Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halloween night - anti social behaviour/how do you deal with it ?

• 31-10-2007 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭

How many of you every year put up with this and do you do anything about it ?

Last year I had the rear of my car spray painted while it was in the driveway, and shrubs/trees in front garden set on fire. A person down the road had their car vandalised beyond recognition. Another person was battered with eggs while driving up the road and crashed. Needless to say I caught one of the scummers and held onto him while waiting nearly 40 minutes for the cops to arrive. It's an ongoing event every year and the cops are too busy dealing with more serious ussues. Most of the trouble makers are imported scum who know local lads in the area. Typically they drive into the esate in their sh*tbox glanzas, park up and wreak havoc. It usually kicks off the week before, peaks on halloween night and continues till the weekend usually. In the last week we have a person in our area with 1 burned out car because they rang the gardai complaining about their 2 year old not being able to sleep with bangers being thrown at their front door, all street lights smashed, 1 neighbours wall broken down, and about half a dozen or so smaller incidents. I know worse goes on in other housing estates. But most people I know seem to take it as they do not want to risk confrontation.

Just wondering if this sort of thing is something people on these forums just put up with. This year I have 2 mates coming around who will introduce anyone who wants to Mr. H.Url. Me, I'm going to move to another county next year as my nerves are shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Hmmm.....2 years i had a group of 18/19 year old kids aim those "repeaters" at me as i walked up to the shop. It was a pretty cold night and had my nice thick coat and a hat on, so i just pulled down the hat and walked at them.

Foolishly they stood their laughing and when i reached them i lamped one of them in the jaw and the other in the nose.

That shut them the **** up.

Now, i'm not condoning violence by any means but at the end of the day i was assaulted with a weapon and was defending myself.

I ****ing hate posh kids who act like scum even more than i hate scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Too right. Not much can be done about it aside from securing your property and staying in. Having a "deterrent" like Mr. H.U.R. Lee handy would be no harm either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

My god do you live in down town baghdad. In my area all that happens is some people let off fireworks, which I dont mind too much as long as they are firing them into the air and not at people! Besides some of them are quite impressive:D

Where your place is sounds like hell on earth though!!

<edit> Whats a repeater?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'm working in a shop from 3 till 10. Yay...

Hopefully the fact that there's a Garda station around the corner will make this go a lot easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Jebus that's a bit mental!
    You poor thing --and all your neighbours.
    I guess I'm lucky enough we don't really have any trouble, just a few cars zipping up and down & bangers (occasionally in peoples letter boxes, so we tape them up).

It's really sad how some people get their kicks, bored or not, I never quite understand the thrill behind hurting people / smashing up their car etc.

I hope for yer sake that it's not too bad tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Flaccus wrote: »
    Just wondering if this sort of thing is something people on these forums just put up with. This year I have 2 mates coming around who will introduce anyone who wants to Mr. H.Url. Me, I'm going to move to another county next year as my nerves are shot.

Where are you living?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Huge bonfire being setup, I live right beside a green area.

Almost no trouble the other 364 days in the year, but it seems to be scumbag central on Halloween night, they are convening like rats, coming out of everywhere and gathering.

Last year we had a firework that resembled 6 sticks of dynamite tied together put through our bathroom window.

Halloween is beyond sh1t in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

That does NOT happen round where I live.... Poor you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

band together, grab the little muppets and give them a beating.

i worked in a shop and last year we only had one little bag of crap give any trouble, so we hit the panic button and 30mins later the gards arrived (despite the station physically being attached to the shop at the back) and let him go off into the sunset. would have been more satisfactory to take him out the back to a blindspot on the cameras and plant his face into the wall a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

LMAO, just got a call from my sister. Two local scrotebags were taken off today for abusng the local cops when they told them to take down the bonfire they were putting up (on a rarely used publc road might I add), now the cops are parked there to prevent them putting something up.

Nice to see them doing something for a change - a girl here got severely burned last year after someone threw a banger/firework into the bonfire and it launched out hitting her in the chest.

I'm sure that they'll start restacking the stuff anyway when the cops shift is finished, they surely wont think of sending anyone out to watch for the night anyway :(

Fireworks drive my sisters dog nuts aswell ... the thing is a nervous wreck the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

might start a vigilante group similar to Homer Simpson's.

Can anyone swing a sack of doorknobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Can anyone swing a sack of doorknobs?

Heres the sack, you have to supply your own doorknobs ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

I'd rather not say where I live to be honest. But the kids there are so called "posh kids" but also seem to be wannabe knackers, hence attract real knackers. Neither group have respect for peoples property.

