Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late and Ronnie Drew's Tribute

• 22-02-2008 9:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭

Just watching this...

Commendable subject, mixed bag of musicians, bloody awful song...

I suppose getting Shane McGowan to stand up is something of an achievement ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,794 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Its a very catchy song especially the chorus, couldn't understand a word Mr McGowen was saying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

This is the most cringeworthy TV I've seen in ages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Shane McGowen should not be allowed to talk on live television. I understood maybe 10% of what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Cool_CM wrote: »

Agreed

Was ok up until Plank started talking to Shane. What God awful questions he asked them all too.

The song is gash imho.

Has Ronnie beaten the throat cancer?
    Hope he's on the mend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭mobby

Shane McGowen should not be allowed to talk on live television. I understood maybe 10% of what he said.

Thats 10% more them me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Cool_CM wrote: »
    The performance of the song was good the the rest was embarassing. I had to look away several times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Cringe tv as only RTE can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Excuse me, did you not listen to Paul Hewson speak.Paul made Shane McGowen sound like a Narrator from BBC's The Natural World .

The greatest part was Shane drinking out of a Flowery Mug......Fabulous stuff!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

The_Edge wrote: »
    Agreed

Was ok up until Plank started talking to Shane. What God awful questions he asked them all too.

The song is gash imho.

Has Ronnie beaten the throat cancer?
    Hope he's on the mend.

Not as bad as the Brits the other night... Not even close!

My only gripe is could they not give him a whole show???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Those monks were brilliant.

That song is laughably bad. Is it supposed to be "Hallelujah" by Leonhard Cohen? I missed the start.

If it is you would think so many supposedly great musicians could actually write an original song for a cause they all see as so worthy and if it isnt they have basically ripped the song off and made it completely **** and cringeworthy.

That chorus is like something a class of 11 year olds would come up with if tasked with writing a song for Ronnie Drew. Really quite astonishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Anybody watch that feminist ****e? Fook that was dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Was the 10% when he used the f word he also laughs with a hiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

i enjoyed it but it makes you realise watching that bunch how little talent we have in Ireland.Same old tired faces.Sinead O'Connor etc ZZZZzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

shockwave wrote: »
    Cringe tv as only RTE can do.

But you all go back to it every week for more.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    But you all go back to it every week for more.
    Some of us haven't much choice! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

So thats why people go drinking Friday nights....

Bono called the Tanaiste a "he". Larry and the edge sharing the same story. Sinead O'Connor is a one hit wonder, what a freak. Thats some tribute to poor old Ronnie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

That segment was embarrassing.

Bono: ''Edge tell Pat about meeting Ronnie in Germany''

Edge: Well..I never really had the chance to speak to Ronnie until I met him in Germany in 1980....I saw him in a bar, with loads of glasses on the table..see in those days they gave you ( ) to buy things, for breakfast, maby lunch and perhaps some dinner... a lot of drink was taken, and Ronnie said can you..........zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Corr: My dad was Ronnie Drew's groupie...

Bono talking about minstrels and the likes.

Shane ''cghuuuuuuuuuuuuuu'' Mcgowan.

After watching all those people, I couldn't but help thing back to the wonderful personalities of Westlife on Tubridy.

The monks were so meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

So thats why people go drinking Friday nights....

Bono called the Tanaiste a "he". Larry and the edge sharing the same story. Sinead O'Connor is a one hit wonder, what a freak. Thats some tribute to poor old Ronnie.

the tanaiste is a he. brian cowen to be precise.

it was bloody awful, it was painful to watch. i know it's for a good cause and all that, but still.

that rapping nut job monk was hilarious though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭dublinmadyoke

McGowan was awful bad :(

Ah Brian Cowen is a bloke.. well maybe he isn't lol... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

Ha ha, i forgot Mary Harney vacated that post. Bono said the tanaiste has enough troubles, he meant the Taoiseach perhaps?

Did you hear Sineads suggestion about getting together once a year for a sing along. Dont think there will be many takers for that offer. Well maybe her and Shane can in whatever asylum they escaped from tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭je55ie

What age is Shane?

I was looking at him tonight and I don't think he is that old! I'd say late 40's???? God he'd make ya stop drinkin! He should be on those drink wise ad's.....

Yeah but what yardstick could you judge him by?

Once a booze hound always a booze hound.

50 according to Wikipedia.

Jeez..3 years difference between Bono and McGowan...the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

90% of those on stage were drunk..!

Stop slagging Sinead O'Connor - her first two albums are outstanding, the third is quite good, the rest are ****e I'll give you that.

Ah I am not going to judge him... awful thing to say but I think he won't be with us for much longer...

