Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joining the regular British Army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Infantry basic training lasts for 18 weeks and you would be deployed to Iraq or Afghanistan as soon as your unit does - within 12 months max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pathfinder

Hey I am also considering joining the BA after my Leavin cert was wondering how long does training take for infantry and how long until I could be deployed

Infantry Basic Training is 24 weeks, Guards 26 weeks, After which you can specialise.

You can be deployed straight after BT.

Or if you fancy some of this 30 weeks.<snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip>

Nowadays the balloon is gone, the first jump is from 250 feet from an aircraft and with a low level parachute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Thanks, and nah mate dont think I could ever be in a parachute regiment... getting shot at is something I could deal with however jumping out of a plane isnt :D

So fitness wise how does it work I'm not overweight or anything but I am quite unfit from smoking,drinkin etc. do they gradually build up your fitness or are you expected to be fit from day one of training :confused:

Also whats pay like in the training stages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭DILLIGAF

basic training in the brits is 14 weeks. then you move onto phase two training which is 24 weeks. its on the website! and yeah, get up tomorrow and be a non smoker. i smoked weed and cigs for 6 years and literally got up one morning and quit!

Thanks, and nah mate dont think I could ever be in a parachute regiment... getting shot at is something I could deal with however jumping out of a plane isnt :D

So fitness wise how does it work I'm not overweight or anything but I am quite unfit from smoking,drinkin etc. do they gradually build up your fitness or are you expected to be fit from day one of training :confused:

Also whats pay like in the training stages

Heres a previous thread, if can run 3 miles in around 22 mins, do around 50 press ups and around 7 chins ups,before reporting to the depot, you will handle the physical side of standard infantry regiment basic training no problem.

If you are of average fitness, you should achieve that within 6 weeks.

The pre-enlistment fitness running test is 1.5 miles in 10.30, Paras 9.30.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055229002

Another unit worth considering is the RAF regiment,obviously not part of the army some units operate with 1 para as part of the special forces support group, you are also eligible for SRR selection. The RAF regiments basic training is harder then that of the standard infantry.

<snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip>

Roles

Force Protection
    The RAF Regiment takes the lead on Force Protection (FP) for the RAF and is responsible for ensuring the protection of any deployed RAF assets. This could include anything from training other branches of the RAF to mounting aggressive patrols around an air base to deter any attackers. The RAF Force Protection Centre, located at the RAF Regiment's home at RAF Honington, provides specialist training and advice in all areas of Force Protection, and monitors the way in which the RAF Regt operates.

Force Protection Wings
    RAF Force Protection Wing Headquarters (FP Wg HQs), of which there are 7, are optimised to provide operational planning, command and control for Force Protection assets deployed on operations. Each Wing is headed up by an RAF Regt Wg Cdr, who is charge of an 11 strong multi-disciplinary specialist Force Protection team. A Field Sqn is attached to every FP Wg and will provide the main FP manpower during training and operations for an FP Wg.

Field Squadrons
    Field squadrons are highly mobile, heavily armed infantry units optimised for active protection of air assets. They are extremely versatile and are able to counter the whole spectrum of ground-based threats to the RAF. Field Squadrons are trained to move quickly around the battlefield on foot or mounted in helicopters and specially adapted Land Rovers.

The 8 Field Squadrons are organised into flights, each composed of 1 officer and about 30 Gunners. There are various specialist roles within the Sqns such as snipers, mortars and signallers that form an integral part the unit and allow each Sqn to be self-sufficient.

The way a Field Sqn operates depends upon the threat they are facing. They could be mounting defensive positions one day, whilst switching to aggressive patrolling a long way outside of the airfield the next. The Sqn operates by firstly finding the enemy, then fixing him in position using the Support Weapons flight and finally striking using the Rifle Flights to destroy him.

Parachute Capability
    II Squadron RAF Regiment is a parachute-capable Field squadron and can be used to jump in to capture and secure a landing strip or refuelling point. The Sqn operates as a normal Field Sqn, but its capability is used on specific operations as well, such as Op Silkman in Sierra Leone in 2001. Members of II Sqn are required to pass the arduous Pre-Para Selection course, in order to attend a military parachuting course at RAF Brize Norton.

Ceremonial and Public Duties
    The Queen’s Colour Squadron (QCS) is an RAF Regiment unit acting as the custodian of the Queen’s Colour for the Royal Air Force in the United Kingdom. The Squadron is responsible for all security and care of the colour and provides the Escort Squadron whenever it is paraded. The Squadron is unique within the Royal Air Force Regiment in that it has a dual role and holds the Squadron number of 63 Squadron RAF Regiment and fulfils both ceremonial and operational Field Squadron roles.

