Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

YAY!!this scumbag had a bad day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

looting ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Good shout! I hope he got his bollocks stabbed in the little pr1ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It can easily happen. These two lads also got 'unlucky' -

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=385274
    A biker who crash-tackled an armed man to the ground after he tried to hold up a club in Sydney says the bandit "picked the wrong night" for a robbery.

The Southern Cross Cruiser Club was holding a meeting at a club in Regents Park, in Sydney's west, when two men armed with machetes stormed in and approached staff at the bar.

The group of about 50 motorcycle enthusiasts was in another room when they were alerted to the alleged robbery.

"I was in the middle of giving my meeting and someone ran in and said, 'The place is being robbed'," club president Jester told ABC radio.

He said while one alleged offender jumped over a balcony and ran into a nearby park, the other man tried to escape through a roller door at the front of the club.

"So we ran around the roller door out the front and as this guy opened the roller door, we crash tackled him in the doorway," Jester said.

The man managed to escape after being knocked to the ground and tried to climb a fence out of the property, Jester said.

"He fell on my arm so I let him go and he got up, so we chased him to the fence," he said.

"We caught him at the fence and crash-tackled him and hog-tied him to the ground and waited for the police to get there."

Jester said the man had picked the wrong night for the alleged robbery.

"Yeah, he picked the wrong night I think," he said.

"If they'd only looked, right when they walked in the main door, they would have seen 40 or 50 of us sitting there.

"Obviously they couldn't see out of the balaclavas, because they didn't even look.

"I don't think he did his homework very well."

Jester praised the efforts of Auburn police, who he said were at the scene in a matter of minutes.

The officers later located the other alleged robber in a nearby street.

One of the men sustained minor injuries and was under police guard in Westmead Hospital.

The other man was being questioned by police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

utick wrote: »
    2 burglers broke into a house armed with a knife and a hammer, one of them was stabbed by the man of the house. tbh im not a violent person but seeing as the justice system isnt a detterent what choice do we have but to defend ourselves aggresively. http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/national-news/suspected-burglar-stabbed-at-house-in-north-dublin-1300706.html

Knowing our justice system, the man of the house will be prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

Westmead Hospital, sounds like westmeath.

we need more scumbags stabbed!! f*ck the loss! bring back hanging if you ask me

monosharp wrote: »
    Knowing our justice system, the man of the house will be prosecuted.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/7266555.stm
    A shopkeeper has said he is "relieved" to not face a murder charge after a man who tried to rob him was stabbed to death with his own knife.
    fortunatly not all justice systems are that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

They said on the news this evening that they found the scummer on the kitchen floor. I remember hearing on the news about a case (could have been in america though) where the lad got sent to jail because they were downstairs and not upstairs i.e near the family sleeping quarters, so the judge said they weren't in danger!

I hope the man doesn't get done for it, I'd have done the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

i dont get the 'no arrest have been made' part? why not ?
    and btw big balls that dude getting even with the scum.
    More of this wanted please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Very soon, the Tabloids will have accounts of this man being arrested under the headline "Political Correctness gone mad!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

I read in the paper (metro) a couple of days back about an incident in spain where two muggers attacked a couple of guys with crowbars demanding money.

Unfortunately the guys they attacked were off duty police who had literally come out of a course in self defense.

Needless to say the muggers are now in questioning lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

Just read that the scum raiders in the OP's story held a knife to the guys two year old kid and threatened to kill the kid. These guys are complete scum. I am surprised the home owner did not kick the **** out of the injured scum on his floor. He is a better man for not doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

lafors wrote: »
    They said on the news this evening that they found the scummer on the kitchen floor. I remember hearing on the news about a case (could have been in america though) where the lad got sent to jail because they were downstairs and not upstairs i.e near the family sleeping quarters, so the judge said they weren't in danger!

I hope the man doesn't get done for it, I'd have done the same thing.
    urban legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Don't forget Bernard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

If the "man of the house" is in any way punished I swear to God, I am leaving this country for good, dunno where I'll go, but I'm leaving.
    If a man can't stab a fella in his own house these days, what can he do.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

MikeySligo wrote: »
    If the "man of the house" is in any way punished I swear to God, I am leaving this country for good, dunno where I'll go, but I'm leaving.
    If a man can't stab a fella in his own house these days, what can he do.

Unfortunately, we live in a country where scumbags have more rights then the rest of us. You can Guarantee this poor man will be either arrested or sued by the burglars.