Since Jan of this year when I bought a new car, I have had (1) rear side window smashed, (2) side mirror booted off, (3) 2 months ago a wheelie bin thrown on the rear of the car (full of rubbish) at around 6am severly denting the rear bumper, and (4) last week stone/gravel flung accross bonnet resulting in something like 42 stone chips. I keep my car in the driveway, alarmed etc..

Have also had 2 attempted breakins, one while I was in the house by 2 guys with knives. Neighbours too. This went on for almost 3 solid nights, cops wouldn't come out, and when they did it turned out they knew the scummers who were out on bail, which I found out later was for home invasion/assault. They were eventually rounded up. This was only because I had the whole thing on CCTV and stuck it on a DVD and brought it into the local cop shop demanding satisfaction. Meanwhile while all this was going on, I was going into work with nerves shot to hell wondering if house would be burned down or robbed while in work. In the end I just got a cavity block thrown through the rear window in the kitchen so got off lightly relatively speaking.

Tonight just doubles up as more "fun" for these scummers. I remember last year being told that I was spoiling their "halloween" when I objected to them lighting my neigbours trees on fire with lighterfluid or somesuch. At 1.30am on a bloody weekday when people are trying to get some sleep for work.

The only real alternative I see is to move out to the bloody country into Clare somewhere, or get some cartridges for my double barrrel which I only use when clay pigeon shooting. But we all know where that leads :mad: 1 side effect of all of this is I am now super paranoid and lay awake at night wondering what this or that noise is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If yas see kids stacking stuff for a bonfire ring this number and it'll be removed 1800251500.They wont do it if the stuffis actually lit but they'll take it away before they have chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

South Africa has the right idea, god fogive anyone trying to get into your house, as they would have to get through the razor wire, glass topped walls and dogs. Not to mention the armed patrol (depending on where you live of course)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Fooz

Flaccus, I'd really consider moving to a different area, that sounds horrific. I'd try to keep your car somewhere else tonight for a start...

I don't plan to be at home tonight until late. There are a few brats (scumbags in training)in the estate and I'll be damned if I'm handing them out free chocolates or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

There will be two boxes by my door one with treat bag and the other with waterballons with ice water with a dash of vinegear.
    The garden will be hosed down and the house lit up and we have a side light.
    there usually does not be that much hassle, fingal have already sent gusy twice into the estate to clear away 'rubbish' for the bonefires.
    If they brought back the house hold collections it would solve a lot of this hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The only real alternative I see is to move out to the bloody country into Clare somewhere,
    It wouldn't be much better out in the country. We where right bastards when we where young and having the countryside to go hide in ment you where never caught. We used to camp out in the graveyard trowing eggs at cars. Only one guy ever came in after us (the newest grave in the yard was over 150 years old and the whole place was overgrown) and he left a gibbering wreck. Our bonfires where out in the middle of a feild though so never really caused any problems for anyone when we started trowing gas barrels into the thing. God we where stupid back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

I was on my laptop (on boards) last night when I heard muttering outside the window. Previously the courtyard where I live had seemingly been timewarped out to Baghdad, with all the fecking bangers going off. Straight away I gave my mate a shout, we grabbed our two hurls and stood in the hall. About a minute later a group comes over to the door and starts trying to light and put a banger in our letter box. We opened the door and started to wade into them with the hurls.

Best craic I've ever had. Seriously its the most satisfying feeling ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Skellington

A few lads and a transit van would sort it out fairly sharpish. If it's an ongoing thing for you and all your neighbours, why not get a group of yous and grab one of scum bags, you don't even need to hit anyone if yous aren't comfortable with it, just take his wallet and get some addresses. Tell the parents things will come back ten fold to them and their property if it doesn't stop. Just remember to have your face covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Get 5 Garda Halloween costumes for you and your mates*

*don't do this. It's illegal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I'm not advocating anybody breaking the law here but IF you're bringing poles or baseball bats to a "party" make sure you grease it everywhere but the bit you're going to be holding.This stops anybody grabbing it off you and turning the tables.Alternativly,drill a hole through the handle and insert some stout cord to make a loop through which to put your hand.

Degsys a pro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Degsy wrote: »
    I'm not advocating anybody breaking the law here but IF you're bringing poles or baseball bats to a "party" make sure you grease it everywhere but the bit you're going to be holding.

What the hell kind of Halloween parties do you frequent? :p

Orange69 wrote: »
    What the hell kind of Halloween parties do you frequent? :p

I wouldnt press him on that. It will be yours next :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Degsy wrote: »
    I'm not advocating anybody breaking the law here but IF you're bringing poles or baseball bats to a "party" make sure you grease it everywhere but the bit you're going to be holding.This stops anybody grabbing it off you and turning the tables.Alternativly,drill a hole through the handle and insert some stout cord to make a loop through which to put your hand.

