Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your best and worst customer service experiences [rant & praise]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I refuse to eat in the Pembroke inn because they have a selection of lunch more suited to Mountjoy Prison and they charge you for it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd forgotten about my hatred for Eircom. Their customer service is brutal.

Newspapers too, I wouldn't trust anything printed in them.
    Stekelly wrote: »
    No where. I buy what I like and use the services I like.

I don't"boycott" anything actively, I might just prefer the alternative. I refuse to cost myself money or put myself out because some employee of a big company wasn't nice to me once. I'm not needy, I don't need random peoples love all the time.
    So if you got shafted in a shop and saw a deal in the window the next week you'd still go in and buy off them?
    Basically, I've been boycotting the whole of the ROI, .

Nowadays I get everything from either Newry/Belfast or UK/US mail order, whether it be groceries, drink, fags, hi-fi equipment, clothes, you name it.

The only things I've been buying down here recently have been the utmost essentials (such as bread, milk, eggs) and I've been purchasing those in LIDL/ALDI.

To those who bemoan PC World et al, I'm really sorry, but you should have supported your local electrical shop way back when and not bought into the Wal-Martisation philosophy that says cheaper is always better.
    But your whole method of shopping is ultimate "cheaper is better" your not even paying taxes in the country or contributing to even the cheapest of Irish company's. Bit hypocritical, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

ScumLord wrote: »

So if you got shafted in a shop and saw a deal in the window the next week you'd still go in and buy off them?

Yes. The most important person in the scenario is me. Im not going to cut off my nose to spite my face.

If someone does somethign to you and is then selling the same thing cheaper than the "nice" shop,why would you pay more? despit what you think you are not "showing them" your just costing yourself money.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

O'Briens Sandwich Bars are just awful. Crap quality and over priced. Also Starbucks. I don't drink coffee, but their hot chocolate is crap. I had a cupcake there before and it must have been there for about three days, mad stale.

ScumLord wrote: »

Yes. The most important person in the scenario is me. Im not going to cut off my nose to spite my face.

If someone does something to you and is then selling the same thing cheaper than the "nice" shop,why would you pay more? despite what you think you are not "showing them" ,your just costing yourself money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

snyper wrote: »
    I will not pay for sex or still water.

Snob.

caoibhin wrote: »
    Snob Virgin

Fixed that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Peats of Parnell St!

Shower of ignorant, un-knowledgeable in-bred (its a family business where basically every staff member is a friend of the family) ****wits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 nasher

Costello & costello ...the owner refused to give me my money back, the bag fell apart five mins after it was out of the shop. I spent a half an hour quoting consumer rights law at her until she finally gave in! Kay's Kitchen..the girl that owns it tried to pick a fight with my friend in a nightclub..total skobe!
    Four star pizza..my stomach turns even thinking about the last time I got something from there. All will never see me darken their doorways again! :cool:

in-bred (its a family business where basically every staff member is a friend of the family)

Someone needs a dictionary. You need to be a lot closer than family friend to qualify as in-bred.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

-All Dunnes Staff should be strapped to bombs and dropped on small crappy countries.

-Game staff know nothing about video games.

-The sony center is full of ignorant nerds.

-HMV staff are mindless zombies.

-PC world will always have to 'Have a look at it first' and charge you 50 euro.

-In phone shops, Your phone is always water damaged, no matter what...even though its never touched it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Ross_Mahon wrote: »

Guess who owns them?

Yup. Peats Of Parnell St.

Ste, you know what I meant. Every member of staff is either a direct relative of Mr Peat or his sister in laws goat's aunty's son. Kinda thing.

The single worst customer service in Ireland.

Oh and Sky are cnuts too, but they've been mentioned.

Guess who owns them?

Ste, you know what I meant. Every member of staff is either a direct relative of Mr Peat or his sister in laws goat's aunty's son. Kinda thing.

Oh and Sky are cnuts too, but they've been mentioned.

I was in Peats a few times getting parts for School projects, And there's a fella with Grey curly hair that's there years, And hes a jerk! Its like hes giving out to ya when your talking to him...:(

Guess who owns them?

I know what you meant? How would anyone not? You put it right there in words. If you meant something different why didn't you say it differently.

I worked in one of the Sony Centres. None of us in the store over the course of 3 years (maybe 20 lads) were any relation or friend of the family. Same with most of the stores. During the time I was there there was 2 family members in all of the sony centres.

Family businesses generally do have family memebers in them, wouldnt be family businesses otherwise.

