Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best of luck in the nationals

• 18-01-2008 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭

Today will be my last training session before the nationals :D ive been powerlifting since mid june last year unequipped and made some good progress. i hope :o to be in the 100kg class atm im 102kg in the evening so no guinness for the next week :mad: not really sure what to go to in the events. atm im training with 150kg squats 2x4 sets 195kg deadlifts 3x3 sets. i feel my bench is letting me down 4x4 sets 115kg and tbh it was a real struggle for me to get this weight, ive hit the wall:( at 110kg and droped it back to 105kg it helped a bit but
    at times i find it hard to keep my reps up, what do you guys thing would be a realistic weight to lift in all events?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

pm. wrote: »
    Today will be my last training session before the nationals :D ive been powerlifting since mid june last year unequipped and made some good progress. i hope :o to be in the 100kg class atm im 102kg in the evening so no guinness for the next week :mad: not really sure what to go to in the events. atm im training with 150kg squats 2x4 sets 195kg deadlifts 3x3 sets. i feel my bench is letting me down 4x4 sets 115kg and tbh it was a real struggle for me to get this weight, ive hit the wall:( at 110kg and droped it back to 105kg it helped a bit but
    at times i find it hard to keep my reps up, what do you guys thing would be a realistic weight to lift in all events?

Based off those numbers, and assuming all the lifts are done to competition standards (and that yo're training with unpaused benches) I'd say....

170-175kg squat, 125-130kg bench and 210-220kg deadlift.

I'd proably attempt 155/165/170 on the squat. 115 or 120/125/130 on the bench and 195/210/215 or 220 on the deadlift. Depending on bar speed and how I was feeling. Make sure you're eating and drinking alot too throughout the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Good luck to all attending, Hanley, Trib was saying you're the man to watch out for! Go get em Tiger!!
    *gives H a camp slap on the buttocks*

Hahahhaha riiiight.. Ah I dunno tbh. Training's gone well and I'm due a meet where I tie everything together for a big total. Hopefully this will be the one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Out of interest, do they award 1st/2nd/3rd in the individual lifts as well as the total?

It depends on the competition. At the IPF world champs there's the overall class win which is the one that scores points for your team, then there's also gold, silver and bronze individual medals for the squat, bench and deadlift.

Same story with weightlifting. There's the overall and the 3 places for the snatch and clean and jerk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Best of luck gents, lift lots, win more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Jon wrote: »
    *gives H a camp slap on the buttocks*

Did you know that under any cirumstances you can do that....and once you follow it by saying "Good Game!" it's not gay? :D

Best of luck to all lifting...... hoping to run into a few of you folk down there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Dragan wrote: »
    Did you know that under any cirumstances you can do that....and once you follow it by saying "Good Game!" it's not gay? :D

How very top gun of you :p

Good luck to everyone taking part

looking forward to videos and reports, very inspiring to see people compete like this.

Guys and gals, just FYI....

The comps not on til the 26th and 27th of the month. It's still over a week away!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

I might go up and watch, be good old craic we go on the sauce afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

good luck to everyone competing.
    As a matter of interest,where are they held?How early (agewise) would an average powerlifter start lifting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

fatal wrote: »
    good luck to everyone competing.
    As a matter of interest,where are they held?How early (agewise) would an average powerlifter start lifting?

It's gonna be held in Gorey this year, last year it was Monaghan, year before that, in Clara.

There's always a few young guys at the comps, there was a good few 15, 16 and 17 year olds competing this time last year. The youngest guy competing was 14, went 120kg, 70kg and 152.5kg but he's an exception rather than the norm (strength wise) for that age group.

I know Hanley was about 17 when he started lifting and 19 when he started competing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Best of luck to all lifting...... hoping to run into a few of you folk down there!

"Good hussle" works pretty good too... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Last session is tomorrow for me, then a week of being bored sh1tless and mildly hungry until the 27th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭JayRoc

The very best of luck to all lifters, I'll see ye on Saturday (won't be around for the equipped, sorry lads, kick ass anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

Hanley wrote: »
    Based off those numbers, and assuming all the lifts are done to competition standards (and that yo're training with unpaused benches) I'd say....

170-175kg squat, 125-130kg bench and 210-220kg deadlift.

I'd proably attempt 155/165/170 on the squat. 115 or 120/125/130 on the bench and 195/210/215 or 220 on the deadlift. Depending on bar speed and how I was feeling. Make sure you're eating and drinking alot too throughout the day.

cheers Hanley for the advice, kinda what i had in mind but my benching is letting me down if i got 122.5kg i will be doing well, had a great workout on friday legs are fcuked now, got for the first time squatting 5 reps with 155kg.

These are starting tomorrow...

Both Hanley and Tribulus are competing on Sunday, so best of luck to the two of you.

