Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Challenge -ideas on what body 2 aspire??

• 15-03-2008 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭

Quote from Gem --- ''This may sound kind of silly but if you can find a picture of someone who you’d really like to look like or have the abilities of. Stick that picture somewhere that you will see it all the time – beside your PC, on your fridge, at your desk – make sure that this picture plagues you and reminds you of what your potential really is.''

Try as I may - I cant think of someone I'd like to look like that I'd be able to look like. Am 5ft2' female kinda curvy? Want to lose about 15lbs & lose fat - the usual stuff really
    Has anyone thought of who's body they are aiming for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Ryan Reynolds, but with bigger arms! It'll take a bit more than the next 10 weeks though. :pac:

Ryan_Reynolds_blade3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,598 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Any of "The 300", amazing and I WILL be something like that before the year is out!

300-01.jpg

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

markus1.gif
    1191400789_aaaab0376.jpg
    1191400768_aaaab0387.jpg

Ok ok I know he's a freak and all but I just love the idea of being massive :D
    every time I need to dig deep to move that bar that little bit more I think of Markus

ps

Here is him and the wife :)

2984.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

lol not really what I had in mind :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Quote from Gem --- ''This may sound kind of silly but if you can find a picture of someone who you’d really like to look like or have the abilities of. Stick that picture somewhere that you will see it all the time – beside your PC, on your fridge, at your desk – make sure that this picture plagues you and reminds you of what your potential really is.''

Try as I may - I cant think of someone I'd like to look like that I'd be able to look like. Am 5ft2' female kinda curvy? Want to lose about 15lbs & lose fat - the usual stuff really
    Has anyone thought of who's body they are aiming for?

You sound like you have a similar body shape to me. I dont have a body shape to aspire to as of yet, but i do have photos of when i was more toned and slimmer (the me i am aiming to get back to pretty much). Not sure if that helps at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 springs

image012kg6.th.jpg

Given that I am a toothpick this might be a longshot but aim high i say :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

[IMG]Here is him and the wife :)[/img]2984.jpg

Oh christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

mp1972 wrote: »
    Oh christ.

no, it's Marcus Ruhl.

And each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I honestly have no "aspirational body"

I probably should as it would give me something to aim for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

After watchin the last Blade film I wanted her body (not in the that wa :D) so bad!!!

Guns-Biel.jpg

and..

jessica-biel-puerto-rico-bikini-01.jpg

Oh christ.

Yer man on the right honestly looks like one of those yokes at the beach where you stick your head through a hole on a cardboard cut out.

d-redser wrote: »
    After watchin the last Blade film I wanted her body ... so bad!!!
    Jessica Biel, excellent choice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Right now Floyd Mayweather is inspiring me (attached) He's also bout same height as me too - but I'm bigger and would be going for bigger arms. I did MMA training for the first time during the week and I'd like the boxer's physique - ripped and lean and muscular but not overly bulky...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I wanna look like this guy, expect 5 or 6kg heavier!!

Hanley wrote: »
    I wanna look like this guy, expect 5 or 6kg heavier!!

NARCISSIST!!:D

celestial wrote: »
    NARCISSIST!!:D

Meh... why try and look like someone else when I can look like myself only better!

I've had a pretty heavy and successful competition season since that photo was taken, moved up to 100kg gained alot of muscle and some fat along the way. I think I was around 89-91kg at 12ish % bodyfat in that photo, I should come in in similar shape at about 94 or 95kg.

Meh... why try and look like someone else when I can look like myself only better!

I've had a pretty heavy and successful competition season since that photo was taken, moved up to 100kg gained alot of muscle and some fat along the way. I think I was around 89-91kg at 12ish % bodyfat in that photo, I should come in in similar shape at about 94 or 95kg.

Indeed - it's one way of doing it but I like to have others to 'look up to' until I get to where I want to be.

What you gonna do to drop weight - just cutting calories and even a bit of cardio I think you said elsewhere?

I'm gonna do a little experiment during the week. I'm off work all week and from Tues - Thurs I'm gonna train hard twice a day and eat nothing but meat, veg and fruit (except for some porridge in the morning pre-training) - kinda want my fat loss to accelerate a bit and feel like I've plataued somewhat....

celestial wrote: »

What you gonna do to drop weight - just cutting calories and even a bit of cardio I think you said elsewhere?

