If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sligo Rovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭shellyriver

overshoot wrote: »
    you criticised us for throwing all our money into the team and i rightly pointed out your hypocrisy as you critisised Sligo for investing in facilities and not pumping more money into the team. if you want the tl/dr version

anyway hows the view from your high horse, so much for the claims of being a long time fan who could remember languishing in mid division one? its only 10 years ago you finished 5th there! :rolleyes:

Again, I don't even know why I am writing about Finn Harps!

I didn't critize Finn Harps about investing in their team - so that's just your imagination at work. What they do is really of no concern to me.

There was no hypocrisy re Funding - I outlined the facts. There is no way Finn Harps would (or should) get Sports Capital, but typical lunatic Co Councillors in this country trying to get a little attention for themselves, so they pipped this one for the Finn Valley -- despite a ram shackled attempt of a club being in the doldrums for a significant period of time and no much prospect of leaving it either.

PS - only 10 years ago:rolleyes: I remember, some Finn Harps in 1996/7 cheering from a car over Hughes Bridge, is the p**sing rain that they had beaten the Bit -a-Red 'in their own back yard' -- talk about a lack of perspective. You need to take a serious look at yourself son -- looking for the Co Council to create your field of dreams and having the neck to confuse yourself in a conversation with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭overshoot

Again, I don't even know why I am writing about Finn Harps!

I didn't critize Finn Harps about investing in their team - so that's just your imagination at work. What they do is really of no concern to me.

There was no hypocrisy re Funding - I outlined the facts. There is no way Finn Harps would (or should) get Sports Capital, but typical lunatic Co Councillors in this country trying to get a little attention for themselves, so they pipped this one for the Finn Valley -- despite a ram shackled attempt of a club being in the doldrums for a significant period of time and no much prospect of leaving it either.

PS - only 10 years ago:rolleyes: I remember, some Finn Harps in 1996/7 cheering from a car over Hughes Bridge, is the p**sing rain that they had beaten the Bit -a-Red 'in their own back yard' -- talk about a lack of perspective. You need to take a serious look at yourself son -- looking for the Co Council to create your field of dreams and having the neck to confuse yourself in a conversation with me!
    yea my bad, what i should have said was we stupidly put all our money into the team and not facilities and you want Sligo to follow the same path. Way wrong term in fairness! Still tho, you dont want your club investing in facilities, its "window dressing" and you dont want a club building facilities involving government grants. Jumpers for goal posts it is!

Club in the doldrums? Yes thats quite obvious, this year has us in D1 for the same length of time as your last spell there. Things were just a tad better when planning was achieved, contracts signed; as in we were, or at least was on our way to the premier. Dont let that stop your rant.
    Outside of your delusion that all the funding is from sports capital or that you apparently outlined facts, why the hell shouldnt we get some funding from it? when every other sports organization in this country, including yourselves does?! I wouldnt like to see your reaction to the set up the Finn Valley Athletics Club has! I genuinely cant think of a club in the North West of any kind with the range of facilities to match it!

On second thought, I couldnt be arsed, your welcome to him Sligo. Seems to have a lasting chip on his shoulder from a few lads in a car on Hughes Bridge 20 years ago! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Speaking of northern rivals, how do people see the match going on Friday against Derry?

yea my bad, what i should have said was we stupidly put all our money into the team and not facilities and you want Sligo to follow the same path. Way wrong term in fairness! Still tho, you dont want your club investing in facilities, its "window dressing" and you dont want a club building facilities involving government grants. Jumpers for goal posts it is!

Club in the doldrums? Yes thats quite obvious, this year has us in D1 for the same length of time as your last spell there. Things were just a tad better when planning was achieved, contracts signed; as in we were, or at least was on our way to the premier. Dont let that stop your rant.
    Outside of your delusion that all the funding is from sports capital or that you apparently outlined facts, why the hell shouldnt we get some funding from it? when every other sports organization in this country, including yourselves does?! I wouldnt like to see your reaction to the set up the Finn Valley Athletics Club has! I genuinely cant think of a club in the North West of any kind with the range of facilities to match it!

On second thought, I couldnt be arsed, your welcome to him Sligo. Seems to have a lasting chip on his shoulder from a few lads in a car on Hughes Bridge 20 years ago! :pac:

Do you work for the Donegal Sports Partnership? If so, was it the prospect of enjoying their padded cell and its comfortable overnight facilities?

what the hell are you on about now? god i regret wasting my time on this one!

Ha Ha - delete your blog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭The Internet

If a few months of relatively poor performances means that this is the type of supporter that the club is losing then I don't see too much of a problem.

As long as they don't get in any financial trouble then a few seasons without challenging for the title is hardly the end of the world

If a few months of relatively poor performances means that this is the type of supporter that the club is losing then I don't see too much of a problem.

As long as they don't get in any financial trouble then a few seasons without challenging for the title is hardly the end of the world
    yep good luck lads, as i said, LOI winners have often had a hard downfall but I think you have made some good long term investments and your probably the best placed to absorb the fall off from the fickle LOI (well irish in general) crowds compared to recent league winners. The upcoming transfer window may give you the chance to offload one or two if necessary. Still a testing road ahead & I doubt you'll get handed a glamour friendly in aviva to help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Winning the league isn't mandatory to maintain a full time set up but qualifying for the Europa League would be. We should get away with it this year, (providing the Setanta prize fund is not spent on players in the summer, that is...) but miss out on Europe again next year, and we're staring down the barrel of a gun.

But in the here and now, we need to arrest the slide against Derry. Another loss would be disastrous for the lads and their already battered morale.

As I said before it's not a few months - they have been lucky over the last three years. They are playing a standard of football inferior to that during Cook's time despite greater resources and its just getting worse.

Funnily I am the type of fan LOI needs - its called someone who pays at the game.

I think the two or three glue-sni**ers who keep screeching stick with them - your like the geniuses that followed Brian Lenihan and Fianna Fail when this asked this Bumpkin Republic to 'pull on the green jersey', when you're getting kicked up the h**e, your pocket-picked and your neck slashed - give us an auld cheer there. Now that's really Irish.

Diabolical Derry team, should still beat this shambles of a Sligo Rovers team - I have no intention of going to Showgies this season, saving my money for holiers (it's called spending my entertainment reserve wisely).

That's just me, hey, call me radical, I like to think for myself and not prop up ailing juntas and those with delusions of adequacy.

As for you haters, you guys are class A fans, solid gold, a credit to the nation, keep waving the flags and looking like saddos on Soccer Republic! Adieu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I have no intention of going to Showgies this season, saving my money for holiers (it's called spending my entertainment reserve wisely).
    You do that. And don't worry, the bandwagon will come around again soon!
    That's just me, hey, call me radical, I like to think for myself and not prop up ailing juntas and those with delusions of adequacy.
    Nah. I'd go with "sunshine supporter".
    Enjoy the holliers!

red sean wrote: »
    You do that. And don't worry, the bandwagon will come around again soon!

Better that, that mud splashed mule pulling a dung-wagon!

Nah. I'd go with "sunshine supporter".
    Enjoy the holliers!

With the performances of late the Bit-a-Red fans will be sprouting up like fungus I am sure, kept in the dark with plenty of rotting compost thrown on them to boot.

Farewell, my less than fair weather friends. Enjoy - you seem to be made for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

With the performances of late the Bit-a-Red fans will be sprouting up like fungus I am sure, kept in the dark with plenty of rotting compost thrown on them to boot.

Farewell, my less than fair weather friends. Enjoy - you seem to be made for it.

