Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is tomorrow "culchies descend on dublin" day?

• 07-12-2007 11:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭

I'm planning on doing a bit of shopping in our nations glorious capital in the morning but i have a horrible feeling that tomorrows the day that the inhabitants of places that I've only seen on Nationwide decide to swarm and converge on the capital for their annual shopping trip :confused:

So is it?

BTW Biko et al, given that this thread is about yee lot outside the pale its not really a candidate for shifting to the dublin forum, 'kay? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Outer Bongolia

It sure is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Yeah ima comin the dublin the morroa with me horses and buckets of ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

I'm planning to drive up in my tractor and block the M50.

They have better shops down the country now and shops open on Sundays so every Sunday is a shopping day. Move with the times ! Coppers will be full by 9 tomorrow night you better get in there early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I never got it tbh, but i hear our country cousins now have "exciting retail experiences" a plenty since they got the electric installed down in the sticks so hopefully the whole safety-in-numbers day is a thing of the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

do they not just navigate the m50 and pop into whatever shopping center has free parking available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

cazzy wrote: »
    I'm planning to drive up in my tractor and block the M50.

We have that covered. ;)
    They have better shops down the country...

Better than Dublin or better than 60 years ago? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

Slow coach wrote: »

Better than Dublin or better than 60 years ago? :p

Better than Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

There was bus loads of culchies up last weekend, so I take it it's going to multiply as we get nearer Christmas.

Thankfully I don't have to do the whole Christmas shopping thing this year.

Better than Dublin
    Lol, who are you trying to convince?!

rb_ie wrote: »
    Lol, who are you trying to convince?!

There are actually far better shops in the rest of the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Gets out culchie phrasebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Redjeep!

Ahh, isn't it cute....

that dubs all think that they're so sophisticated coming from the 'big city' and that everybody else is a bogger as they've not had the benefit of living somewhere as large and cosmopolitan as Dublin.

Ah, bless em.

Redjeep! wrote: »
    Ahh, isn't it cute....

that dubs all think that they're so sophisticated coming from the 'big city' and that everybody else is a bogger as they've not had the benefit of living somewhere as large and cosmopolitan as Dublin.

Ah, bless em.
    This isn't anything new.

It's also true tbh.

Ahh, isn't it cute....

Ah, bless em.

but the thing is, everybody else is a bogger :confused:.

'cept the nordies of course.

Bambi wrote: »
    but the thing is, everybody else is a bogger :confused:.

'cept the nordies of course.

And everyone in Dublin is a skanger.

dont be silly

Everyone from dublin is a skanger, if everyone in dublin was a skanger we'd have no one to threaten for the price of a packet of Johnny Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Redjeep!

No, what makes me laugh is that all Dubs seem to think that Dublin is such a large sophisticated city....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

yep the culchies are coming up to rape and pilige just like what yous dubs do when yous come down here in the summer!

Is Marys st cosmopolitan ?? i don't think so!! Skangermebanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I never got it tbh, but i hear our country cousins now have "exciting retail experiences" a plenty since they got the electric installed down in the sticks so hopefully the whole safety-in-numbers day is a thing of the past
    Ah, jaysus, shure we're just spoiled for choice these days ... whether 'tis Neuhaus Belgian Chocolate Sea Shells or Ann Summers crotchless knickers (they even do them for that special sheep in your life these days!) you fancy buying for your other half, shure they're all available locally, no need to be taking your life in your hands and going anywhere near that Dubalin place.

And since they imported one of them fancy Tee Vee's to the local pub, it's become increasingly obvious that we're better off staying well away: muggings, traffic jams, chuggers, christmas card fraud ... shure you can keep it! Last traffic jam we had around here was when the axle of poor auld Joe McTierney's cart broke in the middle of Main Street, and there was fully three carts held up in the hour it took them to move it off the street.

Anyway, we see enough of them young jackeen wans when they come down on their hen nights, in their cameltoe short shorts and their "boob toobs", drinking that fecking imported lager piss and shouting their mouths off about needing "a good roide" cause none of the Dubalin lads can get it up without the help of a bicycle pump. The poor local curate hasn't been able for his Sunday dinner for the last year, with all the stories the young lads do be telling him in the box after early Sunday mass when one of them gangs has hit the village!

And poor auld Red John the Fox McGuire, that was an innocent wee virgin (not counting the sheep) 'til his 43rd birthday ... didn't one of those gangs of strapping harlots get him drunk and lure him down into Mossy Finnerty's hayshed after the pub closed and take it in turns to saddle him up ... well, 'twas a young age to die, I suppose, but 'tis said when Mossy found him the next day he still had a huge smile on his face, and certainly they never did get the coffin fully closed.

So what would bring us up to that cold, unfriendly, city of yours where everyone thinks they're better than tuppence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

I'm noticing far more Dubs (especially this year for some reason) leaving there oul' comfort zone (ie. The Pale) and tavelling weshhht for shopping etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Pyongyang > Dublin.

*titters girlishly*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

^Post o' the mo', randylonghorn!:D

So what would bring us up to that cold, unfriendly, city of yours where everyone thinks they're better than tuppence?

The moving crib in parnell square apparently :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I'd just like to point out that tomorrow is not in fact 'culchies descend on Dublin' day because Dublin is not the only city in Ireland. Generally, people who live in the country and can't get to a city regularly head to the nearest city on the 8th, be it Galway, Cork, Dublin, etc. I would never do my Christmas shopping on the 8th because a huge amount of 'culchies' do take the day to shop, which means longer queues and huge crowds.

While I object to people from Dublin thinking that the rest of the country is full of culchies (I grew up right outside a city, so I wouldn't consider myself one), I have to admit there are some real country folk out there, complete with the thick country accents and the weird sense of style. I used to love pointing them out as a child if I ever happened to be in town on the 8th.

But a lot of places in Ireland have fantastic shopping now. The 8th is really only for those who live in Ballygobackofbeyonds.

I wont complain, I get Monday off because of it! (And I teach in a city school!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

No, what makes me laugh is that all Dubs seem to think that Dublin is such a large sophisticated city....

What makes me laugh is that there are still people who live outside Dublin who have chips on their shoulders while most people from Dublin couldn't give a toss if you're from Cork, Longford, or Ballycobegarra.

Seriously, get over it.

The moving crib in parnell square apparently :)
    Not at all, shure we have our own moving crib with real live animals and all outside the parish hall every year! Only problem this year is that since poor Red John the Fox died, 'tis a bit difficult to find a virgin to play Mary, and the curate is a bit cranky about letting anyone who "knows too much", as he puts it, play the part.

Mind you, last year wasn't a great success either, but that was the same curate's fault ... he really should have known better than to tell Joseph to use his staff to stop that sheep moving around!

And why he was so worried about the boys from the national school being scandalised, I don't know ... shure, doesn't any of them older than 10 know what a pet lamb is for by now, anyway. :rolleyes:

Not at all, shure we have our own moving crib with real live animals and all outside the parish hall every year! Only problem this year is that since poor Red John the Fox died, 'tis a bit difficult to find a virgin to play Mary, and the curate is a bit cranky about letting anyone who "knows too much", as he puts it, play the part.

Mind you, last year wasn't a great success either, but that was the same curate's fault ... he really should have known better than to tell Joseph to use his staff to stop that sheep moving around!

And why he was so worried about the boys from the national school being scandalised, I don't know ... shure, doesn't any of them older than 10 know what a pet lamb is for by now, anyway. :rolleyes:

thats so funny!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

yes like paris, london, new york or tokyo :D

New York is a fav among my friends!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ooter

womoma wrote: »
    What makes me laugh is that there are still people who live outside Dublin who have chips on their shoulders while most people from Dublin couldn't give a toss if you're from Cork, Longford, or Ballycobegarra.

Seriously, get over it.

fair play mate,couldn't agree more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'd like to congratulate my fellow Dubs on the successful campaign aimed at discouraging these gormless freckled tinkers culchies from infecting our city often.
    We have successfully managed to keep their infiltration down to small numbers barring one day a year.

So as usual, batten down the hatches and avoid town at all costs.

If you must go into town, make sure to avoid the obvious 'culchie day to Dublin' hotspots.
    This includes all major shopping streets and centers, [SIZE=-1]Busáras[/SIZE], Heuston Station, but highest of all on the list - Supermacs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

*urinates all over the thread*

should make the place smell a bit more like home for the dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

What are yis all talking about? Our country cousins don't need to travel to Dublin to shop tomorrow, they already live here, out numbering us 1000 to 1*. Ethnic cleansing is almost complete. Dub hating culchies populate the city they hate already. If anything it will be the Dubs returning to their old home for the day from their exile in (kind of) affordable house towns, built on fields in Cavan and Roscommon.

*source for figure is from Bertie ahern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

There are actually far better shops in the rest of the country

suuuure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

nail -> head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

To be fair, Culchies think Taco Fries are sophisticated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    I'm noticing far more Dubs (especially this year for some reason) leaving there oul' comfort zone (ie. The Pale) and tavelling weshhht for shopping etc.
    If by West you mean Blanchardstown, then yes.