I'd always imagined "Degsy" would be something you'd call your vicious pitbull terrier.

Sound advice though. I'd also like to add that wrapping the bat in barbed wire can also have the same effect and the added bonus that it can tear out skin and various other body parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Close all friggin windows, they've lit the bonfire already in the next street and the poxy smoke is blowing straight onto the our street and its still daylight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

On sites that I look after we've had to employ security guards for tonight only. From the reports I'm getting, there are the makings of bonfires in nearly every site. Its gonna be a very busy one methinks :(

I'll be visiting a few sites later and will have me hurl in the car. Just incase anyone's up for a quick game. Of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

connundrum wrote: »
    On sites that I look after we've had to employ security guards for tonight only. From the reports I'm getting, there are the makings of bonfires in nearly every site. Its gonna be a very busy one methinks :(

I'll be visiting a few sites later and will have me hurl in the car. Just incase anyone's up for a quick game. Of course.
    Playing hurling on halloween night! connundrum the eternal sports enthusiast. God bless you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Playing hurling on halloween night! connundrum the eternal sports enthusiast. God bless you :)

I'd bring a football, but the bigger boys might take it and not give it back :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

If the cops are too busy to deal with them, they're too busy to deal with you after you grab one of them and run their face up and down the dashing on the side of the house until they're a bloody mess. You'd be surprised how effective a bit of sadistic violence is in deterring these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

biko wrote: »
    Get 5 Garda Halloween costumes for you and your mates*

*don't do this. It's illegal

Tff, good idea though :D.

Wow, that's some serious s**t though, I'm sitting here on my computer in the hallways, front door not locked, back door not locked, kids come knocking now & then, only told one of them off for looking at the goodies and saying, "I want that & that & that & I don't like nuts", I told him to have manners or he'd get nothing lol.

I really feel sorry for you having to put up with all that, it's terrible.

P.S. I guess it's pretty silly to ask where are these kids parents? Yeah right, I know it is really :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

just had to walk the long way home because all the local skangers were having a rave on the street and letting off rockets on the ground. i hate halloween

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Live in a quite enough area, luckily, fireworks would still go off, and drive my Westie mental, but other than that, it's not too bad.

Ice cold water ballons would go down rather well, with some cheap booze in them. Not only do they go home wet, but they'll smell of booze.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

How many of you every year put up with this and do you do anything about it ?

Last year I had the rear of my car spray painted while it was in the driveway, and shrubs/trees in front garden set on fire. A person down the road had their car vandalised beyond recognition. Another person was battered with eggs while driving up the road and crashed. Needless to say I caught one of the scummers and held onto him while waiting nearly 40 minutes for the cops to arrive. It's an ongoing event every year and the cops are too busy dealing with more serious ussues. Most of the trouble makers are imported scum who know local lads in the area. Typically they drive into the esate in their sh*tbox glanzas, park up and wreak havoc. It usually kicks off the week before, peaks on halloween night and continues till the weekend usually. In the last week we have a person in our area with 1 burned out car because they rang the gardai complaining about their 2 year old not being able to sleep with bangers being thrown at their front door, all street lights smashed, 1 neighbours wall broken down, and about half a dozen or so smaller incidents. I know worse goes on in other housing estates. But most people I know seem to take it as they do not want to risk confrontation.

jaysis where in gods name do you live ??? we sent the dog down to curragh for the night cos he gets too wound up with the fireworks but that's as bad as it gets around here

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Not too bad in my area, but the cats are in for the nights, don't know what sick bastards will do with a firework...

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

@ Flaccus

You dont happen to live in Dublin 15 do you?? I live in Mulhuddart and the stuff you said that goes on is exactly the same as where I live. Its like Basra here the last few weeks. Cars getting smashed, house windows getting put in.. people pissing up against your wall. Scummers putting bangers into houses and apartments and setting them on fire (2 houses boarded up already). I moved my car to a neighbours for the whole of this week(got smashed up last week) and I have a huge block of wood blocking the letterbox... and to think I pay 1500 a month of a mortgage to live here. Hoping to move to Newbridge pretty soon... Cant wait to get out of this area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I think Flaccus lives somewhere in Limerick as he\she did mention Clare was nearby?

Just heard on RTE news, that the fire service has received 600 calls so far up to 9pm compared to 700 for all of Halloween last year and that 9pm-12am is usually the busiest.

Sounds like whats happening up gazzers way tallies with what goings on!

They reckon it'll be the worst year ever for fires in the history of the 24hr fire brigade:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Sad thing is i think faccus lives on my road :(

Granted the scummers around here know that ****ing with my kids safety means bad **** for them.

