Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst programmes ever aired ?

• 31-10-2007 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭

Whats your 5 worst TV Programmes ? (seen as there's a 10 best thread going)

Mine are (In no order of pain) :

Winning Streak
    Where in the world (from the retro collection)
    Keeping up apperances
    Any soap but particularly Emmerdale, East Enders etc
    Shows where people send in videos (all the same after a few shows-drunked weddings,people falling over etc etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Keeping up apperances was good i thought, well not good but can be funny to watch when there **** all on but i havent watche dit in years.

I didnt like that top of the pops thing and i also dont like these shows about pweople going on trying to be singers oh and big brother

all total bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

Last Monday's episode of The English Class was the most astonishingly awful, incredibly misjudged piece of television I think I have ever seen. Girl throws herself in front of a train. Hilarity ensues. What were the programme makers thinking????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

yes, The English Class is pretty awful

but i ask you does anyone remember an even worse one called...Extra Extra:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Oh God that show that Laura Woods did instead of Winning Streak. I still have no idea what that was about. I remember loads of people complained to Joe Duffy about it.

Many many RTE 'reality' tv shows. (The one on the island, the one on the farm, etc)

Nigella Lawson's new show- she looks like she wants to have deranged sex with the camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

cazzy wrote: »
    Whats your 5 worst TV Programmes ? (seen as there's a 10 best thread going)

Mine are (In no order of pain) :

Winning Streak
    Where in the world (from the retro collection)
    Keeping up apperances
    Any soap but particularly Emmerdale, East Enders etc
    Shows where people send in videos (all the same after a few shows-drunked weddings,people falling over etc etc)

*canned laughter* :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Nigella Lawson's new show- she looks like she wants to have deranged sex with the camera.

That alone should bump it into the "Best programmes ever aired" category.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

That ****e RTÉ showed a year or 2 back. Pure Mule. That deserves a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Fair City...Terrible scripts, terrible sets, terrible acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Cabin Fever
    Dance X (tripe talent contest on BBC this summer)
    Stew
    Family Fortunes
    Digimon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

ANY and EVERY reality TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

E Street. Stupid stupid stupid Aussie soap. the stupiedest of Aussie soaps in fact. And thats quite a claim!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Big Brother-The shiitheads who go on that show deserve to be kicked to death.An ideal way to weed out the least usefull people on earth would be to hold bogus big brother auditions and then shoot everybody who shows up.You could probably do this year after year as there seems to be no shortage of idiots out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

philstar wrote: »
    but i ask you does anyone remember an even worse one called...Extra Extra:o

Worst thing I've seen. Although a few recent BBC efforts aren't far off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

The bananna splits

my lil sister used to watch them on cartoon network and they had a weekend marathon of them once i thought i was gonna kill myself

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=EbU5CzPi0zM

HATED THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

1.Fair City
    2.Any reality Tv show
    3.Killinaskully
    4.Murder She Wrote
    5.More recently 'Cavemen', an American tv show.

McKeever..a load of tosh from norn iron featuring some woman who played different "characters" using exactly the same northern accent.
    http://www.random****e.co.uk/nuala-mckeever-uncovered.html

I HATE Prison Break,a ponce-filled,poxily-acted piss-poor,watered-down version of the HBO classic OZ.

The Big Bow Wow..garbage

The Box..RTE's answer to **** knows what,it featured Keet Duffy as the host and a bunch of knobhead with sunglasses on thier heads saying "like" every couple of seconds.

Prosperity..badly scripted,badly acted typical Irish drivel.

Degsy wrote: »
    The Box..RTE's answer to **** knows what,

It was TV3, and if you don't even know what it rips off, you can't really slate it for that. Loads of other reasons to slate it mind...

Dodge wrote: »
    It was TV3, and if you don't even know what it rips off, you can't really slate it for that. Loads of other reasons to slate it mind...

You werent in it by any chance were you?You sound very stung..

How so? All I did was point out you were wrong about some bits, and confirm that it was awful TV...

Dodge wrote: »
    and confirm that it was awful TV...

