Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Canning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Ooooops Sorry!! It was probably mentioned already, I just didnt have time yesterday to go through all the posts. Yep, I just heard he's on the panel, come on the tribes! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

At least if Canning has a bad game (which I hope he does not) Iarla Tannion is in great form.Does anyone else think it's time we got on hands and knees to get Ollie Canning back.He was outstanding for Portumna.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Does anyone else think it's time we got on hands and knees to get Ollie Canning back.He was outstanding for Portumna.

Totally agree. Loughnane should be outside his house with a big bunch of flowers singing him lovesongs if that's what it takes.

Exciting that Joe is starting and we'll finally get a look at him in a senior jersey. As the article in Thursday's independent said it's very unusual or even unique for a player to have built up such a high profile already without ever having played county senior. To the extent that all eyes will be on him on Sunday. No pressure then!

He did play against Waterford earlier on in the year for LIT and had an excellent game, so there's no doubt he's well ready for this level. Dan Shanahan even commented in his post match interview that he hoped not to run into Canning again this year. But going straight in against Cork in a league semi final is a tall order on his debut so it wouldn't be fair to expect too much. If he can hold his own and chip in with a couple of scores that would be a satisfactory start.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Will he be given free-taking duties? It'd be a crime for him not to.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Will he be given free-taking duties? It'd be a crime for him not to.

Hard to know. Ger Farragher is starting so I'd say he'll be taking them. Canning will undoubtedly take over freetaking duties in due course but might be better to give him a taste of things on his debut without that added pressure. We also have Kerrill Wade on the bench who was Galway's first choice freetaker last year so we're a bit spoiled for choice in that department.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,407 ✭✭✭✭cson

I'll be Farragher. Its the only reason he's in the team. Useless from play.

Anyway, off to the match now! :)

Utterly superb debut. That sideline cut was the best I've ever seen him or anyone else do.

Farragher was far from useless too!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

More good news for Galway regarding another Canning

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2008/0415/canning.html
    Former All Star hurler Ollie Canning has come out of inter-county retirement following talks with Galway manager Ger Loughnane.

Canning initially retired from in January 2007 after admitting that his enthusiasm for playing inter-county hurling had diminished.

However, after talks with Loughnane and his back-room staff last week, he has taken the decision to return to the Tribesmen ahead of this year's Championship.

Canning has been named in the All Star team three times, earning the accolade in 2003, 2005 and 2006.

He also helped spearhead his club Portumna to All-Ireland glory last month when he captained them to victory over Birr in the Club Hurling final at Croke Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

More good news for Galway regarding another Canning

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2008/0415/canning.html
    Wonder if it was the flowers....;)
    aidan24326 wrote:
    Totally agree. Loughnane should be outside his house with a big bunch of flowers singing him lovesongs if that's what it takes.

I can't help but feel me and aidan played a massive part in the return of Ollie Canning.But seriously do any of ye think a brown envelope was slipped in a certain direction;)

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

I can't help but feel me and aidan played a massive part in the return of Ollie Canning.But seriously do any of ye think a brown envelope was slipped in a certain direction;)

Absolutely not.

MrJoeSoap - Yes, it was some sideline alright but I've seen him do it beyond the 65 as well. Any sideline Galway get now is as good as a free in.

dartsfan wrote: »
    Absolutely not.

MrJoeSoap - Yes, it was some sideline alright but I've seen him do it beyond the 65 as well. Any sideline Galway get now is as good as a free in.

I've definitely seen clips from further out but never seen one curl as much as Sunday. Incredible score.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

People were saying that its isnt asd good scoring points from freesa than ffrom play but to a team any score you can get matters!

No doubt brown envelopes are involved from time to time in GAA circles but in the case of Ollie Canning I doubt it. He's been out of the county scene for a couple of years now and was probably itching to get back into it. Joe being involved now aswell would have been an added incentive.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,407 ✭✭✭✭cson

Not overly disappointed with the loss today. It'll do the world of good if Loughnane sits down and reviews the video, because a lot of players were shown up today.

Firstly, the forwards. Hugely overrated by the media. Bar the two Portumna boys Joe (1-6) and Damien (0-4) the forwards weren't at the races. Bear in mind that Joe more or less created the other two goals as well. I had to check who was playing centre forward for us - Fergal Healy. Utterly ineffective as was Niall Healy. Iarla Tannion had a diasasterous game, didn't get more than one or two touches. Alan Kerins didn't do badly when he came on, he needs game time. Aonghus Callanan and Kerril Wade were passengers when they came on.

Secondly, I have been less than complimentary about Shane Kavanagh but he and John Lee had an imperious game today. Adrian Cullinane wasn't quite as good but all things being said, the half back performance was excellent. Which leads to the full back line. Cathal Dervan and Fergal Moore were average, Moore had a decent game against one of the best in Eoin Kelly. And then Tony Og Regan. Mother of God. The amount of space Lar Corbett got off him. Full back is a problem to say the least.

Midfield is also a problem area. Richie Murray isn't good enough at this level. Kevin Hynes is a useful player but he needs someone with him. He can't fight the battles on his own.

The positives: Its early yet and this might be the kick up the arse the team needs. They are not as good as they're protrayed in the media and hopefully they learned this today.

Changes that need to be made: I find it incredible that only 2 players out of your county and All Ireland champions are making this team. Most of the Cork/Kilkenny AI winning teams had a backbone of Newtown and Ballyhale lads. The Portumna attack is a well proven unit at this stage and that should lead to Kevin Hayes coming in at centre forward and Andy Smith in one of the half forward positions. In the full backline Ollie Canning can slot in at corner back with Cathal Dervan moving to full back. I also think Eoin Lynch should partner Kevin Hynes in midfield.

All that being said, all that was between the sides today was the first goal the Skehill made a shite of.

Sidenote: Tipp played well today with Paul Curran, Shane McGrath, Lar Corbett and Eoin Kelly turning in excellent performances. The half back Maher had a great game too.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Looks like Tipperary have finally created an attack that doesn't begin and end with Kelly.

6 weeks time in Cork will be very tight. Tipp definetly have the more settled side right now, and finally have a quality full back. A Cork defeat wouldn't be a shock.

I do think that Tipp deserved it more.Skehill didn't do himself justice.
    OHHHH!Memories of Liam Donoghue flooding back.

I do think that Tipp deserved it more.Skehill didn't do himself justice.
    OHHHH!Memories of Liam Donoghue flooding back.

Didn't do his team justice either, it was a shocking mistake.

Joe was pretty anonymous first half, but exceptional in the second. His harrying and hand-pass for Callanan's goal was great to watch, and his own goal was just mesmerising, such power and skill.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

Agree with CSON on most points. Regan is just not an intercounty full-back. He always looks in bother. He is never convincing. Very disappointing to loose but it's good to be getting such top quality games nearer to championship time. A draw would have been even better from a Galway point of view. It looked on the cards for a couple of minutes near the end.

Skehill was very shaky after a good game last Sunday, which leads me to the question, Whay was Callanan dropped from goals? He never made any mistakes last year. The full back line is the problem area. I don't know if Dervan is the solution to full back either. I would really love to see either Diarmuid Cloonan or Eugene McEntee (neither of which are on the panel) get a go.

Kavanagh and Lee were immense today. They got Regan out of jail a couple of times. Cullinane did some some great things but he also overcarried the ball on some occasions. Collins should take the No.7 spot though. (If he isn't out for the championship with injury?) Agree about Richie Murray. He just seems to be disinterested or not up to the pace or something. Lynch should partner Hynes (who gave a very workmanlike performance today).

Smith and Chunky should be in the half forward line. I was very disappointed in Niall Healy and Fergal today. Farragher was out of sorts, but maybe because of that back injury he was supposed to have? He should retain his place on the championship team. But then there is Kerins and Forde vying for half-forward spots as well. I don't really rate Forde.

Hayes was excellent today the only forward to turn up really. Tannian was poor at full-forward but as he showed last week, he has the potential. Then there's Joe Canning, of course I expect him to keep his place on the team and he got a great goal today as well as being involved in the build up to the other goals. He is slightly overweight though and I think he was closed down too quickly on a few occasions today. He is however still adjusting to the top level and I expect Loughnane will help shed some of that excess weight before championship time.

Loughnane tends to interfere with the team too much to quickly. Examples of this include the subs at half time and the continious switching, overexperimenting really. He persisted with Regan at full-back until the damage was done. Just looking at the match programme there is very little cover for the full-back line. Ollie Canning will help shore up but he's not a full back. The main problem areas are still full-back, midfield and centre-forward. Chunky may be th solution at centre-forward but the other two for now remain unresolved.

Loughnane's reign has established very little really. Conor Hayes made more progress during his term. Lee I suppose is his big success, a sweeping centre back very much in the mould of Seanie MacMahon. I think Loughnane himself is still feeding off the Clare success in the nineties, trying to replicate too much what he did back then often referencing his time with Clare in interviews. Much of the training and professionalism of Clare in the nineties still applies but he has to leave that behind him. Galway are not Clare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

yeah.

cannot understand how more Portumna players aren't nearer the team

maybe its due to them not being one of the traditional big hurling clubs in the county????

