Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Afraid to use communal showers

• 06-09-2007 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi. I am what some people would class as small...My penis is only about 1"-2" when fraccid, and then when it erect it's only about 5.5" - 6". It's because of this and my less than acceptable body, that I have never showered with anyone before or showered naked in a gym or taken part in a team sport or used a urinal...I am just afraid of what people might say and think and I might get branded as tinydick or something like that...

Anyways the reason I came on here was because I really want to start doing a team sport and I am sure that we will probably be all showering together afterwards and also because I want to be able to join the gym also...So, any advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭milkerman

So you are a 'grower' as opposed to a 'show-er'
    Welcome to reality mate, we cant all be donkey dicks.
    You are what you are, There is nothing abnormal about the dimensions you have quoted.
    When I go to shower after a run on a cold day in Winter, I find the poor little git in a state of near frostbite and not at his best. This happens everyone
    Try not worry about it, genitals come in all different shapes & sizes and the male variety is no oil painting to start with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Shower at home. I never understood the want for men to shower together. Why would you? There's no requisite to get naked with the other team players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

I never saw the need to shower with other lads either, just go home, And if any man comments about your ''dick'' Simply ask ''why were you looking?''
    They might get embarrassed them selfs.

Its not the size of the pencil, Its how you wright with it! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Nobody will be interested in looking at you at all (no offence, nobody'll be looking at anyone). It'll be a case of 30 seconds standing under a shower with a bottle of something that cleans everything, then out again and dressed in 2 mins. Just join your sport and your gym and get on with it.

To ease yourself into it you could wait out of the changingroom until most people have already showered so that the first time or two there'll be less people around. You'll soon realise nobody gives a damn who's showering beside them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Shower at home. To be honest I'd be more worried about a bloke commenting on the size of my lad because he looked rather than it being big or small.

By the way, there's nothing wrong with your size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Smallguy wrote:
    Hi. I am what some people would class as small...My penis is only about 1"-2" when fraccid, and then when it erect it's only about 5.5" - 6". It's because of this and my less than acceptable body, that I have never showered with anyone before or showered naked in a gym or taken part in a team sport or used a urinal...I am just afraid of what people might say and think and I might get branded as tinydick or something like that...

Anyways the reason I came on here was because I really want to start doing a team sport and I am sure that we will probably be all showering together afterwards and also because I want to be able to join the gym also...So, any advice?

This may come as a surprise to you, but men don’t generally stand around admiring each others manhood’s in the shower room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

No one will give a fiddlers tbh.

As one poster said you are a grower and your erect length is about average. Nothing to worry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Remember one thing, you are in a shower full of guys. They all know that a flaccid penis does not represent the erect penis. I don't think I have ever heard or seen a guy get ripped because of his penis size from other blokes in the shower. Women do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

no-one cares or will even notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

you're actually about average there mate...

average erect penis is about 6 inches and flaccid if about 2.

i wouldn't worry about it...

some people just have big flaccid ones, but average when erect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

By the way, there's nothing wrong with your size.

That's what I thought, isn't the average erect something like 5.9"? (I think I read that in another thread on boards actually) You're not small and noone will be looking so don't worry about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭farva

I was like that years ago when I started showering in communal showers, but after a couple of showers you just notice that noone is looking at you and noone cares so you just get on with it. Now its just as normal to shower in naked in a dressing room as it is to shower at home. Relax, you'll get used to it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you're not used to it, it's weird. But you find out very quickly that nobody's looking and nobody cares.

Even if you think there's someone there who's the type who would be a pisstaker, he's probably so insecure about his own lad that he wouldn't dare slag anyone else's.

I never saw the need to shower with other lads either, just go home
    As daveirl says, this doesn't always wash (no pun intended). It's far easier to have a shower before getting in your car, and also allows you the freedom to not *have* to go home after going to the gym or playing sports - it leaves you free to go to the pub or whatever you want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sorry to go slightly off topic here and possibly add to just seems to be unjustified paranoia, but a few times this freak in my gym comes in, and when he showers, he....well he stares. One time me and my friend where in two side by side showers, he was in the one opposite. He looked over his shoulder methodically at each of us every 10 seconds. Neither of us said anything and just left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As stated above - you're a 'grower' not a 'shower'

Speaking as a Grower myself I used to be a bit worried about it but then realised that I wasn't too worried about what other guys thought of my manhood and even if I was they wouldn't really be checking it out while I was taking a slash in the jacks.