Imagine being tackled by some middleaged naked guy though. Jesus. That's punishment enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

Stabbing someone for breaking in to a house is not justice. What the burglar had been killed? How can you justify killing someone over probably a few hundred quids worth of stolen goods? I think the person who owned the house is just as much of a scumbag for stabbing the guy. The only way I could think that stabbing another human being is right is if he was in fear for his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Raspberry wrote: »
    I think the person who owned the house is just as much of a scumbag for stabbing the guy. The only way I could think that stabbing another human being is right is if he was in fear for his life.

Or in fear for the life of his kid(s)? Such as was the case here?

Quick, somewhat-leading (& laden) Qs: Do you work for a living? Do you have kids?

It's high time the "Castle Defense" principle was validated by a Court of Law :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

That man is a hero.:cool:
    Scumbags got off too lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Stabbing someone for breaking in to a house is not justice. What the burglar had been killed? How can you justify killing someone over probably a few hundred quids worth of stolen goods? I think the person who owned the house is just as much of a scumbag for stabbing the guy. The only way I could think that stabbing another human being is right is if he was in fear for his life.

I work hard for what i own, i love my family, i will do whatever it takes to defend my family and property, i will not risk for one second their welfare, i will kill anyone who i feel is a threat to their welfare and is a threat to my hard earned property. Tough **** on the scum, they decided to live outside the law, they should have absolutely no protection fron the law as a result. that man is a hero in my eyes, scum threatned his baby, how on earth can you call him a scumbag for probably saving his baby's life?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

You are obvisiouly not a homeowner! no one had the right to enter your property and put you in fear for your children's life. you are meant to feel safe in your home.

If someone broke in my house, i would have no problem inflicting the most amount of pain on them i could. I will not allow scumbags make me feel scared in my own house. These scumbags dont work, they live of the state, mine and your taxes and they are still entitled to break in to your home and take what they like - actually fcuk, i think i will give up work and just break in to your house and take what i want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Stabbing someone for breaking in to a house is not justice.
    No you're right, he should have blown him away. I'm only sorry the burglar is still breathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭deepimpact

irishbird wrote: »
    You are obvisiouly not a homeowner! no one had the right to enter your property and put you in fear for your children's life. you are meant to feel safe in your home.

If someone broke in my house, i would have no problem inflicting the most amount of pain on them i could. I will not allow scumbags make me feel scared in my own house. These scumbags dont work, they live of the state, mine and your taxes and they are still entitled to break in to your home and take what they like - actually fcuk, i think i will give up work and just break in to your house and take what i want

I really think that scum who break into houses deserve everything they get. Certain types of scum can and do kill innocent homeowners (see Primetime recently for an analysis of Páid Skehan murder- lived 5 mins away form me)

Fear of retribution is a useful deterrent for scum who think that they can steal from decent hardworking people who may or may not have a family.

I hope that scumbag that got stabbed thinks long and hard about it before he goes off to rob someone's home again.

There is still no reason to contact the Gardai though, unless a person's/a person's family's immediate safety is threatened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

that's terrible,
    a lad out trying to make afew quid and get stabbed in his working day/night I wonder what the HSA will have to say about it....probably insist on burglers wearing propper PPE (anti stab vest, hard hat and boots) :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Fu<k them. How can you justify them breaking in to try and nick stuff that this guy has got, and hold a knife to a two year old kid?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Bloody good on 'im!!! 'Power to the People'!!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Well done to the homeowner. He should be given a medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

God I hope you are trolling

Bleeding heart liberal sentiments are half the reason why we are in the state we are in now. Scumbag burgulars should have no rights, if you catch one in your property you should be fully entitled to beat the shít out of him and then call the police....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

irishbird wrote: »
    Unfortunately, we live in a country where scumbags have more rights then the rest of us. You can Guarantee this poor man will be either arrested or sued by the burglars.
    You can guarantee it. FACT.

I'm not a home owner, but the house I live in has been broken in to four or five times in the past 10 years and valuables have been stolen. In every case the gardai were informed and the criminals who were well known to the gardai were caught. What makes you all think that your property is worth more than someones life?

No I'm not trolling. I'm just stating that life is more valuable than possessions and property. Killing is only really justified in self defense or the defense of others, but even then it should only be a last resort.

I'm not a home owner, but the house I live in has been broken in to four or five times in the past 10 years and valuables have been stolen. In every case the gardai were informed and the criminals who were well known to the gardai were caught. What makes you all think that your property is worth more than someones life?

No I'm not trolling. I'm just stating that life is more valuable than possessions and property. Killing is only really justified in self defense or the defense of others, but even then it should only be a last resort.

Congratulations so, I've reported six or seven crimes to the Gardai over the last fifteen years including one assault, three breakins/theft from where I work, and two attempted car thefts and in all cases absolutely sweet fu<k all was done. In fact, I never heard another word from anyone about any of these crimes, ever.