I'm sure ya's are gonna kick ass!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

see everyone there tommorow!!! 6.30am start for me...glad im not competing!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I'm never one to toot my own horn (/sarcasm) but I'm sure the bigger boys will be along shortly to let you know how they got on, so I'm sticking up my numbers first before they shame me into feeling like a weakling!!

I was competing unequipped on Saturday. These Nationals were more about banishing the demons of my crappy performance at the Worlds than scoring anything impressive. In fact on the morning of the comp I was still 50:50 about competing at all :o Weighed in at 80.0kg (came in at 78.5kg for the previous 3 days, then on comp morning weighed in at 80.5kg. Oh give me patience. Following a ten minute soujorn in the ladies and stripping down to my frillies I managed to knock the extra half kilo off...)

Squat - 125
    Bench - 70
    DL - 152.5

I lead the Championships until the very last lift: I had the choice of pulling 157.5 for the Championship or 160 for the Championship and a new WR. I decided to go out in a Blaze of Glory and chose the latter :D I lost, but I lost to the better lifter on the day so I'm definitely not complaining.

But for me, the best part about the day was that I got my confidence back, I thought it had disappeared for eternity. I don't lift alongside other PLers, I'm shite at planning my own training, and I second-guess everything four times over, so the Nationals were really a make-or-break day to see was I kidding myself all along. But it was a great day all round and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Bring on the European Championships!!

BIIIIIIIIIIIG thanks to Dragan, JayRoc, colmconn and wasabi for all the support and weight-monkeying and to Dave C. for the lucky socks!

Congratz g'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

great lifting out of you gem i was down with the UL lads for the day serious motivation kick to get me back training hard again anyways lifts for the day from the UL heads

sinead reddan 92.5kg/65kg/137.5kg best overall female after a tight fight!
    Tom Fatherty 252.5kg 120kg 290kg tom missed 140 and 150 on the bench and 300 on the deadlift...

some savage lifts... Ben's 280kg deadlift at T3 100kg weight James Fennellys 322.5kg as always an impressive deadlift...

i need to be up around 560 for next year at the moment im only at 480 so better get training hard!!

Holy Jeebus, according to the results that I just got mailed from the IDFPA, I've set a new World Record for totals with 347.5kg

YAYYYY!!!!! :D

I just wanted to say congratulations to both Hanley and Tribulus who did an awesome job at the weekend.

One of the more nerve racking competitions I've been to, Hanley will explain it all later and you'll understand but I nearly had about 50 heart attacks though out the day.

I won't go giving away how they did but eh, it was impressive (as usual) to say the least!!

Malteaser! wrote: »
    I just wanted to say congratulations to both Hanley and Tribulus who did an awesome job at the weekend.

One of the more nerve racking competitions I've been to, Hanley will explain it all later and you'll understand but I nearly had about 50 heart attacks though out the day.

I won't go giving away how they did but eh, it was impressive (as usual) to say the least!!

You guys and your secrets! Spill the beans....I know Ger had a hell of a day, hears hoping the two boys had the same!!!

Thank you!! (not just for that)

It was certainly an eventful comp, I was so close to the perfect meet. There's a full write up here for anyone that's interested http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055097149&page=21

Here's my lifts from the day:

You guys and your secrets! Spill the beans....I know Ger had a hell of a day, hears hoping the two boys had the same!!!

eh a 245 squat, 180 bench and 245 deadlift for Hanley, I'm not gonna go putting up Trib's without his permission.\

EDIT: Ham got there before me...

I knew I'd feel weak once the boys got here :(

Huge congrats on your performance Hanley, and I hope your toes get well soon!

g'em wrote: »
    Holy Jeebus, according to the results that I just got mailed from the IDFPA, I've set a new World Record for totals with 347.5kg

YAYYYY!!!!! :D

****ing nice one!!!! :D

Hanley,

fair play on those lifts man....that second dead looked scary mate! It look like the surface was a bit slippy and your foot went? Fair play for going back in on the third attempt!

Lol you have my permission! ;)

Wasn't my best day, lessons learned in cutting weight or not f*cking doing it I should say as well as the huge focus and technique needed for equipped lifting .

Anyway ended up going 210/132.5/210, missing 140 twice on the bench and 220 twice on deadlift.

I'll get the videos up later, tired!

Fair play Trib! Was nice to see you on Sunday bro, it's been a while and your looking dense as hell mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Animals the lot of you.

Fair fcuking play, very inspiring stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

g'em wrote: »
    I knew I'd feel weak once the boys got here

Well I bet most of the "non-comp" lads on here were feeling weak when you posted your lifts, I know I was :D

Well done on the WR!

have to say after seeing hanley and a few others it really inspired me to train hard for next year, im only traning about 6/7 months so here are my results,

bench 125kg
    squat 160kg failed my 172.5kg
    deadlift 220kg felt like i should of done a lot more

i weighed in at 98.1kg.

have to say after seeing hanley and a few others it really inspired me to train hard for next year, im only traning about 6/7 months so here are my results,

bench 125kg

i weighed in at 98.1kg.

