Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Doesn't Sleep (Off-topic MADNESS!!) Mod warning in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Anyone know if you could get past issues of Take Aim in Tesco Clearwater?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Masada wrote: »
    it was closed from my memory because of chat of irish DPM, was it not?

As far as the mag goes though, If i know Ian i can tell you he will bend over backwards to supply what people want from the magazine. Simply letting him know what you think of the gaming reviews will go a long way towards shaping the future content of the mag.

Standing on a soap box though and saying im not buying because of this that and the other isnt exactly helping though, he'd be only too happy to take on peoples input.

Lots of threads have veered off course, and mods are usually okay with cleaning up stuff, but the take aim lads have told me they asked for the thread to be closed for good, and they're done with boards.

In fairness, they'd want to have their heads firmly stuck in the sand to not realise people don't want the gaming stuff. Everybody I've talked to has mentioned it, everybody, without exception.

Nothing against Alan and Ian, they're sound and all, but like a lot of people getting into business in Airsoft in Ireland, they saw a bit of success and then lost the run of themselves trying to go worldwide and putting al sorts of bollix in. I'd rather say that to them than "Great mag lads fair play airsoft's the real winner", etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Daz1214

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Lots of threads have veered off course, and mods are usually okay with cleaning up stuff, but the take aim lads have told me they asked for the thread to be closed for good, and they're done with boards.

In fairness, they'd want to have their heads firmly stuck in the sand to not realise people don't want the gaming stuff. Everybody I've talked to has mentioned it, everybody, without exception.

Nothing against Alan and Ian, they're sound and all, but like a lot of people getting into business in Airsoft in Ireland, they saw a bit of success and then lost the run of themselves trying to go worldwide and putting al sorts of bollix in. I'd rather say that to them than "Great mag lads fair play airsoft's the real winner", etc.

agreed there, the mag veered way to far off the topic of airsoft in my opinion..when you consider that Airsoft International is cheaper with far better content, they need to take a look at that and go back to the roots of irish airsoft and not be concentrating on fps games and cracking abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Any airsoft sites near Tralee??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

KonFusion wrote: »
    Any airsoft sites near Tralee??

if there was i would be movin in with the other half as she lives there at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭KonFusion

andy_g wrote: »
    if there was i would be movin in with the other half as she lives there at the moment

Ah sh*t one. I take it the closest one is prob cork then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

andy_g wrote: »

Start packing. There's a little Team just outside the town that runs small games in an old tiny farm yard, Manor Airsoft Defenders. Checked it out last week end and it was pretty good, not a site that I would make my regular at but it was pretty good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Can someone tell me how to embed a video from youtube???? :confused:

I've tryed using the youtube button in the reply window :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

quote this msg,
    you see all before the R has to be deleted,
    that means from the =
    look and see
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhP5mtGkAwE&feature=topvideos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Can someone tell me how to embed a video from youtube???? :confused:

I've tryed using the youtube button in the reply window :(:(

Easy:)

Take this video for instance (deadly song) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YngpWylqQ3A

You copy and paste the letters and numbers at the end and in this case its :YngpWylqQ3A in between the youtube tags.

and yea get this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

hate to tell yea mate but KDouglas posted that last week a few pages back.

Great video though.

GRrrrrrr! :mad: (shaking fist at KD)

And the all hassel I had to go through :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Decoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭T4RGET

okay I hate Xbox but this time they've out done themselves, but as usual with all this hi tech gear, how much you want to bet it won't work half as well as it deos there. any takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

That demo has been up for over a year. They've never given a firm date on it, probably as it doesnt work.

Sorry about that, I'm not a gamer so I wouldn't know about these things. The only reason I posted it is that a mate works in MS and they were given a demo this week and told it would prob be released by Xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Does this mate of yours have any input on whether or not they've going to go the rubbish 'dance/sing/band/exercise' route of the Wii Mark? :D
    I suspect that this is going to turn into a Very Bad Thing for the xbox. It's bound to lead to all sorts of rubbish games being made simply because they allow for natal to pick up on your movements ... sort of like 3D is the new (old) rubbish idea to try to get punters back into the cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Irishmaster

This is gonna sound weird but i think that if aegs didnt break it wouldnt be airsoft and would be quite boring! I just fixed my p90 and g36c. Nothing major just replacing the hop-up and stuff but in the end its quite satisfying knowing that everything is ok again! lol!

Does this mate of yours have any input on whether or not they've going to go the rubbish 'dance/sing/band/exercise' route of the Wii Mark? :D
    I suspect that this is going to turn into a Very Bad Thing for the xbox. It's bound to lead to all sorts of rubbish games being made simply because they allow for natal to pick up on your movements ... sort of like 3D is the new (old) rubbish idea to try to get punters back into the cinema.

No, he definitely doesn't have any input into/influence on the product, he's just a grunt in the trenches. I know what you mean about the questionable 'games', we bought a Wii for our daughter and it is great fun playing MarioKarts/Olympics/Sports as a family, we also bought one of the High School Musical singing 'games' at the height of her passion for all things HSM but even she won't play it.

This is gonna sound weird but i think that if aegs didnt break it wouldnt be airsoft and would be quite boring! I just fixed my p90 and g36c. Nothing major just replacing the hop-up and stuff but in the end its quite satisfying knowing that everything is ok again! lol!

I've no problem with AEGs needing maintenance resulting in replacement parts and/or upgrades but I will never find having them fail in use an acceptable part of airsoft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Irishmaster

I've no problem with AEGs needing maintenance resulting in replacement parts and/or upgrades but I will never find having them fail in use an acceptable part of airsoft
    I dont find it acceptable i think the word is inevitable! :)

+1 movin parts gettin banged left,right and center(leave it!)
    havnt had it happen YET,but sure as day it will(i have a m15a4 sportline for a year now,still goin strong(go figure)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

That's exactly right. :)
    Ive seen anything from an 80 quid gun up to a 2 grand gun go kaput, all airsoft guns break, its a matter of when, not if. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭longwhitecross+

Part of my attraction to the sport was the opportunity for tinkering, definatly wouldnt have the same draw otherwise..

Much like Tamiya Mini 4wd's did when I was younger (not sure if they became a 'thing' over here)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mini_4WD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

This is a great documentary, its long but deffinetely worth the watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

A lady about 8 months pregnant got on a bus.

She noticed the man opposite her was smiling at her.

She immediately moved to another seat.

This time the smile turned into a grin, so she moved again.

The man seemed more amused.

When, on the fourth move, the man burst out laughing,

she complained to the driver and he had the man arrested.

The case came up in court.

The judge asked the man (about 20 years old)

what he had to say for himself.

The man replied,

'Well your Honor, it was like this:

when the lady got on the bus,

I couldn't help but notice her condition.

She sat down under a sign that said,

'The Double Mint Twins are coming' and I grinned.

Then she moved and sat under a sign that said,

'Logan's Liniment will reduce the swelling,' and I had to smile.

Then she placed herself under a deodorant sign that said,

'William's Big Stick Did the Trick,' and I could hardly contain myself.

But, Your Honor, when she moved the fourth time

and sat under a sign that said,

'Goodyear Rubber could have prevented this Accident!'

... I just lost it.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

00034619.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Does anyone know what the story with post from the UK is? I presume its going via the ferry.