Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many press ups can you do in two minutes

• 13-12-2007 9:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

Forget all yer VO2 max and lactic thresholds, this is the only way to test how much of an athlete somebody is. They start fast but most drop off the pace around 30 mark and end up falling on their face, gasping and red like a rapis...like a really tired guy. In the trident challange, the test you must pass to even apply for the SEAL training in the US, the pass is 42, but they say to have a chance of getting through you have to hitting the big one zero zero (ie 100). So how many press ups can you pump out in 2 minutes? And you should drop and do it right now if you dont know!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

TheThing! wrote: »
    Forget all yer VO2 max and lactic thresholds, this is the only way to test how much of an athlete somebody is. They start fast but most drop off the pace around 30 mark and end up falling on their face, gasping and red like a rapis...like a really tired guy. In the trident challange, the test you must pass to even apply for the SEAL training in the US, the pass is 42, but they say to have a chance of getting through you have to hitting the big one zero zero (ie 100). So how many press ups can you pump out in 2 minutes? And you should drop and do it right now if you dont know!

I'm game.

Fcuk me I'm dead.

EDIT: That was very stupid. No warm up, and 5 mins after dinner.

I'm supposed to be benching 100kg x as many as possible tomorow. I hope that didn't kill me too much.

FURTHER EDIT: Might be an idea to add this in on one of my upper days as a finisher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

Hanley wrote: »

Fcuk me I'm dead.

EDIT: That was very stupid. No warm up, and 5 mins after dinner.

I'm supposed to be benching 100kg x as many as possible tomorow. I hope that didn't kill me too much.

FURTHER EDIT: Might be an idea to add this in on one of my upper days as a finisher.

Ah...the old 100kg might feel a bit stiff tomorrow! :D
    Yeah, it is a tough one, it is well worth doing while warmed up because you will add on a few to your max

Ah...the old 100kg might feel a bit stiff tomorrow! :D
    Yeah, it is a tough one, it is well worth doing while warmed up because you will add on a few to your max

Gonna tell us how many you can do?

My hearts only starting to slow down now, my arms still feel a bit shakey.

It was actually hardest on my triceps of all things. They can usually lockout whatever I throw at them, but ask them to do more than 5 reps and they say p1ss off.

Hanley wrote: »
    Gonna tell us how many you can do?

My hearts only starting to slow down now, my arms still feel a bit shakey.

It was actually hardest on my triceps of all things. They can usually lockout whatever I throw at them, but ask them to do more than 5 reps and they say p1ss off.

I've been in constant training since last January so I am hitting the 90s usually, I got the ton twice when a red mist descended on me, but when I am out of training I might hit...50? That would be on a good day! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

without warm-up,40

tbh,i haven't been doing push ups specifically so i should be doing better:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Argh, 37 in 45 seconds, then my stupid body gave out on me. Cranked out another 20 after a short break, but it does test ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Without warmup. Around 140. I not sure exactly how many. I got the first 80 in about 50 seconds. The rest were bits and drabs. My old kickboxing days still showing! I used to be able to do 110 without stopping, yeah proper full pressups too.

Oh yeah and I'm absolutely ****ed. Might consider doing this a few times next week. My heart is still racing as well, woah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Forget all yer VO2 max and lactic thresholds, this is the only way to test how much of an athlete somebody is.

Nonsense. It's all to do with local muscular endurance, not athleticism. I'm pretty unfit at the mo, but I'm sure I could make the SEALS. :p I worked with a guy who could bump out 90 in ONE minute. :eek: A kickboxer he was.

walt0r wrote: »
    Without warmup. Around 140. I not sure exactly how many. I got the first 80 in about 50 seconds. The rest were bits and drabs. My old kickboxing days still showing! I used to be able to do 110 without stopping, yeah proper full pressups too.

Duuuuuude...

Hardcore! :D

Slow coach wrote: »
    Nonsense. It's all to do with local muscular endurance, not athleticism. I'm pretty unfit at the mo, but I'm sure I could make the SEALS. :p I worked with a guy who could bump out 90 in ONE minute. :eek: A kickboxer he was.

Ah yeah I was just being a bit dramatic about it :D But it is still a good test.