Grand.thats the bottom line so!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Keeping Up Appearances
    Murder, She Wrote
    Pop Idol/X Factor/American Idol - in fact all reality "talent" shows
    Soaps - all of them, I make no distinction that some may be worse than others
    Anything that featues Daniel O'Donnell singing
    The Late Late Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

zaph wrote: »
    The Late Late Show

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

It had to be said :D

Pure muck, regardless of whether Gaybo or Pat the Plank was/is presenting. Definitely a show whose time has come, and long since gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

1. Extra Extra
    2. That awful Irish "comedy" about a family who won the lotto
    3. The english class
    4. Stew
    5. Keeping Up Appearances
    6. Ant canned laughter American rubbish
    7. Little Britain ( Am I the only Irish person who thinks this is complete crap?)

gotta go now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

brayblue24 wrote: »
    1. Extra Extra
    2. That awful Irish "comedy" about a family who won the lotto
    3. The english class
    4. Stew
    5. Keeping Up Appearances
    6. Ant canned laughter American rubbish
    7. Little Britain ( Am I the only Irish person who thinks this is complete crap?)

gotta go now

That was utter tripe alright, I think it was called 'Upwardly Mobile'. :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

zuutroy wrote: »
    Fair City...Terrible scripts, terrible sets, terrible acting.
    could not agree any more although its only the 2nd worst show ever. Downloaded Cavemen after seing this thread (why?!? i know) and would be shocked that it has not been mentioned here yet but for the fact that im sure you all havent seen it and hopefully wont ever have the misfortune... Worst show ever made!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Outer Bongolia

Will and Grace
    Dan and Becs
    The Cassidys
    The Panel for the last few years
    Touched by an Angel
    Murder She Wrote
    Diagnosis Murder
    The English Class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

could not agree any more although its only the 2nd worst show ever. Downloaded Cavemen after seing this thread (why?!? i know) and would be shocked that it has not been mentioned here yet but for the fact that im sure you all havent seen it and hopefully wont ever have the misfortune... Worst show ever made!

I believe I mentioned it! :p Terrible terrible show. What were they thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Any of those American morality shows where an audienced woop and cheer for 10 minutes every time some overpaid cameo actor appears

Big Brother-Get put a bunch of "characters" in a house, fight with the rest of the crew and make them hate each other, then after having every sh!t and messy exchange of bodily fluids broadcast to the nation, for the love of God, save what dignity you have by not releasing a piss-poor christmas single and appearing in the Sun up to shenanigans.

Any reality TV show really.

Awful comedy

Bo Selecta. I found it for e2 in a junk sale, oh how junk it was. An unfunny man who stalks the only celebrities Ch4 can get (ex BB stars) and talks in about 3 accents.
    Oh no.

RTE has a fairly poor selection.

Prison Break. I agree with Degsy here.

That banana splits intro was like a minute long acid trip
    Bizarre
    And the show is just strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The Lyrics Board
    (no, it's not so bad it's good, it's so bad it's created a new definition for bad in the OED)

My Family
    (this is comdey? BBC are usually quality, this slipped through the net)

You're A Star
    (more CC crap from boReTÉ, all the worst aspects of reality song talent shows, add to the mix the eurovision element and the crapiness is complete)

Hollyoaks
    (if I need to explain to you why it's crap, then you probably already watch it and I consider you unworthy of further communication)

Xposé
    (this show ties up everything I loathe in a little satin bow, ex-TV3 news/AA roadwatch types, celebrity goss, pointless girlie twittering, conspicuous fashion consumption and a pervading air of pretentious self importance)

I've tried to be fair and taken something from each channel. Obviously reality TV is a general dislike and there's plenty of crap on the satelitte channels that I haven't got round to, but the above list is fairly conclusive from my POV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Wertz wrote: »
    The Lyrics Board
    (no, it's not so bad it's good, it's so bad it's created a new definition for bad in the OED)

My Family
    (this is comdey? BBC are usually quality, this slipped through the net)

You're A Star
    (more CC crap from boReTÉ, all the worst aspects of reality song talent shows, add to the mix the eurovision element and the crapiness is complete)

Hollyoaks
    (if I need to explain to you why it's crap, then you probably already watch it and I consider you unworthy of further communication)

Xposé
    (this show ties up everything I loathe in a little satin bow, ex-TV3 news/AA roadwatch types, celebrity goss, pointless girlie twittering, conspicuous fashion consumption and a pervading air of pretentious self importance)

I've tried to be fair and taken something from each channel. Obviously reality TV is a general dislike and there's plenty of crap on the satelitte channels that I haven't got round to, but the above list is fairly conclusive from my POV.

I agree with all of the above....I know someone who loves Linda Martin (I don't think he's joking) and loves the Lyrics Board. Scary stuff.

I would like to add The Animals of Farthing Wood. It ruined my childhood by being on all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm surprised nobody mentioned the overrated Family Guy yet.
    "Aw man it's so random!" Piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

1. Soaps, worse crap ever put on TV, cornation street, emmerdale farm, brookside, eastenders, etc..
    2. Reality shows, same as 1 but if it's any small consolation then at least the acting is a little more realistic! Although I did get a laugh out of that Irish one, forget the name, where they had people on a boat going around Ireland and it sank... and they didn't even get that bit on camera, lol!!
    3. Irish quiz shows, they somehow make you always cringe. winning streak, lyrics board, that dude with the dickie bow, forget the name of that awful show!
    4. The wannabe shows where people who can't sing/act/dance get up and make national fools of themselves!
    5. Barney or those tinky/winky guys... hard call but they are a serious improvement over that lot above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I would like to add The Animals of Farthing Wood. It ruined my childhood by being on all the time.