When you say life is more important then posessions and property, you are right. However people also have a right to protect themselves and their property, and frankly what this man did was quite understandable. Try to think about how you might react if someone was in your home and holding a knife to the throat of your two year old child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

what if the burglar had been killed? i'd go and piss on his grave. good riddance to him.

for all the guy knew the burglars were off their heads on heroin. they could have done anything if they'd been given the chance. if i found someone in my house i would assume they were prepared to kill me and act first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

As said above, according to reports he held a knife to a two year olds throat. If that's not threatening someone's life, I don't know what is.

The homeowner had every right to whatever he could to protect his families life. Someone that can do that do a child is sick in the head, who knows what else they'd do.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The had a knife and hammer

You think they wanted to do a bit of sneaky DIY?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

Even if he had not threatened the child, the guy robbing the house had it coming. People should of course be allowed to use force to defend their property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

2 guys broke into his home with a hammer and a knife. They were hardly there to cook breakfast for the family lets be honest about it! The prick of a burglar got less then he deserved. You break into a persons home and violate their property, possibly hurt their family, you take what comes. If you don't want to get stabbed don't rob houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

And what, it's tough luck if you happen to be robbed from guys who are more competent at being criminals and not well known? Lucky you that the guys that robbed your house were caught, but it's often the case that the gards don't give a **** because they know unless the burglars are still climbing out the window when they arrive, they're likely to get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

What makes you all think that your property is worth more than someones life?
    IMO it is the burglars who value property more than their own lives. They are the ones risking their lives for a few quid. They know what they are getting into, do you really think the other burglars are thinking "the cheek of the bastard, all we did was break into his house, hold knife to his kids throat, and he goes and stabs me!"

Should he just have politely asked them to leave?

Try to think about how you might react if someone was in your home and holding a knife to the throat of your two year old child.
    You'll find the answer to this question in one of my previous posts where I said the use of deadly force is only right in cases of self defense, used as a last resort. You should re-read my posts in this thread because you've seemed to miss my point since apparently you think that I claimed that deadly force was wrong no matter what the circumstances.

Also, to everyone else. My posts justifying my stance were not aimed specifically at this case, they were more aimed at the general attitude of the responses in this thread. I would say that this guys reaction was justified due to the fact that the intruders had weapons and were threatening his family.
    rubadub wrote: »
    IMO it is the burglars who value property more than their own lives. They are the ones risking their lives for a few quid. They know what they are getting into, do you really think the other burglars are thinking "the cheek of the bastard, all we did was break into his house, hold knife to his kids throat, and he goes and stabs me!"

Should he just have politely asked them to leave?
    Thats a very backwards way of thinking. Why do you feel you have a right to kill someone who is trying to steal from you? Both are wrong, how ever killing is far worse than theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Thats a very backwards way of thinking. Why do you feel you have a right to kill someone who is trying to steal from you? Both are wrong, how ever killing is far worse than theft.
    There's a very simple solution to this problem. Just tell the burglars not to break into any more houses and there will be no danger of any of them being killed. They'll listen to reason, won't they?

Agamemnon wrote: »
    There's a very simple solution to this problem. Just tell the burglars not to break into any more houses and there will be no danger of any of them being killed. They'll listen to reason, won't they?
    Actually no, I've changed my mind. We should just get all the criminals in the world, no matter what their crime is, and then we should gas them. That's a pretty good solution. They shouldn't have commit the crime in the first place. amirite?

Seriously, that's the logic behind the arguments in this thread.

You'll find the answer to this question in one of my previous posts where I said the use of deadly force is only right in cases of self defense, used as a last resort. You should re-read my posts in this thread because you've seemed to miss my point since apparently you think that I claimed that deadly force was wrong no matter what the circumstances.

Maybe you should be re-reading the reports in the newspaper where it states that one of these guys held a knife to the throat of a two year child and threatened to kill the child. Does that not come under the 'self-defence' bracket for you.

Or should the child be allowed to be harmed as it's too young to defend itself and the father should do nothing because strictly speaking he isn't defending himself? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

the homeowner is gonna get sued now

Maybe you should be re-reading the reports in the newspaper where it states that one of these guys held a knife to the throat of a two year child and threatened to kill the child. Does that not come under the 'self-defence' bracket for you.

Or should the child be allowed to be harmed as it's too young to defend itself and the father should do nothing because strictly speaking he isn't defending himself? :rolleyes:
    Well done. In the very post that I tell you that you should read my posts more carefully, I post the following:
    Raspberry wrote:
    Also, to everyone else. My posts justifying my stance were not aimed specifically at this case, they were more aimed at the general attitude of the responses in this thread. I would say that this guys reaction was justified due to the fact that the intruders had weapons and were threatening his family.

