Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why can't Ireland do this ??

• 04-01-2008 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭

Over the Christmas period in Germany a story made the 6 O'Clock news that if it happened in Ireland would go unreported.

In a nice area in North East Munich (Arabella Park) an old man was set upon by two youths and given a bit of a kicking. Seemingly he complained about their smoking on the U-Bahn (underground system) and they followed him off the train and laid into him.

The video footage made it to the news the next evening and the police called a press conference and told the media that this sort of carry on won't be tollerated.

The whole fiasco ended with the two scumbags being caught and sentenced to a few years in jail and the old man being treated for some injuries in hospital.

My point is why can't this happen in Ireland ?, crimes like this go unreported and uninvestigated all the time in Ireland because the Gardai just don't give a sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

KTRIC wrote: »
    and the old man being treated to some injuries in hospital.

That doesn't sound like a treat!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭goodlad

My point is why can't this happen in Ireland ?, crimes like this go unreported and uninvestigated all the time in Ireland because the Gardai just don't give a sh!t.

You just answered your own question!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

LadyJ wrote: »
    That doesn't sound like a treat!

treat (trēt) Pronunciation Key
    v. treat·ed, treat·ing, treats

v. tr.

1. To act or behave in a specified manner toward.
    2. To regard and handle in a certain way. Often used with as: treated the matter as a joke.
    3. To deal with in writing or speech; discuss: a book that treats all aspects of health care.
    4. To deal with or represent artistically in a specified manner or style: treats the subject poetically.
    1. To provide with food, entertainment, or gifts at one's own expense: treated her sister to the theater.
    2. To give (someone or oneself) something pleasurable: treated herself to a day in the country.
    3. To give medical aid to (someone): treated many patients in the emergency room.
    4. To give medical aid to counteract (a disease or condition): treated malaria with quinine.

6. To subject to a process, action, or change, especially to a chemical or physical process or application.
    1. To give medical aid to (someone): treated many patients in the emergency room.
    2. To give medical aid to counteract (a disease or condition): treated malaria with quinine.

v. tr.

2. To regard and handle in a certain way. Often used with as: treated the matter as a joke.
    3. To deal with in writing or speech; discuss: a book that treats all aspects of health care.
    4. To deal with or represent artistically in a specified manner or style: treats the subject poetically.
    1. To provide with food, entertainment, or gifts at one's own expense: treated her sister to the theater.
    2. To give (someone or oneself) something pleasurable: treated herself to a day in the country.
    3. To give medical aid to (someone): treated many patients in the emergency room.
    4. To give medical aid to counteract (a disease or condition): treated malaria with quinine.

6. To subject to a process, action, or change, especially to a chemical or physical process or application.
    1. To give medical aid to (someone): treated many patients in the emergency room.
    2. To give medical aid to counteract (a disease or condition): treated malaria with quinine.

GTFO! :p:p:p:p

v. tr.

It's just that when you're treated to something it is usually meant in a different way to being treated for something. It just sounded funny to me is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

It's just that when you're treated to something it is usually meant in a different way to being treated for something. It just sounded funny to me is all.
    +1.
    The grammar is wrong, not the word 'treat'

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

It's clear that our pre-occupation with correct grammar, spelling and punctuation is greater than that of the social and moral breakdown of our society...

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭failsafe

Probably because there was a video of it. I'd say if there was a video/photographs of something similar happening here the media would pick up on it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

LOL Lady, you got owned.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,965 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Everyone's going wayyy off topic here and its a shame OP as its a good point your making.

I agree too many of these types of crime go unreported and aren't investigated. We have become far too apatethic in our everyday lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Well it probably wouldnt happen in Ireland because no one nowadays has the balls to tell two young lads to stop smoking on public transport as they know the little ****s will probably attack you and the Gardai wont be able to do anything.

Thats a really good point! its kinda sad that its true though! Most little ****ers with attitudes smoking on a bus or anything will just laugh in your face/ threaten or attack you if you open your mouth to them because they have completely no fear of and come back on there actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

The gardai probably wouldn't do anything even if they could.

Heres something i posted on a different thread and I think its just as relevant here.

Irish culture. Lovely isn't it.

I'm in Asia at the moment and such a thing (knackers attacking someone older) would be practically unheard of (in Korea). They have enormous respect for elders drilled into them.

Kids here are NOT allowed to call their parents by their names, ever. You call your father "Father", your mother "Mother". You call your older brother "Older brother", you call your older sister "Older sister", you even call your younger siblings "younger sister/brother".

The whole language has a special ending for verbs for younger people then you, older and another for extremely polite (very old, high bosses etc).

They call their teachers "their-name teacher". Everyone you don't know who is older then you is a "Sir" (although it doesn't mean Sir in our sense, its just a polite way to refer to someone you don't know).

Its not just kids either, its everyone, the whole culture. One of the very first things they find out when they meet you is your age so they know how to talk to you (which verb ending).

Ok some people might think thats a bit crazy, I personally think its absolutely fantastic.

Heres another example, say your dating a girl here and you meet the parents. You call her da "girls name's father" and if he meets your da thats how he talks to him too "your name's father".

They have manners and the west don't. Did we ever have ?

Well, now that the hilarity is over, yeah German society is really very different to
    Irish society. People think completely differently there.

I dunno. Ireland is just awful when it comes to crime. I got attacked in an ice-rink a few weeks ago by a kid who had already punched someone else beforehand and hadn't been thrown out. It's crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Oh dear dont start the garda bashing again! Of course they give a ****! A lot of them (granted not all) are decent human beings, the problem is the system, right they catch these hooligans, throw them up before a judge the next day, the judge gives them a warning and sends them on their merry way, or its struck out cos someone put their names down wrong or some crap! Blame the system, and the government, and grammar ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭csm

pid() wrote: »
    LOL Lady, you got owned.