Fairly quiet here tonight which is very very odd.

i live in neilstown in clondalkin and its too quiet tbh :eek:

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Coming home from work this evening I was waiting on the Luas at Charlemont bridge and I saw this WHOOMPH of a fire go up behind the barge pub. Little knackers in the flats there had obviously thrown some fuel onto their bonfire. Within a minute it was looking very out of control so I rang the fire brigade.

Pity these scummers don't blow their hands off with their bangers and rockets, eh?

Check this out - some knacker let off 200 rockets in a local off licence. 200!!!
    http://news.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30100-1291021,00.html?f=rss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

gurramok wrote: »
    I think Flaccus lives somewhere in Limerick as he\she did mention Clare was nearby?

So is Galway and Tipperary.. Dont jump to conclusions..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I ****in hate haloween , my dogs are goin mental , one of em cut her eye tryin to get out of the backyard , and our cats are all out of sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

I'm just waiting until tomorrow when the stories of animal abuse come out.

PS: Which would be a better sport to take up at this time of year, hurling or baseball? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhmheyojidql/rss2/

Couple of Gardai on bikes got a petrol bomb chucked at them. Happy halloween!

YeatsCounty, saw a story in one of the papers today about a dog being found hanged :( Horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

PS: Which would be a better sport to take up at this time of year, hurling or baseball? ;)

I'd go with Javelin throwing. Him em' from a distance;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

I'm just waiting until tomorrow when the stories of animal abuse come out.

Archery or swordsmanship are also good ;)
    Luckily enough the area we live in now is nice and quiet (didn't get one kid calling to the door this year even) but still have to keep the cat in, just in case.

In all honesty, though, most little scumbags will be so thrown if you run out at them roaring and swinging either a hurley or an ornamental sword they'll do a runner, rather than standing their ground. Just make sure to keep an eye out front they don't get up the courage to try to come back with more mates.

One little such feckless gimp who was taking a shortcut through our back garden one year got the full on maniacal-roars-while-swinging-ornamental-sword routine from both myself and the hubby, and got such a fright he cleared a 10 ft fence in one jump before we even got over the threshold of the back door to the garden.
    Added bonus - told all his little scummer mates about the lunatics living in the house and all steered well clear from then on.

Don't think the cops are any great deterrent - drove through a local town today to see a huge bonfire pile stacked on the town green - garda barracks stands on the border of the green, which is little more than the size of a football field, so in plain sight of the barracks, and not a thing done to take it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

DaveMcG wrote: »

Jeebus. That's scary.
    My younger cousin got fireworks thrown under his car while he was stopped at traffic lights last year. Little scumbags. Luckily no-one was using the intersection so he could drive off through the red lights before his car went up in flames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

God almighty, all these stories remind me of the scum that used to "trick or treat" for a month before Halloween when I lived in Galway, and getting stuff too because people were afraid of the little knackers...

I moved out of London and its a lot more relaxed where I am than in the city ... we had quite a few little kids all done up to be scary calling around, really good vibe and good fun scaring the kids that came to the door ... not a single scrote out making anyones life miserable .... a few fireworks but none after 10pm ....

For the OP, get the hell out of where you are. Almost anywhere would be better, your life is being ruined by those little cnuts, move to save your sanity.
    Either that or get some friends out for a game of "human hurling" ... pain is a strong motivator and they may be motivated to go and ruin someone else's life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Live just outside Limerick actually near a certain housing estate which is getting a lot of press coverage lately .

Surprisingly no hassle tonight except for a couple of eggs thrown off windows which I went out and washed off after things quietened down. Didn't need my mates afterall. Didn't give the sh*theads a chase either as that is what they wanted. I saw who they were too (from upstairs), about 4 local lads, and 4 from another estate, none of them the geniune article. They are still around down the end of the road, probably waiting for their mammys to call them in, though from my surveilance in the last hour I saw 2 cars come and pick up about 5 of them. I'll spend the next hour vigilent with the hurley just in case they try it again. Then if I catch them red handed I will chop their legs from under them. I have a jacket which with the hood on and zipped up makes you look like Kenny from Southpark so pretty unrecognisable, especially as the street lights near my house are broken now. Thankfully no real hassle tonight as I said. However that is not to say some real scumbags will bust my car windows in tommorrow for example. It's completely put me on edge and am now getting migraine all the time as a result. Unfrotunately moving is the only real possibility as mobile knacker units out our way are getting all too common during the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

A friend of mine had to walk past the bottom of Sherrif Street one year a few days before Halloween. She was grabbed by two young lads and had a banger shoved down the back of her jumper. She thankfully got it out before the thing went off but had some pretty bad burns on her back.

Complete scum.