The definition of class:

shane.jpg

Jayus!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

I really hope that's cigarette tar on his fingers ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭je55ie

OMG :eek:

Ah I am not going to judge him... awful thing to say but I think he won't be with us for much longer...
    Ronnie or Shane?

parasite wrote: »
    I really hope that's cigarette tar on his fingers ...

Ugggghhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Look at the state of him I'd say he's got about 10 years left,at the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Quite sad actually.

When I started this, I thought Ronnie was getting a whole show to himself.

Time is a funny thing, with the exception of Barney (the Dubliner sitting on the stool), the other band members look far healthier than McGowan, and played far better too.

And they put away some booze in their time ;)

Get well soon Ronnie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Design_Dude

The monks were gud i thought, theyd something decent to say anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Commendable subject, mixed bag of musicians, bloody awful song...

Couldn't agree more. The song was terrible, even though it was sung and played well. Soemthing that certainly didn't exceed or even equal the sum of it's parts.
    McGowan's a legend (I hate that term but he is)...Bono was being his usual sanctimonious self, but I ended up almost feeling sorry for him when faced with the ineptness of plank. I thought he was going to loose his temper at one stage.

The whole LLS last night was a pretty surreal episode IMO, 'specailly the hip hop monks living in Moyross. Sorry guys but I was in fits. Respect though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭tampopo

Did you hear Sineads suggestion about getting together once a year for a sing along. Dont think there will be many takers for that offer. Well maybe her and Shane can in whatever asylum they escaped from tonight

lol,agree with you there!!!

I thought it WAS a whole show and turned away for ages. Saw three biddies in masks. wtf?

I 'met'/bumped into Ronnie Drew one day in town, he's a total a$$hole. I'm sorry his wife died.

Sinead O'Connor has no good albums imo.

I missed some singing monks. gee whiz!

It should have been a full tribute show, not the half arsed 15 min tete a tete it turned out to be.

BTW am I the only one who was strongly reminded of the Band Aid video by the on they did for the Drew tribute track?
    Also does anyone else think we'll all be sick to the back teeth of this tune when the radio stations get their mits on it?

McGowan is actually brain damaged from drug abuse, but i think he had a few in him as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

How come Sinead or Andrea aren't singing solo on the song?
    They pick a drunken toothless yoke to sing a verse, (though you couldn't even know what he was saying) when there are 2 of the best Irish female musical voices there. What a joke :mad:

McGowan is actually brain damaged from drug abuse, but i think he had a few in him as well.

I'd love to know what was in that cup :D

Yea, looked quite flowery:)

Wertz wrote: »
    It should have been a full tribute show, not the half arsed 15 min tete a tete it turned out to be.

BTW am I the only one who was strongly reminded of the Band Aid video by the on they did for the Drew tribute track?
    Also does anyone else think we'll all be sick to the back teeth of this tune when the radio stations get their mits on it?
    Gay Byren already did a tribut show to the Dubliners back in the 80's.Superb TV from Gaybo the legend.Badly missed off the box.

I vaguely recall it....that's where the clip they showed last night of The Irish Rover was recorded right?

...to go off topic for a second, I reckon the LLS video vaults must be full of gems, bound to be enough stuff in there to make a great series a la Reeling in the years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

the certainly did have a lot of big names in the video in the sutdio at the one time, is ronnie drew getting better?

why did they have to ring some bloke out of the grateful dead to write such a obvious song?

Did yas hear Pat singing!

Wertz wrote: »
    I vaguely recall it....that's where the clip they showed last night of The Irish Rover was recorded right?

...to go off topic for a second, I reckon the LLS video vaults must be full of gems, bound to be enough stuff in there to make a great series a la Reeling in the years...
    Yeah,that's where they got the clip of The irish rover from.The whole of that LLS is available on dvd.Tubridy and Kenny should watch in a see the master at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

*Tripper* wrote: »
    Anybody watch that feminist ****e? Fook that was dreadful.

If that wasn't car-crash television I don't know what is. "We won't remove our masks until feminism is respected worldwide", i.e. "Until SOMEONE enjoys our godawful act". Don't hold your breath ladies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Not as bad as the Brits the other night... Not even close!

My only gripe is could they not give him a whole show???

Jeeez ,wasn't that an awful load of coddswalop to view ? Watching a bunch of wasters off their face on booze as if we dont see enough of it on our citys streets every weekend .Is this what we pay a tv leience for ? the osbournes ...i meen cmon ,will sombody please set fire to that horrible talentless womon Sharon :rolleyes:

Havent seen the LL show but seen enough off ' rent a dentist ' Shane McGowan to know he is just happy to be exploited as long as the free booze is flowing .