Nope. To be treated to something means to be given a treat, to be treated for something means to be given medical attention. The mistake was in the preposition, not the word treat.

Back on topic. I think it has little to do with apathetic Gardai and more to do with an apathetic public. If there were public outrage at such things occuring then they would receive more media attention, but people just don't care as much anymore. if you saw it as a snippet in a paper would you protest about it or just say to yourself 'typical scumbags. I hate the way this happens in Ireland' and turn the page?

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭twenty8

Interesting point. However, you must consider why exactly the piece was on the news in the first place.

You are correct that that type of incident probably would not have gotten onto Irish news as it happens so frequently. So therefore you must conclude that it must not happen in Germany. However - that is not so.

I would presume that the reason that it is on the news in Germany is because of the newly implemented smoking ban. According to your note the fight followed a incident over smoking on a train. If this happened just when the smoking ban was introduced here I guarantee it would be exactly the same.

The media world that we all watch is very easily influenced and when you watch or listen to the news you should always ask yourself - why exactly is this piece newsworthy. Someone always has a vested interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

twenty8 wrote: »

I would presume that the reason that it is on the news in Germany is because of the newly implemented smoking ban. According to your note the fight followed a incident over smoking on a train. If this happened just when the smoking ban was introduced here I guarantee it would be exactly the same.

This happened before the smoking ban came into effect. Infact it has always been illegal to smoke on the subway.

There was another case during christmas that sprung to mind with the same situation but this time it involved two little scumbags playing loud music from their Walkman phones. Old man complains and gets a kicking for his troubles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭andy1249

This smacks to me of seeing the grass greener on the other side of the fence , I was in Munich a couple of years ago and there was a lot of Skinheads/National socialist gangs around , who beat anyone of Jewish/Racial extraction and were by and large tolerated by the cops to certain degree , you need to open your eyes a bit more and stop being so critical of your home , most places have their own problems , Germany too.

Its easy to have rose tinted spectacles on when your abroad , I personally believe the cops here do what they can , its peoples tolerance for this type of thing in general that hobble police efforts , mostly through lack of reporting and all that.

chicken and egg situation. Do Gardai do nothing because people don't report it, or do people avoid reporting it because the Gardai will do nothing?

I should point out that on the whole I think the Gardai do a pretty good job, especially those on the ground. I think they are hamstrung by inefficient processes and a lack of manpower, with a lack of political will to do anything about it.

Which brings us back to where political will comes from: a mandate from the public. If we cared enough, we'd do something about it, but it's not high on the list of people's to-do list to protest about it.

it reminds me of a few years ago i was in poland, everytime i walked past a police officer there my brain made me stand up straight, not curse and act like a robot, haha! there was just something about them. Tough looks ****ers with a gun and a baton and u well know they will smack the crap outa ya if u step outa like. A lot of scumbags here that are low enough to beat up an old person or even lesser crimes would just laugh in the face of a garda here. Lets face it, there not intimidating in the slightest!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

In public the Gardai would be cautious about what they do to a scumbag but behind closed doors(of a Transit van) id say they'd happily give you a slap around.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,114 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

whiskeyman wrote: »
    It's clear that our pre-occupation with correct grammar, spelling and punctuation is greater than that of the social and moral breakdown of our society...

The moral breakdown of our society is down to people not giving a sh!te about rules. It starts off with grammar rules, spelling rules and punctuation rules. Then, because people say nothing, it spreads to smoking on the bus/metro/luas rules, loitering on the corner rules, and very soon, the fabric of our society is torn to shreds. But, instead, people whinge about their grammar being corrected, and very soon, they're following old men that complained about their breaking 'no smoking rules' off trains and putting them in hospitals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

It would be all very well for the Garda to give some wee sh1te a hiding but then afterwards some left wing gimp will be demanding a public enquiry that would costs thousands of taxpayers' euro and the Garda that carried out the hiding would be suspended from duty and possibly relieved from his position altogether.

I, for one, would almost be in favour or pre-emptive beatings. You know the little f**kers when you see them. Give them a hiding today because if they did nothing wrong today, you can be sure they did something wrong yesterday or will do something wrong tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd personally love to see the cops given the power to met out beatings. I'm a relatively law abiding citizen so I'd have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Jigsaw wrote: »
    It would be all very well for the Garda to give some wee sh1te a hiding but then afterwards some left wing gimp will be demanding a public enquiry that would costs thousands of taxpayers' euro and the Garda that carried out the hiding would be suspended from duty and possibly relieved from his position altogether.

I, for one, would almost be in favour or pre-emptive beatings. You know the little f**kers when you see them. Give them a hiding today because if they did nothing wrong today, you can be sure they did something wrong yesterday or will do something wrong tomorrow.
    "Beat your wife every morning. If you don't know what she's done to deserve it, she does." ?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

We should be more like the Germans.
    One crime comitted there in an entire year, because the German justice system works.
    Fair play to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Jigsaw wrote: »

Obviously you never had any dealings with our police then. I have been arrested for assault, falsely of course. I know of so many cases of Garda negligence and plain stupidity, that I would be very reluctant to give them the power to do anything more than direct traffic!
    On the flipside, I hate the scumbag problem, so whats to be done? I think its catch 22 tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

JimiTime wrote: »
    Obviously you never had any dealings with our police then. I have been arrested for assault, falsely of course. I know of so many cases of Garda negligence and plain stupidity, that I would be very reluctant to give them the power to do anything more than direct traffic!
    On the flipside, I hate the scumbag problem, so whats to be done? I think its catch 22 tbh.
    Would you care to expand on that case of human error, or do you want Robocop policing our streets?