Am I sensing a personal grudge?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Stekelly wrote: »
    So if companies dont hide the fact they charge different amounts in different countries they should be boycotted, but if they do hide them they are fine? Clue: all companies that operate in different countries do that.

Yes but at the least boycott the obvious ones, and buy as much as you can off the internet to avoid the rest.
    javaboy wrote:
    The whole Sterling to Euro/Irish Punt markup is not always about ripping you off or making obscene profits. In many cases, there are additional running costs or transport costs with selling in Ireland. That particular markup does seem excessive in fairness.

I heard this argument before, but unless the North has seperate, higher, pricetags than mainland UK (which I'm pretty sure they dont) I think its just an excuse to rip people off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Eircom are the company I hate the most.

Years ago (before broadband) they hooked up my dail-up internet to some mad premium rate number.

When I got my bill there was about 250 euro worth of calls (to this premium number) and it took me a load more calls to finally get through to someone who know what the problem was.

Eircom readily admited that the error was entirely their fault but I would have to pay the full amount on the bill first then they would "look into" issuing a credit on future bills.

I was NOT happy with that and told them so...there reply? If you don't pay the bill (that we billed you in error) then we will disconnect your line and you will also be charged a 150 euro (or something) re-connection fee.

B*stards! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Degsy wrote: »
    Nothing alleged about it.He was found guilty of possesing paedo porn.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2003/0116/porn.html

What sickens me to my stomach is his daughter-in law Rachel Allen getting her own cookery shows all over the place after she publicly defended him.

I can't find anything about Rachel Allen defending him, only Darina. It's not really anything to do with her (assuming she didn't come out and say anything, which I can't find)

Anyhow,
    I won't go to my local Xtra Vision since they installed one of those 'mosquito' things. I have never heard one as loud, maybe my hearing is weirdly good but it is such a horrible sensation, even from 15ft away. They obviously don't want my business or they wouldn't be trying to deafen me.

Colour clashing is when you stab a customer in the face and the blood gets on your shirt.

only if the shirt is pink :D

I heard this argument before, but unless the North has seperate, higher, pricetags than mainland UK (which I'm pretty sure they dont) I think its just an excuse to rip people off.

The north has various lower charges than us that all contribute to lower prices. Their min wage is 25% lower than ours. Their rents/rates etc are lower.

Ruu wrote: »
    I boycotted Rowntree products a long time ago, especially smarties because they have ants blood in the shell. ;_;

like how would the even get blood out of an ant?

hmmm, this is interesting, and if it's used to make the violet smarties, does this mean they have violet blood? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I refuse to go to the doctor because there is nothing wrong with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I refuse to go to the doctor because there is nothing wrong with me.

fail.jpg

fail.jpg

It's a mega fail too because I sent him deh aidz last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    -All Dunnes Staff should be strapped to bombs and dropped on small crappy countries.

-Game staff know nothing about video games.

-HMV staff are mindless zombies.

-PC world will always have to 'Have a look at it first' and charge you 50 euro.

-In phone shops, Your phone is always water damaged, no matter what...even though its never touched it.

Posts like this irritate me. I am an ex-dunnes staff member. Are you suggesting I shoiuld be strapped to a bomb? If I ever meet you in real life I will punch you with my strapped up fists, and then drop you on your crappy face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Buy and Sell:
    Rude, basically stupid and very hostile if you query why an ad hasn't been placed in their paper after you paying for it to be put in repeatedly.

A lot of Carphonewarehouse staff are idiots as well.
    Often clueless and repeatedly getting basic instructions wrong.

TBH most CC, when asked moderately difficult questions turn out to be script-reading, uninterested morons.
    Only rarely is the opposite the case.

syklops wrote: »
    Posts like this irritate me. I am an ex-dunnes staff member. Are you suggesting I shoiuld be strapped to a bomb? If I ever meet you in real life I will punch you with my strapped up fists, and then drop you on your crappy face.

So are some of my mates, its called a joke, settle this like a real man...CS source, dust bowl, no hax, no dis, GG.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Komplett after a very long drawn out (by them) botched order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

R0ot wrote: »
    Komplett after a very long drawn out (by them) botched order.

Whats the deal with having no phone number?

Why do I have to keep their header when responding?

Do them employ machines to read them?

komplett: wtf?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Any chipper that sells deep fried frozen chips instead of homemade ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

tech77 wrote: »

A lot of Carphonewarehouse customers are idiots as well.
    Often clueless and repeatedly getting basic instructions wrong.

fixed