If anyone tries to brand you as a smalldick just tell them you're a grower not a shower and that you've not had any complaints from the ladies.

Don't let it worry you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

What about ceiling cat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

As someone who has used communal showers for various reasons since the age of 14 i can tell you that no one gives a ****.

The only person who needs to be satisfied with your piece is the person you sleep with.

End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

HavoK wrote:
    Sorry to go slightly off topic here and possibly add to just seems to be unjustified paranoia, but a few times this freak in my gym comes in, and when he showers, he....well he stares. One time me and my friend where in two side by side showers, he was in the one opposite. He looked over his shoulder methodically at each of us every 10 seconds. Neither of us said anything and just left.

Is he staring at you in general or at your bits? Maybe he's shy and thinks you're staring at him so has to constantly look over to make sure you're not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Dragan wrote:
    The only person who needs to be satisfied with your piece is the person you sleep with.

End of.

Ditto !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

HavoK wrote:

I'd say that guys is probably paranoid about you and checking to make sure you're no looking at him or some such bollix.

Op, everything about your post is normal. Its not expected that you should ahve no problem getting undressed infront of strangers.

Leeby wrote:
    Is he staring at you in general or at your bits? Maybe he's shy and thinks you're staring at him so has to constantly look over to make sure you're not?

I tried staring at him until he made eye contact in order to give him an unspoken message regarding what he was doing but he actually kept blatantly looking at my penis even when he must have realised I was staring straight at his face. He plain didn't care. I'm not a confrontational sort of guy so I just left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

HavoK wrote:
    I tried staring at him until he made eye contact in order to give him an unspoken message regarding what he was doing but he actually kept blatantly looking at my penis even when he must have realised I was staring straight at his face. He plain didn't care. I'm not a confrontational sort of guy so I just left.

That ****e aint on. I'm continuously amazed by the BS people put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Sounds like you are average and like people are saying, no one will be looking.
    daveirl wrote:

You really dont want to start a fight when you are all naked ....

Boston wrote:
    That ****e aint on. I'm continuously amazed by the BS people put up with.

Yeah to be honest like I said I'm a very unconfrontational guy, as is my friend, to be honest we were just embarrassed by the situationand perhaps a bad just of words even in such a situation I plain don't have the balls to say anything. I saw him once more and he did it again, I left straight away, and I haven't seen him since. Although I suppose I feel bad knowing he could be doing the same to kids who use the pool..still, anyway, I think we're gone off on a totally irrelevant tangent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

HavoK wrote:
    Then don't let him see your penis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinker

OP six inches when erect is the average according to some programme the other night all about penis size, the presenter had a 3.5incher when erect, so you can chillax a bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

As stated your average in size. If you want to look a bit more menacing :D, why dont you trim your pubes back, that adds to the visual impact slightly

[EDIT] NOT SAFE FOR WORK

www.snapyourchap.com

http://mypenisandeveryoneelses.com/index.php?id=5 [/EDIT]

BBC3 did a documentary lasy night on the social taboo of men and the age old discusion of whether size really matters
    Now I was watching it with my boyfriend and despite me completly reassuring him I was MORE than satisfied with his equipment and from the evening and day we had he should know that but it still didn't stop him taking out the measuring tape but we had fun doing it. It said something like 84% of men were unsatisfied with their size and that 48% of men have above average penises
    I guess its like women with boob size etc I doubt penis enlargement operations will ever come into a craze phase as men are not as open it as about women. check out the site it will be a help in your train of thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Elessar wrote:
    Shower at home. I never understood the want for men to shower together. Why would you? There's no requisite to get naked with the other team players.
    I'm not into the communal showering myself. I'm fit n healthy, have a normal sized knob, no issues with nudity or anything but I find being in the nip with strangers slightly uncomfortable. Not *very* uncomfortable mind you... I've had communal showers when it's been convenient to - like when I'm going somewhere straight from training. All the same, I'd rather go home for a shower. Nothing wrong with that I don't think. After training, I just throw on my tracksuit and head home.