90 in 1 minute you say? That is some seriously good going. Did he specifically train to get that higher, or did that just come to him from the training he did for his sport

I'm going to practice it next week, seems like a great exercise. Going benching tomorrow so need to take it easy but jesus my tri's felt that, man. So how many can you do?

I've been in constant training since last January so I am hitting the 90s usually, I got the ton twice when a red mist descended on me, but when I am out of training I might hit...50? That would be on a good day! :o
    I'm going to practice it next week, seems like a great exercise. Going benching tomorrow so need to take it easy but jesus my tri's felt that, man. So how many can you do?

Can you stop and start again? I had to take like 4 breaks to hit 140.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'll try this tomorrow or Saturday. Did five supersets of deadlfits with pushups today so in no state to try it now. I'll guesstimate 53.

Can you stop and start again? I had to take like 4 breaks to hit 140.

Oh, forgot to mention that, in the trident challenge you cant stop. They take your count as soon as you stop moving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

63 in about 50 secs, fcuked. No way I could keep going for two mins continuously.

Then about 80. I'll have it up to 100 by xmas :p:p

tits and triceps still hurting, LOVE IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ah yeah I was just being a bit dramatic about it :D But it is still a good test.

90 in 1 minute you say? That is some seriously good going. Did he specifically train to get that higher, or did that just come to him from the training he did for his sport

Judging by walt0r's post, I'd say it comes from serious conditioning work required by the sport. Am I right, walt? I saw (and joined) him doing some fairly savage circuit training. Even at my peak (I'm 7 years older) I couldn't have kept up, and I was reasonably fit. I reckon I might have squeezed out 110 once upon a time. :o

Ah it's been about 5 years since I trained for it really. But I always used to do loads and loads of press-ups and situps every day before I got into using weights as a teenager. We used to do a fair bit of it in class and I just did a lot of it in my own time too to improve my conditioning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Are we talking gold standard push ups here?

What the hell is a gold standard push up?

This is what I was doing... http://www.ehow.com/images/ehows/steps/pushup_9aL.jpg

I didn't realise there were different names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I was asking for a video of that before. Dunno if you replied and I missed it.
    Nonsense. It's all to do with local muscular endurance, not athleticism. I'm pretty unfit at the mo, but I'm sure I could make the SEALS
    I agree. There was a program on asking if a veggie diet would affect performance. Colin Jackson was on, they had him doing hurdles, and though retired, said his current times were still good enough to get into world championships. He did about 55 pushups, then went on the veggie diet and could only do about 50 after a few weeks on it. They said they were pushups as a measure of standard fitness

My best was 80 in a row without warmup. Never tried 2mins. I did them quick so would be under 2mins for the 80, same style as Colin Jackson. Thing is I couldnt run for a bus! if you were to measure them as a guage of fitness, then I should be heading to the olympics as I pissed on Colin Jacksons poor effort ;)

I imagine these "gold standard" ones are nice and slow, so that will limit your amount in 2mins hugely.

There was a site with military standards, highest grade was 75, which was 99th percentile, thought it was on wikipedia, may have been removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

will try this tonight but I am benching tonight so my benching will undoubtly suffer but its all fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Eh i think my max number of press-ups in one set is about 15 and that would of been in under two minutes so i am a big weed i guess i wont be joining the seals then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Slow coach wrote: »
    I worked with a guy who could bump out 90 in ONE minute.

That's 3 every 2 seconds. Makes me wonder if they're "honest" push ups (check crossfit for a definition). They sound like what they are.

I'm also interested in these "gold standard" ones that colm mentions. No vid on crossfit for them.

Just in case anyone is interested, here are the actual trident challenge scores expected. Remember all tests are done back to back

500-yard (457 m) swim using breast or combat side stroke in 7:00-8:30 minutes
    100 push-ups in 2 minutes
    100 sit-ups in 2 minutes
    15-20 pull-ups from a dead hang (no time limit)
    Run 1.5 miles (2.4 km) in boots and long pants in < 8:30

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I reckon the best way to go about this task is put a stop watch under your face and do one push up per second. Do not try and bust out 25 in 10 seconds at the start.

You could also find a song that gets the adrenaline pumping where the tempo something like 120 beats per minute, and do one push for every two beats. For reference I think Metallica's Enter Sandman is 127 bpm.

