Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi Driver

• 10-01-2008 9:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

Seeings how taxi drivers are so popular on here i'd thought id let ya know that i did my PSV test on saturday and i'm going to be a taxi driver:)

So there is good taxi drivers afterall:)

PNL

-Mr. Taximan-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Says you.
    It'd be even better if you said it on yore blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

isent there too many of them.. thats what they say anyway when i get in one these days....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

How can ya call yourself a good taxi driver? your only starting... wait till you get some of us in your cab ...

your an ok taxi driver at the moment. We will asses your performace and see if you are a good taxi driver in 6 weeks. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

2 words SAT NAV ! A must for any taxi driver! and good luck saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'll PM if I need a lift :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Karoma wrote: »
    It'd be even better if you said it on yore blog.

?:confused:
    anto-t wrote:
    isent there too many of them.. thats what they say anyway when i get in one these days....

Diffrent, i'm young and virile, many of those who come out with that ****e are the ones that have been it it in the ''golden era'' ie late 80's-90's when the country was in the in the early stages of the Celtic Tiger and could go out and just do Thurs-sunday nights and that'd be thier wages for a week, i know it is a hard job, but if you work (hard) at anything it will have its rewards.:)

@gcgirl i did the test last sat, i think i did ok! need 70% to pass!

-Mr. Taximan-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

will u use

1996 Toyota Carina E 1.6 GLi Auto, just need to get it licenced before 2009 as new regulations come into force meaning any car 9 years or under cannot be issued with a SPSV licence, but if you get it licenced before 2009 you can run the taxi until 2012 before you must take the car off the road. which means that people wont want to put money back into a taxi (part-time), so they sell the licence back to Dublin City Council get thier €6,300 back.

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Volvoboy wrote: »
    ...i did my PSV test on saturday...

How did you manage to avoid using your indicators? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

if only i knew what a carinae1.6gliauto was. So im going to have to ask every taxi that drives a 1996 Tayota are you a boarsie or something? i dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Are ya busy tonight Bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

can u sell back your licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

gcgirl wrote: »
    2 words SAT NAV ! A must for any taxi driver! and good luck saturday!

Why?

Should they not know their way around Dublin already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Your car is 12 years old.
    Its a disgrace the amount of auld bangers ya see around being taxis.
    Yet they charge the same price as a guy who has a nice motor.
    Id sooner walk then get in a banger with more rust than paint on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

sickpuppy wrote: »

I have to say I'm with you on this one.

I won't get into an old banger either.

OP you picked the worse time to get into the business, with everyone tightening their belts these days, something like six interest rises in the last year. Drinking habits changing rapidly, down turn in the economy, high fuel bills.

I hope your not jacking in a full time job to get into the business.

Oh, and best of luck with it. Hope you passed your exam.

To be honest my car is in better condition than most other cars on the road private or taxi, its cleaner and too.

Some might say that about Madonna, but at the end of the day she's still an old banger.

Your still driving a 12 year olf banger.

Seriously, best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Not an attack on you personally volvo you could be young and in a new business you gotta start somewhere.
    Also a 12 year old car in good nick and condition could be better than a 4 or 5 year old one thats never cleaned etc.
    I play cards witha guy who has 1992 bag of shyte you wouldnt see at a cattle mart witha sheep in the back and yet he has the ncek to keep driving it and i guess when people are stuck theyll use it.
    Good luck with your new job please dont talk to me about the premiership or bleeding foreigners if im ever a fare with you thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭eggplantman

bus drivers are better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't care what sort of a car I get into, as long as the Taxi driver gets me home safely and can supply some humerous anecdotes along the way.
    Best of luck Volvoboy and may all your customers be nice people. May I suggest you put some airplane sickbags into the seats? I always wondered why this isn't done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

WindSock wrote: »
    can supply some humerous anecdotes along the way.

yeah, much more important than a new car to me.
    i hate when its some boring oul fella thats about as interesting as a tin of spam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I thought you were a panel beater?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

?:confused:

Diffrent, i'm young and virile, many of those who come out with that ****e are the ones that have been it it in the ''golden era'' ie late 80's-90's when the country was in the in the early stages of the Celtic Tiger and could go out and just do Thurs-sunday nights and that'd be thier wages for a week, i know it is a hard job, but if you work (hard) at anything it will have its rewards.:)

@gcgirl i did the test last sat, i think i did ok! need 70% to pass!

-Mr. Taximan-

Virile doesn't enter into the equation, unless you're planning on trying it on with any drunken young ladies ( or lads if you lean that way )

As for working hard, yep you can make a living, but it seems that you need to be a vampire ( work nights )

Surprised at you jumping the gun about passing the SPSV test, when I did mine it took about 12 weeks before they released the results, maybe they've improved and just check to see if you can spell your name ( seems that way with a lot of the new drivers )

Always said that they needed to bring that legislation forward about the age of the cars, another year of people putting any old s***e on the road!

Still good luck when you do join the mad throng of cabbies, you'll need it...

BTW is this the car you intend to use as a taxi???

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/46644/49142.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Busy tonight? What time ye off at? What time ye start at?

Srsly though, PM me your number and I'll hit ye a text if I'm in town and can't get a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

User45701 wrote: »
    if only i knew what a carinae1.6gliauto was. So im going to have to ask every taxi that drives a 1996 Tayota are you a boarsie or something? i dont know

Tayota. The crisp you can drive :cool:

Spook_ie wrote: »

BTW is this the car you intend to use as a taxi???

