Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WDFPF World Championships 2007

• 18-11-2007 08:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭

So I've been given the honours of letting everyone know how Hanley got on today at the Worlds in Scotland.

He put up a 220kg squat, 165 kg bench and a 250kg deadlift.

That's an improvement of 75kg on his total from the Nationals in Monaghan at the start of the year and a massive 130kg jump from the Worlds in Cork, this time last year.

That means that he walked away with overall best Junior and obviously is also the 100kg Junior World Champion.

It should have been a 230kg squat but there was a dodgy call from two of the judges and so he didn't get the lift I taped all the lifts so I'm sure he'll stick them up later and you'se can all see for yourselves how he was pretty much robbed on that one. It was still up by 30kg, so no complaining there.

Bench was looking solid and was up 15kg from this years Nationals.

Deadlifts were pretty savage, again I have them on video and the tension that was there was unbelievable during the 250kg pull but just can't be captured on tape. That's an improvement of 30kg from the Nats also.

They didn't have a most improved lifter category this year but I've no doubt that if they did it would have been Hanley.

I can't even begin to describe the dedication that he's put into his training. I'm sure any of you that have been following his log will agree with me but even if you haven't, go look now, I promise you that whatever day you happen to open the thread on you'll be impressed. He somehow manages to push beyond his comfort zone almost every single day that he walks into the gym and I think that the improvements that he's shown today really shw how worth it it all is.

I know Hanley has his own favourite moments and lifts of the day but for me personally it was seeing a 67 year old lady at 43kg pull 116.5kg and also having the pleasure to see another woman, this time only 74kg pull 195kg. They both put up other big numbers but I can't remember them offhand, I know I just thought 'wow' when I was looking at them.

I know that Ham will say it himself but I'd also like to say a big thank you to Tribulus and his girlfriend who came over too, to support and help Hanley set up on the big day!!

So yeah, CONGRATULATIONS to Hanley!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

Congrats!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

that rocks!

well done dude! big hi 5 to ya¬!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

congratz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Oh and btw:

DSC09606.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,619 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Massive congrats (as big as your lifts!) Hanley, inspirational stuff!
    You talk as you walk, fair play.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Scottty2Hottty

Nice One!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Great schtuff!!!!! Whoop whoop!!!:)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Malteaser! wrote: »
    100kg Junior World Champion.

Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

Congrats Hanley, they are some massive numbers and great improvements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Fantastic well done Hanley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Well done :D

but what about g'em :confused:

Thanks to all who've replied so far, it really was great day, I'm sure he'll be on himself later to say thanks and give all the gorey details but he's pretty bloody shattered now!!

I forgot to say in my first post, he's now holds the 90kg and 100kg bench press national record!! :)

but what about g'em :confused:

Haven't a notion, we were only around for a little while on Saturday and caught the end of the deadlifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

LOVE IT!!!
    Nice one big man ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Good Job H... Congrats Buddy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

excellent work, fair balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Vinnie K

Fair play dude!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Had a big smile on my face reading this! Well done man, that's savage work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Very very big Congratz, very well done Hanley.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Thanks everyone!!

Malteaser's already given a pretty good write up so I'm just quickly gonna mention my thoughts on the day.

I weighed in at 96.6 with a full stomach of food. Which is light. The general consensus was the scales was .4-.5kg off (light).

I'm a bit p!ssed with my squats. The 220kg was SOOOOOO easy. Same with the 230, it was like a rocket, I've seen 2 video angles on it and I should have got it. Ah well, what can I do? Just gotta take it on the chin and move on. I took 235 TOO low to compensate and my hips popped a bit forward so even tho I got it close to lockout I just ran out of steam.

Bench, nothing really to say about it. I came out with 165kg which was a 10kg comp PR. I touched my first attempt (155) a bit high and it turned into a dogfight, but I hit 165 real easy and was told I shoulda been looking for 175+ on my third. I ended up taking 170 because it had always been the goal coming into the comp, got it to within about 3 inches and as a I flared my elbows my right wrist cocked back and the bar drifted towards the rack, nothing I could do to save it!!

Very happy with my deadlifting, 235 came up way easy for a 15kg comp PR. Jumped to 250 for my second and as it got to my knees my whole body started to shake violently. I just threw my head back and stuck with the pull and eventually locked it out for a 30kg comp PR. Took 255 on my third and for the second time in 2 comps, the left side moved well and the right just went no where. Don't know what's going on there.

