Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worms In Slim Fast?

• 08-02-2008 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭

I don't know how many people i have talked to about this, and they all say "Yeah there is worms in it! My mate tried it" blah blah blah....

"The worms eat the fat, thats how you loose the weight" And im just like :eek: jasus...

There are no worms/maggots in slimfast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

It might taste nicer if there were some tho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Thank you for this informative Public Service Announcement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Awesome.

People are ****tards.....this is not news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Fair play to ya OP! The first time I heard that rumour was about 20 years ago, I didn't realise it was still going strong!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I don't know how many people i have talked to about this, and they all say "Yeah there is worms in it! My mate tried it" blah blah blah....

Are all your mates fatties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mmmm wormey goodness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

The fact that these stories still get circulated is amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Are all your mates fatties?
    ha ha very funny....generally girls think that there is worms in slimfast, since they are so fascinated by diets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

This is what was in my mams slimfast

:eek::eek::eek:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Thank goodness you were here to set us straight. I recommend cross posting here, and here just to cover the bases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Why are you telling us this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Opening a can of worms there OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

I heard this many moons ago. I didn't believe it when i was 12 so i wont believe it now. Now that Polski food you can buy in euro spars and most shops now. That stuff looks like only Klingons would eat it!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

"The worms eat the fat, thats how you loose the weight" And im just like :eek: jasus...

There are no worms/maggots in slimfast!

Wiggly worms, you just can't catch em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Well worms are a good source of protein.

And slime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

There's loads of videos of people pouring coke on pork and worms appearing on the meat, as if it were in the meat already.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You there are no worms in slimfast?!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

If you leave a can of slimfast out in the air open and unrefridgerated, it will turn to small maggot like things and its not flys laying eggs in the tin cause there was gause over the top of the can when i seen it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭carveone

briantwin wrote: »
    I heard this many moons ago. I didn't believe it when i was 12 so i wont believe it now. Now that Polski food you can buy in euro spars and most shops now. That stuff looks like only Klingons would eat it!!!

But, Gagh is best served live!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Isn't there a worm in Tequila?
    .....mmmm slim tequila....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Didn't Podge and Rodge have a Scare at Bedtime where a fat guy ate a snake egg as a diet pill?

It's an urban legend mate.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

there's no worms in slim fast

technically they aren't worms

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

If in fact they did put worms in Slim Fast, tape worms would really get the weight down fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭lolipops

well my mom's friend found maggots in her slimfast milkshake, she was about to drink it when she got a phone call and she was on it for about 20 mins and she came back and seen maggots in it. im not sure how they got in there or what but i heard rumours that when they are being made they are not protected from germs etc. and some blue bottle flies got in and layed eggs in some of the foods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

...... and if you break an earthworm into 7 pieces it dies!

honest

nevermind the fact it died 5 pieces ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Whats the problem? The worms/maggots in your slim fast shake will be digested in your stomach thus giving an extra dose of much needed protein. A winning situation if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Creature wrote: »
    Whats the problem? The worms/maggots in your slim fast shake will be digested in your stomach thus giving an extra dose of much needed protein. A winning situation if you ask me.
    Not if your a fat bastard trying to loose weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 beergoggles

just another urban legend..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

mukki wrote: »
    ...... and if you break an earthworm into 7 pieces it dies!

honest

nevermind the fact it died 5 pieces ago
    IIRC if you cut an earth worm between the 5th and 20th segment it dies
    anywhere else and only the bit with the "brain" and hearts ( 5 iirc ) lives

Like octupses worms brains are in a ring around the gut, so if the brain got too big they wouldn't be able to eat. maybe this is what's going on with stupid fat americans ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

just another urban legend..
    What would we do without them? Act intelligently? Scary thought indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

and
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Not if your a fat bastard trying to loose weight.

Don't you LOSERS know how to spell LOSE?

Its LOSE weight not LOOSE weight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Oh losen up :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Slimfast was actually invented by Martin Luther at the Diet of Worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Fair play to ya OP! The first time I heard that rumour was about 20 years ago, I didn't realise it was still going strong!! :eek:

the OP wasn't born twenty years ago
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=94724
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

OP ya should post this in the Nutrition Forum for the larf!

dSTAR wrote: »

Its LOSE weight not LOOSE weight!

Have you ever seen some of those joggernauts in the park, they definately have some loose weight flapping around when they move, some run the risk of getting black eyes ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Slimfast was actually invented by Martin Luther at the Diet of Worms.
    That should'nt make me laugh

But it does :(

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭JennyG73

:rolleyes: Well I have tried to cultivate the worms and I can tell you there are none!!!

But here is some exciting news have lost a stone in four weeks on slim fast. I never really knew what I was eating before in calories and I am shocked to say I was a piggy. No more I am on the road to thinness.

If there is anyone else out there on slimfast I would love to catch up. I go to weight watchers but i feel like i am cheating as doing slimfast!

I live for weigh ins on wednesday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

*WARNING*
    SHILLGuard has detected a high shill probability.
    Deploying Anti-Shill measures.

I just love saying shill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I think i'll just pop out for some slimfast right now. You've convinced me JennyG73!

