Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gym Totty!

• 30-11-2007 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭

I was just wondering what way people think when they are in the Gym. This is for both Male and Female posters.

When your in the gym do you check out the opposite sex. I know in my gym both Male and female people go around trying to look their best and get some attention. Sometimes sacraficing excercise.

Can anyone shed any light on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The gyms I frequent usually have a more serious crowd and red faced, sweaty girls usually don't get my attention. That said, of course there are lookers there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

I check out the opposite sex no matter where I am, can't see why I would stop in the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I check out the opposite sex no matter where I am, can't see why I would stop in the gym.

Good point.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

My girlfriend complains that if she goes to the gym alone she will get odd remarks from the assortment of freaks who hang out there.

One guy told her a barbell was too heavy for her, probably as she was rowing / pressing more than him. Another fellow told her it was "so nice to see you again", plus many similar stupid chatty uppy lines.

She finds these comments annoying. Usually they come from the kind of guys who spend all the time bicep curling and posing in the mirrors, rather than the more serious lifters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I try not to as much as possible because it distracts me from what I am doing, not smart getting distracted when you're lifting something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

have to agree, I don't know why I would stop perving while I am in the gym. That said I generally look a state and I never let it get in the way of lifting. generally I don't go to the gym to look good in it more to look good out of it (actually that is a bit of a lie I generally don't go to the gym to look good, I go just to lift heavy stuff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Biff11

Yeah there was a girl in the gym last night all in lycra. Amazing body, small little belly though. Make up on and hair nicely done as if she had got it doen especially for gym. She walked around the free weights area over and over again doing very little. I was wondering how she had such a nice fit body when she seems not interested in gym at all.

Personally when i see a girl that works hard in the gym and you can see results of her workouts i would look more.

Is there any womens points of view???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

It's been known to happen, espically when doing long sessions on the treadmill and the ladies aerobics class is on in the hall the gym overlooks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Biff11 wrote: »
    Is there any womens points of view???

well I know my girlfriend and her mam don't mind the odd perv over a fit body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

If you go at half six in the morning, you get the diehards, who are always super fit. Some of the women in my gym are amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

BossArky wrote: »
    My girlfriend complains that if she goes to the gym alone she will get odd remarks from the assortment of freaks who hang out there.

One guy told her a barbell was too heavy for her, probably as she was rowing / pressing more than him. Another fellow told her it was "so nice to see you again", plus many similar stupid chatty uppy lines.

She finds these comments annoying. Usually they come from the kind of guys who spend all the time bicep curling and posing in the mirrors, rather than the more serious lifters.

I used to getthe same thing all the time.

Lads trying to give me advice when (not trying to be big headed) my form was waaay better than theirs to begin with.

There's a few guys who'll make comments like 'God, do you ever stop??' or 'do you ever go home??' and other stupid things like that. Trying to get a converstaion started but I never have any of it. I don't go to the gym for the social scene, fair enough if a group of people wanna have a catch-up there thats fine but I don't like when I'm brought into the convo.

As for the looking your best going into the gym,I don't leave my house without make-up, well at least foudation and mascara so of course I wear it to the gym as well. Though its not like I spend ages in the changing rooms beforehand putting it on(like a LOT of women do), I'd normally be going to the gym straight from college or in the evening so I'd have make-up on from the day and I'm not gonna bother taking it off befor I work-out.

And to the checking out of other boys, see paragraph about socialising in the gym. Not into it at all but even if I was, I have my own boyfriend there most of the time to check out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

of course I look, I'm not blind but it doesn't effect my work out or I would never approach them and disrupt their's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Hmm i must be a minger or something, cant say i ever get hit on in any of the gyms i have been a member in. In pinnacle people say hello and stuff and some times I have the odd conversation with people usually offering advice or something or just saying hello but really thats the extent of it. Doesnt bother me unduly tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

Jumpy wrote: »
    If you go at half six in the morning, you get the diehards, who are always super fit. Some of the women in my gym are amazing.

shush;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

ali.c wrote: »
    Hmm i must be a minger or something, cant say i ever get hit on in any of the gyms i have been a member in.

