Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taoiseach urges restraint in pay talks

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Bertie got a payrise but would any single person on Boards turn down a pay rise of any description if they were offered it? (Cue pseudo socialist bull**** posters). The world isn't fair - it never has been and never will be. You have to maneuovre yourself into a position to earn big and take it while you can.

You'll criticise Bertie while you'll think the world of Premiership footballers who earn the same in a fortnight as Bertie earns in a year.

Catch yourselves on ffs.

Are you seriously comparing the Taoiseach with a Premiership footballer? Since when did footballers get paid with public money?

Catch yourself on ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

"Hello. My name is disgruntled poster. I want to know where my posts went."

Well, disgruntled poster, I deleted them because they were slanderous.
    Bertie has not been found guilty of any crime.
    If he is found guilty, then you can have your field day. Until then, watch what you post.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    The utterances of those who don't know their place in society. If you work in a call centre/bakery/building site or something and get a **** payrise, just accept it, or else better yourself and maximise your earning potential.

Bertie got a payrise but would any single person on Boards turn down a pay rise of any description if they were offered it? (Cue pseudo socialist bull**** posters). The world isn't fair - it never has been and never will be. You have to maneuovre yourself into a position to earn big and take it while you can.

You'll criticise Bertie while you'll think the world of Premiership footballers who earn the same in a fortnight as Bertie earns in a year.

Catch yourselves on ffs.
    Baaaah baaah black sheep have you any wool.............

You sound like the sort of fool that was the reason that the "they could put a horse up for election and it would win" phrase was invented. LIfes not fair get on with it, lets all be doormats defeatist bull****.

Thats a stupid generalisation to make. I think Premiership footballers are overpaid but they play football and get paid by their clubs. Bertie is in a position of power and has been publicly criticising consultants like theres no tomorrow about their earning while happily revelling in it himself is beyond cheeky. Nevermind all the financial transactions that he cannot recall. Or the classic "I did appoint people who gave me money, but not because they gave me money, I appointed them because they are my friends". Standard Fianna Fail abuse of power.

As for the call centre/bakery remark, Im a trainee accountant earning pretty much rubbish money now with the prospect of excellent money down the line. Im getting into a position to better myself and my earnings, and I dont agree with his payrise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Keth_tgi

SumGuy wrote: »
    If you're against FF, wouldn't you want people who voted for them to change their minds?

General Election:
    -Fianna Fáil
    -Fine Gael
    -Progressive Democrats
    -Green Party
    -Atari Jaguar

Of course I would... that makses sense, and no doubt some of them do, but most are steadfast if a little wobbly between elections. It really is a bit like foorball... your team play bad.... you hate them, but could never consider leaving them. It's just a shame that democracy (40% in this case) can have such a devastingly blow on the country. Yes.. FG or whoever may be just as bad, but will we ever know? Maybe every party should get a 4 year term automatically, and do away with monopoly elections altogether... now that maybe somewhere closer to true democracy.

Another example of democracy gone wrong... Westlife's Albums hitting number one, and the Smashing Pumpkins throwing their hands up in disbelief.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I posted on this thread at 1.57am this morning.

As you may suspect from the time that I posted, drink had been taken in fair quantity.

The majority of what I said was not a true reflection of what I actually think.

I do, however, maintain the view that there are many who would be quite happy to criticise the pay rise but would be equally happy to take it themselves were they in a similar position to Bertie's.

But I wanted to apologise for my crap post anyway. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Of course we'd take it....anyone claiming otherwise is a liar.
    But that's not the point because 99.9% of us won't be offered such a hefty rise in earnings. Many of us won't be offered one at all. I myself had to take a pay cut recently just in order to hold on to work for the rest of the year.
    Unless you have a big union with clout or a bunch of your mates on a wage review board, any sort of rise at or above the rate of inflation is unlikely to materialise....this in the face of what can only be seen as a litany of bad governing and possible incompetence (through inaction) that get's a pay reward?
    I'm sorry, this whole thing is indefensible. Those arguing about CEOs in the private sector, see the posts above that outline why this is a bullsh*t analogy. Those arguing that the country's in great shape and that it's all down to FF and their recent cabinets should visit your nearest opticians and have those rose tinted glasses surgically removed...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Would I take a big pay rise ? Damn right

Would I have the balls to appoint my buddies to decide what pay rise I get, lie about it being the only payrise in 7 years ( yip they got the Partnership ones too remember and an interim one also ), take 110% odd of the average industrial wage as a pay rise, then come on the telly and tell everyone to take a realistic approach to their own payrise, while people die at the hands of my appointed co-workers - like f*ck I would

This guy is a sc*mbag - his idol Charlie is only trotting after him.

I am for once absolutely ashamed to be Irish.

