Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Communications students

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭DowneyBookGirl

Clubby wrote: »
    david odoherty! ive been dieing to see him...didnt know he was playing:(

Haha, Des is a legend! & and deise59 is totally right. God we were a pack of eejits. :p

Clubby, if you're interested in coming, there's still tickets left! There's only 4 of us going so far but if anyone is interested they're welcome to come. It should be a good gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Catuohy wrote: »
    Was that you? conor something? and no1 said hi :O shocker!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHo's heading out 2nyt i cant get thru to my friemd i was meant to be heading in with :( hahah good alll des..i have my bits and women don't... basically i have a penis!

Nah its Stephen, but close enough! I'll be there in the Hub from round 8 onwards with hopefully a good few others. I'd say a few people will be heading straight out to the Purty for later on, but we said we'd head to the Hub first just for us staying on campus so we can head in together, or if anyone else just wanted to head there instead. Either way, you're welcome to come along (and that includes all your fellow CS'ers reading the topic but aren't posting :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Catuohy

dont think im gona head out cos the girl i was headin over with aint going!!! and im not good at the whole heading in on my own thing :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Clubby

hmmm tempting. I think I was sitting infront of ya this morning carly, in the red hoodie.

ya heard from hannah ciara...cant get in touch with her, not sure if shes goin.

time to get changed and get soaked on my way up:D

hmmm tempting. I think I was sitting infront of ya this morning carly, in the red hoodie.

ya heard from hannah ciara...cant get in touch with her, not sure if shes goin.

time to get changed and get soaked on my way up:D

shes not going so i dunno if i will too shy to go up alone :(

Ah well we won't bite, promise! Sure if either of ye don't wanna thats fine but it should be a fun night, and i'll even let ya know where bouts in the Hub ye can find us so ya won't be going up to complete strangers :D

ah crap.

meet ya outside then go and find people?:confused:

ah crap.

meet ya outside then go and find people?:confused:

sounds good if you gavent left yet

nope. I can be up there by about 20 to, Ill pm ya my number now. send us a txt when youre there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭ding_dong

Catuohy wrote: »
    shes not going so i dunno if i will too shy to go up alone :(

I hear ya :(

Go on give it a shot. If I can get tickets I might go :) and belive me im FAR more shy than you :o:(

It will be worth it :D

i think class night was quite a sucess

My headache agrees :D

3 cups of coffee and a 2 hour nap later and I still feel broken.

fun night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭ding_dong

deise59 wrote: »
    My headache agrees :D

bwhwhhaha ^_^

No headache for me, just getting up at 11am missing most of my lectures >_>

Twas a great night :)

bit confused..do we have media technology tomorrow or no?

Nah we don't. Workshops for that don't start till next week.

Its the LCI module that's confusing everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

A success indeed, although I'm never touching Fizz again.
    Roll on Fresher's Ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

What time we in tomorrow?
    The timetables gone gammy online and I've no printed version!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 ModFox

anyone up for a class night out this week coming?

bigger. better. (even though last weeks one will be hard to beat)

In all fairness, do you even need to ask?! :)

No... not really :p

Let me rephrase...

WHEN would everyone like to go out for a bigger and better commie night?

(better?!:rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Jammy

Heya lads,

I hope you don't mind me intruding on your thread here.

I was wondering if someone could give me the low down on this course. I'm really considering going on to do it next year, but I'm terribly confused at the moment.

I just want to know what the course is like, what exactly you do etc. Because I have read the about it on the DCU website, but it's not the same as getting a personal opinion from people who do it.

They say it opens loads of opportunities in the working world, but sure....they all say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Im considering doing this course after my leaving cert( In 6th year) and id just like to know a few things:

• Is it an enjoyable course?
    • What subjects would you need to be strong in to do well?
    • Is there a lot of learning?
    • Any other things youd add about the course?

To the two posters above, I'm sure there's someone with more time than I do at the moment that'll run through all those questions, but one thing I'll recommend is read back on the rest of this topic. Me and all the other CS1ers were asking the exact same questions as you guys and they were all answered really well, so you'd do yourself no harm looking back on it all.

• Is it an enjoyable course?
    • What subjects would you need to be strong in to do well?
    • Is there a lot of learning?
    • Any other things youd add about the course?
    Even though I've only been doing this course for a month.. it's sooo class!! If you pick it you'll have so much fun.
    In 1st year anyways there isn't that much "learning" to do.. by learning i mean swallowing a paragraph of info and then producing it on a page a week later. It's all to do with group presentations and assignments... CRITICAL THINKING GUYS. :D
    I'm not so sure about the whole being "strong" in a subject.. there is so many different types of modules it's hard to say. There is def something for everyone here though.. whether you want to be behind a camera or in front of a camera.

Good luck in choosing!
    And in the Leaving ...*shiver*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 j000x

can you really study spanish in 2nd yr communications? anyone think the points may go down another 5 or 10 next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

j000x wrote: »
    can you really study spanish in 2nd yr communications? anyone think the points may go down another 5 or 10 next year?

Yup. Check it out:
    http://www.dcu.ie/registry/module_contents.php?function=4&programme=CS

And I dunno, it's a bit hard to predict points. Stick it down sure. Who knows what you'll get in the LC

x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Im torn between this course and anonther in DCU, What kind of career can you be looking into getting into after the course or what masters are available?

That's the great thing about CS. It really leads into so many different options of media related employment. You'll choose between video, radio and photo in 2nd year, but you still get to experience all 3 in 1st year to help make up your mind. Fancy a career in photography, choose photo. Prefer more of the video aspects of media, go for that.

As for the masters, there is Journalism (one I hope to do myself one day) but apparantly it's quite difficult to get in. Only 40 chosen out of 200 or so the last time I was told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Mazletov

I hope you don't mind me intruding here, but I'm hoping to do this course next year. Just wondering about competition for places. I mean there's only 80 places, right? So aiming for 440 mightn't be enough? Anyway how many points did you students get in your leaving cert? Just need to know in terms of target setting.