I plan on doing both of the above, but I'm actually a bit worried about dropping too much weight too quickly. It's not at all unusual for me to drop 2kg in the first week and 1kg each week after. It really pulls my strength down to sh!t if I do it that way. Normally I can afford to drop 5-6kg before my strength suffers.

I'm contemplating keeping my kcals higher, and not being TOO careful with what I eat but just raising my activity levels to lose about .5kg per week after the first 3 or 4 weeks depeding on the speed of my loss. It's not really in the spirit of the thread or challenge, but if it ends up that my goals and the challenge don't fall into line then I won't have any regret in dropping the challenge. This year will be a very big year for my competition wise, so that has to take priority. I don't need to go to the extremes suggest in the rules, but I know very well how to get the end result.

I might not end up sticking to the challenge 100%, but the results will still speak for itself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

markus1.gif
    1191400789_aaaab0376.jpg
    1191400768_aaaab0387.jpg

Ok ok I know he's a freak and all but I just love the idea of being massive :D
    every time I need to dig deep to move that bar that little bit more I think of Markus

ps

Here is him and the wife :)

2984.jpg

Again, Oh Christ :)
    The wife's the one on the left i take it.
    Dunno why anyone would want to look like that tbh- each to their own i suppose.
    Ryan Reynolds physique would be OK.
    d-redser wrote: »
    After watchin the last Blade film I wanted her body (not in the that wa :D) so bad!!!

Guns-Biel.jpg

and..

jessica-biel-puerto-rico-bikini-01.jpg

Ah Jessica Biel, amazing looking woman.

I'm actually a bit worried about dropping too much weight too quickly. It's not at all unusual for me to drop 2kg in the first week and 1kg each week after.!
    My heart bleeds for you :rolleyes:
    It really pulls my strength down to sh!t if I do it that way. Normally I can afford to drop 5-6kg before my strength suffers.
    I'm contemplating keeping my kcals higher, and not being TOO careful with what I eat but just raising my activity levels to lose about .5kg per week
    .!

I found at 2-2.5g of protien per 1lb of lean body mass and feck all carbs (about 40-60g of oats in the morning , the pwo dextros and a bag of frozen brocclie) I was able to increase lean body mass while dropping bf (I was doing feck all cardio and less intense workouts than a world jr champ) I was lifting 5-6 days a week, my strenth did not suffer maybe my endurence did a little but not much (low carbing dosent realy effenct me much:D)
    (I think I was pulling in aroung 3000-3400 cals per day)
    after the first 3 or 4 weeks depeding on the speed of my loss.
    .!
    Thats prettty much my plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Lurvely

Kirsty Gallacher has a really nice body, lovely & toned :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

eaa12-Grimy.jpg

I've always wanted to look like this since I first saw this picture. I dunno if right now is a good time to try and get my bf that low though, my exams are gonna be bang in the middle of the challenge so I dunno how doable it'd be.

Tbh, I'd settle with a me who's light enough to fit into the right comp category, just to see what happens to my strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,598 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Malteaser! wrote: »
    eaa12-Grimy.jpg

Good lord, the things I'd do...
    Who is she?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Lurvely wrote: »
    Kirsty Gallacher has a really nice body, lovely & toned :D

She's got a weird nose though - just ask Dragan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Longfield wrote: »
    Who is she?

lol, her name's Stacey McMahon, she's an Australian model.

Here's her site: http://www.whitetiger.com.au/stacey.php

Malteaser! wrote: »
    lol, her name's Stacey McMahon, she's an Australian model.

Here's her site: http://www.whitetiger.com.au/stacey.php

She's exceptionally hot, but a li'l bit skinny for me - her plus about a stone would be purrrrrrfect.....

Although, brought my daughter to see the Game Plan last night and this very fine lady was in it...

Roselyn-Sanchez-1.jpg

Monique Vasquez... very possibly the most beautiful creature I've ever seen in my life...

EDIT: Yeah, Yeah, I know - could I be any more off topic?? :P

Who is she?

Meh, too skinny for my liking.

And I'm a skinny guy.