Or you could be very attractive and its a bit intimidating for people :D:D Just a thought, and something I know alot of lads are like,

The gym I am in has a mix of yummy mummies and proper hardworking fitness people, but as a whole too many spend waaay too much time staring at other people

Anyway, a girl that is there focusing on what she is doing is a lot more attractive than one that is strutting around, just my 2 cents

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Malteaser! wrote: »
    There's a few guys who'll make comments like 'God, do you ever stop??' or 'do you ever go home??' and other stupid things like that. Trying to get a converstaion started but I never have any of it. I don't go to the gym for the social scene, fair enough if a group of people wanna have a catch-up there thats fine but I don't like when I'm brought into the convo.

You have got the ultimate slap in the face retort for those guys:

Sorry, I've got a boyfriend, who also happens to be world jnr powerlifting champ. He's that guy over there deadlifting Australia up out of the southern hemisphere.

See what kind of looks they give you after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

gabgab wrote: »
    Or you could be very attractive and its a bit intimidating for people :D:D Just a thought, and something I know alot of lads are like,
    Lol, i prefer your version :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

i hate gym totty, whenever there are hot women around i feel i have to work harder+faster+longer.
    its such a pain in the ass.

eg, im on the threadmill having been on there 50 minutes, about to slow down, get a drink and then move on to something else. along comes some gorgeous blond who starts using the one beside me....... i cant leave until she does.

yes i am that petty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I'm sorry but the women mentioned above who do their hair and makeup to go to the gym? What's the story with them? When I go to the gym, I work hard and therefore look a bit carp. If I don't, I'm not working hard enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I've noticed a fair few posers in my gym also, to be honest I think you're going to get them in every gym.

In answer to the original question yeah I do sometimes check out the opposite sex, but in fairness to most people here I think there's a difference between checking someone out and leering / perveing at them.

I've also hear that a certain amount of cruising goes on:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

ah ugly John,

Your not one of them are ya?? I'm a lad and I hate when lads do that too, like if your doing something like intervals on a treadmill and a lad gets on just as you start one he goes banana's beside ya,

Its gas.....

im not That bad....i just try not to be quite as lazy as i otherwise would be....i suppose its good because it makes me work harder.

but back on topic, i do check out gym totty (also swim totty), but i would never try and start some cheezy conversation and work the moves on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Scottty2Hottty

uglyjohn wrote: »
    but back on topic, i do check out gym totty (also swim totty), but i would never try and start some cheezy conversation and work the moves on them.

Do people still 'work the moves' in this day and age??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 ciggs

I'm sorry but the women mentioned above who do their hair and makeup to go to the gym? What's the story with them? When I go to the gym, I work hard and therefore look a bit carp. If I don't, I'm not working hard enough.

I agree with this totally. I always look like crap when I am in the gym - it is not a fashon show but some ppl think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There's plenty of the 'yummy mummy' gym goers doing a fairly lazy 15 mins on the treadmill/bike and crosstrainer in my gym (Westwood Leopardstown) but tbh I'd rarely notice a girl during a workout and as anyone who's ever trained with me can tell you, I don't exactly make an effort with my own appearance in the gym (unless ten year old freebie t-shirts covered in sweat count as fashion?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I'm one of those girls, kind of. I work in an upscale office which is right next to my gym. Part of my job is looking nice everyday - stockings, heels, hair done up, etc. I go in the evenings, right after work, change from my work clothes to my gym clothes in the locker room, pull my hair back and go work out.
    If I'm going on the weekends, then I don't bother with myself as I'll just be taking a shower right afterwards.
    I hardly ever talk to anyone in the gym. You can't help but notice some of the good looking guys, but I'm not there to socialize. And I usually have my ipod on, so I'm in my own little world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Haha, that's just what I was thinking!! :D

Can't help but notice if theres a rather nice looking young lady hovering around, but a quick glance is all they get. I'm there to work, not gaze.

what do the kids call it these days?
    i thought i was down with the hip lingo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

jsb wrote: »
    well I know my girlfriend and her mam don't mind the odd perv over a fit body
    Yeah a girl in work used to always be talking about leering at lads in her gym, she was great looking herself and a vicious flirt & flaunter, probably caused a few accidents in that gym!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I've said it before, and I'll say it again.