The Queen’s Colour Squadron regularly forms the Queen’s Guard at Buckingham Palace and other Royal residences. Other important Duties such as repatriation and military tattoos feature heavily in the QCS programme. Additionally the Squadron is world-renowned for its continuity drill displays and holds the world record for the most number of drill movements performed in 24 hrs following a single word of command.

Forward Air Control
    RAF Regiment personnel man the majority of Tactical Air Control Parties (TACPs) that coordinate Close Air Support for the British Army. These small teams move with Airborne, Armoured and Infantry units in order to identify enemy targets and call in air assets to attack them. They are also trained to call in artillery fire. TACPs are required to move quickly around the battlefield and can be inserted by vehicle, helicopter or parachute.

Special Forces Support Group
    The RAF Regiment provides both a Flight and a TACP to the Special Forces Support Group (SFSG). Specially selected Officers and Gunners operate at a high operational tempo in direct support of UK Special Forces operations worldwide.

Ground Defence Training
    Every RAF station has a Ground Defence Training Section; where RAF Regiment instructors train all station personnel in practical Survive To Operate measures, such as first aid, weapon handling and Nuclear, Biological and Chemical defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Wow,falling out of a c130,thats a challenge :rolleyes:

Most likely more of a challenge then anything you have ever done.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

RAF regiment...you have to be a pretty boy for them to conceder you.

Pathfinder wrote: »
    Most likely more of a challenge then anything you have ever done.

You're funny mate,seriously.You don't even know ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dub13 wrote: »
    RAF regiment...you have to be a pretty boy for them to conceder you.

I met a guy from East London on holiday once who was in the regiment. He was a Jamaican called Wiz and a close quarters combat instructor.

When I asked him what close quarters combat meant, he said that basically he could kill me in about 20 seconds.

I bought him a pint.

When I asked him what close quarters combat meant, he said that basically he could kill me in about 20 seconds.

I bought him a pint.

Good call.. :D

You're funny mate,seriously.You don't even know ;)

I don't think there is much to know ;)

Fair enough i suppose, that's your prerogative. Although,considering how many women and support service personnel (in the US) are airborne qualified,it's really not that big of an accomplishment.

The threads not about Americans, females serve in the 82nd airborne as medics and are jump qualified.

UK Parachute regiment selection is a different ball game and certainly is a big accomplishment, when the bin rate can be as high as 90%.

Which is actually higher then most countries special forces selection failure rates.

The threads not about Americans, females serve in the 82nd airborne as medics and are jump qualified.

UK Parachute regiment selection is a different ball game.

It's not just medics,every person working in a support capacity is meant to be jump qualified.So,as i said before,being airborne qualified really is not a big deal.
    And i might be mistaken in this but wasn't the Para Regiment grounded due to lack of funds to cover the costs of training?
    As for a selection process, let me guess...lots of PT,ruck marching and team building events? Wow,pretty much described the basis of every selection process for "elite" units the world over.

It's not just medics,every person working in a support capacity is meant to be jump qualified.So,as i said before,being airborne qualified really is not a big deal.
    And i might be mistaken in this but wasn't the Para Regiment grounded due to lack of funds to cover the costs of training?
    As for a selection process, let me guess...lots of PT,ruck marching and team building events? Wow,pretty much described the basis of every selection process for "elite" units the world over.

But female medics actually serve on the battlefield.

P company still runs, drop training will resume in 2010or11.

No P company is alot harder then abit of ruck marching and PT.

Its running up mountains with rucks and team building is running 5 -7 miles with a 170lb stetcher or log races uphills, as well as beastings which can be just as hard as the team events.

I dont know of any other unit that does the trainasium.

Which is abit different then a bit of "ruck marching and team building".

We are not the ARW :D (only joking)

Hence the up to 90% bin rate.

Why do you think most 22 SAS troopers are Paras.

But female medics actually serve on the battlefield.

P company still runs, drop training will resume in 2010or11.

No P company is alot harder then abit of ruck marching and PT.

Its running up mountains with rucks and team building is running 5 -7 miles with a 170lb stetcher or log races uphills, as well as beastings which can be just as hard as the team events.

I dont know of any other unit that does the trainasium.

Which is abit different then a bit of "ruck marching and team building".

We are not the ARW :D (only joking)

Hence the up to 90% bin rate.

