Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your ammo limit ?

• 04-03-2008 12:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Bought a Buckmark and applied for my first licence 5 weeks ago not a dickie bird yet. I read up on Target Shooting Ireland and 10,000 rounds was recommended Sargent nearly wet himself laughing at this and said I'll give you 300. In the end he put down 500 rounds. So I was just wondering what the rest of you have on your certs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

22lr = 100
    220 swift = 100
    6.5 = 500 - I filled in this amount on app form and I got it
    40 S&W = 500 - local dealer sorted this one
    12G = 100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

22lr=100
    12G=100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭packas

40 S&W 1000
    223Rem 500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭de_shadow

22lr x 2- 500 and 100
    12g - 100
    9mm - 500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Paddy Diver

Good question, because on my licence it says (not excate wording as i dont have licnece with me) "subject to NONE of the conditions listed below" and then it goes onto list conditions A,B & C which in one of the conditions it states "to have in his/her possession no more than 100 rounds at any one time"....

....so does this mean Im not subjected to this condition? and if it does, does it mean that I can have more than the stated 100 rounds but cannot have them with me when out shooting?

sorry for hijacking your thread Trevcon.

Ian

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

I have 100 on both my 12g licences but normally buy a few more at a time with no difficulty.
    Hope local plod never decides to pay a visit...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭V Bull

.22lr 1000
    .223 1000
    6.5x55 1000
    .40S&W 1000
    9mm 1000

:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭packas

V Bull wrote: »
    .22lr 1000
    .223 1000
    6.5x55 1000
    .40S&W 1000
    9mm 1000

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Hope you're able to find the time to do all that shooting :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭fishdog

Perhaps someone can confirm this for me:

I am told that if you hold a European Firearms Pass that you are automaticallyentitled to 500 rounds for each firearm listed on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Post your address so we can rob your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Good question, because on my licence it says (not excate wording as i dont have licnece with me) "subject to NONE of the conditions listed below" and then it goes onto list conditions A,B & C which in one of the conditions it states "to have in his/her possession no more than 100 rounds at any one time"....

....so does this mean Im not subjected to this condition? and if it does, does it mean that I can have more than the stated 100 rounds but cannot have them with me when out shooting?

sorry for hijacking your thread Trevcon.

Ian
    I think the ammo limit is seperate to the conditions A,B & C

Mellor wrote: »
    I think the ammo limit is seperate to the conditions A,B & C
    Yes it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭pestshooter7

12G(x2)= no limit
    223= no limit
    22lr= no limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

How does that work?
    Does it say it on cert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

fishdog wrote: »

I am told that if you hold a European Firearms Pass that you are automaticallyentitled to 500 rounds for each firearm listed on it.

I thought 250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bigred

.177: 5,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

.22WMR = 100 - Put 300 on the application hoping I'd get away with it, didn't work :(
    12G = 25 - One feckin box !!! :mad: I've no clue how that happened but it's a load of crap, I shoot loads of different targets, there is no way I can use one cartridge for Pheasants, Ducks, Foxes and Vermin.

They gave my dad a 25 limit on his 12G. This dates back 20 years and has never been increased. He has a vermin shottie which I think has a lower limit.

Watch out Bigred.......Victor might try to incite a break-in to your home........:eek::eek::eek:
    Victor wrote: »
    Post your address so we can rob your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭meathshooter

on my europass it say 250 that whats on the cert aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

my licence say 100 i was in the gun shop today show him my licence
    he asked what ammo and how many .22 rinfire 50.00euro for 500 rounds
    i ask about the limit on the cert .he say nobody check it. how do you
    know nobody check the total amout of rounds you get a year .i have
    to wright down the f.a.c. number in a log book when you buy ammo.
    i say is the log book sent into the garda ever year .he say no.
    ok i say how do the garda know what you used.

this is the answer i got. i have the log books for the last 4 years:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

9mm - 500 I think
    .22LR - 5000

Usually in the north they give you 500 until you prove you need it increased.

Also it costs £38ish to do a FAC variation as you are asking for more ammunition, but if you 'forget' to send the cheque it seems to work OK. Not sure if they would be so lenient if adding a firearm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

25 on my 12g and I think 100 on my .22lr
    But I have yet to find a gun dealer that cares what limit is on the licence.
    I often buy over 1,000 rounds at a time for both guns.

tuxy wrote: »
    25 on my 12g and I think 100 on my .22lr
    But I have yet to find a gun dealer that cares what limit is on the licence.
    I often buy over 1,000 rounds at a time for both guns.

+1:D

lads this forum is open to "Joe Public"

Do we have any need to lie to Joe Public?
    I thought education was the key.

Do we have any need to lie to Joe Public?
    I thought education was the key.

Think about it ........................... !