Sounds like you've been eating too many tainted prawn sandwiches if you ask me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well both Ian and Gary are gone. Whilst neither the team or the management have really delivered this season so far, I would rather the us entering the second half of the season and the Europa League with a Manager in place, either them or a permanent replacement whoo can deliver and progress on the clubs recent success, rather than slip further this season with no manager or an interm one.

Hard to know who to blame. We have a League, FAI, and Sentanta Cup under the two of them. I think though they should have been given a chance till the end of the season, then allow time to get someone new in place if need be. Unless there has been something going on behind the scenes that we dont know about.

Personaly I would wish them both the best of luck, and sad to see them go mid season after such recent success.

http://www.sligorovers.com/news/14/jun/club-statement

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Well both Ian and Gary are gone. Whilst neither the team or the management have really delivered this season so far, I would rather the us entering the second half of the season and the Europa League with a Manager in place, either them or a permanent replacement whoo can deliver and progress on the clubs recent success, rather than slip further this season with no manager or an interm one.

Hard to know who to blame. We have a League, FAI, and Sentanta Cup under the two of them. I think though they should have been given a chance till the end of the season, then allow time to get someone new in place if need be. Unless there has been something going on behind the scenes that we dont know about.

Personaly I would wish them both the best of luck, and sad to see them go mid season after such recent success.

http://www.sligorovers.com/news/14/jun/club-statement

I'd say attendance v Derry spooked management.

Bara obviously either didn't have bottle or couldn't convince them that he could make a change.

Nice guy, but insipid football.

Give Joe N'Do care-taker position til end of season -- there's a guy who knows his onions.

I don't think Joey has the necessary badges for Europa League.
    I'd prefer see another hungry young manager looking to make a name for himself, ala Cook.
    Nutsy's name being bandied about but his record with minimal finance hasn't been good. Derry and Hibs being examples.

However, best of luck to Ian and thanks for the memories!

I'd say attendance v Derry spooked management.

Bara obviously either didn't have bottle or couldn't convince them that he could make a change.

Nice guy, but insipid football.

Give Joe N'Do care-taker position til end of season -- there's a guy who knows his onions.

Has to be more to it though Shelly. First season league champions, second season FAI Cup winners, and although they only got the sentanta cup this season, its still silver wear. Yes performance has been way below par this season, with that trophy to seasons in charge ratio, surely you dont get rid that quick. Unless there is some issue behind closed doors, or personal reasons, I thought he would have at least till the end of the season.

I'm seeing mentions of Roddy Collins (shudders), and Pat Fellon as suggestions, although think we should look towards maybe the lower english leagues again my self.

red sean wrote: »
    I don't think Joey has the necessary badges for Europa League.
    I'd prefer see another hungry young manager looking to make a name for himself, ala Cook.
    Nutsy's name being bandied about but his record with minimal finance hasn't been good. Derry and Hibs being examples.

However, best of luck to Ian and thanks for the memories!

Genuine up-and-comers or hard-done-by-story guys are very rare. Cook was one off really. We just need a caretaker to the end of season whilst inviting CVs.

Seasons over competitively -- so there is no huge pressure. Although it will be difficult for some players etc.

I think more people will attend Showgrounds now to see what happens - so business-wise and football-wise, this move made sense.

No, no, no, to Dublin-based carousel managers. It never works. Only exception, Stephen Kenny!!

We need a manager who will make a three-five year commitment. There has to be an opt out after year one.

If Joey, a la Bohs set, was given a caretaker role it would get us over the hump. It would be interesting to see if tempermentally he would be suitable. At least he would get the best out of the players and know their real strengths.

Ironically, IB should have gone after season one -- if he was that good, he would have walked into a decent English job, but he wasn't and he was just trading off previous success.

The team selection and performances were a car-crash for the last two seasons.

Please Rovers twitterati - if Roddy Collins sends in a CV, hash tag it, link it or whatever you kids do. Having said that Collins would be good for a laugh for a few months.?

Please wee Seanie, come back, all is forgiven!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Please Rovers twitterati - if Roddy Collins sends in a CV, hash tag it, link it or whatever you kids do. Having said that Collins would be good for a laugh for a few months.?

