheap drinks in the barracks bar is ok though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

DFB: I have had nothing but postive experiences with them, although some of the girls have been a bit snotty to me.

Prison: Very professional, closest mindset to our own I think. Much tougher job than us, I wish they were better respected in public eyes.

Army:I've clobbered a few army lads before for assaulting members of the public while on a cash escort, she just wanted a chat (lonely little old lady) and he whacked her in the nose with the butt of his gun, cue the other lad screaming at her to back off. They both got a clatter and were detained until the MPs arrived to haul them off.

Hospital: A&E staff are a bit stressed and haggard, but are quite civil to us and generally good to work with. DOctors can be very snotty but I don't give them an inch. I walk out if they get stroppy with me. They usually won't let you out the door without changing their tune.

M. Garda Traffic Corps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

A&E - i've worked behind the scenes in this place, nurses are good fun, junior doctors are overworked, consultants are lazy gits

I really object to being called a lazy git, it is ignorant- perhaps this should be moved to the insults thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

Army:I've clobbered a few army lads before for assaulting members of the public while on a cash escort, she just wanted a chat (lonely little old lady) and he whacked her in the nose with the butt of his gun, cue the other lad screaming at her to back off. They both got a clatter and were detained until the MPs arrived to haul them off.

M. Garda Traffic Corps

My god, what were they thinking :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Traumadoc wrote: »
    I really object to being called a lazy git, it is ignorant- perhaps this should be moved to the insults thread?

Surely you're used to the chip-on-shoulder "doctors are all arrogant", "doctors are all lazy", "doctors are ****e outside of the hospital environment" brigade.

Ironically, as a junior doc you'll probably take more abuse from other healthcare/hospital/emergency services workers than any other hospital employee. I've even had the police threaten to arrest me in work!!!

The concept of non-medics telling us how lazy consultants are gives me a giggle too. People have no idea what a consultant's job is like, or how many years of crappy pay and slave hours it took to get there.

My consultant worked from 0830-0300hours yesterday. Then he was back in work for the ward round at 8am in the morning. This wouldn't be unusual.

Several of these posts go against the emergency services charter. I think this should be closed.

Traumadoc wrote: »
    Several of these posts go against the emergency services charter. I think this should be closed.

I have just checked, and you have not reported a single one of these "several" posts which you say go against the charter. The title of the thread asks for people's opinions, and sickpuppy32 gave his, although I will admit his comment on consultants could have been more constructive and insightful.

You have a right to challenge him on his comment on this thread or by PM, but please, if you have a complaint about a post, use click the "Report Post" icon and state your case in your report.

I have reviewed sickpuppy32's post, and I do not find it breaches the charter, when I consider the entire context of his post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I hold quite a lot of respect for other Emergency Services.

I've grown up in a family of Full and Part Time Fire Brigade Members. Father and two uncles served as station officers until two retired; one of my uncles taking the role from the other. The amount of horrid scenes they come across and danger they are required to place themselves into is highly admirable and it's also sad that they have to bear with being attacked by lowlife youths in certain areas when trying to put out a house/car fire.

I spent two weeks on an observant role with the Ambulance Service during Garda Training and thought that it was the most valuable placement I could have been on. It's a hard job with little appreciation; a lot of serious decisions and trouble dealing with patients who may not be the most co-operative in looking for medical attention. They deal with death a lot of the time and are essentially the doctors until they travel the 10/20/30 miles to the nearest hospital. Not an easy number.

The Prison Service? Seriously understaffed and are stuck with what we put in there. I'm sure they're not delighted to have to face the thought of a day where your workplace is crowded far beyond Health and Safety regulations and that a they know most of their customers on a first name basis. No self protection, restricted overtime and a lot of criticism from the public makes morale even lower.

The DF are fine. I rarely deal with them but on Cash Escorts they seem to know their primary role and not to go beyond it. Generally quite courteous to us as well as the public. Their equipment has significantly improved in recent years and hopefully will only get better as time goes by and responsibilities increase.

Gardai - Had nothing but good experiences before joining the job. From outside I never would have guessed how underresourced it is. How so few members in the countryside are expected to cover such a large area of land with only one patrol car and three (if lucky) members on foot patrol is beyond me/general comprehension. Low grade equipment and low morale induced by media generalisation and little to no Government support further this even more so.

