Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst place in Ireland......

• 31-08-2007 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 40

My name is Michael Cody, im from Dublin, ive just spent a few years in derry it has to be the worst place in ireland because:
    1. The people have the most annoying whinging accent ive ever heard.
    2. The place is looks like its falling down.
    3 There are no decent single women in the place, they are all pregnant by the age of 18 and drawing dole.
    3. The place is extremely zenophobic and narrow minded.
    4. There are no decent bar/clubs.
    5. The place has to be the most divided and sectarian city in Ireland.
    6. The place is full of scumbags.

I could go on and on, but I did meet some good people there, mostly from ther loyalist/ protestant side of the city. Before I went up there I like many from the south rhought that I united Ireland was a good idea now im completely against it, im now of the opinion as kevin myers wrote in the irish Times that a team of JCBS should work 24 hours around the clock and dig a trench aroud the North and let the North float into the atlantic sea!
    I think that Derry people in general lack confidence about their city and have chip on their shoulder about where they are from.
    Anyway rant over anybody got any other similar experiences?

My name is Michael Cody, im from Dublin, ive just spent a few years in derry it has to be the worst place in ireland because:
    1. The people have the most annoying whinging accent ive ever heard.
    2. The place is looks like its falling down.
    3 There are no decent single women in the place, they are all pregnant by the age of 18 and drawing dole.
    3. The place is extremely zenophobic and narrow minded.
    4. There are no decent bar/clubs.
    5. The place has to be the most divided and sectarian city in Ireland.
    6. The place is full of scumbags.

I could go on and on, but I did meet some good people there, mostly from ther loyalist/ protestant side of the city. Before I went up there I like many from the south rhought that I united Ireland was a good idea now im completely against it, im now of the opinion as kevin myers wrote in the irish Times that a team of JCBS should work 24 hours around the clock and dig a trench aroud the North and let the North float into the atlantic sea!
    I think that Derry people in general lack confidence about their city and have chip on their shoulder about where they are from.
    Anyway rant over anybody got any other similar experiences?

Living in a place that has been affected by 40 years of the troubles(including the after effects) is bound to affect someones chareater.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Clearly you've never been to Dunmanway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Cork.

That is all.

Bandon.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

After Hours

• Registered Users Posts: 13,980 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Yer ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Des' flat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

gimmick wrote:
    Des' flat.
    Because YOUR MA is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Thought the spelling way YORE?

Not to mention, you are wrong, my ma has better taste than to shack up in Dublin. Much less Des' flat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

If you hated it so much why did you stay for a couple of years???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I think the Derry accent is cute on a girl and I found everyone in Derry to be very cool.

Worst place in Ireland for me is Dublin. Too busy, polluted.. Can't stand the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,114 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Derry is not in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Slow coach wrote:
    Derry is not in Ireland.
    Kilkenny is little poland now:(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

for me its Ballaghderren, bad pubs, shops etc; i won't go any further because i might piss people off :p To make matters worse THEY THINK THEY ARE IN MAYO WHEN IN FACT THEY ARE CLEARLY WITHIN THE ROSCOMMON BORDER :mad: And all the fine footballers past and present we (Roscommon) have lost to Mayo because Ballaghderren players are forced to play for Mayo.

OP i have been to Derry a number of times (my aunt lives near Altnagelvin) and I have to say i disagree with you on most of them points because you could insert the name of any Irish town into your list there; even Galway which i consider the best town in Ireland could tick the boxes of points 1,2,3 and 6, definitely not 4 and 5 though

Slow coach wrote:
    Derry is not in Ireland.

The same way Dublin is in France?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Anywhere in the 6 Counties sucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ambasite

Slow coach wrote:
    Derry is not in Ireland.

in Wales is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

ambasite wrote:
    in Wales is it?
    i would have said county famine.

dlofnep wrote:
    The same way Dublin is in France?

Whatever. :confused:

Slow coach wrote:
    Whatever. :confused:

As a mod for maths, I figured you'd have some basic logic.. But you don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Slow coach wrote:
    Derry is not in Ireland.
    Well it's 'on' Ireland at any rate.

Two things Derry has got going for it that I have noticed.

* Municipal wireless internet within the walled city.

* A large manga and anime convention each year.

Me...? I just plain can't stand Clifden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Amy Elliott

Kilkishen , Co. Clare , Hellhole full of rednecks and drunksand GAA loving Hicks , no reedeming Qualities whatsoever and I'm stuck there for the rest of my life! aaaaggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh
    And there's no ATM

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Kilkishen , Co. Clare , Hellhole full of rednecks and drunksand GAA loving Hicks , no reedeming Qualities whatsoever and I'm stuck there for the rest of my life! aaaaggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh
    And there's no ATM
    No 'ass to mouth'?

That's a disgrace!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Tralee!! oh how i hate Tralee Co.Kerry, The Thorn of Tralee, ugly cows! drove my brother through that kip once, i had to spray anti-freeze in his eyes to protect him from the horrible imagery!

dlofnep wrote:
    As a mod for maths, I figured you'd have some basic logic.. But you don't.

I'm completely lost now.

Derry is in the UK.

Ireland is not part of the UK.

Ergo Derry is not in Ireland.

Logical enough for ya?

Derry is ON Ireland, but not IN Ireland.

What has France got to do with it?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Edgeworthstown..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Slow coach wrote:
    I'm completely lost now.

Derry is in the UK.

Ireland is not part of the UK.

Ergo Derry is not in Ireland.

Logical enough for ya?

Derry is ON Ireland, but not IN Ireland.

What has France got to do with it?

The UK is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
    Derry fits into the last bit which is in Ireland.
    back to school with ye !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

....is goldenmavericks gaff!

Pal wrote:
    The UK is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
    Derry fits into the last bit which is in Ireland.
    back to school with ye !

No. Northern Ireland is not in Ireland. At least I picked that much up in school. What currency do you spend, what flag is flown, do they have Gardaí on the streets?

Derry is in Ireland Slow Coach - keep your Paisleyism to yourself. This isn't the first thread where you've swoggled your anti-free-irish sentiments.