Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That Queen wants to visit (again)

• 17-02-2008 12:03am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Bertie said yesterday it will be 'in a few years' the British monarch will visit. Is it the right time? Should we have any visit from the Queen officially at all? Are we over our 800 years of depression yet?:)

Will you be out there amongst the hoards of adoring crowds in Kingstown with your Union Jack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭eoin2nc

Let her in,isn't she a nice old lady? Dont see what the fuss could be about :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

If everybody didn't give a **** and media coverage will be thin on the ground
    about the issue, I'm happy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Well, considering I don't cheer and wave flags at other heads of state when they visit-no, I won't be in the crowd.

But if she wants to come and the government want her to come, then whats the big deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

not fussed tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

*waits patiently for the SF rah type to appear*
    *that or Kevin Myers*:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭King John V

To quote Gerry Adams "Mrs. Windsor can come and go as she pleases".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Meh, she should take the ferry so..... TBH like the president of our country, they both perform a retarded function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Only insensitive fools would object,not bothered tbh.

I don't care. Same when other monarchs/state officials come to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

i don't see what the fuss against her visit is about.GB is our nearest neighbour and main Trading Partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

She visits America - they don't seem to hold any grudges. Go for it Lizzy!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,203 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Why would she? She's no business to be here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Yeah why not. I couldn't really care either way.

Of course there'll always be stupid scumbags that don't have a clue to make a mess of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

bet you a tenner she goes for the vikiing tour boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Bet you a tenner she doesn't wear one of the viking hats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 NortSoide

As a citizen of the EU she is entitled to travel to any other EU country - just like everybody else who is a memer of the European Union. That's what we all signed up to.

I think some people are making a mountain out of a mole hill over this issue.

When I lived in London - for 8 years, thanks to the fooook ups that are Oirish politicians and the way they managed (?) this country, lining their own pockets - I was made very welcome by the English, had a reasonable job and they were sorry to see me leave.

I also noticed the Oirish flag flying outside certain pubs throughout the London area. The English didn't give a fooook about that either - and enjoyed their pint the same as everyone else. I am just wondering what the reaction would be if the Union Jack was seen to be flying outside premises around Dublin ... ??? !!! :eek: I suppose some sections of the 'Howya Bud' brigade would shoite a square brick !!!

If that woman wants to visit Oireland then it shouldn't be an issue. Afterall, don't we send our own fooookin latchicos over to visit her in her country. I think she'd be doing us all a big favour if she locked some of those foooookers up in the Tower of London - and, threw away the key.

Besides, if you don't like it that she visits, you don't have to show up to see her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

As much as I despise the atrocities carried out by her ancestors, I couldn't really give a flying **** if she was to come here. It's not like she was behind all that crap.
    You might as well blame my father for the fact that i banned one or two of you.
    He didn't do it. I did it.
    She didn't do it. Her ancestors did it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,203 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I've seen English flags flying outside of pubs in Dublin, and some hotels have Union Jacks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

NortSoide wrote: »
    Oirish Oireland

Your point was going to be a good point before you started using these terms on...erm...an Irish forum? - Your gonna win freinds quick around these parts:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

'800 years'? Where do yokels get this figure? She can visit all she wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

galwayrush wrote: »
    i don't see what the fuss against her visit is about.GB is our nearest neighbour and main Trading Partner.

and she is an Arsenal supporter apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

As a citizen of the EU she is entitled to travel to any other EU country - just like everybody else who is a memer of the European Union. That's what we all signed up to.
    Minor quibble - I don't thinks she's actually a UK citizen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

She is the head of state of a friendly neighbouring country.

She's very welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I've seen English flags flying outside of pubs in Dublin, and some hotels have Union Jacks.

Quite a few pubs and hotels,only in the last few years but still, all the pubs have the flag of St George for the rugby matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Minor quibble - I don't thinks she's actually a UK citizen

What is she? The State or figurehead of the State?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    and she is an Arsenal supporter apparently.

Feck, that changes things:D

My Aunt met her years ago and said she was a very nice lady.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

basically, who gives a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Why would she? She's no business to be here.