If you keep at 1 pressup per second for 2 minutes, obviously that would get you up to 120. Likewise, press ups in half time to Enter Sandman for 2 minutes would get you to 127.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Just in case anyone is interested, here are the actual trident challenge scores expected. Remember all tests are done back to back

100 sit-ups in 2 minutes

That's impressive stuff

Vegeta wrote: »
    That's impressive stuff

Yup.

Is that all back to back? Or is there a break between tasks?

500-yard (457 m) swim using breast or combat side stroke in 7:00-8:30 minutes --> Can do this
    100 push-ups in 2 minutes --> Nope, did 63 last night
    100 sit-ups in 2 minutes --> Maybe
    15-20 pull-ups from a dead hang (no time limit) --> Nope, 9 my limit. Need to reduce my 105kgs
    Run 1.5 miles (2.4 km) in boots and long pants in < 8:30 --> Ya, no probs

Back to Back, this would be tough, a very good goal to have this little routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

500-yard (457 m) swim using breast or combat side stroke in 7:00-8:30 minutes --> Can do this
    100 push-ups in 2 minutes --> Nope, did 63 last night
    100 sit-ups in 2 minutes --> Maybe
    15-20 pull-ups from a dead hang (no time limit) --> Nope, 9 my limit. Need to reduce my 105kgs
    Run 1.5 miles (2.4 km) in boots and long pants in < 8:30 --> Ya, no probs

Back to Back, this would be tough, a very good goal to have this little routine.

Individually, I could do the run and the sit-ups and have a good rattle at the press-ups... No chance with the swim though I'd say... and wouldn't be able to the pull-ups either!

http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_PushupStandards.wmv
    http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_PushupStandards.mov

Thought I'd thrown these up before. Anyway what I notice when I first see a client is that their "push ups" usually contain one or more of the errros in the video. When you hold them to honest push ups (we just like using the term Gold Standard ever since we were told what a Gold Standard Muscle Up was - turning the hands out at the bottom and again at the top) you usually find the numbers drop waaaayyyy down.

Here's a tabata of push ups (8 rounds, 20 secs work, 10 secs rest). And even at this you could be ultra strict and question Greg's RoM - though not to his face :)

http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_20TabataPushups.wmv
    http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_20TabataPushups.mov

Seeing his score makes me question those people busting out 90 in 60 seconds.

Its back to back alright, no real breaks, apart from maybe a minute or two to get changed for the swim

It is a good overall idea of fitness because its designed to prevent people who are way above average in one area but poor in others gaining entry, eg excellent runners with poor strenght endurance.

I know a few lads who put a summer into this. They did the test in June after the exams to get an idea where they were and then trained continuouly for a month and did it again, and then hit the training again. Each end of month test was an improvement on the last and by the end of the summer they were well up there, so I it was worth it.

500-yard (457 m) swim using breast or combat side stroke in 7:00-8:30 minutes --> Didn't know what a combat stroke was until now. Looks very efficient. Could easily do this freestyle as I swim quite a bit. May practice that combat side stroke in the pool today.
    100 push-ups in 2 minutes --> I'm thinking not. I'd guess 80 but will try it over the weekend.
    100 sit-ups in 2 minutes --> Think I'd be close on this.
    15-20 pull-ups from a dead hang (no time limit) --> Can do this for sure
    Run 1.5 miles (2.4 km) in boots and long pants in < 8:30 --> I'm thinking yes, but would need to time myself. Not really familiar with running times tbh.

Agreed. Definitely something useful to aim for.

edit: Colm: Out of interest, how do you think you'd fare?

Those targets are higher than the ones from here.

BossArky wrote: »
    Those targets are higher than the ones from here.

Yeah there is always a bit of confusion regarding this test and the scores because the test is done in many different ways. I guess the scores in the article there are taken from one of the public tests they conduct. The word competitive may mean that the scores quoted are statistically above average for the group and therefore deemed competitive. The failure rate for SEALs training is something like 75/80 % so many people who pass the trident challenge dont get anywhere near passing the training. I can only assume the figures I quoted (got them through wiki, although I have heard similar scores quoted by other sources) are those which people who pass training achieved when they did the test???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Zippitydoo

74, ooo the burn ;)

Got 3 hours sleep last night tho, been doing exams today and I'm running on caffeine (free lucozade stuff from the exam hall yarrr), so I'll give it a go again tomorrow and see how I do then.