The people of Ireland need to demonstrate against this at the very least to redeem ourselves as anything other than a nation of fools.

I actually think Bertie is badly paid when u consider the pay packs of the ceos of irish plcs, he is running the country after all.

With respect, is he running the country? And if so, quite badly. No what he has he deserves in relation to provate CEO's, but is far too much in relation to what he is allowing to happen.

Put it this way, if Ireland was a company (which to an extent it is)... he would be sacked for all the scandals a long time ago.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Didn't Worzil McCrevey mention that Bertie would be a welcome addition to Europe.

I can both of them setting up house in Europe... Not sure who'd be the mammy, probably bertie as he can winge till the cows come home. Oh god the thought of it.

You know, we've no real defence in this country. maybe Bertie could be our secret weapon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Yeah, he could talk ICBMs out of the sky.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

Whay are people here so amazed at Bertie's audacity? He's only showing us his true cloours at long last. We always knew it was too good to be true! No longer is he "man of the people" hand-shaking, baby-hugging, ribbon-cutting Bertie, what we're witnessing now is a very public breakdown of a man who has nothing else to prove. He despises the media since he lost his coating of "teflon" in the tribunal and since he was made to openly almost cry on national television over his suitcase of money/property "stamp duty money" debacle. Being forced to say he'd be gone before the next election by Mark Little on election night...what has the man left to lose really, except his reputation and humility which seem to have gone out the window with his high approval ratings! He's nowadays better known for his arrogant comments like the now infamous "smokes and daggers", rewarding himself with our money his FF cronies being looked after in commitee after commitee, advisor after advisor, PR consultant after PR consultant...the whole thing stinks to high heaven, Geldorf was right 30 years ago when he said this is a Banana Republic...it seems the Celtic Tiger has run out of steam and Bertie's Lion has emerged! Charlie was Bertie's darling afterall, remeber his graveside speech...'nuff said!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

By the way, what does the president do in this country? Whats her pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Just take Ahern's statement that most of the hospital consultants are earning twice what he is earning, it's clear that the man is deluded.
    Not just out of touch with the general public but apparently out of touch with reality.

Most hospital consultants do not earn in the region of 700 grand a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

tech77 wrote: »
    Most hospital consultants do not earn in the region of 700 grand a year.

a lot of them get far too much anyway, especially when you compare them to those lower in the rungs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

transylman wrote: »
    To see just how bad these guys are take a look at the following.

http://thatsireland.com/2007/11/05/fianna-fails-fifty-ways-to-laugh-at-voters/#more-677

Its pretty shocking what they have gotten away with when you gather it all up into one list like that.

God, after reading that I actually feel sick!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

21. In September 2006, Taoiseach Bertie Ahern accepted that he had appointed people who gave him money to State boards, but he insisted that he did not appoint them because they gave him money. He said he had appointed them because they were his friends.

22. In September 2006, Taoiseach Bertie Ahern said that he had accepted £39,000 from friends, including the brilliantly-named Paddy the Plasterer, in 1993 and 1994. He said it was loans, and that he had tried to pay them back but they had all refused.

23. In September 2006, when Taoiseach Bertie Ahern was first asked about allegations of receiving from €50,000 and €100,000 from businessmen, he told journalists that a lot of the report was correct but that ‘the figures are off the wall.’ This, of course, was true, because he got some of the money ‘off Michael Wall’.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

*contemplates inflicting this thread on Politics*

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Keth_tgi wrote: »
    Maybe every party should get a 4 year term automatically, and do away with monopoly elections altogether... now that maybe somewhere closer to true democracy.

ROFL.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

nesf wrote: »
    ROFL.

Indeed, and then it comes around to the 2 man band that is the PD's. "Mary you be Taoiseach, i'll be Taniste!!" "...and noel we'll go 50/50 on all the ministerial posts!!!"

a lot of them get far too much anyway, especially when you compare them to those lower in the rungs...

What consultants earn is another issue.
    That's not the point.

The point is Ahern's assertion is an out-and-out falsehood, a lie, a deceit, a mistruth..

MOST DO NOT EARN TWICE AS HIM.

Either he is seriously deluded or he is an almighty chancer..

I know he's the latter but I think he is increasingly the former.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Fooz

RobAMerc wrote: »
    his idol Charlie is only trotting after him.

Well said and so true. In fact, there's a (sort of) famous quote from Charlie about Bertie that I can't quite remember - it went along the lines that Charlie said people should watch out for Bertie, that he was going to be one slippery b******x altogether.

According to his Wikipedia entry it's "the best, the most skillful, the most devious and the most cunning of them all".

CJ was right it seems.

Surprised the wikipedia entry isn't subject to more abuse TBH.