Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Berget 6

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

IN the airport now waiting waiting waiting.

Ah no officer its a toy AAAAAAAAAAAAaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Ah, getting sorted in the hostel now. My god the receptionist is hot.

Anyway, Dublin airport was an "interesting" experience which I'll write about later. Need food.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Longsword_CZ

I just call to SAS office desk to declare in advance my AS equipment. That lady have no even Scooby Doo what´t "airsoft gun", so I spend half hour explain, "No, ma´am, it´s just look like real gun, but it´s, in fact, toy." "Yes, it´s full metal, it can look in x-ray like real gun, but don´t worry, it´s harmless." "Yes, ammo will be separate and mags as well." "No, I don´t need any kind of license for holding this sport equipment" "Yes, it´s really sport" "Yes, I planned have this in both way." ...
    Now I´m worry that in Dublin will wait for me SWAT or something like this, and arrest me for rest of my live, even after reincarnation ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

LOL., interesting situation., :D

Good luck to all the lads in berget this year, look forward to hearing all the stories when yas get back., hopefully i'll be down for this next year too., :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

currently sitting on the train on the way to berget eating smoked salmon and browsing boards on my pda, so far we have made it with just a few dislocated sholders from lugging about 2 tons of gear.

Dublin airport ... where to begin with this?

I turned up just after 9am for a 12.05pm flight (I was taking no chances), didn't know anyone else was in the airport and went straight to checkin. Check-in desk hadn't a scooby about any firearms-charge, etc. so called over his superior who was satisfied with everything and away I went to oversize baggage.

I explained to the woman that it wasn't real and was an airsoft device. Her response? "What?" So I explained it was a bit like paintball only no paint. She spotted the three pistol mags and asked if they were CO2 canisters so I explained that they were gas so not quite CO2. Apparently y0u're only allowed two paintball C02 canisters per person on flights. Mind you, paintball C02 canisters tend to be quite big by comparison to a USP Compact mag. The woman wanted to take one of them off me although at my insistence she did talk to her supervisor again but he insisted that no more than two paintball C02 canisters per person, even after I suggested removing the valve on one and opening it to the air.

So I asked if I could speak with him. Not a problem.

Lo and behold, an airport police lad turns up and quizzically looks over everything in front of him. Looks at the mags. And then goes straight for the jugular;

"what's the joule rating on the pistol? What's the joule rating on this? [the M60]"

At this point I'm thinking "am I out of the frying pan here and into the fire?". He wasn't interested in the mags at all despite the original misunderstanding. Things got a little fuzzy and he wanted to know where I'd checked in and then he explained that he wanted to figure out what happened between check-in and oversize baggage. His concern was that nobody had escorted me (as supposed to). In the meantime, Gardai have turned up too. So after they all had a good inspection of bits and bobs, I was asked who took ammo off me (tied in with the original airport police guy's concerns) and the woman Garda (and she was cute I must admit) asked if she could see it (since it was in another bag) and that she was going to run a background check on me.

Whilst this was going on, the other lads turned up and I was asked if they were with me since I'd mentioned more people coming in. I think somewhere at the back of the Gardai's minds they were thinking "I'm not doing this 8 times ... " so matters were wrapped up with myself and the lads checked in their stuff and away we went.

At Stockholm airport the guys were waiting around for one or two of us to pick up the last of our bags and an airport police woman spotted a gun shaped bag and we were all ushered into a customs area to open our cases. By contrast the Swedish police just wanted a look and went so far as to take one or two of the AEGs to a backroom to "show the other guys".

We found a pretty impressive airsoft gear shop in Stockholm courtesy of jinko who has been here a couple of days before us and found it.

Now we're (well, part of the group) is on a high-speed train in 1st class (with wi-fi) heading north to Sundsvall. More later :)

Final note. This country is stunning!!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus talk about getting the run around in Dublin airport!!

Great report keep em coming. The modern battlefield should have wireless access points LOL!

Ay Carramba, I´m just waiting for bus to Dublin Airport ...
    If I´ll be in same situation as You, lads, I´m doomed, cause my English ...I hope, that yesterday and today served same person ...
    See You in Main Safe zone tomorrow morning!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Jeez thats some story, bet you were cr*pping yourself thinking it was a day in the cells for ya for a min huh., :D

If I´ll be in same situation as You, lads, I´m doomed, cause my English ...I hope, that yesterday and today served same person ...
    See You in Main Safe zone tomorrow morning!

I mentioned there'd be maybe a few coming in today to the airport as well as those who were to check in after me yesterday so you should be ok. At least some of the staff are aware of what's what. The airport police guy was fairly on the ball although I was confused as to what was actually going on for about 20 mins.

He explained it all to me and why he was looking at things the way he was and was professional about it.

vtec wrote: »
    Jeez thats some story, bet you were cr*pping yourself thinking it was a day in the cells for ya for a min huh., :D

I briefly thought "oh sh*t" when I saw the airport police lad. After that it became a waiting game mixed with questions and answers.

Bottom line, the airport police & Gardai aren't out to get airsoft players. Appear helpful, calm, and patient at all times and you'll get out of there in short order.

Mil-sim ftw! Learnt a lot about tactics and movement from our platoon leader (former TA) and others and it all got put to both the test and good use. He commented that by day two he no longer saw two seperate Irish groups, but one section/squad - everyone picked up on what he said, orders, and mission objectives and worked well together.

