Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pull Up Bar

• 18-01-2008 9:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭

Do they sell these in Argos?

Also, anything else you would recommend me to get tommorow in regards to Fitness in Argos?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

If your talking about the one's you screw into your door frame I'm pretty sure they do.

Maybe a decent set of weights? Or have a look around a few websites that sell second half stuff, I got 2 dumbbells, a 7ft barbell and 35KG cast-iron weights for the grand total of €10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Cheers, is pull up bar even the name of it?

That is pretty damn good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Go for it. They cost about a tenner, take five minutes to install and are just savage. Every home should have one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Every home should have one!
    too right, great yokes.

€12 amazing value for what you can get out of it. Many think you have to spend a load of cash on equipment, a chinning bar can do a lot more good than many of the the €XX,000 machines in gyms.

http://www.argos.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=30001&langId=-1&catalogId=1500001101&productId=1500184709&clickfrom=image

you can get a removable one here too
    http://irish-lifting.com/product_info_equipment.php?cPath=1_8&products_id=270

Also if you have an attic you could span a bit of wood across it and hang rings from it. These give a LOT more variations of exercises. You can do dips, flyes and all sorts of stuff on them, and easy on the joints, not to mention fun. The originals can be picked up for €50 delivered ATM http://ringtraining.com/store/classicrings.html

I no longer use my bench now since I got them. Also since doing dips on the rings I have developed a lot of stability. I can now do dips using 2 chairs that are not particularly stable. The rings bring a lot more muscles into play, and I am able to stabilise myself even on some chairs with really high backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

€12 amazing value for what you can get out of it. Many think you have to spend a load of cash on equipment, a chinning bar can do a lot more good than many of the the €XX,000 machines in gyms.

Yeah but the €XX,000 machines cost more, and have scientific stuff on them. Surely they're better, they cost more!!!

Yay for ring training!
    Colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I live in student accomidation and can't put stuff up permanently, do the argos pull up bars require installation/ drilling holes etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

rubadub wrote: »

Also if you have an attic you could span a bit of wood across it and hang rings from it. These give a LOT more variations of exercises. You can do dips, flyes and all sorts of stuff on them, and easy on the joints, not to mention fun. The originals can be picked up for €50 delivered ATM http://ringtraining.com/store/classicrings.html

What a cracker or an idea - cheers RubbyDubDubby...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I live in student accomidation and can't put stuff up permanently, do the argos pull up bars require installation/ drilling holes etc
    they come with fixings that you screw into the door and stick on pads so you can pressure mount them for sit ups - some people say the pressure pads are enough but they instructions say to mount them properly for chin ups..

too right, great yokes.

http://www.argos.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=30001&langId=-1&catalogId=1500001101&productId=1500184709&clickfrom=image

I no longer use my bench now since I got them. Also since doing dips on the rings I have developed a lot of stability. I can now do dips using 2 chairs that are not particularly stable. The rings bring a lot more muscles into play, and I am able to stabilise myself even on some chairs with really high backs.

Anyone know where I could get these rings in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I've no idea what the Argos bars require but this bar posted by Rubabdub earlier is removable. I use this one which is also removable. It's a little awkward at first (I was convinced I was going to tear down the top of the door frame) but after a while you'll be used to it. I definitely recommend getting one of the removable ones rather than drilling holes etc.

Anyone know where I could get these rings in Dublin?

Doubt you will get them here. And if you did I would expect they would cost way more than getting them direct. Any online stores in the EU charged way more for them. And those originals are only so cheap to get rid of old stock.

Cheers for all the info. I guess I'll have to get the mothers card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Bu11et_Proof

Sorry to hijack the thread but after reading about the good repsonses about a pull up bar I got one myself today, its the one from argos.

I have to say it aint as easy as it seems chins up are ok but pull ups with knuckles facing me and using a wide grip are killer for me couldn't do one full one, anyone else find this difficult ?

I'm no expert in weight training and kinda learning as I go and what I have found on the internet. I have used the gym here in waterford but its swamped most of time and I decided to train at home.

Have found this forum a great source for info and justed wanted to say hi sorry again for the hijack ;)

My iron woody resistance band arrived today - i can't wait to try some assisted pullups now! :D

Hi tk123, just wondering which ones you got ? I was on their site and there is a good few. I use my pull up bar in a door way and have to bend my knees so putting a band around my foot wont work.

Can anyone suggest a way of using one of these bands without putting em under my foot ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Maybe a weighted vest or belt?

Hi tk123, just wondering which ones you got ? I was on their site and there is a good few. I use my pull up bar in a door way and have to bend my knees so putting a band around my foot wont work.

Can anyone suggest a way of using one of these bands without putting em under my foot ?

:o Well i'm kinda short so I got the shortest band they had :D

Just do negatives. I could do not pullups at first, negatives help HUGELY.