:) Good for you. Best drunk out of the fridge. It tastes better if you make it up yourself with the powder with low fat milk.

Have weigh in tomorrow at weight watchers so will let you know!!! On the meal bars for dinner tonight lol. Will have proper meal tomorrow.

You can have a shake for breakfast, a meal bar for lunch and then 600 calorie dinner. I must admit that i don't get too hungry but when I do I drink water.

Let me know how you get on and good luck

Jen

Thanks, can't wait to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

JennyG73 wrote: »
    You can have a shake for breakfast, a meal bar for lunch and then 600 calorie dinner. I must admit that i don't get too hungry but when I do I drink water.

Just had a quick google and it seems there is 220 calories in a shake and can't be much more in a bar. That with a 600 calorie dinner is no where near enough calories to sustain you. They may be falling off you now but they will pile back on as soon as you come off the diet. On top of that nealy all the calories you are getting are from calories you are getting are from sugar in the Slim fast meals. If you have any sense I'd drop the diet and start actually loosing weight properly.

EDIT: Another thing I spotted, some of the Slim fast range use hydrogenated fats. This is what Slim fast them selves say about them: http://www.slim-fast.com/support/atd/view_answer.asp?qid=1637&cid=13&pn=0&rec=10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Just had a quick google and it seems there is 220 calories in a shake and can't be much more in a bar. That with a 600 calorie dinner is no where near enough calories to sustain you. They may be falling off you now but they will pile back on as soon as you come off the diet.
    ...and then some, plus you'll probably lose muscle-mass into the bargain.

Unfortunately, people only learn the hard way when it comes to 'dieting aides' such as Slimfast.

Firstly to non believers :eek::mad:- if you bothered to check the diet goes as follows:

Breakfast Shake 210 cals
    Morning snack fruit/choc bar 100 calls
    Lunchtime soup/shake/meal bar 208-210 calls I like the meal bars
    Quick treat of choice 100 cals
    Evening meal 600 cals
    Night time treat snack bar 100 cals

Thats a total of 1320 cals!!!:) More than enough if you want to loose weight!!! The whole point of loosing weight is to restrict/limit the amount you eat. Fat people like me eat three times that amont.

Infact since starting on the slimfast my nails are growing stronger and my hair is shining. My back has stopped hurting as the weight is coming off.
    The foods are nutritionally balanced and better than living off a diet of lettuce leaves.

So bah humbug!!!!!!!!:p

Sherifu apologies for the above. Last night was a success, I lost 3.5lb! :D My first weigh in weight was 15st 11 lb and last night I weighed in at 14st 8.5lb after 5 weeks. That is in line with the 2lb a week weight watchers hope you will loose.

Don't listen to the others! Begrudgers the lot of them. If you want to loose weight go for it. :rolleyes:Consider this, Slimfast is sold in Boots chemist so that is saying something. I will log in each Thursday with my weigh in result for you. Let me know how you get on. :cool:

One last thing, the non believers are probably the ones who set off the worm nonsense. What have you got to loose ---- weight! I am looking forward to my mums 60th as I hope to be 13st 4lb by then (June 21).;):D

Wow, I can't believe it. Thanks for the info JennyG73. Keep me posted please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Thats a total of 1320 cals!!!:) More than enough if you want to loose weight!!! The whole point of loosing weight is to restrict/limit the amount you eat.

With all due respect a blanket statement like that is idiotic.

Calorific requirement is determined by lean body mass which has an affect on basal metabolic rate and activity.

To say that 1320 calories is more than enough if you want to lose weight is foolish. Personally, when i am "cutting" i can still take in up to 3000 calories a day, if i were to eat 1320 i would be severly undereating.

Also, to make the jump to better nails and hair being as a result of Slimfast may be true, but to me it indicates more than anything how **** your diet was before you started on it.

I disagree with programs like Slimfast purely because they do nothing to improve your health, merely help you lose weight.

If someone wants to a program like Slimfast and self educate about nutrition so they are eating properly afterwards and excercise as well then i have no issue.

Blanket statements like yours i will always have problems with as i believe they are pointless, poor thought out and dangerous.

1320 calories a day might be fine for you , but for someone else to eat that amount could do them serious damage.
    Consider this, Slimfast is sold in Boots chemist so that is saying something.

Yes, it is saying boots can make money by selling Slimfast. The same was as they can make money selling Apple Cider Vinegar ( The FAIL of the weightloss supplement industry ) and several other weightloss products that have no clinical trials and back up to show they work.

Does Slimfast work? Of course it does, it's a calorie restriction, but do not in any way mistake Slimfast effect on you losing weight as being completely healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Gods this old line,
    It's been doing the rounds from when I was in fecking secondary school.

They are protein chains forming when the milkshake has been left to settle and seperate.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

This myth was funny when I was 11...

ibl

Let me just say that it is up to you on the slimfast! I apologise most sincerely if I came across as agressive that was not my intention...:(

It upsets me when people have a go when you are trying to loose weight and at the end of the day slimfast is working for me. I eat healthily in the evenings and I am exercising.

SORRY GUYS! :)

Sherifu will keep you posted if I don't get thrown off the site:rolleyes: