Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SLA RPG - Player Chatroom

• 11-12-2007 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭

Current players are:

tba
    Thaedydal
    raphael
    Qwertz
    Hivemind187

I would please ask that only those players that are actually playing the game post in this thread, This is for all players of the game to talk in or out of character about the game sofar, ideas, comments or random thoughts that enter their heads.

The other 2 game threads will open soon starting with the COMS channel (again only players are allow to post in the COMS channel but it must be in character) and finally i'll open the game turns thread starting with the first turn.

let the games commence :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Woot.

Now, to think of a name for my character >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

how about tank?

we had a stormer on our last boards game he was called "tank" the theroy being there grown in BIO Vats so he called himself tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

I'd like to wear a mac and slacks over my PP7, will that look stupid?

Hmm, good one, had an idea since I posted that though. Was trying to think of somehting playing off 313, came up with 'Ell. A) Because of the l33tsp34k and B) "Thas what I'll give you if youre still in moi way when I finish this sentence"

tba wrote: »
    I'd like to wear a mac and slacks over my PP7, will that look stupid?

well PP7 Exo Armor basically looks like a terminator from warhammer 40K, can you picture a Terminator Space marine wearing a Mac and Slacks over their arnor,

However this is your game lads i can run it anyway you like. If you would like a mac and slacks over your PP7 Exo Armor then by all means you can have a mac and slacks over your exo Armor. We can say that it was custom designed just for you so it doesnt look stupid, hows that?

Raph what about cac (its the alpha-numeric system in play 3 = c, 1 = a, 3 = c)

or you could call yourself 7, (3+1+3)
    or tank

There the usual character names i use for Stormers

I figured it might be a bit more minsacule than the PP10 variants, and be under clothes, but its all good, I will forgoe the exterior garments in favour of an exterior gruff.

Tobias at your service...

So COMS channel and chatroom are now open for busniess. I also have the first 3 game turns in draft. there pretty much ready to go. Im not going to start the game until the Q man is ready it wouldnt be fair if we started without him.

I'm hoping to kick things off this week but if i dont hear anything from qwertz by the weekend im just going to kick the game off monday morning for definate ok. and Qwertz can join in when he is ready

Something occured to me today, and I went looking on bible.com with success!

Judges 3:13 - And Eglon gathered unto him the children of Ammon and Amalek, and went and smote Israel, and possessed the city of palm trees.

So, the stormer is called Eglon. =D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

ah but called you variants of cac would have beem fun....

the Q man has PM'ed me his details i'll gen him a character and send it to him tomorrow am so the game should be kicking off tomorrow around 4PM

Hurrah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

That's Mr. Q man for you.

SIR YES SIR!

:D:D:D:D:D:D

As i've said before any questions or comments dont hesistate to ask there are a few of us that have already played SLA before. I'll be happy to help out with questions on the game, game turn or your character sheets (i have a copy of them all) at any time (accept when im playing WoW good luck trying to get my attention then :D )

Also I've decided to leave the COMS channel purely for the players im GM and as such dont represent a real presense in SLA so the channel is all yours, if something is happening that i need you to know about, i'll post it here in the chatroom as i dont want to post it in the game turns thread cos its not really a game turns as such.

hope thats cool

Can we have a list of who's who and what race please.

I was about to ask the same question. This will enable me to customize the insults.

Raphael - Stormer
    Thaedydal - Frother
    Qwertz - Brain Waster
    tba - Human
    Hivemind187 - Human

I believe...

Raph has got it in one that is correct here is the list you need:
    ==============================================

After a few moments of writing on his clipboard Mr Smite walks over to a board and posts details of your sqaud on it they are as follows:

tba who's name is Tobias Bernard Atol is a human male
    Raphael who's Name is Eglon is a stormer (who arent male or female stormers are genderless)
    Thaedyal who's name is Ro'weena is a female frother
    Hivemind187 who's name is Vigo Vance is a human male
    Qwertz who's name is qwertz`is a male brain waster

Mr Smite goes back to jotting down notes in a little pocket book he has with him and intermittently looks up at you all then jots more notes down. After a few minutes he looks up and says "well lady and gentlemen have you reached a decision?"

Folks to try and help you all resolve this debate on the "should we take a hard BPN or not" i'd like to point you to the last game of SLA i ran on boards. They choose to run a hard BPN from the slayers crib. Of the 8 Op's that went out on the mission 1 died and one was wounded critically but later was revived and healed back to full health.

If you want to pick a blue BPN by all means run a blue BPN they are low pay, medium risk, low excitment missions. not allot will happen. You'll do some street cleanup. earn about 70 credits each and come away with some cuts and brusies,

If you run the high level missions yes your inexperienced, yes you could get killed but the survivors will come away well paid (unless you choose a red BPN in which case there is a very high possibility allot of you will die) will have allot of Exp to their name and might get skill points.