Colm: Out of interest, how do you think you'd fare?

In the words of Glassman, my opinion doesn't really matter. He was, of course, refering to something that can be tested and the data observed.

My guestimates, though, would be
    Not great on the swim.
    Would make the run pretty easily.
    Would get the pull ups.
    Would probably hit 50 on the push ups/sit ups, based on my recent tabata numbers.

There was a former SEAL over the OCFA cert last weekend, really should have talked more to him about training he does for pre SEAL guys.

I've read a few books on the SEALs, one specifically on their training. It's sick what they go through, the book I read went through 'hell week' as they call it, with recent enough group of guys going for the SEALs, it's insane. They get about 4-8 hours sleep in total if i remember correctly in 5 days, while having to do constant runs/drills/situps/pushups etc.
    On top of all this they're usually drenched through all this as they're constantly running into the sea. they're also given very little food through this week.
    The mental power to get through it must be phenomenal- forget physical attributes. The 80% failure rate (or even higher) is not suprising at all.
    So who's up for signin up? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

100 sit-ups in 2 minutes

Similar to the Green Beret barrier test in Australia.
    The only thing I note there is that the swim is actually 400m, however it must be done with boots, camos, 10kg webbing and a steyr.
    There isnt a time limit to the push ups but you cannot stop.
    It was also a 2km run (metric and all)
    There is far more to it, rope climbing, obstacle course, submerged tunnels etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

hmmmm. When I gave up the smokes I started doing push-ups in the morning when I woke up as a motivation to stay off them. I added 10 every two weeks. Currently I do 120 cold every morning, for about two years now. The before and after on my chest, you would not believe. You have to do it every day or it cam be a struggle. When I hit 100 I was happy enough to keep it about that level but i've hit 140 if i feel like it in a morning. I'd do that in about three mins I guess, it's pretty much just a rythum you get into. What's REALLY harder I found is to NOT do them fast, count the motions, 1 pause 2. drop pause 3 push. I've hit 100 that way and it's MUCH MUCH harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

SetantaL wrote: »
    hmmmm. When I gave up the smokes I started doing push-ups in the morning when I woke up as a motivation to stay off them. I added 10 every two weeks. Currently I do 120 cold every morning, for about two years now. The before and after on my chest, you would not believe. You have to do it every day or it cam be a struggle. When I hit 100 I was happy enough to keep it about that level but i've hit 140 if i feel like it in a morning. I'd do that in about three mins I guess, it's pretty much just a rythum you get into. What's REALLY harder I found is to NOT do them fast, count the motions, 1 pause 2. drop pause 3 push. I've hit 100 that way and it's MUCH MUCH harder.

I did 50 in the mornings, and tried adding one per day. Fast is easier, you have momentum, your drop down is gravity, while going slow down is a negative and works the muscle. and popping up quick gets you in a momentum rythm, not much inertia to overcome.

Were you benching or doing other work as well? if not did you get much muscle growth? or was that what you were after. I sort of stopped as I just do other exercises in teh morning now, like 8-12reps of pullups, chinups, dips

[
    Here's a tabata of push ups (8 rounds, 20 secs work, 10 secs rest). And even at this you could be ultra strict and question Greg's RoM - though not to his face :)

http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_20TabataPushups.wmv
    http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_20TabataPushups.mov

Seeing his score makes me question those people busting out 90 in 60 seconds.

Ehhh.... what was wrong with his first round of pushups? I assume you're talking about later in the vid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

No females allowed!:eek:

I like the sound of GI G'em though!:D

Seals and their training makes for an interesting alryt.
    Zippitydoo: Do you remember any of the names of the books you read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    No females allowed!:eek:

I like the sound of GI G'em though!:D

Jaysus, don't give her ideas!;)

Like Hanley, I find my tri's are the first to give out on these.
    So how many clapping push-ups should we be aiming for, then? :D

JayRoc wrote: »
    So how many clapping push-ups should we be aiming for, then? :D

Ewww... *vomiting smiley*

Yeah Fast_mover I have one o them (the one about the recruitment process) right here.
    It's called the Warrior Elite by Dick Couch, worth a read.

http://www.amazon.com/Warrior-Elite-Forging-Seal-Class/dp/0609607103

Written by an ex Seal so he knows what he's on about.