Is tomorrow "culchies descend on dublin" day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭ooter

womoma wrote: »
    What makes me laugh is that there are still people who live outside Dublin who have chips on their shoulders while most people from Dublin couldn't give a toss if you're from Cork, Longford, or Ballycobegarra.

Seriously, get over it.

fair play mate,couldn't agree more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'd like to congratulate my fellow Dubs on the successful campaign aimed at discouraging these gormless freckled tinkers culchies from infecting our city often.
    We have successfully managed to keep their infiltration down to small numbers barring one day a year.

So as usual, batten down the hatches and avoid town at all costs.

If you must go into town, make sure to avoid the obvious 'culchie day to Dublin' hotspots.
    This includes all major shopping streets and centers, [SIZE=-1]Busáras[/SIZE], Heuston Station, but highest of all on the list - Supermacs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

*urinates all over the thread*

should make the place smell a bit more like home for the dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

What are yis all talking about? Our country cousins don't need to travel to Dublin to shop tomorrow, they already live here, out numbering us 1000 to 1*. Ethnic cleansing is almost complete. Dub hating culchies populate the city they hate already. If anything it will be the Dubs returning to their old home for the day from their exile in (kind of) affordable house towns, built on fields in Cavan and Roscommon.

*source for figure is from Bertie ahern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

There are actually far better shops in the rest of the country

suuuure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Redjeep! wrote: »
    No, what makes me laugh is that all Dubs seem to think that Dublin is such a large sophisticated city....

nail -> head

Redjeep! wrote: »
    No, what makes me laugh is that all Dubs seem to think that Dublin is such a large sophisticated city....

To be fair, Culchies think Taco Fries are sophisticated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    I'm noticing far more Dubs (especially this year for some reason) leaving there oul' comfort zone (ie. The Pale) and tavelling weshhht for shopping etc.
    If by West you mean Blanchardstown, then yes.

As this time of year approaches, Blanchardstown SC becomes like a scene out of Mad Mad III.

Lots of us Dubs going North for the shop, and I don't mean Newry.

Ashbourne is a far more relaxing place to shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭condra

Mordeth wrote: »

Says the guy from Carlow. Dude I've been to Carlow and it smells like a dead rats colon. Who you tryin to kid?

To be fair, Culchies think Taco Fries are sophisticated.

LOL!

Dey have dem whatsitcalled up in de big schmoke, taco ... fries.. like in America or something. My-Hee craic like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭condra

Here they commmeeee!!

Brian___Geoff_Ermine_St_-_enlarged_-_450w_-_low_res.JPG

Run for your livessss!! Save yourself!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

from kildare... tis almost dec 8th, and... while i'm a dub by no means, tis traditional for dub sto seke shopin soon enough, and ehll, im not a dub, but i live near enough to it to be albe to stri,me wiothin all the main pplaces with0ou adherecne to my stock values in between

mostly.. .shoes... feck em...

clothes fekc em...

pennys in genrelall... well hello...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

narco wrote: »
    from kildare... tis almost dec 8th, and... while i'm a dub by no means, tis traditional for dub sto seke shopin soon enough, and ehll, im not a dub, but i live near enough to it to be albe to stri,me wiothin all the main pplaces with0ou adherecne to my stock values in between

mostly.. .shoes... feck em...

clothes fekc em...

pennys in genrelall... well hello...
    LOL ... date with Jack D, Narco? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

they like to get a headstart on de day, they have da dinner at 6.30 in the morning :D........Yeooooooow !
    Reminds me of this

Things Culchies Like !!

01) A nice bit a ham.
    02) Buttered biscuits.
    03) Diggin Holes.
    04) Saying tis too cold to snow
    05) A dinner dance
    06) Tayto Cheese & Onion
    07) Countin money.
    08) A stretch in d'evenings
    09) Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner
    10) Starting conversations with 'Do ya know whos dead ?'
    11) Pretending to like Harp or Pioneer
    12) Marietta biskits.
    13) Drivin inta poholes with the tractor
    14) Shania Twain.
    15) Heifers
    16) Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual
    17) Steel toe caps.
    18) A big bowl of stew
    19) Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA Matches
    20) Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something.
    21) The smell of silage.
    22) a door stop of Slice-Your-Own Loaf.
    23) Work Clothes
    24) A bottle of mineral.
    25) Fighting with d'neighbours
    26) Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered
    27) 'The' Hurling and Futball.
    28) Bakin n cabbage.
    29) Price of calves.
    30) Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae.
    31) Sayin' things like 'Well Holy God ... will ya look at that'
    32) Dirty number plates so they cant get caught with the speed cameras
    33) The Fear of Change.
    34) A nice bit of Barnbrac with a cup a Strong Tay
    35) Drinkin tay off a saucer.
    36) Building stone walls.
    37) Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food
    38) Flowery Spuds
    39) Talking about the long evenin's
    40) A good blackthorn walkin stick.
    41) Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.
    42) The replay of the Sunday Game on Monday
    43) Talkin bout machinery.
    44) Sayin' things like 'Arra fer Jaysus Sake'
    45) A good read of Buy n Sell.
    46) Winnin a tukey at the cards.
    47) Scandal, as long as its about other people.
    48) A Gud bail a Turf, because dat Centril heatin's only a wemins ting.
    49) Soda farls.
    50) Sponge 'n Custurt
    51) talking outside after mass
    so funny, so true !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

