Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When was the last time YOU actualy did anything!

• 04-11-2007 8:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭

Well, when DID you last do anything for charity and I don't mean threw a few cents change into a box as an afterthought! or are you the type of begrudger that thinks " Feckin Taxi Drivers snarling up the streets again?"
    Taxis drivers give special needs children a grand day out

Dublin's O'Connell street was momentarily brought to a standstill today as 700 taxis carrying more than 1,400 special needs kids paraded through the city's most famous thoroughfare.

Now in its 48th year, the Special Children's Taxi Day raises funds for the 40 participating special schools and centres.

The cavalcade began at Parnell Square before a cheque for 11,500 euro was presented to the drivers on behalf of sponsor Ambrosia in O'Connell St.

From there, as scores of curious passers-by looked on, the entourage was given a garda escort to Leopardstown's Club 92 to continue the celebrations.

Dermot Lacey, former Dublin Lord Mayor, said: "It gives me enormous pleasure to launch the Ambrosia special Children's Taxi Day.

"This wonderful event brings joy to so many people and the amazing achievements of the Dublin Taxi Drivers' should be applauded.

"I hope the many children who will attend have a magnificent day of fun and entertainment," he said.

TV presenter Lucy Kennedy and Irish Boxing supremo Bernard Dunne were on hand to meet the kids.

And another 50 taxis joined the celebrations at Club 92 in Leopardstown, where party treats and sweets were snapped up by the kids.

Tom Colgan, event organiser and member of Dublin Taxi Drivers said he was grateful to the many drivers who gave up their day for the charity event.

"It is great to see the smiles on the children's faces and each year we are amazed and very grateful to see so many taxi drivers give up their day's fare for such a worthy cause," he said.

The Dublin Taxi Drivers were given the Lord Mayor's Award in 2006 for their contribution to providing much needed equipment and entertainment to hundreds of children with special needs in the Greater Dublin area.

Ambrosia has sponsored the event - which has been running since 1960 - for the last seven years.

"Once again, Ambrosia is delighted to be the title sponsor of this one of a kind and extremely worthwhile Dublin event," Ambrosia's Cathy Kelly said.

"As always, the Dublin Taxi Drivers deserve great praise and thanks for their unrelenting hard work and we hope that all the children enjoy a memorable day full of fun and enjoyment."
    Release Date 11/09/2007 Source Press Association CountryIreland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

I hope the kids kept a good eye on the meter and the route taken. You can't trust those bast@rds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I taught young Vietnamese orphans to speak english there a few months back...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

knird evol wrote: »
    I hope the kids kept a good eye on the meter and the route taken. You can't trust those bast@rds.

And you did what exactly? rob the guide dog money from the doggie statues that used to be outside chemists etc. Steal of the church plate or something else?

As was asked have YOU actualy done anything for charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Hes right, what have most of you done in your work, thrown 50 cent into a collection at christmas?

Spook_ie and his sig are right, if you are complaining about taxis id love to see how you handle yourself on a long winded route on the Fightlink. I have to say ive found the vast majority of them fairly bang on and you often get a good chat out of them, a few ecommendations on where to hit when you go abroad, that kind of thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

110km cycle july this year, again in 2006, 2002 and 2001, family berivement in 2003, 2004, and back injury a month before the event in 2005 stopped me those years.

all for the irish cancer society

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Spook_ie wrote: »
    And you did what exactly? rob the guide dog money from the doggie statues that used to be outside chemists etc. Steal of the church plate or something else?

I read this post that should count as charity:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Actually going by the thread title and your first post, the only question you asked was.
    Feckin Taxi Drivers snarling up the streets again?

Everything else was just a statement but I'm being pedantic. Also, why don't you try telling us some of the brilliant things you do for charity before giving out to us for not doing enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

why don't you try telling us some of the brilliant things you do for charity before giving out to us for not doing enough?
    IIRC, Spook is himself a Dublin taxi driver, so I suppose he was in the middle of this. Which does seem to make the thread stink a little of self back slapping.

Actually going by the thread title and your first post, the only question you asked was.

Everything else was just a statement but I'm being pedantic. Also, why don't you try telling us some of the brilliant things you do for charity before giving out to us for not doing enough?

Maybe the fact that I drive a taxi might if you think long and hard enough give you the slightest inkling, but then it might not.

IIRC, Spook is himself a Dublin taxi driver, so I suppose he was in the middle of this. Which does seem to make the thread stink a little of self back slapping.

Not exactly self back slapping, more a case of being fed up of begrudgers who can't accept that a lot/majority of taxi drivers are not conmen,tax fiddlers,drug mules or whatever fits the moment.....

Maybe the fact that I drive a taxi might if you think long and hard enough give you the slightest inkling, but then it might not.

bravo big round of applause this must be the first time anyone has ever done charity work for anyone and to think it was the taxi drivers who have started this trend of a new more giving world

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Apologies for not knowing details about your personal life. I know the occupation of pretty much every single member of this forum, you must be one of the ones I missed. Noted though.
    Which does seem to make the thread stink a little of self back slapping.

Just a tad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I gave a taxi driver a tip one morning, "Have a shower and brush your teeth before you start work."

DonJose wrote: »
    I gave a taxi driver a tip one morning, "Have a shower and brush your teeth before you start work."

Oh was he a charity case then?

Begrudger Alert!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well I think if Spook gave up a days wage to make a childs life happier, just for a short period then I think he deserves a slap in the face...

Nah serious, a big slap on the back for Spook and anyone else who brought happiness to those less fortunate today.

Weldone Spook, seriously.

Im going to shop soon I might leave my change for the charity box what has anyone else bothered to do today

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I recently recycled some homeless people into a healthy meaty soup for the starving children in Africa.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Everyday I don't kill a random moron I'm doing my bit for charity by sparing the tax payer having to keep me in jail.
    I saw an episode of Becker were he said we should be allowed to cull at least six morons a day and I think that would be a good idea.

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I taught young Vietnamese orphans to speak english there a few months back...

"My.. name .. is .. Earl!"
    "In my country, Earl is a guys name"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Being serious.....

- I taught orphans in one of the biggest slums in Africa for 4 weeks this summer.
    - I protest and try my best to highlight animal cruelty, fur trade and shark finning and aid conservation however I can
    - I used to sing carols and sell holly badges for the ISPCC at Christmas
    - I spent a summer volunteering in the Irish Cancer Society second hand shop in my town
    - I organised for the school I teach in to do the MS Readathon this year and Operation Chrismas Child (with the shoe boxes)
    - I used to do the Trocaire fast every year in secondary school

I feel better already! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Ran the Sahara Marathon in Feb, you make a 200e donation to the charity, ran Dublin Marathon for a kiddies HIV charity in Kenya.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

knird evol wrote: »
    Spook_ie wrote:
    The cavalcade began at Parnell Square before a cheque for 11,500 euro was presented to the drivers on behalf of sponsor Ambrosia in O'Connell St.
    Ambrosia has sponsored the event - which has been running since 1960 - for the last seven years.

"Once again, Ambrosia is delighted to be the title sponsor of this one of a kind and extremely worthwhile Dublin event," Ambrosia's Cathy Kelly said.
    qft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Ran the mini-marathon for the Irish Cancer Society, and I've been sponsoring 2 children through World Vision since 1998.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

begrudgers who can't accept that a lot/majority of taxi drivers are not conmen,tax fiddlers,drug mules

Most of us know you're not drug mules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I participate in flag day collections for both the Samaritans and the Diabetes Federation of Ireland. I also organise the assembling of Christmas gift boxes each year for the Samaritans Purse (despite my abhorrence of faith based charity, I think its a great idea). I have yet to exert myself physically for charity, but one day I'll get myself fit enough to do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I give ten euro a week to charity. To be honest, it's not much, but it's a damn sight better then nothing and at least it's regular. But then again, I'm a stereotypical poor student, who has rent/bills to pay and all that junk. :D

It sickens me to see poor boxes mostly full of one, two and five cent joins. I know considering the relative value of our currency in comparison to the third world in mass it helps, but the issue isn't about that, it's more about the outright stingy nature of most people.

but really we're all guilty of being too comfortable. I'm sitting here in a nice house, on a good computer, in a good chair. With my laptop in the other room. If you think about it, I could sell this computer for 5-600 euro and help out how many poor people who struggle for survival let alone comfort? At most to me it's be a slight annoyance having to use my laptop instead. Unwittingly I could be denying the right to life for a good many of people. It's when you really think about it, you realize how selfish we all are. Do we all need high tech computers? Phones? Cars? Large flat screen TVs? Not really. We only have them because we like the excess of living. Whereas millions upon millions are dying because they can't even get basic foodstuffs, water, or even shelter.

qft.
    Originally Posted by Spook_ie

And a sponsor normaly does what? or are you implying that the taxis all ran their meters and then charged Ambrosia for the fares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I don't see how the fact that some taxi drivers brought some kids through town collecting cash doesn't mean that fares aren't too high and aren't good value for money. There are still rip-off merchants out there, regardless of what happened today.

Unless Spook is making another point, which I've missed altogether.

The general used to give nice things to the poor in his locality, but I wouldn't trust him not to rip me off :P

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

wow, talk about defensive. you come on, aggressive (much like dublin taxi driver driving i might add), you put down everyone who has done a bit of charity work, and you make like youre some sort of saint.

give me a break.
    what do you want, a slap on the back and medal?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Oh too bad, all out of medals.

But seriously, fair play to you for doing a bit of fundraising. But loose the condescending tone and people might be a bit more impressed.