Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amy Fitzpatrick the new Maddie??

• 07-01-2008 5:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

I know theres a bit of an age difference - but a good looking child is a good looking child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Well I think there is suspicion this time that she ran away herself. She had run away from home before.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

manTime wrote: »
    I know theres a bit of an age difference - but a good looking child is a good looking child

What are you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Who is Amy Fitzpatrick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

kearnsr wrote: »
    What are you talking about?

Remember kearnsr - he collects childrens shoes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

She's Irish, Maddie is a British media thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Who is Amy Fitzpatrick?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

eo980 wrote: »
    Remember kearnsr - he collects childrens shoes.

Who doesnt?

But seriously more info would help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭manTime

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055210885

Was locked before it ever got a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I find it disturbing that the media can become fixated with children like in the 'Maddie' case.

She's not blonde though so there is less of a chance the media will start stalking her family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Well I think there is suspicion this time that she ran away herself. She had run away from home before.

How can she run away when the OP has her shoes :eek:

What the hell man?!?

Thought the exact same thing!!! Pervert, Troll or Lunatic. Flip a coin!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

DonJose wrote: »
    How can she run away when the OP has her shoes :eek:

Haw Haw Haw - Now that was funny.

Seriously WTF? THat should have been nuked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

In before the lock.

Oh and sadly, thousands of kids go missing. Some of them good looking with lovely shoes, some of them not so good looking with 2 year old Reebok Classics.

Sympathies to the families but what can ya do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The only simialrity this case has with McCann is that the police don't seem to be taking it seriously in the important first 48 hours.
    Seems that people are jumping to the conclusion that because she's a troubled teen that she obviously ran away....nevermind the fact that she's apparantly not taken clothes, money or mobile and that she didn't confide in a friend, something that usually happens if it was a run away. Hope she's alright, but there are supposedly reports of a white van attempting to lure children into it in the region earlier in the month.

Go away manTime, your first load of crap was funny for a while...you're boring us now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

DonJose wrote: »
    Thought the exact same thing!!! Pervert, Troll or Lunatic. Flip a coin!!!

Hahaha. I dont know if you meant that but it gave me a great laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

nope

she's not a cute 4 year old blonde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Not likely

Dun laoire wrote: »
    Hahaha. I dont know if you meant that but it gave me a great laugh

What you never heard of a 3 sided coin?

http://www.statisticool.com/3sided.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

LOL.

Nope.

the Fitzpatricks dont know where Amy is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

snyper wrote: »
    LOL.

Nope.

the Fitzpatricks dont know where Amy is.

LOL :D Post of the year.

Also it isnt the Irish girls parents fault that she went missing, unlike the McCanns (whether they did it or not, it is still their fault she is gone)

Hope it all turns out well. The OP mind is either a weirdo or a really crap attempt at being controversial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I thought the same thing when I saw the front page of the Sun. PEDO SCARE FOR AMY MUM or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

connundrum wrote: »
    In before the lock.

Oh and sadly, thousands of kids go missing. Some of them good looking with lovely shoes, some of them not so good looking with 2 year old Reebok Classics.

Sympathies to the families but what can ya do?

Check the missing pages?

From the most negelected of websites come's the Garda Siochana. You would imagine there are only one or two missing people in the country. There must be money changin hands to get on this sophisticated website.

http://www.garda.ie/missing.html

Yet according to this link 4000 people went missing in 2004 only about half were catagory A which includes children.

http://www.missing.ws/_latestNews/latestNews.asp?page=7
    http://www.miss.ie/

Everything manTIME says is fake, mainly due to the fact he keeps saying it.

Well, at least, I bloody well hope it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

Amy used to live on my road before they moved to spain, we never got on with that family, but i hope she's ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Anyone see the picture of her on the 9 o'clock news? If I had a 15-year-old daughter, I wouldn't let her dress like that in public, and I certainly would have found a better picture to publicise her disappearance.

She certainly is pretty and photogenic though, so that helps with her media "marketability". It would be harder to get pictures of a dumpy, spotty, fat teenager printed in the paper. Unfortunate, but we all know that's the media.

Maybe I'm being unfair, but what kind of parent takes her school-age daughter away from all her friends and into a foreign country? Diplomats and corporate high-flyers have to move country from time to time, but even when they do, they tend to leave their teenagers in boarding school at home, or else send them to a British or American school in the host country.

Maybe the mother isn't to blame for Amy's disappearance, but it was surely a bit selfish of her to disrupt her life in her mid-teens like that. I'm sure we'd all like to take off to Spain on a whim, but parents are supposed to accept certain responsibilities, including not acting like they're single and in their 20s.

