Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VCPoker.ie Poker League for Boards.ie

• 18-12-2007 12:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭

Just to give a little advance notice that VCPoker.ie will be running a league for Boards.ie users over a period of 10 weeks.

They will post more details here when they have finalised things on their end and are happy to answer your questions.

Hope you enjoy.

VeX.

PS. In the interest of openness - Boards.ie has an affiliate account with VC Poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 VC Poker.ie

VC Poker Ireland is proud to join the Boards poker community and I am especially pleased to announce the debut of the Boards.ie Poker League (as hosted by VC Poker.ie).

With $10,000 in guaranteed prizes, 30 tournaments over 10 weeks, and an exclusive final table offering you a chance to meet and beat snooker legend Ken Doherty, the Boards Poker League is a fantastic opportunity to compete against your Boards mates in the only cardroom exclusive to Irish players - VC Poker Ireland.

To get in on the action, visit the Boards Poker League page on VC Poker.ie (here) where you’ll find all of the info you’ll need on the tournament dates, passwords, prizes and bonus goodies (including guaranteed cash freerolls exclusive to you as a Boards.ie member!).

Each and every tournament in the Boards Poker League gives you opportunities to accumulate points in the overall Leaderboard Standings, so don’t delay, register on VC Poker.ie today to give yourself the best chance of winning the grand finale and ultimate bragging rights as THE BEST POKER PLAYER ON BOARDS!

Good luck,
    Lee@VC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

....... meet and beat snooker legend Ken Doherty,

No great deal tbh. Alot of us on here have been doing that for years to Ken, even with his wife's slippers on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

not really too impressive tbh

just my point of view. also dont think it should be stickied

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

ah it'll be a bit of craic if nothing else
    Sign me up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

well there offering 10k in cash, split over 10 people which is fair enough, but wont get any good players to play as the stakes are to small.

Would love to see freeroll, 25 and 100 option, but I think 3 options is far to many in first place.

Add prize like buy-ins to games would be a lot more attractive.

Also, whatever happen to the VC Cup?

Does this also mean are details are now give to VC Poker? And that were going to get loads of marketing info etc. If it helps to pay for this excellant source of a site, than fair enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Ollieboy wrote: »
    Does this also mean are details are now give to VC Poker? And that were going to get loads of marketing info etc. If it helps to pay for this excellant source of a site, than fair enough.
    I'm sure that none of your details that boards.ie has will be given to VC for marketing/promotions.
    Personally, I'm reluctant about 'commercialising' the poker forum even more than the tournament forum already has, especially if it shows some favouritism towards one particular online poker site.
    But I don't pay the bandwidth/technical/coke/hookers costs of boards.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Not the worst deal ever but we know what we're worth. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055188824

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Sparky1808

Unfortunately as much as I love Boards.ie and playing with people from Boards.

I have vowed and never will give another penny to VC Poker or any affiliated deals with Victor Chandler's company in my lifetime again.

They're the laughing stock of the iPoker network and are trailing behind so many other sites. (Just my opinion and past experiences with the company)

Thanks for all the feedback thus far, both pro and con. Inevitably when you do something like this for the first time, there's going to be a gap between what you intend for an excellent poker competition and what the vast majority of players may actually prefer. That's why your feedback and input is so invaluable, both for us to improve this particular competition in the shortterm based on your input, as well as building a consensus amongst the boards brethren on a poker league format going forward that everyone can get excited about.

I was particularly interested in comments indicating a potential demand for a higher stakes element to the league. If more players feel the same way, please feel free to send me a PM with your thoughts on this. Given that VC Poker.ie is a new site for many, we wanted to keep the buy-ins levels nominal to give everyone on the site an easy and affordable opportunity to sample our room and go for the added $10k on offer. If in fact, a numbers of players are eager to jump straight in with a tournament series at higher staking levels, we're certainly agreeable to rolling out a series that appeals to those looking for some higher stakes action.

Cheers,
    Lee

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

The higher the buyins to the tournies, the less significant the prizemoney at the end of the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

And it wont be worth your while as you wont keep the big players happy without very competetive loyalty bonuses.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

is the rumour true that VC have had BCB and PPP Pit Boss banned from the forum?????

lol

Dont think you'll get the number for higher buy-ins, even though I would be for it. I played this weekly on Blue Sq and it end up with the same 30 players week in week out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Just incase anyone out there is easily confused.....like me!