Who is she?

Meh, too skinny for my liking.

And I'm a skinny guy.

I like slim girls and all but I do like them to have a bit of a feminine shape to them.

I wouldn't mind going for this in the short term. Probably would be viewed as a bit too skinny but I'm a slip of a lad as it is.

derek2.jpg

Minus the tattoo of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Oh christ.
    Nope. Ruhhhhhl.
    But close enough, I suppose, if Ronnie's not about ;)

I wouldn't mind going for this in the short term. Probably would be viewed as a bit too skinny but I'm a slip of a lad as it is.

derek2.jpg

Minus the tattoo of course.
    Actually, there's a still of him from about a second later that really shows the efforts he made to get in shape for that picture. He has his hands over his head and looks a lot heavier than he really was..

JayRoc wrote: »
    Actually, there's a still of him from about a second later that really shows the efforts he made to get in shape for that picture. He has his hands over his head and looks a lot heavier than he really was..

I did hear he put on a fair bit of muscle for the part

american01_l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Fatloss08

he go himself in great shape and then let it all go , doesnt make sense :)

he's dating salma hayek isnt he

she's a dinger :O)

Fatloss08 wrote: »
    he go himself in great shape and then let it all go , doesnt make sense :)

For him it's just a job some thing he has to do to get the role,

Actually, on that note, I'd say Christian Bale has exhibited many a physique to aspire to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

kickouthejams --- as a guy with a more slender build, have you checked out Brad Pitt in Fight Club?. Its almost agony to look at him he's so hot. [ I had no interest in him before that movie - not into the pretty boy thing]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Yup, this'd be mine (still haven't learned how to attach pics)

http://i.imdb.com/Photos/Ss/0144084/1-8.jpg

Edit: Speaking of which - these 2 photo's are less than a year apart

http://oldnick.coraider.com/uploaded_images/christianbale-770999.jpg

Mindboggling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

clint%20hgy%2038.jpg

+5KG
    Im almost there, my arms a slightly bigger though, if I manage to stick to the challenge then this is very attainable...

davyjose wrote: »
    Yup, this'd be mine (still haven't learned how to attach pics)

http://i.imdb.com/Photos/Ss/0144084/1-8.jpg

Mindboggling

{img}LINK{/img} Except instead of {'s you use ['s

If those photos really were taken a year apart then it's highly impressive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

g'em wrote: »
    american01_l.jpg

yum! :D

on topic

i'd like to look like jamie eason.

i googled her, and the first pic that came up was this one.

the description of the picture says... "jamie eason..... holy **** nice ass"

JamieEason02.png.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Seraphina wrote: »
    yum! :D

on topic

i'd like to look like jamie eason, only with maybe a little more bodyfat (cause i'd never get mine that low)

i googled her, and the first pic that came up was this one.

the description of the picture says... "jamie eason..... holy **** nice ass"

JamieEason02.png.jpg

I had to thank you for that pic :D

bed2eda302de6ac1c7a9.jpeg

I go for Iron Mike if it were possible - which it's not, but I always thought he was a huge guy who was still well-proportioned, which is what I try to do. Get a little bit bigger and leaner everywhere... like a scaled down (and fatter and whiter!) Tyson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I plan on doing both of the above, but I'm actually a bit worried about dropping too much weight too quickly. It's not at all unusual for me to drop 2kg in the first week and 1kg each week after. It really pulls my strength down to sh!t if I do it that way. Normally I can afford to drop 5-6kg before my strength suffers.

I'm contemplating keeping my kcals higher, and not being TOO careful with what I eat but just raising my activity levels to lose about .5kg per week after the first 3 or 4 weeks depeding on the speed of my loss. It's not really in the spirit of the thread or challenge, but if it ends up that my goals and the challenge don't fall into line then I won't have any regret in dropping the challenge. This year will be a very big year for my competition wise, so that has to take priority. I don't need to go to the extremes suggest in the rules, but I know very well how to get the end result.

I might not end up sticking to the challenge 100%, but the results will still speak for itself!