Let's just hope she's found safe and well, and her mother doesn't have to pay too high a price for any lessons she might learn about parenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

daveirl wrote: »

Did it ever occur to you that the photo was taken at a Halloween party? which is where the picture was taken

Ha Ha
    What do you wear at Halloween.?
    >
    A zero tolerance clip on tie suit. :)

peterk19 wrote: »
    Did it ever occur to you that the photo was taken at a Halloween party? which is where the picture was taken

I'd still question the wisdom of using that as a publicity photo. People are going to jump to conclusions about a 15-year-old girl dressed like that, whether you and I like it or not. Much as I accept your explanation, that picture, and the prejudices it raises, is what people are going to remember when they think of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

fricatus wrote: »
    I'd still question the wisdom of using that as a publicity photo. People are going to jump to conclusions about a 15-year-old girl dressed like that, whether you and I like it or not. Much as I accept your explanation, that picture, and the prejudices it raises, is what people are going to remember when they think of her.

Fair point but they may have been the only pictures available at the time and its better to get the pictures circulated as soon as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

fricatus wrote: »
    Maybe I'm being unfair, but what kind of parent takes her school-age daughter away from all her friends and into a foreign country?

So emigrating to try and make a better life for you and your family is a bad thing somehow..? I can think of many reasons why someone would move out of out of Coolock for Spain, and it's not all that uncommon either.

As for the photos.. they not have too many recent photos to go on... And what are you anyway, a nun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Are you for real? She was walking back from a friends house when she disappeared, 10pm iirc, not wandering around drunk at 6am after a house party.

I would admit, it was an odd photo to release. However, she is not smiling in it, just looking normal, perhaps it was the only recent one they had where is looking facially like she would when walking down the street, as opposed to a bright smiley one that looks alot less like your average person does walking down the street.

So emigrating to try and make a better life for you and your family is a bad thing somehow..? I can think of many reasons why someone would move out of out of Coolock for Spain, and it's not all that uncommon either.

As for the photos.. they not have too many recent photos to go on... And what are you anyway, a nun?

Well whats another 3 years to college and and freedom.

The average wage in Spain is half that in Ireland and unemployment is almost twice what it is here. It's a beautiful country (I've lived there) and the weather is better, but that's hardly going to put food on the table. I'm guessing her mother doesn't speak Spanish (judging by the interview here; contrast this with Amy's friend, who in fairness does).

Does that sound to you like emigrating for a better life? Plenty of Irish families moved to the USA in the '80s due to unemployment, but they were in dire straits, and they had to think long and hard before uprooting their kids from the life they knew, school, friends, etc.

Oh for God's sake... I don't know why I'm even dignifying that stupid remark with a reply. Look, it's perfectly fine for her to dress up like that at a Hallowe'en party, but I think it's unwise to release (what some people would see as) suggestive photos like that to the media without any sort of context.

Sure, it will be printed in the media, but it's a massive distraction from the task at hand, which is finding the girl. It suggests all sorts of angles to her personality and morals that nobody who cares for her would want people thinking. It has the potential to damage the publicity campaign.

Bottom line: you'd nearly be better off not releasing a picture than releasing a picture like that. And I don't buy your argument about not having more recent pictures, because there is a whole photo album of them in the Indo today. Even if there were no other photos available, that particular one could have been cropped to show only her face. For God's sake, the public hardly needs to see her belly button!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Check out the latest comment:

http://bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5391994102

Anyone able to link to some photos of her?

I've only seen the one photo so can't say how photogenic she is

Hmm..

Does she have an actual bebo page? I'm presuming she does ..

Would be odd if her last login time was yesterday or something.

Hmm..

Does she have an actual bebo page? I'm presuming she does ..

Would be odd if her last login time was yesterday or something.

OOH sinister

Very.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Check out the latest comment:

http://bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5391994102

Anyone able to link to some photos of her?

I've only seen the one photo so can't say how photogenic she is

The pics i've seen make her look like a total brasser,she's wearing a belly top and dangling a pair of handcuffs and pouting like a tart.Whover let the press have these pics should be ashamed of themselves,15 is still below the age of consent and she's splashed all over the papers like a slag.

not another maddy mccann PLZ!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!be found alive SOON!!!!!! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX!

Damn right, 'cause the last thing we need is another "Amy Fitzpatrick: Day blah" on Sky News.

she pouts like Zoolander for every photo.

forserious.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 steagp

ye 1st of u dont know her and u say let her dress like that well i know her and that is what she dressed up as on halloween like most teenage girls do and u say imagine letting her wander out like that it was about 10 and it is still bright out at 10 in spain and she was only walking from her best m8s house about 10-15 mins away so how can u blame her mother and stepfather??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 steagp

she pouts like Zoolander for every photo.

forserious.jpg

ur a faggit!!!

steagp wrote: »
    ye 1st of u dont know her and u say let her dress like that well i know her and that is what she dressed up as on halloween like most teenage girls do and u say imagine letting her wander out like that it was about 10 and it is still bright out at 10 in spain and she was only walking from her best m8s house about 10-15 mins away so how can u blame her mother and stepfather??

I mistrust anyone who argues with their first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Not only did they move country, they moved to somewhere that had a language that they couldn't speak.

She left school at 13. The principle cited her language difficulties, her family claimed bullying. So she was out of school for 2 years...

Why did they move...? Oh yeah, for the better life(!)