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/46644/49142.JPG

Yes it is, i'm a Panel beater studying in D.I.T i'm going into my 4th year as a panel beater in June. I work in a Toyota Body shop approved by Toyota Ireland. The car will be better than new by the time i'm finished with it.

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

sickpuppy wrote: »

+1.

I use taxi's alot being a lazy sod but Id never get into a car older than 5 years not to mention if a taxi is in bits on the inside Id just get out and go to the next one on the rank :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭roy123456789

You'll be a bollix just like the rest of us given time Volvoboy, it comes with one too many drunken idiot puking or pissing on the back seat.
    visit the by now infamous blog...... the link is in the sig , maybe you could co-write as good cop??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭irishfeller

Anyone ever gotten a taxi in Holland? The taxis are all the same colour there (cream) and they are almost all Mercedes and are all immaculate....makes you feel like you are been chauffeured around.

In Ireland ye get ferried around in a 10 year old toyota or scoda octavia...so its like a no frills version of the Dutch service, but with the same price!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

The law is being changed and within the next couple of years all taxis must be no older than 9 years old. Then again i dont know if it will apply to existing taxis. Pretty pointless if it doesnt

Btw, best of luck with the new job OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

i have a question. why is the radio always on Q102? if that was me listening to that tosh all night id drive into the liffey

'Ol wrote:
    i have a question. why is the radio always on Q102? if that was me listening to that tosh all night id drive into the liffey

Shall be Alice Cooper on sat nite 6-9pm then i've about 6,000 songs plugged into the car everything from The Wolfetones to Tom Waits:D

-VB-

sounds like my kinda taxi! nothing like been driven home locked with free bird blaring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Q102? that pales in comparison to this weirdo i got a lift home with who had BLARING country music, it was unreal!

and he seemed kinda put out when we laughed at the lyrics (they where in fairness ridiculous)

free bird ftw

Anyone ever gotten a taxi in Holland? The taxis are all the same colour there (cream) and they are almost all Mercedes and are all immaculate....makes you feel like you are been chauffeured around.

In Ireland ye get ferried around in a 10 year old toyota or scoda octavia...so its like a no frills version of the Dutch service, but with the same price!

Yeah Yeah, change the record and get the government to remove VRT on taxis and then your comment would be worthwhile.

Just out of interest how far is it from Schipol to City centre about 20 Kms and fare is €45, Dublin Airport to city centre is 10kms or so and the fare averages out at €23 don't see much difference there!!

Also you should cruise around town saying to passengers that "one day a real rain is gonna come and wash the scum off the street" :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

you're the reason my family won't eat tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Venom wrote: »
    Id never get into a car older than 5 years

Are you taking the piss? That's nearly laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Busy tonight? What time ye off at? What time ye start at?
    LOL !

Ever have anybody [shoite / piss / famous] in your taxi...or all of the above :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Sizzler wrote: »
    LOL !

Ever have anybody [shoite / piss / famous] in your taxi...or all of the above :eek:

Or as travis says, "I have to clean the cum off the back seat. Some nights, I clean off the blood."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Sorry bud, I don't work de southside :D

"What d'ya meen youra only goin to bleedin swords? Ive been sittin in da rank here at the airport for 2 hours just to bring you to poxy swords!! For f&%k sake!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

'Ol wrote:
    Also you should cruise around town saying to passengers that "one day a real rain is gonna come and wash the scum off the street" :cool:

lol ;)

Good luck with it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

Fad wrote: »
    Q102? that pales in comparison to this weirdo i got a lift home with who had BLARING country music, it was unreal!

and he seemed kinda put out when we laughed at the lyrics (they where in fairness ridiculous)

We had a lad playing reggae, and he had it cranked up to 11. We couldn't hear each other and parts of the car were shaking.
    We just went along with it and rolled down the windows.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Are you taking the piss? That's nearly laughable.

I thought the same when I read that, I imagined him at 3am on a Saturday morning selecting his taxi

Yes it is, i'm a Panel beater studying in D.I.T i'm going into my 4th year as a panel beater in June. I work in a Toyota Body shop approved by Toyota Ireland. The car will be better than new by the time i'm finished with it.

-VB-

You going to give up four year's study and a job in a body shop to go and earn somewhere close to minimum wage for most of the week, until at least 1am Saturday morning.

Bet you've been listening to your buddies telling you about the untold riches waiting to be made out there!.

Your in for a rude wake up call.

LOL !

Yeah, all three! only last night and right were you're sitting. it dried out on it's own and I sprayed a bit of lynx on it

Mairt wrote: »
    You going to give up four year's study and a job in a body shop to go and earn somewhere close to minimum wage for most of the week, until at least 1am Saturday morning.

Bet you've been listening to your buddies telling you about the untold riches waiting to be made out there!.

Your in for a rude wake up call.

Nah he's probably going to be one of the cherry pickers Friday/Saturday Night and feck to any punters who need a taxi during the week the guys who's takings I'm screwing will do them to earn a living, while I can spend my Fri/Sat earnings on luxuries.....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Yeah Yeah, change the record and get the government to remove VRT on taxis and then your comment would be worthwhile.

Do they have VRT on cleaning products...?