I've been keeping an eye on this thread and this isn't meant to be argumentative, but if someone doesn't stick to the rules 100% then effectively you aren't doing the challenge. There's a huge amount of room and flexibility within the rules for people to have room to manoeuvre so if you don't stay within those parameters it's not really fair to all the people in the challenge who do. By all means if you feel there are better ways of doing this for you personally that's totally cool, but the rules were designed with the majority in mind? I've no doubt you will get results but some of the methods you use may not be suitable for most folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

kickouthejams --- as a guy with a more slender build, have you checked out Brad Pitt in Fight Club?. Its almost agony to look at him he's so hot. [ I had no interest in him before that movie - not into the pretty boy thing]
    A very popular look to try and get. Most serious lifters will think he looks skinny and not muscley at all, but this is what many people might want, just a bit athletic.

he was bigger in troy
    brad_pitt_abs.jpg

I wouldn't want to be much bigger than that. I would like a Bruce Lee look but I am too fond of the beer & burgers for that.

Bruce_Lee_in_HK_1973.jpg70171041_o.jpg43454Wps2x.jpg

This guy is Ivan Stoitsov an Olympic Weightlifter, just saw him on that stronglifts site.
    1410872951_27bc2c3002.jpg?v=0
    I find those pics more impressive since there is no fancy lighting or airbrushing going on.
    UFC fighter Andre Arlovski
    arlovski0091er4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Mindboggling

And this rare pic is in between! :eek:

machinist_premiere03.jpg

{img}LINK{/img} Except instead of {'s you use ['s

If those photos really were taken a year apart then it's highly impressive!

Thanks Hanley - according to this it was 5 months, but can't say I believe that.
    http://www.darkhorizons.com/news05/bat3.php
    His commitment to the work though has also yielded headlines. In 1999 the averagely built Bale spent months in training to yield a perfectly sculpted muscular body for the acclaimed and controversial adaptation of "American Psycho." Those muscles stayed in place for a few years until last year's "The Machinist" when the actor lost over 60 pounds to star as a skeletally thin 120 pound insomniac mechanic in "The Machinist". It was after that wrapped that he was announced as the new "Batman" and in the space of five months, stacked on almost 100 pounds (much of that muscle) to play the latest, darkest and most accurate adaptation yet of the Caped Crusader.

And this rare pic is in between! :eek:

machinist_premiere03.jpg

Clearly just ate everything in sight while building and went on a major cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Clearly just ate everything in sight while building and went on a major cut.
    Some member here said he met his PT, and he was on pizzas and other stuff, wolfing everything down.

Difference may not be 5months but it was quick, it is not like some scam with fake before and after shots, you can simply google to see when the 2 films were being made to find out the approx min time it could have been.

smashey wrote: »
    I've been keeping an eye on this thread and this isn't meant to be argumentative, but if someone doesn't stick to the rules 100% then effectively you aren't doing the challenge. There's a huge amount of room and flexibility within the rules for people to have room to manoeuvre so if you don't stay within those parameters it's not really fair to all the people in the challenge who do. By all means if you feel there are better ways of doing this for you personally that's totally cool, but the rules were designed with the majority in mind? I've no doubt you will get results but some of the methods you use may not be suitable for most folk.

I'm ruled out of the challenge myself, because I'll be on holidays during it, but in fairness to the guy, he can still use this challenge to give himself motivation - I know I will be. I will be also offering advice if, and where, I can (as I assume - and hope - Hanley, and anyone else who can't partake will). I think it would go against the nature of this forum if we were made to feel excluded simply because we're doing things differently to others.

</my $0.02>

I hope there's no problem with that?

I'm ruled out of the challenge myself, because I'll be on holidays during it, but in fairness to the guy, he can still use this challenge to give himself motivation - I know I will be. I will be also offering advice if, and where, I can (as I assume - and hope - Hanley, and anyone else who can't partake will). I think it would go against the nature of this forum if we were made to feel excluded simply because we're doing things differently to others.

</my $0.02>

I hope there's no problem with that?

Advice and encouragement is gladly accepted and welcomed!! It's just fairer that everyone in the challenge follows the same parameters. The guidelines that have been set out will work for 99% of people who try them, and to anyone who feels that they wont get the results they want from the challenge then perhaps it just isn't the vehicle they're looking for right now?

The challenge spirit is about support and community, with everyone in it together, nothing more complicated than that ;)