no they all seem to go to liffey bleedin' valley now

I was there last year and a swarm of them descended

"ah mammy, there's no farm supplies shop"
    "beggorah, you're right Johnny. we'd best be goin back so, we have to be up at halfpast the four to milk the cows"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

Intheknow, I never realised I was a culchie 'til I saw your list :D

In fairness though, I think people prefer to go to New York instead of Dublin nowadays. Dublin just doesn't cut it anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Mordeth wrote: »

Best reply ever! nice one! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

phasers wrote: »
    "beggorah, you're right Johnny. we'd best be goin back so, we have to be up at halfpast the four to milk the cows"

to supply the milk for your dub-a-lin latayes, cap-a-cheenoas, frapees etc :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Right lads I'm going in! Wish me luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Just a heads up for our country friends, if upon your arrival in our fair capital, you initially think you've taken a wrong turn and have ended up in Warsaw, you haven't. We don't work in shops anymore, we leave that for the Poles now. Shop work is bellow us cosmopolitan Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Michael Guineys are on red alert, They have all members of staff rostered on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Kids: Adults!
    Adults: Kids!

Lovejoy: Kids! You've had your fun,
    now we've had our fill.
    Homer: Yeah! You're only here 'cause Marge forgot her pill.
    Wiggum: Kids, you're all just scandalizing, vandalizing
    punks.
    Krusty: Channel-hopping, Ritalin-popping monkeys!
    Please don't quit the fan-club!
    Marge: Kids! I can nag and nag 'til my hair turns blue!
    Edna: Kids! You bum my smokes and don't say 'thank you'!
    Rod & Todd: Why can't you be like we are?
    Adults: Oh, what a bunch of brats!
    Moe: We oughta drown you just like cats!
    Bart: Adults! You run our lives like you're Colonel Klink!
    Nelson: Adults! You strut around like your farts don't
    stink!
    Lisa: Adults! You're such a drooling, boring, boozing
    boring bunch. Surly, meany, three-martini lunchers
    Ralph: I just ate a thumbtack!
    Milhouse: Adults! They're always telling us to ...
    Abe: ... shut your traps!
    Jasper: Eh ... we're fed up with all you whipper-snaps!
    Elderlies: We're tryin' to get some sleep here, it's almost six-
    fifteen!
    What's the matter with ...
    Adults: Don't you treat us like ...
    Kids: Can't you just lay off ...
    Elderlies: We're sick of all of you!
    All: Kids ... to ... day!

(ie this thread would be a lot more interesting if you could bicker in the form of a song).

Wait, so if people are going to Dublin for the day, it might just mean it'd be a little bit quieter in work.

Woo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

intheknow wrote: »
    Things Culchies Like !!

01) A nice bit a ham.
    02) Buttered biscuits.
    03) Diggin Holes.
    04) Saying tis too cold to snow
    05) A dinner dance
    06) Tayto Cheese & Onion
    07) Countin money.
    08) A stretch in d'evenings
    09) Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner
    10) Starting conversations with 'Do ya know whos dead ?'
    11) Pretending to like Harp or Pioneer
    12) Marietta biskits.
    13) Drivin inta poholes with the tractor
    14) Shania Twain.
    15) Heifers
    16) Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual
    17) Steel toe caps.
    18) A big bowl of stew
    19) Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA Matches
    20) Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something.
    21) The smell of silage.
    22) a door stop of Slice-Your-Own Loaf.
    23) Work Clothes
    24) A bottle of mineral.
    25) Fighting with d'neighbours
    26) Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered
    27) 'The' Hurling and Futball.
    28) Bakin n cabbage.
    29) Price of calves.
    30) Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae.
    31) Sayin' things like 'Well Holy God ... will ya look at that'
    32) Dirty number plates so they cant get caught with the speed cameras
    33) The Fear of Change.
    34) A nice bit of Barnbrac with a cup a Strong Tay
    35) Drinkin tay off a saucer.
    36) Building stone walls.
    37) Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food
    38) Flowery Spuds
    39) Talking about the long evenin's
    40) A good blackthorn walkin stick.
    41) Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.
    42) The replay of the Sunday Game on Monday
    43) Talkin bout machinery.
    44) Sayin' things like 'Arra fer Jaysus Sake'
    45) A good read of Buy n Sell.
    46) Winnin a tukey at the cards.
    47) Scandal, as long as its about other people.
    48) A Gud bail a Turf, because dat Centril heatin's only a wemins ting.
    49) Soda farls.
    50) Sponge 'n Custurt
    51) talking outside after mass