Threads like this really annoy the hell out of me.

If you're in any way serious about training then I thought you would be there to work, not check people out. Fair enough if you see someone and give them a second look, but if you actually go over to them in the middle of a workout and distract them too then in my book that makes you a jackass.

Sure there's alot of people there who only go for the social aspect and the chance of picking someone up. If you're that person then fine, whatever. But if you go over to someone who's actually working hard and doesn't look like they want attention off you then you deserve a smack of a dumbbell (and wearing makeup or looking nice does not automatically mean they want attention), again in my opinion.

In my experience most girls find it hard enough to break free of their fear of being stared at and make themselves get out there and do some serious training in the weight room and they don't want the added attention that a hormonally charged male might be giving them simply because he thinks it's his right.

My views on this have stood since before my girlfriend joined one of the gyms I'm a member of. I'm even MORE aware of thie behaviour now. Maybe I feel this way because when I go training I actually have clear cut goals and am all about business. But whatever, if some people are allowed think it's ok to leer, then I should be allowed to think they're ass hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Yeah it's annoying alright. Both the people posing and looking for attention and the people staring at others. I think most people prefer other people not to look at them when they are training. It makes me uncomfortable if I think someone is looking at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭light123

Looking and short looking, it's human nature, get used to it.

Yes, people can be complete asses but try not to let this bother you, pervs, leeches and stupid comments, try and give them a good put down, if not the best thing is to ignore them completely, ignoring someone is the worst thing to do.

But looking is alright, we are after all human, try and understand this. We will not be similar in thoughs or beliefs. Leave people to themselves. And try and get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I must be the youngest person in my gym !! :D

It's savage though, I usually hit the cross trainer beside the weights area so i can look at the men lifting....ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I'm digressing a little, but also annoying are people who stare at girls doing weights, as if they shouldn't be or something. This happened the couple of times my gf did squats in the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

if you dont look like crap,your probably not working hard enough

That being said yes i check out EVERYONE in the gym,guys and girls..why not, and being checked out in the gym doesnt really bother me either as long as no conversation is involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

BossArky wrote: »
    You have got the ultimate slap in the face retort for those guys:

Sorry, I've got a boyfriend, who also happens to be world jnr powerlifting champ. He's that guy over there deadlifting Australia up out of the southern hemisphere.

See what kind of looks they give you after that!

hahahah, I love it!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ya a glance hear and their but ffs,do not bother people.Personally i would not like to chat up some girl who is reeking of sweat and out of breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭peejy

if its in front of me, i wont look away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Hanley wrote: »
    If you're in any way serious about training then I thought you would be there to work, not check people out.

One does not preclude the other. TBH, /very/ little of my time is spent in a "normal" gym but I wouldn't avoid looking at nice looking ladies there when I am working out. I'm sure I look like a horrible sweaty mess. :D I've spoken to men and women in the sauna and men in the pool but not either in the actual gym part (except people that I actually know).

I have to say though, if I were working out, and a woman approached me to talk to me, I wouldn't consider it a come on unless she was blatant.

Is polite conversation ruled out these days? A come on assumed?

Is it rude to talk to someone in the gym generally? Male or female?

Khannie wrote: »
    Is polite conversation ruled out these days? A come on assumed?

Is it rude to talk to someone in the gym generally? Male or female?

Don't try and make my point into something it isn't.

I thought it was pretty obvious that this thread was about coming on to others in the gym. You've seen plenty of posts about how people have done it, or attempted to.

A guy attempting to show a girl what to do when the girl has better form than the guy, who doesn't even know what he's doing might not be a come on, but it is an attempt for him to flex his back and beat his chest. Do you think he would have gone up to another guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Don't try and make my point into something it isn't.

Actually, my questions were entirely separate. :) I didn't mean to imply that they were related to your point, but I see that I did. They were just questions about gyms in general. Off topic for sure mind you, but threads like this tend to have the occasional wander when you get past the 30th post.

edit:
    A guy attempting to show a girl what to do when the girl has better form than the guy, who doesn't even know what he's doing might not be a come on, but it is an attempt for him to flex his back and beat his chest. Do you think he would have gone up to another guy?