Actually no, I've changed my mind. We should just get all the criminals in the world, no matter what their crime is, and then we should gas them. That's a pretty good solution. They shouldn't have commit the crime in the first place. amirite?

Seriously, that's the logic behind the arguments in this thread.

I don't advocating 'gassing' them. If they break into someones house and get stabbed as a result, tough $hit. They shouldn't commit the crime in the first place. If they do, they deserve whatever they get.

Ideally they should be getting a decent education and not be being brought up as scumbags but clearly somewhere along the line, someone's fallen short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Sam Spade

Suspected burglar stabbed at house in north Dublin

Wednesday February 27 2008

Gardai in Dublin are investigating an incident in north Dublin this morning in which a suspected burglar was stabbed.

The Gardai say they were alerted shortly before 4am and told that a house had been broken into on Templeview Row in Clarehall and a male culprit had been apprehended.

Two men apparently broke into the house armed with a knife and a hammer.

A couple and three children were at home at the time and the man of the house chased the suspected burglars.

A confrontation took place and the struggle ended up in the kitchen of a neighbouring house, where the alleged 21-year-old culprit remained lying on the floor until Gardai arrived.

He had sustained stab wounds and was taken to Beaumont Hospital, where his condition is not believed to be life threatening.

No arrests have been made and investigations are ongoing.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Personally, I have no problem with what the guy did. I think anybody who breaks into a house with any kind of weapon deserves what happens to him.

The problem that the house owner here might have is that the guy seems to have been stabbed outside the house....

That article doesn't say where the guy was or wasn't stabbed. No doubt we'll find out when the little fu<ker takes the homeowner to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

The trouble is that in the heat of the moment rationality goes out the window. I was burgled several years ago, the GF at the time said someone was in the house (she often used to think that), so bleary eyed I marched downstairs in my underpants thinking it was the TV or something and sure enough, 4 armed scumbags waving butcher knifes and bats. Herself followed me down, they threatened her with the knife, I pulled her away, they legged it, I tried to call the police but they had cut the phones, so I lost it, grabbed a rifle and went after them. They gave me the slip. It would have been a disaster if I caught em, because that night I realised that I could kill someone if I had to, when I saw her there with a knife to her, that was it - the red mist came down. You can postulate all you want about justice, peace, love, save the whales man, but when its you, you don't think about the consequences, this is your house, your stuff you worked hard for and your loved ones. You don't sit there and evaluate the danger. You go into shock. Some people curl up in a ball and freeze, I like this guy, lash out. I have no doubt I would have shot someone that night, not because of them taking my stuff, but because of the threat I felt and when they fled, the rage that they had the cheek to come into my house and do this, I was locked, loaded and reminding myself of target drills, making sure to steady before I shot and working out the distance I needed to be at. Crazy stuff. I look back now and can remember everything. Funnily enough although I wasn't thinking rationaly I was thinking clearly. I didn't occur to me that trying to put an end to a fleeing scumbag would put me in jail, nope, all I was thinking about was making sure that I made the 5 rounds in the clip count.

I scared myself really, so I got rid of the gun, sold it to a Garda shortly after mostly at the behest of the better half. To be honest I would rather have kept it, but I think as scared as she was of the robbers, she was more scared of what I might do in the heat of the moment. To put this in perspective, I am a mild mannered type who does not get into fights, is and never has been violent. I guess you just do not know until you are in that situation.

Its a traumatic event too, we eventually split after many years together and that trauma was identified as one of the places where it started to go wrong, she got very depressed, waking up in the night etc.. eventually we had to move house because she felt the place was violated and that it wasn't ours anymore, it ruined it for her, and the subsequent stress of another big move and the money troubles that came with it probably had a big hand in putting an end to us too. Even these days, 5 years on, I am extremely security conscious, paranoid even.

I don't feel sorry for the scumbag who got stabbed, no loss to society. I feel sorry for the guy who felt he had to do it. They guy who went to bed that night after watching tv and putting the kids to bed, who was forced to inflict bodily harm on someone and has to live with that.

For the robbers its like this, you come in with a knife, I have to assume you will use it, especially if family and loved ones are depending on me, I don't know what you are capable of, I do know that you are capable of walking into a strangers home with a weapon, therefore I have to do whatever it takes to make sure you cannot use it. If that means sticking it in your throat. Too bad, I don't want to do it, I wanted to get up, have my breakfast and go to work tomorrow, not be in a police station with this on my conscience, maybe its not justice, but you know what, you brought it on yourself, its more of an injustice to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

So let's assume the homeowner is charged with stabbing the burglar.

Will the burglars be charged with breaking into the house?

or is it a case of (yet again)

punish the retaliator not the instigator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

A legend in his own underpants