So you think nobody should be allowed on holiday in another country? Bit harsh, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

darkman2 wrote: »
    *waits patiently for the SF rah type to appear*
    *that or Kevin Myers*:D

you mean Kevin MyArse
    And i too do not have a problem if the old dear wants to visit ! history is like history so get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

She might claim political asylum to get away from her dysfunctional family. poor old bat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

I also noticed the Oirish flag flying outside certain pubs throughout the London area. The English didn't give a fooook about that either - and enjoyed their pint the same as everyone else. I am just wondering what the reaction would be if the Union Jack was seen to be flying outside premises around Dublin ... ??? !!! :eek: I suppose some sections of the 'Howya Bud' brigade would shoite a square brick !!!

I dont particularly have an opinion on the matter.. I dont really care... BUT, just in relation to your post, we do not 'shoite a square brick' when we see spanish/french/any other flags waving outside pubs/hotels etc... the circumstances arent the same for the English and the Irish, we did not put them under hundreds of years of depression, maybe I'm wrong but the way I see it is that they have no particular reason to complain about an Irish flag outside a pub in London... whereas we... well... you know.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah yeah, she is more than welcome I'm sure. Isn't she brilliant.

/me does Mr.Bean bow :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Daedulus, you're talking ancient history.

Past atrocities have nothing to do with a flag!

Fair play if she comes over. If she drops by Tallaght, she'll be welcome at my place for a cuppa :D

I had a great few years living in the UK. Was always made totally welcome.

Lizzie, if you want my address, send me a PM :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

if she wants to come let her

why does she want to though?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

phasers wrote: »
    if she wants to come let her

why does she want to though?

On of her mates' hen night, I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Always figured Camilla would have a stag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wonder what her hen night name will be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

phasers wrote: »
    I wonder what her hen night name will be

Cumilla

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Pete4779

galwayrush wrote: »

Well nearest neighbor is true. Main trading partner? Not by a long shot; this isn't 1955.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Pete4779 wrote: »
    Well nearest neighbor is true. Main trading partner? Not by a long shot; this isn't 1955.

Actually: http://www.cso.ie/statistics/botmaintrpartners.htm (2006)

But anyway, in my opinion she's more than welcome. I'm surprised this is even a topic given the majority of similar responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Finally get to try out the rifle i bought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

don't care and have no objection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

The posts in this thread are unbelievable.

The head of a monarchy that was responsible for a countless number of deaths and deplacements or Irish people should have no right to set foot on our soil. And to say she had no role in anything that happened here??? She's been in throne since the 50's. I guess Ireland was all peaceful since then. And not to mention she has the power to pull troops from Iraq and Afghanistan. **** her and i hope the bitch dies before the date is set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The head of a monarchy that was responsible for a countless number of deaths and deplacements or Irish people should have no right to set foot on our soil. And to say she had no role in anything that happened here??? She's been in throne since the 50's. I guess Ireland was all peaceful since then. And not to mention she has the power to pull troops from Iraq and Afghanistan. **** her and i hope the bitch dies before the date is set.

She's got no power to do anything but take her Corgis for a walk.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bartholomewbinn

Her majesty will be most welcome; I for one will be out in front of the crowd waving my union jack. God save the queen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Its people like this that will have me out waving a Union Jack and cheering HRH The Queen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

darkman2 wrote: »
    Bertie said yesterday it will be 'in a few years' the British monarch will visit. Is it the right time? Should we have any visit from the Queen officially at all? Are we over our 800 years of depression yet?:)

Will you be out there amongst the hoards of adoring crowds in Kingstown with your Union Jack?

Bertie will orchestrate it so that her visit coincides with the run-up to the next general election. He will still be in office and it would be a positive publicity coup for him. Remember his "historic" speech to the joint houses of parliament in England having a similar effect last time? What about his tree-planting exploits with Ian Paisley at the battle of the Boyne site?

No matter what negative publicity surrounds the Taoiseach, regarding tribunals etc., he can always dodge it by meeting Ian Paisley, the British PM, or a royal. A visit by Mrs Windsor would definitely be reported as "an example of maturity of relations and harmony on "these islands" and all that blarney.... Bert knows exactly how to win over the vacuous and empty-headed populace, and you have to admire him for this.

Bertie couldn't care less about bad publicity right now. Election time is when it matters, and all it takes is a royal visit and maybe a late late show appearance by a plonker like Eoghan Harris. A photo-shoot with a pair of knacker-named toddlers like Jayo and Rocky always helps too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Oirish

Your "Oirish" yourself aren't you.