As this time of year approaches, Blanchardstown SC becomes like a scene out of Mad Mad III.

Lots of us Dubs going North for the shop, and I don't mean Newry.

Ashbourne is a far more relaxing place to shop.

Mordeth wrote: »

Says the guy from Carlow. Dude I've been to Carlow and it smells like a dead rats colon. Who you tryin to kid?

To be fair, Culchies think Taco Fries are sophisticated.

LOL!

Dey have dem whatsitcalled up in de big schmoke, taco ... fries.. like in America or something. My-Hee craic like.

Here they commmeeee!!

Brian___Geoff_Ermine_St_-_enlarged_-_450w_-_low_res.JPG

Run for your livessss!! Save yourself!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

from kildare... tis almost dec 8th, and... while i'm a dub by no means, tis traditional for dub sto seke shopin soon enough, and ehll, im not a dub, but i live near enough to it to be albe to stri,me wiothin all the main pplaces with0ou adherecne to my stock values in between

mostly.. .shoes... feck em...

clothes fekc em...

pennys in genrelall... well hello...

narco wrote: »
    from kildare... tis almost dec 8th, and... while i'm a dub by no means, tis traditional for dub sto seke shopin soon enough, and ehll, im not a dub, but i live near enough to it to be albe to stri,me wiothin all the main pplaces with0ou adherecne to my stock values in between

mostly.. .shoes... feck em...

clothes fekc em...

pennys in genrelall... well hello...
    LOL ... date with Jack D, Narco? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

they like to get a headstart on de day, they have da dinner at 6.30 in the morning :D........Yeooooooow !
    Reminds me of this

Things Culchies Like !!

01) A nice bit a ham.
    02) Buttered biscuits.
    03) Diggin Holes.
    04) Saying tis too cold to snow
    05) A dinner dance
    06) Tayto Cheese & Onion
    07) Countin money.
    08) A stretch in d'evenings
    09) Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner
    10) Starting conversations with 'Do ya know whos dead ?'
    11) Pretending to like Harp or Pioneer
    12) Marietta biskits.
    13) Drivin inta poholes with the tractor
    14) Shania Twain.
    15) Heifers
    16) Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual
    17) Steel toe caps.
    18) A big bowl of stew
    19) Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA Matches
    20) Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something.
    21) The smell of silage.
    22) a door stop of Slice-Your-Own Loaf.
    23) Work Clothes
    24) A bottle of mineral.
    25) Fighting with d'neighbours
    26) Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered
    27) 'The' Hurling and Futball.
    28) Bakin n cabbage.
    29) Price of calves.
    30) Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae.
    31) Sayin' things like 'Well Holy God ... will ya look at that'
    32) Dirty number plates so they cant get caught with the speed cameras
    33) The Fear of Change.
    34) A nice bit of Barnbrac with a cup a Strong Tay
    35) Drinkin tay off a saucer.
    36) Building stone walls.
    37) Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food
    38) Flowery Spuds
    39) Talking about the long evenin's
    40) A good blackthorn walkin stick.
    41) Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.
    42) The replay of the Sunday Game on Monday
    43) Talkin bout machinery.
    44) Sayin' things like 'Arra fer Jaysus Sake'
    45) A good read of Buy n Sell.
    46) Winnin a tukey at the cards.
    47) Scandal, as long as its about other people.
    48) A Gud bail a Turf, because dat Centril heatin's only a wemins ting.
    49) Soda farls.
    50) Sponge 'n Custurt
    51) talking outside after mass
    so funny, so true !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

no they all seem to go to liffey bleedin' valley now

I was there last year and a swarm of them descended

"ah mammy, there's no farm supplies shop"
    "beggorah, you're right Johnny. we'd best be goin back so, we have to be up at halfpast the four to milk the cows"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

Intheknow, I never realised I was a culchie 'til I saw your list :D

In fairness though, I think people prefer to go to New York instead of Dublin nowadays. Dublin just doesn't cut it anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Mordeth wrote: »

Best reply ever! nice one! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

phasers wrote: »
    "beggorah, you're right Johnny. we'd best be goin back so, we have to be up at halfpast the four to milk the cows"

to supply the milk for your dub-a-lin latayes, cap-a-cheenoas, frapees etc :rolleyes:

Right lads I'm going in! Wish me luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Just a heads up for our country friends, if upon your arrival in our fair capital, you initially think you've taken a wrong turn and have ended up in Warsaw, you haven't. We don't work in shops anymore, we leave that for the Poles now. Shop work is bellow us cosmopolitan Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Michael Guineys are on red alert, They have all members of staff rostered on!!