Why do you think most SAS troopers are Paras.

So what your saying is that they do ruck marching,PT and team events for their selection?

Glad you cleared that one up.So they also do an obstacle course eh? That's cool,looks like the sort of thing most 8yr olds would enjoy playing on.

Sarcasm aside,they do some tough training.Good for them.Most decent units do (that's what makes them decent). Your desire to hype up every aspect of their activities and those of other units is pretty laughable.No matter how much you try and portray these things as the be all and end all of eliteness,any body who has done it can tell you it's not that amazing.It's the suck,but that's what the army is about.It's not about trying to portray yourself (or other units) as badasses

I can see some of your points 'abusestoilets' but I have to say, I don't think pathfinder is trying to hype anything in the way your saying he is. Your doing the EXACT opposite to him by trying to dumb everything down, your making it sound like you yourself could pass selection for the SAS in the morning, so of course he's going to defend his point, and has done with fact not speculation. So if you don't have anything interesting or informative to add about why this thread was started, then please dont pick fights or continue arguments like this because it's pointless and helping no one join the BA. Cheers

So what your saying is that they do ruck marching,PT and team events for their selection?

Glad you cleared that one up.So they also do an obstacle course eh? That's cool,looks like the sort of thing most 8yr olds would enjoy playing on.

Sarcasm aside,they do some tough training.Good for them.Most decent units do (that's what makes them decent). Your desire to hype up every aspect of their activities and those of other units is pretty laughable.No matter how much you try and portray these things as the be all and end all of eliteness,any body who has done it can tell you it's not that amazing.It's the suck,but that's what the army is about.It's not about trying to portray yourself (or other units) as badasses

So the trainasium is for 8 year olds. ?

You have done it ?

No one claimed anything was "amazing", the response is to your claim P coy "is nothing special".

I havent hyped anything just stated the facts.

So the trainasium is for 8 year olds.

And your military experience is ?

No one claimed it was "amazing", the response is to your claim "its nothing special".

I havent hyped anything just stated the facts.

My experience is enough that i don't cream myself when i read your many,many posts talking about the toughness of the Paras for doing an obstacle course or how great the Royal Marines are for rucking with a heavy pack.
    A bit of exciting music,some action shots and a polished script can make dull,****ty activities sound like bees knees.

My experience is enough that i don't cream myself when i read your many,many posts talking about the toughness of the Paras for doing an obstacle course or how great the Royal Marines are for rucking with a heavy pack.
    A bit of exciting music,some action shots and a polished script can make dull,****ty activities sound like bees knees.

In other words you dont have any experience, hence why you dont appreciate others accomplishments, but attempt to belittle them.

Enough said.

This is a military forum, btw, what videos would you expect to get posted.

I am an ex PTI I have an intrest in this stuff.

Ok people lets get this back on topic which is...'Joining the regular British Army?'.

In other words you dont have any experience, hence why you dont appreciate others accomplishments, but attempt to belittle them.

Enough said.

This is a military forum, btw, what videos would you expect to get posted.

I am an ex PTI I have an intrest in this stuff.

My point is not to belittle the accomplishments of those who have gone through such training.I'm just a little tired of your attitude when posting such videos and other info,which IMO, is one of smug superiority.Something plainly in evidence in the thread talking about the ARW and other units. Real professionals don't need to showboat and brag about their actions.My personal experiences have given me the wisdom to focus on being a professional,quiet and focused on my job.Not worrying about looking like a badass.
    Apologies Dub13 for the derailment,just wanted to challenge the attitude i felt was being displayed.

Ok now everybody has got that out of there system,lets move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭richy

How are ya lads!!This is my first post(i think) since i joined!! I'm confused about what i want to do in terms of career. I finished my leaving cert and am not planning on going to college as the points i got dont fit for the courses i wanted :(. I have applied to the PDF and my interviews should be mid summer but im also thinking about joining the British Army due to the experiences i could have in Afghanistan/Iraq or other future hotspots which its unlikely the PDF will be involved in. I have a few questions for ye who are in the know. 1) Do you know how much soldiers(British Army) on tours are paid(i know the PDF pay something around the 60 euro mark extra every day while away). 2) For people who have served in the British Army how did ye find living so far away from home? 3) Would my leaving cert( roughly 250 points) be sufficient for a cadetship with the Brits? 4) I saw on the website that they like accomadate your rent or something like that but i think its referring to living in the barracks. Do ye know if this is like in seperate houses or i like a dorm with lights out etc.(this is after basic im on about when your a fully fledged killing machine:D 5) Lastly, if i was to return to Ireland after serving with the Brit Army would my service be a bonus or a negative if i sought a civil service job such as garda or fire brigade??