There were 4 on the panel today and Chunky Hayes is on the extended panel. All five of these players could make the team and the likes McEntee could be added and of course Ollie Canning. Maybe you're right. Politics may have a part to play. Regan is hardly there on merit?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭eigrod

Canning looks a super hurler alright.

Is he going to have problems with his weight though ? Only 19, but he looks to be carrying a bit around his arse.

Yeah he does seem to have bulked up a lot since his earlier underage days. He was smothered in possession a lot in the first half. I expect he may turn up for championship battle in leaner shape though. If he can score goals like that one today with extra weight, what will he do trimmed down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭gerrytack@hotma

yes Curran is good but thats an unfair comment about last years full back Declan Fanning when he got the all star award for that position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

I dont agree that Conor Hayes made more progress with Galway than Loughnane did - thats definately not true. Hayes was there worst manager in years. look at the results in Thurles against kk . Galway were with Kilkenny up until 10 mins left in the all ireland semi last year. Moore had Eddie Brennan fairly well tied up but when he went off injured it made a bit difference - the cause of the two goals could have been prevented if he was there.

Looking at yesterday , one major switch would have won the game yesterday - changing somebody to full back instead of regan. Regan isnt good enough - could have put him in the corner and kavanagh full back. Dervan played fairly well but id have my reservations .Good half back line performance
    MacEntee isnt the answer either - didnt have a great game in the club all ireland - remember the goals he and the goalie conceded?
    id say loughnane could move kavanagh to full , and replace tony og with ollie canning. personally i think ollie canning isnt up to it any more and his final years with galway definately wasnt the olllie of old.

If galway played kilkenny yesterday they would have conceded about six goals.

Joe canning was completely out of it for the first half and looked like he struggled to get into the game, but had a great second half.if he can speed up he'll be a great hurler. some goal he got and sheer strenght alone.

One thing was noticeable the way tipperary are launching the attack from the puck outs and using them very effectively. look at how many scores they got directly after their puck out - i can think of five at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 kram_araman

Agree with culabula88. If we had a full back we would have won that game. Regan won pretty much nothing yesterday and we were lucky not to concede more.

One thing I noticed at the game yesterday was the poor first touch of many of the Galway players compared to the Tipp lads. TIme and time again we would look like we would be about to create something and then we would fumble the ball. It was very frustrating to watch at times.

Joe did well yesterday in the second half. I agree with some of the people talking about him being a tad heavy but I doubt he will have that for the championship and it will make him a much faster player which I felt was his problem in the first half.

I thaught Skehill was doing good yesterday until he made a balls of that goal. Anyone else find that he was very slow to puck the ball out in the last few minutes of the match aswell?

Joe Canning had a very poor first half and when the substitution was made early on (when Niall Healy went off) I wouldn't have been shocked had Joe been called ashore, even though I'd have disagreed with the move. However he really turned it around in the second half. Seemed to revel in the extra responibility of taking the frees and being fed alot more ball. I think he showed in that second 35 minutes that he can more than cut it at this level, even if his lack of pace is a hindrance.

On that note, I don't understand why he was picked in the corner? Play him at full forward where pace isn't as much of an issue. He's not quick enough to play corner forward and will do more damage at 14.

Overall though his first 2 games have been more than satisfactory and no doubt there's alot more to come.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

CyberDave wrote: »
    Farragher was out of sorts, but maybe because of that back injury he was supposed to have? He should retain his place on the championship team. But then there is Kerins and Forde vying for half-forward spots as well. I don't really rate Forde.

Farragher should never have been played yesterday, he has a bad back injury and should have been rested, or at least kept on the bench and only used if necessary. He's a much better player than he showed yesterday, but that was down to the injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

As a galway man, have to say im nearly glad they lost yesterday. They have a lot to learn yet, a victory would have only put gloss over the cracks. Canning and hayes were the only forwards at the races. Tony og Regan had a very bad game. Disappointed with Skehills mistake, he is a better keeper than that. As they say September is a long way away yet and there is a lot of hurling to be played.

culabula88 wrote: »
    I dont agree that Conor Hayes made more progress with Galway than Loughnane did - thats definately not true. Hayes was there worst manager in years. look at the results in Thurles against kk .
    Remember the classic against Kilkenny in 2005, he might have had a bad start in management but he turned it around to get them to the final. He definately didn't have as many problem positions as Loughnane now has. So maybe not McEntee but surely there must be at least one half decent full back between senior and intermediate in the county. I remember seeing Adrian Diviney from Beagh playing a full back in the Galway against the Best of the rest Galway 15 in Ballinasloe in 2006. He was good that day. John Lee was on the Best of the Rest team that day as well. There has to be a decent full-back somewhere? Kavanagh might have to do though, even though he is not a specialist. He is a great fielder of the ball which would help.