Failing to comply with the conditions of your FAC does not send a good image to Joe Public.

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Failing to comply with the conditions of your FAC does not send a good image to Joe Public.

Neither does lying and the fact of the mater is that gun dealers don't care about ammo quantity restrictions as they are ridiculously low.
    We should be truthful and let people come to their own conclusions.
    Even joe public would understand that 25 cartridges is not enough to go clay shooting.

You could say nothing !

You are breaking the law by having more ammo in your possession that you're FAC allows !

What would you do if you got an inspection visit from the Gardaí?

Bond-007 wrote: »

What would you do if you got an inspection visit from the Gardaí?

I dono?
    Go to jail?

They can take a look at my mp3 collection while they are at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

V Bull wrote: »
    Watch out Bigred.......Victor might try to incite a break-in to your home........:eek::eek::eek:

With amount he is packing you would need a small army to get into his house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 H!ghveloc!ty

I have 100 in 9mm. I asked in my local ststion to have it increased and was told to apply in writing, so I did, and asked for 500 rounds. 3 weeks later I got a phonecall from the guard in charge of gun licences and was told the Super said NO !!! end of. :(

I dono?
    Go to jail?

They can take a look at my mp3 collection while they are at it.

"Joe Public" doesn't licence your firearms and is more than likely happy to hear you are only allowed 25 cartridges and would be appalled that you can actually get more than that. If you notice I put "Joe Public" in brackets thinking you might cop on to what I was getting at. In hindsight I should have spelled it out .............. DOJ and gardai do read this forum !!!!!!!

Probable outcome of Garda visit may include a criminal conviction, revocation of FAC's................

You're so anxious to be open and honest why not post you're real name here, I'm sure Gardai will be able to track you down and visit you

Then they'll probably want to know what firearms dealer has been giving you more ammo than your FAC allows then they'll probably get a visit .................

Ok....
    There is a problem with dealers selling more ammo then is allowed on the FAC
    Agreed?
    What do you think, we the responsible shooting community should do about it?

Ok....
    There is a problem with dealers selling more ammo then is allowed on the FAC
    Agreed?
    What do you think, we the responsible shooting community should do about it?

Look for increase on licence and not break the terms of our FAC's

I have 100 in 9mm. I asked in my local ststion to have it increased and was told to apply in writing, so I did, and asked for 500 rounds. 3 weeks later I got a phonecall from the guard in charge of gun licences and was told the Super said NO !!! end of. :(

You are not alone

Look for increase on licence and not break the terms of our FAC's

Yes, but many dealers are informing customers that it is ok to exceed the limit on the FAC as these limits are never checked. I had always figured it was no big deal as many dealers had told me not to worry about it.

I'm sure the Judge would let you off when you give him that excuse :rolleyes:

Remember, ignorance of the law is no defence in law.

If your dealer is good enough to allow you to buy extra ammo maybe you should keep it quiet ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Paddy Diver

If your dealer is good enough to allow you to buy extra ammo maybe you should keep it quiet ;)

Yup

I buy my ammo in bulk and is held by my dealer as I need it. He would NEVER entertain giving me over my limit BUT will hold the remainder of ammo for me and release it as I need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

That's not a bad system at all actually VBUll, good idea, may consider an arrangement like that if my ammo limit is constrained.

lads this forum is open to "Joe Public"

spot on bunny thankyou. steve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

When joe public look at a cert and see 100 rounds they think that is 100 people who could be shot with your gun and ammo if it feel into the wrong hands.

If you shoot target with Hand Gun, Shotgun or Rifle 100 round is not very much ammo. And many dealers do offer price breaks on large amount of ammo.

I have being offered good prices on .22LR in packs of 500 and 12g shells in packs of 1000.

If you want to get these price breaks then you could buy with a group and split the ammo up.

If you don't live near a ammo dealer might not be convenient for you to leave you surplus ammo with them. Don't know if all dealers would offer this service.

Its easy to forget when you shoot that most non-shooters can't see why anyone would want or need to have a firearm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

When joe public look at a cert and see 100 rounds they think that is 100 people who could be shot with your gun and ammo if it feel into the wrong hands.

That's just foolish, it's going to take at least 6 or 7 rounds to zero the thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

yeah, as far as i can remember I have a limit of 500 on my europass and only a 100 on my licence, it's been a long time since i've looked at it tho. prob needs to be renewed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

12G(x2)= no limit
    223= no limit
    22lr= no limit

does it say this on your certs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

That's not a bad system at all actually VBUll, good idea, may consider an arrangement like that if my ammo limit is constrained.

If? Jammy fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

For my 22lr I got 100 on the license and applied for 1000 and got 250. And she put 250 on the shotgun license as well.
    Applying for a 223 and asked for 500 rounds but I saw her put down 250 on the application so you just can't win it would seem.