Don't even joke about that possibility :D

157y8ar.jpg

Already seeing rumours that new manager is to be reveiled today. If that is the case, this has been on going for some time.

Genuine up-and-comers or hard-done-by-story guys are very rare. Cook was one off really. We just need a caretaker to the end of season whilst inviting CVs.

Seasons over competitively -- so there is no huge pressure. Although it will be difficult for some players etc.

I think more people will attend Showgrounds now to see what happens - so business-wise and football-wise, this move made sense.

No, no, no, to Dublin-based carousel managers. It never works. Only exception, Stephen Kenny!!

We need a manager who will make a three-five year commitment. There has to be an opt out after year one.

If Joey, a la Bohs set, was given a caretaker role it would get us over the hump. It would be interesting to see if tempermentally he would be suitable. At least he would get the best out of the players and know their real strengths.

Ironically, IB should have gone after season one -- if he was that good, he would have walked into a decent English job, but he wasn't and he was just trading off previous success.

The team selection and performances were a car-crash for the last two seasons.

Please wee Seanie, come back, all is forgiven!!
    I disagree re: temporary manager.
    We need a manager to come in now and make the best of whats available and then re-build for next season. Players will be reluctant to sign contracts for a club that has no stability going forward. They will sign/re-sign for a manager they have already seen potential in.
    We can't afford a manager on a 3/5 year contract. If it goes belly up after 2 seasons, how much it cost to sack him?
    Agree regarding Roddy though! :D

Looks like we're sticking with the tried and tested method of going with a manager from the English lower leagues. Former Accrington Stanley and Rochdale boss John Coleman looks to be the next man in charge at the showgies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Looks like we're sticking with the tried and tested method of going with a manager from the English lower leagues. Former Accrington Stanley and Rochdale boss John Coleman looks to be the next man in charge at the showgies.

thats come out of nowhere, but then again so did bara

i wonder what happened with him, it looked like the players had just stopped playing, its not all tha doom and gloom, we still have the nucleus of a decent squad, get new manager in now, let him assess the squad and then back him for next season

i dont thinpat fenlon would have been that bad a choice, if they appoint roddy collins then i am going to support finn harps

I think connections and knowledge base of players in the lower tiers of English football is what we're looking for in a manager nowadays.

Also, I think the club are right in staying off the Irish managerial merry go round. The native managers are far too spend happy imo. Most of them seem to think the Celtic tiger days are still in full swing. But if Coleman is the man then it does suggest that IB was on borrowed time all along. I can't see the club getting a deal done with the new fella so quickly otherwise.

I think connections and knowledge base of players in the lower tiers of English football is what we're looking for in a manager nowadays.

Also, I think the club are right in staying off the Irish managerial merry go round. The native managers are far too spend happy imo. Most of them seem to think the Celtic tiger days are still in full swing. But if Coleman is the man then it does suggest that IB was on borrowed time all along. I can't see the club getting a deal done with the new fella so quickly otherwise.

Do you reckon Cook put the word in for Coleman?

Will try and post a link to it later. But for now....

In John Coleman we trust.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Will try and post a link to it later. But for now....

In John Coleman we trust.
    http://www.sligorovers.com/news/14/jun/coleman-appointed-new-manager
    Save ya the trouble Mint :D

All forward now. The past is gone.

Edited

Hi ho, hi ho. Its off to Lithuania we go.

Rovers have been drawn against FK Bangka in the Europa League Qualifiers 1st Round. Away leg is on the 3rd July, with home leg on the 10th.

If we do qualify from that round, we will play either Rosenborg of Norway, or Jelgava of Latvia on the 17th and 24th of July.

For anyone looking for a stream of the game in Lithuania try this:
    http://www.futbolo.tv/
    Kick off at 4pm (Irish time)

Any idea on how good these lads are?