I surprised myself at being able to carry my M60 plus full kit (pistol, mags, rations, ammo, 3L of water, etc.) over long distances over some very demanding terrain in intense heat and sunshine, and still be able to sprint into a fight.

Some insane firefights. Great stuff. Pictures to be posted later. Too tired to type anything else right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

sounds like you's had some good craic cant wait to hear more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭NMC

jeez this sounds amazing. Definately be going next year. Keep em coming lemming!

Gatling wrote: »
    sounds like you's had some good craic cant wait to hear more

Everyone seemed to enjoy it :)

One other thing ....

I was roof-gunner with the '60 on a section drop-off, platoon rendezvous and extraction. It was so damn sweet :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Lemming wrote: »
    Everyone seemed to enjoy it :)

One other thing ....

I was roof-gunner with the '60 on a section drop-off, platoon rendezvous and extraction. It was so damn sweet :D
    Yep i don't hate you at all for that, not jealous at all me lol :rolleyes: Hope to see lots of pics/videos!

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET should have been there damn crete

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

Turns out the non-airsofting trip I'd planned for the end of May in Stockholm went tits up for reason I won't go into and had to cancel. Lost about £300 worth of stuff I'd booked such as flights and so forth.
    If I'd known or even had the faintest suspicion I wouldn't get going, I'd never have bothered in the first place and gone to Berget instead. :(

Ah well, there's always next year. Glad to hear you guys enjoyed yourselves. Looking forward to seeing the pics and hearing tales of daring deeds deftly done!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Oh man I really wish I had been there. Sounds like some serious fun :)

Howdy Lads

Just relaxing in the hotel now. Still trying to wash the inground dirt off.

That was the best week i have had in years.

4 hours sleep each night and on the move/fighting all the rest of the time.

Here's a pic of the Irish contingent India 1 Section 1

2117326bf1d7f4ecf04412293f3c996fbddf22f.jpg

Here is all of India 1 so Irish, Finish & Israel

211732914f5b9a9f2e8c5839590e6ce2672df8f.jpg

All i can say is the next big Milsim event thas on im there :) HOORAA

• Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

looks like good fun and went well, im looking forward to going next year :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,981 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I got sweet f all sleep, I walked miles and got a large amount of blisters on my feet and I had the best time of my life.

"THIS IS NATO"
    "HOUOO HOUOO HOUOO"

I don't think I'm going back to normal airsoft after playing proper milsim.

MERC FOREVER!!!!!! :-D

What I enjoyed: Lots of gunfight against poor NATO loosers (especially late morning attack just before 3:00AM), absolutely stunning white nights, pure wild nature, team spirit.
    What I hated: Tons of waiting, we spend large amount of time just waiting until Berget Crew "open" new mission. Specially Saturday "twist" when NATO atack Merc base, Mercs attack SRP and SRP attacked NATO base. Of course nobody home :-(
    What was fun: Great time with lot of good players. Russia players told us all time Slovakians (something like tell You English), but in battle they call us for help no mater on nationality ;-)
    What make me crazy: Some cheaters (especially SRP) in Friday and Saturday.
    All together: I´m sorry that I don´t meet You, lads. When I was in NATO base, I asked for You, but Italian soldiers was to scared of me, that they don´t allowed meet each others ;-) I just regret, that I don´t take my Glock with me and don´t hide him under vest ... I´ll have five clear shots as a prisoner ... Never ever let Italian guard Little Guantanamo again! :-D
    For next year I need a car, my foot are shortened for ten inch, ´cause lots of miles every day ;-)

It wasn´t best MilSim, even LARP game what I ever play, but I enjoy it and I´m heading for next time.

P.S. In Dublin Airport we spend half hour explaining what we have in gun-cases, but biggest problem was in Arlanda, where they lost my gun ... luckily they find him just before game start ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

So tired, So in need of a shower, So desperate for a normal toilet, so badly need a good meal, So looking forward to sleeping in my own bed, SO going again next year.

Think that sums it up

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭jinko

a new a deadly weapon has made its way into airsoft. tried and tested at berget the chemical attack :)

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=FCWMO9f9TDo

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Conkey

Gatling wrote: »

Strained me voice asking for a change direction of fire from the 50cal gunner!
    Could not here me!:eek:
    a new a deadly weapon has made its way into airsoft. tried and tested at berget the chemical attack

Section down!! "The gas man - oh god the GAS!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,981 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

All together: I´m sorry that I don´t meet You, lads. When I was in NATO base, I asked for You, but Italian soldiers was to scared of me, that they don´t allowed meet each others ;-) I just regret, that I don´t take my Glock with me and don´t hide him under vest ... I´ll have five clear shots as a prisoner ... Never ever let Italian guard Little Guantanamo again! :-D

They had fcuk all English, poor bastards. They didn't know anybody else because of it. We were in the same company, in the next tent. But they would not have known.

jinko wrote: »
    a new a deadly weapon has made its way into airsoft. tried and tested at berget the chemical attack :)

Cheers for that Jinko :P. yes that was me.

Thats what 4 days of ratio packs will do to ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Tell us mere motals more guys....spill, wheres the pics and stuf?

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭jinko