Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please & Thank you

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Always say please and thank you to anyone I'm asking for or who is providing a service.

I used to work in a shop and hated customers who had no manners.

D4-type w@nker mumbled at me with his thumb up his nose when I was working in a bar. When I said "excuse me" he said "A PINT of BUDweiser!"

With perfect good manners I handed him a pint which had been half-filled from the slops tray.

Mind your manners folks, costs nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

star-pants wrote: »
    I say thanks to them too :)
    Me too.. dunno why you'd get funny looks, everyone seems to say thanks to the bus-driver...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

baraca wrote: »
    Having came across a few very ignorant people today, I was just wondering do you always say please and thank you? It's become a bit of a habit for me i feel awkward getting out of a taxi or buying something in a shop without saying thanks or saying please when asking for something.

Also, If you walk past someone and it's only the two of you around do you always say hello?

It's basic manners to say please and thank you, I always say it were appropriate. Hate when people don't, it's nice to be nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Stephen P

I always make a point to say Thanks to bus drivers. Sometimes they acknowledge it by saying "See ya now" or "No problem" but more often than not they don't respond. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

cjt156 wrote: »