A&E - Nurses and Doctors who are crippled resource and facility wise. Morale must be low here. I've only had positive experiences dealing with these good people but surely the stress must be very difficult to tackle.

Overall I get on well with my colleauges in the other services.

In relation to the above issues being mentioned about laziness in some fields or otherwise - I'm also the opinion that the Public (us as individuals included) have genuine reason to think that various sectors of the services are 'lazy' as they do not honestly know what's going on behind the closed doors. It's been mentioned by Tallaght01 and Traumadoc that consultants can be worn out due to the sheer hours they do and no amount of money can change that. There cannot be a Garda on every street corner nor can there be a Prison Service that does not have an personnel/morale issue.

Why? Resources, resources, resources..

Can anyone who has been in the USA recall those advertisements on television that ask you to support your local Police/Ambulance/Fire Dept? You might cringe at the pure cheese but they do put the perspective right with young people and show that they're there and doing their level best and the Government is supporting them; which I believe boosts morale.

Maybe a similar intiative here can bolster public confidence/satisfaction and encourage further progress and improvements in Hospitals/Prisons/Gardai and others.

Just my 2 cents. Carry On..;)

i've thought over my initial and hastily written comment about consultants been lazy gits and i wish to withdraw them. My comment was based on been behind the scenes in an emergency room for a few weeks and a few bad experiences i had with consultants. However I completely forgot about one consultant who definitely isn't lazy ( and isn't the exception either) and without who i'd be in a wheelchair, dr sugars from the old adelade hospital, his pioneering surgury on telipies foot i am extremely grateful for.

I never worked with Mr. Sugars, but he was held in high regard when I worked in the Adelaide. That hospital was one of the most efficient I have ever worked in, the operating rooms were always going and put through a huge amount of work, I think it is because there was no accident and emergency department there was no problems with beds.
    After it closed many of the surgeons and anaesthetists were underemployed because they could not get cases into hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

My god, what were they thinking :eek:

No idea, it was an isolated incident, but there still is a big rift in trust between the army and the guards. Some of the army lads are a great laugh, but a lot of them (to my own mind) seem unstable at the best of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

i've thought over my initial and hastily written comment about consultants been lazy gits and i wish to withdraw them.

That's a nice gesture. Fair play to you :)

We all say things when we haven't really thought them true, but it's refreshing when someone admits to it.

well this is a nice polite website so i thought i'd return the ethos. Heaven forbid if we ever turn this place into politics.ie !:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

One comment on A&E. While of course they do triage, quite often they don't explain it to the lower priority cases and then you get the "I spent X hours waiting" complaints.

That is a common problem, there should be separate waiting areas for the different triage categories , I know how upset it can be in Macdonalds if one queue goes faster than yours.

If there were separate waiting rooms people would feel they were being seen in turn, I think this would diffuse much of the tension the triage system creates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dfbfire/ambo

just thought id comment on this one. work for dfb myself
    gardai: never any problems.. very halpful to us asnd no problems with closing roads ect.. they just let us get on with it .

army never had any dealings with

hse and private ambo crews.. no prob whatsoever. in fact just in relation to buzzman s comment.. sorry if you found some one on an off day but my crew always make a point of talking to other ambo crews.. 1) ya get more info on whats goin on in their job:) :) 2) ya get to start rumors and have a bit of craic:) :) (only jokin
    )
    a&e staff.. wouldnt do their job for the world... fair play to them.

prison officers.. only know a few through friends ion the gardi.. they were very clannish..:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭userfriendly

Member of DFB

Gardai Get on well with them and definitely don't envy the work they have to do.

A&E Have a huge workload so wouldn't like to do the work they do either, though there is a few that ignore you, a simple "hey lads, be with you in 5mins" would do, though thankfully they are few and far between, and the overall majority are extremely friendly and helpful towards us.

Army No dealings with

Prison service Again no dealings

Coast Guard Have worked with the coast guard helicopter a few times, and have to say I'm extremely impressed with their professionalism. Very friendly & helpful. I have allot of respect for the guys and the work they do. Never had any dealings with the volunteers though so can't comment on them.