I have to disagree I loved that show.

I personally don't get 24, my friends love it but it just doesn't click with me. Its not the worst TV I have seen

Grey's Anatomy is crap, my girlfriend will not accept that its a show aimed at women and when i refuse to watch it, as it offends my brain, the show causes arguements.

Prison Break has taken a nose dive. It started well, genius going to jail to save his brother, plans on his body but then it just went mental. Showed have left it at one season.

Any soap, reality tv show or talent show I find more boring than the advertising in between.

A special shout out goes to the MTV brands of the above. "My Super Sweet 16" or whatever it is, "The Hills", "Made". These all make baby jesus cry

Murphy's Micro Q-M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Degsy wrote: »
    Murphy's Micro Q-M

Aw come on now, any show on RTÉ that managed to include atari gaming as part of primetime sunday viewing deserves to be remembered in a positive light.
    I'm surprised nobody mentioned the overrated Family Guy yet.
    "Aw man it's so random!" Piss off.
    You could have a long wait.
    American Dad, maybe, but FG?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Wertz wrote: »
    American Dad, maybe, but FG?
    Yeah, I think it's a terrible comedy show and grossly overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭ScruffySlayer

Vegeta wrote: »
    I

A special shout out goes to the MTV brands of the above. "My Super Sweet 16" or whatever it is, "The Hills", "Made". These all make baby jesus cry

Those are my 3 favourite things to watch on MTV.
    Super Sweet 16 is hilarious. And scary. And hilarious again.
    Made is actually really sweet and I love the idea of it. The way the person in question takes on a new job/role etc is great fun to watch.
    The Hills is horrible but brilliant almost all at once. I love it.

The Cassidy's is my pick though.
    the very thoughts of it.
    *shudder*

South park..swearing cartoons..very f*cking funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

I'm sorry to say that there are quite a few Irish shows that are fairly rubbish - Saw that "The English Class" the other day and had to agree that it was ****e! I can't tell if they are trying to be funny or morbidly ironic... (actually mightn't be that bad if the latter) Celebrity Farm, Cabin Fever, all those... Not too good. (Af)Fair City... I wouldn't mind but some quality programmes have come from RTE considering it is so small compared to the
    likes of BBC...

I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here! Don't like reality shows but this one is particularly bad...

Telly Tubbies!

I think though the reason there aren't as many bad American shows is that we just only get to see the good ones because RTE and BBC and SKY and the rest of them can afford to be choosy, but if we lived in America, with all the different networks they have, I'm sure we'd see some crap...

"God, the Devil and Bob", according to the RTE announcer was "cancelled in America because it was so contraversial", but after watching it, the real reason it was cancelled became clear. (It was crap and no one would watch it).

The later episodes of The Simpsons... Any catchphrase comedy sketch shows... To the guy asking about Little Britain above, I almost agree... Each character is funny when first introduced, but just replayed over and over and over!

California Dreams!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

CSI Miami because of that bastarding Horatio fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Power Rangers cos it's not only crap, but also the amount of crap it produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

Late Late Show??

Get a grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Any nickelodeon/cartoon network show.

Call me insane but I thought the English Class was OK. Mostly due to the hot wimmin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Big Brother and Podge and Rodge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

All reality tv shows
    The shows where people send in videos of their idiot kid falling over the cat
    Every attempt at comedy by RTE (Upwardly Mobile to Dan and Becs)
    Stupid lowbrow American sitcoms
    Soap operas
    Little Britain (why cant people see its the same thing over and over and over)
    Bo Selecta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭RadioCity

Anyone mentioned Kenny Live yet...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Virtually anything produced by/for RTE (yes this includes the Late Late show as well as other tripe such as Kilnaskully)

Hollyoaks (god I can't stand it, but the lads I share with love it??) and any soap in general (most of which they also watch)

Any reality TV show (especially Big Brother. The best year of it was the one when E4 launched because Cablelink/NTL hadn't added it to the line-up yet and Sky wasn't as popular then.. summer of bliss!)

Simpsons (post season 8/9ish. Basically around the time they moved to computer animation and celeb cameo's to prop up the show)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Any reality TV Show ever made, but escpecially that piece of **** called I'm a celebrity... TV3 interrupt The Shield (excellent tv show) mid season, to show a bunch of fcuking nobodies eating rats in a jungle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Sex and the city: or, "some neurotic harridans blither mindlessly untill my brain leaks out my ear". How this got pupular, i'll never know.