I was watching all your lifts, had a feeling it was you but wanted to make sure before I said anything and made a tit of myself. Anyways, you looked really impressive. So so calm and stuff for a first competition.

Congratulations, keep up the good work!!!

****ing nice one!!!! :D

Hanley,

fair play on those lifts man....that second dead looked scary mate! It look like the surface was a bit slippy and your foot went? Fair play for going back in on the third attempt!

The platform was covered in talc so was incredibly slippy!!

bench 125kg

i weighed in at 98.1kg.

Were ya there on Sunday too? I thought I saw you lifting on Saturday but didn't wanna come up during the flights in case I messed ya up. It definately looked like you had lot to spare on the deadlifts. You should be proud, you did real well for a first comp.

The platform was covered in talc so was incredibly slippy!!

Thats nuts! it could have cost him future comps if he had been badly hurt! :eek:

Thats why i leave powerlifting well alone, i'm injury prone enough as it is.

( and weak! )

bench 125kg

i weighed in at 98.1kg.

Those are some solid numbers mate! Well done and keep it up!

Thats nuts! it could have cost him future comps if he had been badly hurt! :eek:

Thats why i leave powerlifting well alone, i'm injury prone enough as it is.

( and weak! )

Ah yeah I know, the same could be said for any sport though. It's just a risk you have to take and besides, it *very* rarely happens.

The sound on the original video is gas, you just hear a collective *gasp* from the whole room, look at the lads at the back like when it happens like. TJ's reaction is priceless.

tribulus wrote: »
    Lol you have my permission! ;)

Wasn't my best day, lessons learned in cutting weight or not f*cking doing it I should say as well as the huge focus and technique needed for equipped lifting .

Anyway ended up going 210/132.5/210, missing 140 twice on the bench and 220 twice on deadlift.

I'll get the videos up later, tired!

Nothing to be ashamed of from your performance!! PR's across the board like. It's a totally different kettle of fish doing it in competition than doing it in the gym. Sure I was 5kg off my best deadlift. It took me about 4 or 5 months after pressing 180 in the gym to do it in comp.....

The thing peopel don't understand about equipped lifting is just how draining it is. You're constantly watchign the clock and trying to time when to start getting ready... Half the time you get under the bar and can't feel your feet... The gear's not very comfortable... Sure ya know all this!!!

That was like my 7th comp and I'm only now starting to hit my stride and get consistent! (and even saying that is a stretch considering I dumped warm ups benches!)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Well done to all of you - pack of legends!

Hanley, you need football boots! That slip looks sore.

Were ya there on Sunday too? I thought I saw you lifting on Saturday but didn't wanna come up during the flights in case I messed ya up. It definately looked like you had lot to spare on the deadlifts. You should be proud, you did real well for a first comp.

yea i was there for the squats on sunday some great lifting, had to go home early tho :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 realmank

All of the results are on the IDFPA website;
    http://www.idfpa.plus.com/results.htm

yea i was there for the squats on sunday some great lifting, had to go home early tho :(

Ohhh cool! I didn't see ya there. But then again I tend to be in my own world when I'm lifting (as I'm sure my noise making and general attitude coming up to lifts would confirm!!)

So has the bug bitten ya now....?

I guess so, besides 24 hour weigh in for ipo's/gpc's :)

Thanks Dragan, I was very flat though :cool:

So take it easy, it's my first attempt with moviemaker and took me about 2 feckin hours to do lol

http://youtube.com/watch?v=kq-TXfsHurk

Turn the volume down if you don't like bad words and angry music.

Gotta love the post comp vids!!

I rembmer thinking on your squats... "wtf is he doing going so low???". The opener was really ar$e to the floor. It looks like your second bench attempt touched a little high, it's probably why the bar got back over your face so early. Dunno what happened with your deadlifts. The first attempt was SO quick.

I really think I'm starting to understand shirted benching so much better after this comp. Big things to come from all the Hercs lads I think.

Ohhh cool! I didn't see ya there. But then again I tend to be in my own world when I'm lifting (as I'm sure my noise making and general attitude coming up to lifts would confirm!!)

So has the bug bitten ya now....?

lol, i was told before the nationals " when you get one competition under your belt you'll be addicted " i wanted to go training tonight still a bit fcuked tho :) thinking about having a break this week and recycle my weights to improve my bench and squat.

Hanley,

Can I ask why you have a sumo style deadlift? And how's the foot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭maradona10

congrats to all,

do they compete for un equipped lifts at the comps as well?

and Hanley do you mean Tribulus' first lift in the vid was low? I thought that one was parallel.

maradona10 wrote: »
    do they compete for un equipped lifts at the comps as well?.
    yup, Saturday was unequipped and that's what I lift in (or not in as the case may be :) )