Classic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

womoma wrote: »
    What makes me laugh is that there are still people who live outside Dublin who have chips on their shoulders

Oh and Dubs don't? Hahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. This thread was started initially insulting people who are not from Dublin, so why shouldn't we react? Doesn't mean we have any sort of chips on our shoulders. I, for one, enjoy socialising and shopping in Dublin on rare occasions and have said, since I was a little girl, and still stand by it, that not in a million years, would I live/work in the kip (or especially raise a chld in it). You all give out about how many "culchies" live in Dublin, but have you noticed how many Dubs are moving to the "country" for a BETTER quality of life - *shock horror* I think yer all jealous because we don't have to have alarms on our houses, we don't have to shower twice a day to wash the cities grime off ourselves and we don't have to sit in gridlock traffic every day to make our way to work. We dont have to listen to sirens going off every 5 minutes because some junkie is after over-dosing. We don't have to pay outrageous prices/rent for horrible houses in horrible areas. The sooner Dubs realise and admit that they're actually far worse off in the quality of their life than us country-folk the better! Jealousy is a terrible thing! :) We breath fresh air, we don't have gridlock traffic on our way to work (I travel 6 miles to work in 7 minutes from drive-way to car-park) and yes, I sometimes travel across to Dublin to shop for a day or stay overnight and attend a concert or something, but it's a day out/weekend away and it's enjoyable because you don't have to look at the dive every day of your life. I breath a sigh of relief every time I leave the place, it's such a horrible stressed-out, stinking city eurgh. And good luck to all who descend on it's city-centre and/or shopping centres today (dubs and "culchies" alike) because it will be bedlam. believe it or not, we have 4 Dubs arrivig here in a couple of hours to get away from it for the weekend!!

What would you prefer?
    while most people from Dublin couldn't give a toss if you're from Cork, Longford, or Ballycobegarra.

No, of course not, that is why this thread was started with the title "Is tomorrow "culchies descend on dublin" day? "
    Seriously, get over it

Get over what? This thread was started by gereralisations about "country" folk, people who live outside of the capital.

Personally, I wouldn't go shopping on the 8th December no matter where I am. I live outside a rather big town (some people call it a city but it isn't) and I wouldn't go near it for the amount of hill-billies that descend on it on 08/12 every single year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I've no objection to the annual bog-trotters outing.
    We just need to make sure that they all go home afterwards.

................................................The award for taking things too seriously goes too l3LoWnA!

..............................................................._______________________
    ...............................................................!!!***Congratulations***!!!

..............................Please collect your €50 Supermacs voucher from the GPO upon your arrival in our fair city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

I (not by my choice, its a college thing) live in Dublin and this thread shows my BIGGEST hate of living there. How many of you native Dubs have ever lived outside of the city? So many of you judge everyone else, but have absolutely no basis for it. Ive lived in four different counties, two of them cities and Dublin is not and never will be my number one choice. The quality of living, cost of living, nightlife etc is so much better in other parts. Its so sickening to listen to people slag you about being from somewhere, when they are *sometimes* completely uncultured themselves.

And back to the topic...Let people shop if they want to shop. Get over it! Its sad that you care so much.

Jeapy wrote: »
    I (not by my choice, its a college thing) live in Dublin and this thread shows my BIGGEST hate of living there. How many of you native Dubs have ever lived outside of the city? So many of you judge everyone else, but have absolutely no basis for it. Ive lived in four different counties, two of them cities and Dublin is not and never will be my number one choice. The quality of living, cost of living, nightlife etc is so much better in other parts. Its so sickening to listen to people slag you about being from somewhere, when they are *sometimes* completely uncultured themselves.

And back to the topic...Let people shop if they want to shop. Get over it! Its sad that you care so much.

Unlucky Jeapy. The award for taking things too seriously has already been given out. Please feel free to try again next year. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Unlucky Jeapy. The award for taking things too seriously has already been given out. Please feel free to try again next year. ;)

Maybe I wasn't clear enough when I warned yous about telling the wimmins about the interweb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Chiaki

Urban Legends :Culchie day
    The day when none of us as kids were allowed into town not even with parental supervision. Culchies were to descend on the nations capital like flies on a picnic, swarming in mud -encrusted boots jumping off gigantic green tractors to trail through o connell st. God help you if you worked on culchie day in town, culchies coming up to you, you thinking your translation is ok, you watched killinaskully before, you know you can make out some words...
    Culchie: How're'ya d'ya'ave any'adoes tings dare in the winda

Killinaskully, glenroe, they all lied.... culchies werent anything like on tv. no the were true bogmonsters. paying in cash, big wads of it dwarfed in their calloused, turf digging hands

Worst thing of all?

THERE REAL!?!?!?!?