48% of men have above average penises
    That figure is closer to 50%. Very, very close to 50%. Similarly, very, very close to 50% have a below average sized mickey.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That figure is closer to 50%. Very, very close to 50%. Similarly, very, very close to 50% have a below average sized mickey.:D
    Actually, averages only work like that if there is an even distribution. It's possible to have a sample where only 1% of the sample are bigger than the average. :)

I'm not going to explain here, it's OT. 48% is indicative of a fairly even distribution.

I stand corrected then. 48% above average, 4% average and 48% BELOW average... you know who you are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Look, in the showers you're better off being 1" than 7", trust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

you're more likely to die in a plane crash than have someone comment on your cock in a public changing room.

I've been on sports teams from the age of 7-17 - been to gyms & swimming pools since then & have never heard anyone comment on another guys part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I've seen a couple of programmes recently about penis size. It seems that this idea that 6 inches is the average is not actually correct. In earlier studies they let people measure themselves and came up with an average of 6 inches. But in the recent studies they measured people, and found that the average was 5 to 5 and a half inches.

I'm in a gym in Dublin city centre and I've noticed people on a number of occasions taking a look. I just ignore everyone and accept that it's not the straightest gym in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'Dont worry about it as when ur in the shower, the other guys arent going to be looking there unless they are gay....and 5.5-6inch when erect is the average size so dont worry........ur NORMAL....'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭milkerman

OP, You should be more worried about veruca in the communal showers than the size of your knob. As the other posters have confirmed, your knob is within normal perameters, so chill out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭padolicious

no disrespect to u but 5 years ago when our skul had the sex
    education talk we were told that the size should b around 6''
    and when erect 12'' is this not true??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

no disrespect to u but 5 years ago when our skul had the sex education talk we were told that the size should b around 6''
    and when erect 12'' is this not true??
    Not for Humans. The typical human penis is about 6 inches when erect, some bigger, some smaller, generally in line with the persons overall size.

In extreme situations (cold, extreme physical effort) a penis can shrivel up to practically nothing (externally).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭keynesian

When i was younger, i thought i had a small c0ck, then i started ****ing men, thats when i realize I've a big one. I wish i had taken more showers.

No Guy would be looking at your c0ck unless they are gay and they have the social embarisment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

just a note, most men measure there lad with a ruler which is all fine and good if its totally straight, but if its a bit bent your missing out on accuracy! so use a piece of string and then measure the string against the ruler!!

Smallguy wrote:

Thats an Average size penis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Smallguy wrote:
    Hi. I am what some people would class as small...My penis is only about 1"-2" when fraccid, and then when it erect it's only about 5.5" - 6".
    Dude, ignore the f**kers. If anyone asks, just say

"I'm in a room full of men: and you expect me to have a hard on?".
    slumped wrote:
    What about ceiling cat?
    I don't get it. We're talking about dick, and you suddenly mention pussy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Look at a few classical Greek statues. Those sculptors were realistic. Have you been watching too much porn?

Remember, your dick looks smaller than it really is when you are looking down at it. Check your profile in a mirror. And 5.5" to 6" is normal, not small.

The only problem I have with guys who use the cubicle to piss in is that they often piss all over the seat. Hope you are not one of these. Tbh, no-one at the urinals will be checking you out anyway, same goes for the showers I would say. You will probably attract slagging by not using the showers.

Just do it. Can you imagine living the rest of your life this way?

[edit] Check out the fitment page on stadiumpal.com. Measurement to be taken when flaccid. You'll be surprised.

Oh, an old joke. Guy goes into chemist (said it was old) and asks "What condom sizes do you sell?". Assistant replies: "We sell small, medium, and LIAR". [/edit]

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

If you find that people actually are looking at your penis, then you're probably considerably larger than average, not smaller.