I followed the links from this thread and got to the bonuses page for first time deposits. I made a first time cash deposit into VCPoker of €238 (which is the max) and used the bonus code FREESEAT which should give you a $600 bonus.

Turns out that the bonus code is for VCIrish and not VCPoker, which is a different skin. The online support though were very helpful to set me up with the correct bonus code and i got my $600 pending bonus :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

lafortezza wrote: »
    I'm sure that none of your details that boards.ie has will be given to VC for marketing/promotions.

Indeed, no doubt "the powers that be" are familiar with the Data Protection Act :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Vexorg

I can confirm that we are very familiar with the data protection act and can confirm that none of the information you provided when you registered will be given to "any" third party.

It is our intention that VCpoker will not be treated any differently to any other poker promoter, other than this thread been a sticky - which is due to the fact we want to make it clear we have an affiliate agreement, and are interested to determine what additional revenue this arrangement might produce for Boards.ie.

If you feel they are being treated differently, please pm one of the admins.

V.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ruduck

Sign me up 22222222222))))):D

Just a reminder to you all that the Boards IE Freeroll Series kicks off tonight at 20.20 GMT - free to enter with $1,000 up for grabs in the leaderboard.

Good luck - let's VC tonight!

Lee@VC

• Registered Users Posts: 39,501 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Hi

Ive downloaded the VC software and for the past 2 hours have been trying to create an account, when I click 'create account' the software hangs for a while before returning a standard 'page cannot be displayed' error message. Other websites and Ipoker clients are working fine.

I've been onto VC support 3 times, first told to download the software using IE (I originally used firefox) as apparently this might have made a difference? Then told to deactive norton antivirus and try again, finally the 3rd time (about an hour ago) I was told I'd get a different link to download the client sent to me at my email address. As yet no email has been forthcoming.

My first time dealing with VC and pretty shocking support/Cust Service.

Anyone on Boards have any idea on how to get around this problem?

Cheers

Kev.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Just a reminder to you all that the Boards IE Freeroll Series kicks off tonight at 20.20 GMT - free to enter with $1,000 up for grabs in the leaderboard.

Good luck - let's VC tonight!

Lee@VC

The Tourney tonight is $5 not a freeroll

DeadParrot wrote: »
    The Tourney tonight is $5 not a freeroll

yeah not a freeroll...password is bie5ds btw

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

Tony,
    'tis a freeroll & the password is biefrs

RichardB2 wrote: »
    Tony,
    'tis a freeroll & the password is biefrs

Well it cost me $5+.50 to reg and only got 6 runners so was cancelled

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

Yep, apologies.
    Logged on & signed up for only tournament with Boards attachment.
    Turns out it was the free-roll for next week!!!
    VC Poker experiment over :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Shuffles

Unfortunatly not enough runners, what will happen to the placing points now for those that did register? There is of course $1000 up for grabs in the $5 entry and every point will be vital in the final placings.

No doubt it will gather pace, i see the freeroll is well registered already.

Shuffles wrote: »
    Unfortunatly not enough runners, what will happen to the placing points now for those that did register? There is of course $1000 up for grabs in the $5 entry and every point will be vital in the final placings.

No doubt it will gather pace, i see the freeroll is well registered already.

This game should have went ahead regardless of numbers. Not a great way to drum up support....For those of us that tried, we should have been given the chance to pick up some points..I wont be logging off GJP, PP or Blondepoker to try this again :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

they should have played it with 6, I was logged on with the sole intent of playing this so that was a waste of time. Not sure I'll bother again tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Im very pissed of about this tourny being cancelled.

I downloaded VCPOKER.
    Made a cash deposit to play in this.....
    stayed in to play it.

registered and when the numbers dont add up for the site they cancel it?

how do you expect to get players of you wont stand by your word regarding tournaments.

Im expecting a reply to this post, if not here then to my private mail....very disappointed.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,501 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Well after 4 calls to VC 'support' only to be told a load of rubbish about why I couldnt get the software to allow me to create an account. Im not bothered with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

they have re scheduled it for 3rd of jan i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Shuffles

chdpoker wrote: »
    they have re scheduled it for 3rd of jan i think

id say thats possibly the "2nd round of the $5"....... only presuming since its exactly 1 week later.

went to the bother of downloading and lodging too, very annoying and frustrated that it didnt go ahead irrespective of numbers.

as i said earlier every point is to play for.

we registered to compete for the advertised prize in the format described, not our fault if its badly attended.

Points should have still been awarded to those who made the effort.