Cheers in advance, Richy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 iwishicould

1) Officer pay for a graduate is £27k while non-grad £22. Non-grad take that little bit longer to move up the ranks than a grad. Not sure about overseas bonus but from what current officers tell me they spend around £200 a month whilst the other £1000 goes into their pockets for savings...

2) Don't know long term but the 3 days I spent in the Land Warfare Centre were entertaining. Even tho it was know as the "Travel Lodge" of officers mess' it was still nice. And a pint of fosters was only 90pence...

4) Again for officers you get your own swanky room, pay around £200 a month for food/bills/beer etc. Nice food, good bar, it's generally a great atmosphere.

5) Can't see it being a negative thing with the experience you will require. You will have experienced more than what most Guards or firemen would have in a lifetime.

Anyway apply ASAP, get your fitness going and best of luck. You will not regret it.
    richy wrote: »
    How are ya lads!!This is my first post(i think) since i joined!! I'm confused about what i want to do in terms of career. I finished my leaving cert and am not planning on going to college as the points i got dont fit for the courses i wanted :(. I have applied to the PDF and my interviews should be mid summer but im also thinking about joining the British Army due to the experiences i could have in Afghanistan/Iraq or other future hotspots which its unlikely the PDF will be involved in. I have a few questions for ye who are in the know. 1) Do you know how much soldiers(British Army) on tours are paid(i know the PDF pay something around the 60 euro mark extra every day while away). 2) For people who have served in the British Army how did ye find living so far away from home? 3) Would my leaving cert( roughly 250 points) be sufficient for a cadetship with the Brits? 4) I saw on the website that they like accomadate your rent or something like that but i think its referring to living in the barracks. Do ye know if this is like in seperate houses or i like a dorm with lights out etc.(this is after basic im on about when your a fully fledged killing machine:D 5) Lastly, if i was to return to Ireland after serving with the Brit Army would my service be a bonus or a negative if i sought a civil service job such as garda or fire brigade??

Cheers in advance, Richy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mrmotivator007

did my barb during the week,and it went well in my books,i could have my interveiw in the next 2,to 3 weeks,

well done mr, what regiment you going for?

richy wrote: »

Cheers in advance, Richy

If you do well in your leaving cert, why not attempt to go for a commission.

The Short Service Commission (SSC) - the SSC is the normal first commission for those who become an officer in the Army. It is a commission for those who do not wish to commit to a long career but would like to benefit from the high quality training and exceptional experience available to young officers. The SSC is also a first step to a mid-length or full career in the Army. SSCs are awarded for a minimum of three years (six years for the Army Air Corps on account of the length of pilot training) but can be extended to eight.

Candidates for commissions should be over 17 years and nine months and under 29 years old when they begin officer training.

These are far easier to get in the trade and mechanical regiments, such as the logistic corps regiments, Royal Engineers, REME, pioneers or even the signals.

If you want to become a cop consider the Royal military police.

If you dont and join as a squaddie consider the Royal Engineers, you can train in a skill which you can use in civilian life, and then if inclined join the Para or commando engineers and serve with 16 AA or 3 commando.

Sappers can join the Royal Engineers in one of the following trades:
    • Bricklayer and Concretor
    • Building and Structural Finisher
    • Carpenter and Joiner
    • Command, Communications and Information Systems Specialist
    • Construction Materials Technician
    • Draughtsman (Design)
    • Draughtsman (Electrical and Mechanical)
    • Driver RE
    • Electrician
    • Fabricator (Welder)
    • Fitter (Air Conditioning and Refrigeration)
    • General Fitter
    • Geographical Data Technician
    • Geographical Production Technician
    • Geographical Terrain Analyst
    • Heating and Plumbing Engineer
    • Plant Operator Maintainer
    • Resources Specialist
    • Specialist Equipment Driver/Operator
    • Surveyor (Engineering)
    Later, sappers can specialise in further trades and specialities, including:
    • Amphibious Engineer
    • Armoured Engineer
    • Clerk of Works (Construction)
    • Clerk of Works (Electrical)
    • Clerk of Works (Mechanical)
    • Commando Engineer
    • Diver
    • Military Plant Foreman
    • Parachute Engineer
    • Regimental Signals Instructor
    Senior NCOs who have passed the appropriate Clerk of Works course can be commissioned as Garrison Engineers (Construction, Electrical or Mechanical).