Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Competitions (NO ASKING FOR VOTES)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭awanderer

remeneerb wrote: »
    To be honest, i think it's really hard - i need most of the answers - anybody prepared to help??!!

I really love this thread as its posters are not selfish and share information about competitions they could keep to themselves and have more chance to win:).

However,I do not think it is very fair for people who don't participate to the thread otherwise, to only post to ask for more information, or even for other people to do the research for them:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭remeneerb

Fair enough, i see your point, it's just that i did do ages of research on that competition and am stuck on a few - never mind :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭sasser

I really love this thread as its posters are not selfish and share information about competitions they could keep to themselves and have more chance to win.

However,I do not think it is very fair for people who don't participate to the thread otherwise, to only post to ask for more information, or even for other people to do the research for them.

Oh look, it's the thread police :rolleyes:

Fair enough, i see your point, it's just that i did do ages of research on that competition and am stuck on a few - never mind :(

I didn't mean to be rude. It's just that I love doing crosswords and sometimes some of them were really hard (specially for me as I am not a native English speaker). When they were hard I had to do more reasearch but on the other hand, I knew I had more chance of winning (a weekend away in general). Now every week, the same 4 or 5 people go to the same websites and ask for the answer to almost every clue. The result is, if I type the clue on my computer, I am given directly all the answers as are thousands of other people and when before winning those weekend away was about doing some research, now it's almost impossible as it has become a lotto:(.

No, i don't think you're being rude. I completely see your point. I think this thread is also very good and i think everyone is really generous sharing information and i completely understand how annoying it is to do lots of work and then others just cheat their way in. Good luck, i hope the hard work pays off!!

sasser wrote: »
    Oh look, it's the thread police :rolleyes:

No it is only me giving my opinion about what I believe is respect, courtesy and common sense;). Anybody can post those answers here, I have no power to allow or prohibit any post neither do I wish to do so:D. I believe that apart the 2 spoken about before by other poster, the answer to those questions are very easy to find so wether all the answers to that competition are given here or not will probably not make any difference:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭eliza64

1. (a) A moveable feast
    2. (b) University of Ulster
    3. (c) €60,000
    4. (b) The first three of God’s Ten Commandments
    5. (c) Christopher Walken
    6. (c) Lionel Messi
    7. (b) Cak
    8. (c) Jedward
    9. (a) Scantily-clad glamour models
    10. (c) Jealous Guy
    11. (c) Boyle, Co Roscommon
    12. (a) Brendan Gleeson
    13 (c) He told the Garda there was a bomb in the nightclub
    14. (c) Irish “citizens” considered persons of interest by police in Dubai
    15. (b) Asthma
    16. (a) The 1916 Easter Rising
    17. (b) Chile
    18. (c) Easter Egg
    19. (c) Fifth Avenue
    20. (a) To be continued

The answers I gave I am not sure about 3 or 12. I am never going to get the 9 minutes of my life back that I had to spend watching lady gaga on utube.

Hi, listen thanks a million for that - i have to say it was very kind of you to post the answers. I also spent ages on no 3 - couldn't find it anywhere, i'll do a bit more research and if i can get a confirmation, i'll post it here....

Good luck to everyone and thank you eliza64, you deserve to win the prize so i hope you do :)

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/magazine/2010/0403/1224267344363.html

Another quiz i spotte, unfortunately i can't do it - too hard for me but good luck to anybody who can!!

No it is only me giving my opinion about what I believe is respect, courtesy and common sense. Anybody can post those answers here, I have no power to allow or prohibit any post neither do I wish to do so. I believe that apart the 2 spoken about before by other poster, the answer to those questions are very easy to find so wether all the answers to that competition are given here or not will probably not make any difference

On any other competition websites, when people post competitions, they generally post the answer too. When I post competitions with questions, I will post the answer as well, and I hope others will to save me the effort of looking for the answer.

I am never going to get the 9 minutes of my life back that I had to spend watching lady gaga on utube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Eoineo

I just won a Cushelle Koala. :)

lucky u, i've been playing for weeks and no win :(

Me too, it's the first time I've won. You know you can enter up to 5 times a day yes?

No, i didn't know that - i thought it was only once a day - thanks for that, i've gotta up my game!!

A couple of new competitions for you:

Special K + Marks & Spencer are offering you the chance to win a red dress:

http://www.specialk.co.uk/competitions.aspx

Note- Site requires subscription

Supersavvyme are offering you the chance to win one of 3 luxury holidays with Febreze Inspiration range

http://www.supersavvyme.com/febreze/home.aspx

Note - Site requires subscription

I'm not a fan of supersavvy seeing as they take about 4 months to process special offer requests but I am finally receiving items from them so they go onto my list for now!

Thanks a mil, are these open to irish residents do you know?

Yes they both are. I only post competitions that are open to ROI applicants.

If anyone is interested, the Cushelle competition started only open to UK entrants but recently was extended to include ROI. ;)

Exclusive to our wagamama members we have two tickets up for grabs for the heineken cup quater final plus a meal for two at wagamama dublin!
    leinster versus ASM clermont auvergne this friday 9th april at 8pm in rds.

FIRST GO TO http://www.wagamama.ie/members/register/ and REGISTER TO RECEIVE NEWSLETTER

THEN

simply answer the following question:

who is the leinster mascot?
    a) malcom the monkey
    b) leo the lion
    c) brian the bear

send your answer to web@wagamama.ie

winner to be announced thursday 8th april.

Eoineo wrote: »
    Yes they both are. I only post competitions that are open to ROI applicants.

If anyone is interested, the Cushelle competition started only open to UK entrants but recently was extended to include ROI. ;)

Thats great thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Claregirl

eliza64 wrote: »
    1. (a) A moveable feast
    2. (b) University of Ulster
    3. (c) €60,000
    4. (b) The first three of God’s Ten Commandments
    5. (c) Christopher Walken
    6. (c) Lionel Messi
    7. (b) Cak
    8. (c) Jedward
    9. (a) Scantily-clad glamour models
    10. (c) Jealous Guy
    11. (c) Boyle, Co Roscommon
    12. (a) Brendan Gleeson
    13 (c) He told the Garda there was a bomb in the nightclub
    14. (c) Irish “citizens” considered persons of interest by police in Dubai
    15. (b) Asthma
    16. (a) The 1916 Easter Rising
    17. (b) Chile
    18. (c) Easter Egg
    19. (c) Fifth Avenue
    20. (a) To be continued

The answers I gave I am not sure about 3 or 12. I am never going to get the 9 minutes of my life back that I had to spend watching lady gaga on utube.

I did a quick trawl through the newspaper archives and found the following:

Junior Ministers earn some €54,000 each year on top of their basic TD’s salary of €100,000.

Government ministers other than the Taoiseach, the secretaries general of Government departments, and the heads of the country’s top universities will face deductions of 15 per cent. The new ministerial salaries will be €191,417; that of a secretary general will be €242,540 (some €20,000 higher than the Taoiseach), and that of university heads will be €202,117. The salaries of judges will remain unchanged because of a provision in the Constitution that prohibits their salaries from being lowered.

I would say answer based on this should be 40,000. Hope this helps I felt kinda guilty coz I never post comps - when I find them I rush to post them here to find I'm always beaten to it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gravityisalie

WIN THIS BOOK!

The Accidental Vegetarian

Who says veggie food is boring?
    Not Simon Rimmer - check out some of his favourite meat-free feasts.
    We have three copies of The Accidental Vegetarian to give away. To be in with a chance to win simply email your name and contact details with The Accidental Vegetarian in the subject line to [EMAIL="editoreasyfood@zahrapublishing.com?subject=The%20Accidental%20Vegetarian"]editoreasyfood @zahrapublishing.com[/EMAIL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭L.S.F

t's Tuesday. It's raining. Sooo here's a recession buster to cheer you all up!!

The first 50 people to reply to noel@mcd.ie with TRACES in the subject line win 2 tickets to TRACES with special guest Fiona Melady in the Olympia Theatre next week. (Winners will be notified by email. Tickets will be valid for either Tuesday 13th April or Wednesday 14th April 2010).

Take a sneak peek RIGHT HERE!

"One of the most creative and inspiring pieces of entertainment I've ever witnessed"...THE SUN

"So thrilling, it will surely make an entire generation run away and join the circus."...THE GUARDIAN

"A spectacular delight that will rob you of your breath"...THE SUNDAY TIMES

Just got the above e-mail, not entering myself but have won tickets to gigs in the past through MCD a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭ciaglen

Hi Guys

Does anyone know the correct answer for teh Allianz Direct Ipod touch competition - www.allianz.ie/competition

Ive had a look on the website but still not 100% sure?

Ciara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Twixster

ciaglen wrote: »
    Hi Guys

Does anyone know the correct answer for teh Allianz Direct Ipod touch competition - www.allianz.ie/competition

Ive had a look on the website but still not 100% sure?

Ciara

I ticked them all except the bungee jump one, although they could very well cover this as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭milkycoffey

I won that camera that I posted last week!
    I'm so freaking delighted!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Fudge74

Congrats Milkycoffey that's brilliant. Delighted for ya :D

Fair play, enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Fudge74

Twixster wrote: »
    I ticked them all except the bungee jump one, although they could very well cover this as well!

I did the same Twixster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭carolireland

Well done Milkycoffey. Congratulations.