No I don't think he would have gone up to another guy. I think he was being a wanker, or it was a come on. No question.

edit: I would like to know though if polite conversation is out in the gym...ye know...banter. Do people find it very disruptive?

further editing: I don't go to the gym looking for banter or socialising. It's just a general question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

Perhaps it's just the environment and gyms I've worked in, but many if not all, of my female clients have complained to me about the way they have been treated by male members of the gym when I wasn't there.

I'm lucky and privileged to work with some very attractive women and I've seen it happen even when I'm standing there working with them - guys come over and try to distract them, make conversation or make crass, rude and ignorant remarks in attempts to be flirtatious. Perhaps that's acceptable for some, but certainly not for my trainee's. They're there to workout and train hard, not to put up with and defend themselves from lecherous men, who can't take a hint.

And it's not just women who suffer that. There have been two occasion in the last month alone where I was harassed by female members of one gym. On one occasion it was quite serious, I was practicing good mornings with a reasonably heavy weight and a woman came along and slapped me on the ass.

Now that may have been funny and flirtatious from her point of view - but it was stupid and dangerous in mine and I was furious. I could have jerked suddenly as a reaction and injured myself or dropped the weight and injured someone else. That's not appropriate conduct in a training environment.

The fact is their is a huge difference between common sense and decency and what passes for flirtation in modern gyms. Frankly the manner in which some people conduct themselves disgusts me and it displays a fundamental lack of respect for others.

Unfortunately this does effect women more so then men - and it does create an intimidating and uncomfortable atmosphere and discourages many women from training with free weights etc. But as I said earlier this isn't truly an argument about finding other people attractive, it's about the manner in which many conduct themselves in that atmosphere, and personally I find it lacking.

Khannie wrote: »
    Actually, my questions were entirely separate. :) I didn't mean to imply that they were related to your point, but I see that I did. They were just questions about gyms in general. Off topic for sure mind you, but threads like this tend to have the occasional wander when you get past the 30th post.

edit:

No I don't think he would have gone up to another guy. I think he was being a wanker, or it was a come on. No question.

edit: I would like to know though if polite conversation is out in the gym...ye know...banter.

Haha fair enough, looks like we agree so.

A bit of convo never hurt anyone, but personally i draw the line if it's slowing down my workout or someone is hogging something that I want to use unneccessairly because of all their jibber-jabba (points to anyone who knows what show is being referenced).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

It's hard not to when facing in the general direction of the cross-trainers whilst suppressing ones lunch from returning after a dose of pull-ups!

Fnarr fnarr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Boru. wrote: »
    That's not appropriate conduct in a training environment.

Im pretty sure thats not appropriate any where :eek::eek::eek:

(I am so green with envy :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I'd only have a look during sets. In the 2 years i've been going the gym over here i've never talked to any women. Just a glance at the good looking ones now and then.

But when i lived in San Diego the gym was a great place for picking up women. But i think thats just down to the difference in society between Ireland and the US. There's more of a dating scene over there and women will even approach you or invite you to say something to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

But when i lived in San Diego the gym was a great place for picking up women. But i think thats just down to the difference in society between Ireland and the US. There's more of a dating scene over there and women will even approach you or invite you to say something to them

Just another one of the great things about the States - why oh why can't it be the same over here??!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

thing called culture:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Damn Irish culture:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭rainglow

That being said yes i check out EVERYONE in the gym,guys and girls..why not, and being checked out in the gym doesnt really bother me either as long as no conversation is involved

I'm the same - when I'm taking breaks between sets or walking around I always have a gander around the place. This is probably because my gym (Westwood Sandymount) seems to have a far higher proportion of hot people than any other I've ever been a member of! I'd never speak to anyone though, and would die if anybody spoke to me as I always look like crap in the gym.

I never have to worry about being chatted up though, as I'm either red-faced and gasping in a spin class or going hell for leather on the treadmill with sweat flying off me. Sexy :D