So anyway I came out with a 635kg total which was up 75kg from this years national championships, and 130kg from the same comp last year. So I can definately look back at the last year of training and say it's been a major success!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Gaz

Congrats man , i feel rather weak now looking at those stats !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

congrats,that's some good lifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

well done,

Hardwork + Dedication = Results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

in the eternal words of eric cartmen

beefcake, BEEFCAKE

well done man they are big lifts for anyone and considering your age, the only way is up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Wow, amazing stuff man, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

Outrageous lifting!!! Well done Hanely!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Excellent, you are an inspiration to many on these threads. Really well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Excellent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Cadrach

Damn... people born in 1987(?) can squat 235kg? That makes me feel old... and feeble :) Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Congrats Hanley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

Nothing short of spectacular! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Good going nice increaes on the past as well

Cadrach wrote: »
    Damn... people born in 1987(?) can squat 235kg? That makes me feel old... and feeble :) Congrats!

July '86 actually.... I didn't get the 235kg squat anyway (I did 230kg but it got turned down 2-1 by the judges).

Thanks to everyone for all the congratz. I'll try and get some video's up tonight or tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Missed this thread!

Congrats Hanley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Looking forward to the vids and big congratulations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Congratulations. I was always under the impression you just lifted for fun... not serious fun :) out of interest what were the jaffa cakes for ? quick energy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Have you heard of this guy?
    The cookie monster
    cookiemonster_1.jpg

Well Hanley's the Jaffa cake monster

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

c0rk3r wrote: »
    out of interest what were the jaffa cakes for ? quick energy?

Breakfast of champions? Literally!

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Congratulations. I was always under the impression you just lifted for fun... not serious fun :) out of interest what were the jaffa cakes for ? quick energy?
    BossArky wrote: »
    Breakfast of champions? Literally!

Hahaha love it.

I just brought them over because they're quick and easy to eat between flights. I only had about 60 mins at most to rest and get food in before starting my next lifts warm ups so I needed something light on my stomach. Had a protein bar or two between each flight too, and about 4 litres of lucozade over the course of the day too.

Running straight thru like with only 2 flights on a platform like we had to is VERY VERY hard, especially when you start lifting at 10.15am. I don't think I can even begin to describe how draining it is. You're literally ON for 6 straight hours. If you're not lifting, you're warming up or trying to eat and drink enough to keep energy levels up. And doing it equipped is even harder again because your CNS takes such a hammering. For example my legs were still numb and my hands were shaking as I was starting my bench warm ups. If you prepare properly and bring the right stuff, it's very easy to get thru longer meets because you can relax a bit and gather your thoughts before psyching up for the next attempts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Congrats man!

Keep up the great work and best of luck in the future.

Many thanks to Tribulus for this picture...

20114302a6155946533l.jpg

A complete video of all my lifts from the 2007 World Drug Free Powerlifting Championships

Wow..im not into weightlifting at all but that was very interesting to watch-well done!!!
    Question: What are the 3 types of lifts you did called? (Forgive my ignorance:o!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Yes! I was waiting for the megamix!

First proper look at the squats - very whey about the 2nd one.

Savage video, pity about the music ;)

Congratulations again!!

I've just been thinking back over some memorable moments from the lifting that we saw:

That guy who was blind and deaf and pulled 200kg with absolutely no bother to him was probably the most inspiring lift I saw tha whole weekend. ( no offence to you, yours were pretty inspiring too).

Also, Gladys, the French lady who pulled 205kg on Saturday was pretty awesome.

For the women on Sunday, I'd have to go with Mary Anderson...that woman is in a league all of her own. She is just a phenomenol lifter like. I can't remember her squat, it was rediculously high though, i think her bench was 105kg and her deadlift was 190kg all at 74kg. Just outstanding lifting all round from her.

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Wow..im not into weightlifting at all but that was very interesting to watch-well done!!!
    Question: What are the 3 types of lifts you did called? (Forgive my ignorance:o!!)

The lifts are called the squat, benchpress and deadlift, in that order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Malteaser! wrote: »
    For the women on Sunday, I'd have to go with Mary Anderson...that woman is in a league all of her own. She is just a phenomenol lifter like. I can't remember her squat, it was rediculously high though, i think her bench was 105kg and her deadlift was 190kg all at 74kg. Just outstanding lifting all round from her.

I think it was 195? And the biggest and best grinder of a lift ever!

Ah so now I no what all ye weightlifting heads are on about/doing when ye post yer training sessions!!:D

tribulus wrote: »
    I think it was 195? And the biggest and best grinder of a lift ever!

My bad, you're dead right.

Should be noted that all the credit for the videos goes to the wonderful Malteasear. Thank you again hun <4