Im not going to crucify you if you choose a hard mission. I wont make it easy for you either there hard for a reason. And there is a risk that if you mess up or do something really stupid you could wind up dead. but you have as much change getting killed on a blue BPN as you do running a hard one

The mutant rats on blue BPN missions are really tough to kill and if they swarm all over you. you and your squad WILL die.

Think about what would be most fun for you and your squad not will i end up dead, and make the decision. and if you pick blue then a blue BPN we will run. Some of them can be quite interesting, its amazing what you find flushed away down in the sewers of mort. what SLA tries to flush away and forget.

and if you pick a slayers crib mission then you pick a slayers crib mission. Sure its more dangerous but with great risks come great rewards.

ladies and gentlemen the choice is yours ........

Folks Qwertz name has been changed

He is still a Male Brain Waster but his name is now Nonn E.N. Fresser

Cheers
    Your friendly Neighbourhood DM
    AL][EN

It seems a suggestion was put forward that Vigo Be Squad leader

So voting time! (sorry this is requires for most SLA games when they start its less confusing later on)

vigo for squad leader or not? (see COMS Channel Thread)
    And
    Low Level Blue BPNs or not? (see game turns thread)

The choice my friends is yours

'AL wrote:
    [EN;54672646']It seems a suggestion was put forward that Vigo Be Squad leader

Bollix to that.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Bollix to that.

Fair enough, If not the Human to Lead you then who would you suggest?

The stormer?
    The brain waster?
    Yourself? A frother?

All with low charsmia, being honest your all a little scary ..... no wait let me rephrase your all terrifing :D. damn fine killing machines but terrifing. Your skills are to make people feel lots and lots of pain in a very short ammount of time.

In actual fact if you want my advise id suggest either Tobias or Vigo since they have higher Charama and tba actually took the investigation package so has allot of people skills and has tactics. (im DM'ing this SLA game by the book this time thaed you pick the wrong squad leader and roll badly its going to end messy)

If you dont want Vigo to be squad leader thats ok who does you vote go to then for squad leader.

The reason i assumed vigo was squad leader is there has been allot of chatter on the COMS channel between the stormer and both humans and vigos name came up (see you need to check COMS otherwise you'll miss stuff).

I assume thaed you dont want to run blue BPN's :D:D:D been there done that killed the guy wearing the T-shirt and took it for yourself :D:D:D

Yeh well look what assuming did for ya!
    Really after after a decade you should know better.

Yeh well look what assuming did for ya!
    Really after after a decade you should know better.

okey dokey!

so i currently is this right?

(frother) Ro'weena wants to run blue
    (human) Tobias Wants to run blue

(stormer) Eglon wants a crib mission
    (human) Vigo wants a crib mission

(brain waster) Nonn is undecided

And we dont really have a squad leader yet. You could of course run your first mission leaderless and see who prevails at being a natural leader. Thats a fair way too no point voting for people you know nothing about!

If you guys want to run a blue i can make it a blue milk run and we can see how it goes. just to see how well you gell together. Then we could do a proper BPN. As a proper BPN takes between 10 and 13 game turns (or at least the last two SLA Games did) i can cut that down to between 6 and 8 for the first time run if you feel more comfortable doing that. and then after you feel comfortable with your characters we could try something a little more ..... exciting. (or you can stay doing blue)

usually these things die out after the first game. But if guys enjoyed the game and are willing to stay on i can write a campain game for your characters?

close, its down the middle with the brain waster on the sidelines, lets see how this works out.

So it's all up to me, eh? Thanks for the pressure, thanks a lot. B@stards!

You all will get what's coming to you...

qwertz wrote: »
    So it's all up to me, eh? Thanks for the pressure, thanks a lot. B@stards!

You all will get what's coming to you...

Hard to tell if that is in char or not.....

I am always in character :) Seriously, I will post my decision in a bit...

In character or not im sure it was ment to be a joke! who knows qwertz might be a brain waster in real life :-)

Yea man no pressure or anything just the teams first ever mission rests on your vote :D

Look either way blue or not it will be a good game i promise. As a DM in real life im known for throwing curve balls at players (twists, unexpected events etc) not looking at anyone in paticluar but they taught me how to be a sneaky evil god fearing DM :D:D:D:D so blame them

Seriously tho for a sec either way blue mission or not its a bit of crack nothing too get too serious about. so take your time mate think it over once you know post up here and someone else who hasnt posted a game turn yet can tell Mr Smite what you all want to do and i'll make the rolls that are required and post up the next game turn.

Qwertz you may want to read the game threads my friend, Tobias has addresses smite personally if you disagree now is the time to say it to smite cos if i read that last post correctly you've all just agreed to Blue BPN number 2

[full details of which will be posted in the game turns thread]

Typing my turn atm, gives me something productive to do during this boring concall.

Game turn 2 is almost ready it should be ready by the time qwertz posts his game turn once that happens i'll post game turn 2

All done, boss!

Apologies im off work today and running round like a loony. Tis the young fella's christmas school nativite play so i'll be on later to post up answers to your questions

apologies on the short delay of the game

AND ........... were back

Sgt Johnson is now Live on your COMS channel ask him some questions if you like. Raphael and Thaed are the only ones not to have gone looking for into yet if you would like to do so please let me know. Or ask Johnson as question on COMMS.

your almost at the shopping mall as from the gauss rail train looking out the window in the distance you can see the shopping mall.

Okey Dokey Folks a few things.

1) from this turn on im not going to post any new game turns until everyone has posted a turn in the game turns thread that way one on gets left out (cos possibly comabat is looming around the corner) or if you dont want to take a game turn this round just PM me so i know i can post up the next turn. That way everyone gets a chance to act before i do all the rolls.

2) christmass is looming around the corner. Apart from christmas eve (doing a santa run) and obviously christmas day i will be avaiable to post up game turns or answer questions all week. (I'm off work from today for 9 days so boards access will be sporadic) so if everyone has there game turns posted up stephens day for example i'll just go ahead and post up the next turn.

Thats it so
    Have a happy christmass to you and your family
    Your friendly neighbourhood DM
    AL][EN

Well Hello folks hope you all had a happy and prosperous christmas and new years!

Now were into 2008 if you want to kick the SLA game off again just let me know once you all posted your turns on the game turn thread we'll start again

Talk to you all soon

Apologies folks the game seems to have frozen mid session!! The christmas break probably didnt help and there's the small matter of me getting married this year too that sort of keeps getting in the way of me role playing and general boards usage altogether.

Been really busy getting stuff organized. Id love to keep playing if people want to still play. Then by all means we'll kick the game off again.

The only two that haven't posted in the current game turn are Qwertz and thaedyal
    if you want i can assume your going to follow the team and start a new game turn fresh again. And we can go again. But the closer it get to july the less and less i'll be able to post anything on boards. After july it will be full steam ahead again and i can play as normal.

can you let me know if you want to keep playing.
    Cheers guys

I r hear!

*dances*

I#m nearly done honest will be posting in the next 15mins

Righto rolling up next game turn now our blade servers had a bit of a mickey fit so turns delayed until i can fix it.

Hang on guys , gals and stormers the next game turn is on the way

Guys/Gal, what's the next turn going to be like? Split into two teams?

yep qwertz is right.

who's going with who and where?

post your game turn now and i can roll up the next game turn

This one better not be dying like the other one did...

Taking the stairs.

As i said from the start im on boards daily i'll DM so long as there are players to play. Most BBS games really only last for so long, but the last one i ran lasted nearly a year.

Of course the players posted almost everyday, while i dont mind how often players post as real life tends to get in the way of most RPG's im happy with the game sofar! I've had other people PM'ing me asking can they play so if people seem to think this isnt fun or its a drag just let me know i can sub them out for new players if they dont want to play anymore.

If its a case that people want to play its just there having trouble finding the time to post. Dont worry this is a BBS game we can take all the time in the world. Im having loads of fun DM'ing again and i hope your having as much fun playing as i am DM'ing.

If we could even aim for 2 game turns a week id actually be happy with 3 but if we could manage 2 that would be great. the reason the game seems to be on hold is because i cant post the next turn until every player posts a turn on the game turns thread, even if its just a short "im following the team leader" would do. that way everyone has a chance to do something they dont have to but it give you an opportunity every turn to do something. Once i see all players have posted anything in the game turns thread i can roll and post the next turn

If you want to change the way we do this, then please let me know. fire me a PM or post your suggestion here. this is your game as much as mine as im more than willing to change the game for the enjoyment of the group.

just remember post a game turn on the game turns thread and we can post the next turn.

what does everyone think?

sorry things got a bit screwy and i couldn't get my head in the game but I am back nwo and shoudl be posting regualrly.

Since when do we have a leader? I thought we were going without one for the time being.

For the next turn, how about two teams, one down the stairs, the other down the ramp. I don't mind either route as long as there is some shooting (and shouting) involved.

your correct my friend you dont actually have a team leader as of yet but there are one of two of you on the team that seem to be trying to take on the mantle themselves and have made some decisions for the squad made suggestions etc. Have a read back over the game turns thread and see what i mean.

In my previous post was just an example of a what you could post in a game turn. EG "I follow the team leader/rest of the squad/voice in my head" its just so i know that you've posted thats all you needed actually do anything. Once you've posted i know i can go ahead and roll the next turn

If you have a team leader and they do well under stressful situations i usually ease off the fear checks and break tests and the like but if your leaderless its harder DC checks for certian things. Plus no suit in SLA industries will take your squad seriously unless you have a squad leader.

We'll see how many of you survive the first BPN and then who ever is left standing at the end can decide who is to be team leader. :D

so out of 5 of you 2 of you have suggested splitting up the team in two! is that what you all want, who decides who goes where? sounds like a job for a squad leader ;);););)

better hurry.... da carriens goona getcha :D