Get a small box or chair. Stand on it so you are in the highest position of a pullup. Now lower yourself down nice & slow and controlled. Flex and feel the muscles being used. now get up and do a few more reps. After a few workouts you will be able to do 1. Do the 1 rep and get on the box and do negatives again straight away. In 2 months you will be lashing them out.

Problem with pullups & chinups is that you are using your bodyweight from day one. i.e. there is no progress up to that weight. And a lot of people starting out are overweight and not particularly strong, so the stronger and thinner you get the more you can do. While with other exercises you can start as light as you want and build up.

If you cannot manage 8 chins it might be worth doing some negatives too, if muscle gain is your goal.

Mountain bike inner tubes can be used instead of resistance bands.

Chin ups aint too bad done 10 and then said i'll give the pullups ago but only lifted myself a inch or so I was thinking, how in gods name I'm I gonna get up there lol. But like you said its my whole body weight I'm lifting.

Didn't even know there was such things as negative pullups :) I'll be give them a blast tomorrow.

Thanks for the tip rubadub

Chin ups aint too bad done 10 and then said i'll give the pullups ago but only lifted myself a inch or so I was thinking, how in gods name I'm I gonna get up there lol. But like you said its my whole body weight I'm lifting.
    10 chinups is very good for a first go especially. I am up to around 15 chins and 12pullups. so you should be knocking them out in no time, just is new muscles being worked and you are obviously strong enough if you can do 10 chins. The new muscles will probably get up to speed in no time.

Ever try a one handed chin-up:eek: I could get one but haven't had my bar up since November, moved gaff and the parents won't let me put it up yet:mad: 10 is good for the first time, I got 8 on my first time and one of my mates who goes to the gym every two days couldn't even do one:eek:

Ever try a one handed chin-up:eek: I could get one
    You are able to do a one hand chin? a true one? i.e. not hanging onto your wrist with the other hand.

I have started doing pullups on doorframes, need strong fingers but you get used to it. I only have a few deep frames I can do it on, hope to be able to do it on standard ones soon. I am trying that "greasing the groove" technique. Since working out on rings I can do dips on pretty much any chairs, even flimsy plastic ones. Must try them on a couple of sticks! And my handstand pushup is nearly there too.

You are able to do a one hand chin? a true one? i.e. not hanging onto your wrist with the other hand.

And my handstand pushup is nearly there too.

Well you just burst my bubble:o No i'd hang onto my wrist with the other hand.

How much I'd love to be able to dp them, tryed to do them a good fews times but lacking in the handstand part, ends up more like a lying flat on the ground and failing the handstand.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭loadabollocks

too right, great yokes.

where do most people hang these rings? i would love to use these but i don't really have an attic big enough to hang them like you said.

Rubadub isn't suggesting to hang them "in" your attic exactly... He means, open your attic door, span some strong wood (strong enough to take more than your body weight) across it and hang your rings from it... Then do your ring exercises from it in your hallway or landing (ie, under the attic door)...

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Rubadub isn't suggesting to hang them "in" your attic exactly... He means, open your attic door, span some strong wood (strong enough to take more than your body weight) across it and hang your rings from it... Then do your ring exercises from it in your hallway or landing (ie, under the attic door)...
    Yes thats it. Although some peoples attic can be an odd place. Mine has doors all around it which is great, since you can do flyes. Also with flyes the higher the beam the better as the angle is less on the straps.

I have mine usually on a chinning bar in my room. I heard Colm say he puts them on a tree branch. I have used them on a crossbar on the local football pitch. On the forums on www.ringtraining.com there are other suggestions. The maker of them recommends eyelet hooks that would go direct into your ceiling, into sold beams of course, I didnt like the thought of that though.

This site is great and can show you how to make your own stuff, only found it the other day.
    http://www.angelfire.com/ny5/shenandoah/Grunt/Bodyweight.html

For a simple cheap version of rings lads are using dog chew toys!
    something like this
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/BRAND-NEW-RUBBER-DOG-RING-TOY-N-R_W0QQitemZ120211430697QQihZ002QQcategoryZ20750QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    though 6" diameter is a bit small

and just strong webbing straps. The rubber rings would have nice grip and form to your hands well, just check they are strong, hang from each with all your weight. The webbing stuff is usually rated to carry ridiculous loads.

http://cgi.ebay.ie/2-5-m-Med-Duty-surfboard-Canoe-webbing-tie-down-straps_W0QQitemZ360015555133QQihZ023QQcategoryZ87089QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

You can make rings easy enough too, check out these

http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=10887&page=2
    http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=12572&page=2
    http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=12572&page=1http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=12572&page=2

You could knock up a set for €10-20 easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Dare I call you, the King of the Ring?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Ringo Star?

BossArky wrote: »
    Ringo Star?

Olympic Ollie?

:D maybe Lord of the Rings, or more like Bilbo Baggins unfortunately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

Those Argos chin up bars aren't available in any of the stores near me in West Dublin. Anyone know of anywhere else that would be selling something similar?