If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Grass @ €10 per gram

• 20-08-2007 08:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭

The Gardai made a seizure of 50 kilos of herbal cannabis in Donegal today. They are claiming that it's worth €500,000. I have never bought grass but this sounds a bit far fetched to me. Are the Gardai playing us for complete mugs these days or is inflation really gone that bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

as far as i know they split it down to the smallest amount that could be sold multiply it by the dearest price youd pay off the tightest cnut of a dealer then add on a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Before this goes any further, I will point out that discussion of where to buy illegal drugs is strictly forbidden.
    Read the charter for further details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I love the metric system as much as anyone, but are they really measuring drugs in grams these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

€283 per ounce if you prefer. The Gardai use metric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

ballooba wrote:
    €283 per ounce if you prefer. The Gardai use metric.
    That does seem expensive. Even if you break it down into quarters or eighths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

10 Euro a gram seems like a very good deal considering how scarce pot is in ireland..

Its 7/8 Euro per gram in amsterdam and $10 for a gram in US/Canada as far as i know..

For good quality stuff i would have estimated that you would pay maybe 20 euro per gram in rip off ireland..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

They always over estimate. Its like if they seize 100,000 pills, they say over one million euro worth of ecstasy. To make a million out of it the guy would have to bring 10,000 pills a time to the next 10 Godskitchens and only sell them when it was getting late and people would pay anything for them. A big dealer bringing in 100,000 might buy them in Holland for 30,000 euro. He might off them in minimum deals of 1000 pills for roundabout 1000 euro. 70,000 profit. The guy who buys a thousand knocks them out to the ravers for between 4 and 8 euro.

So as you can see, the game isnt as profitable as it used to be. However after nearly disappearing for some time pills seem to be making a comeback, and coke seems to be on its way out in Dublin to a small extent (not down the country mind, its the opposite, its grown huge within the last year)

This is all from experience of people in parties and clubs by the way, not gauged by moving ki`s to the countryside :D But i remember i would go to parties a year ago, people would still be there at 8am sniffing away, havent seen it in ages in Dublin like that (despise the stuff myself). I think alot of people have realised its over priced utter sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Tha Gopher wrote:
    They always over estimate. Its like if they seize 100,000 pills, they say over one million euro worth of ecstasy. To make a million out of it the guy would have to bring 10,000 pills a time to the next 10 Godskitchens and only sell them when it was getting late and people would pay anything for them. A big dealer bringing in 100,000 might buy them in Holland for 30,000. He might off them in minimum deals of 1000 pills for roundabout 1000 euro. 70,000 profit. The guy who buys a thousand knocks them out to the ravers for between 4 and 8 euro.

Well its the gardai and they were £25 at one stage.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Aye, back in the early 90s yeah?

Ive often bumped into the old men of rave at various dance nights telling tales of how the things back then blew their head off for 8 hours straight :D But as for coke, the amount of money spent on that rubbish here is (or was) unreal. tbh ive far more of a buzz on the dance floor whacked on shots of voddy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

So much maths in this thread! More drugs would really liven up the ol' JC/LC!

"The Gardaí seize 50 Kilos of Cannabis, each kilo worth an estimated €10,000, calculate the cost of cannabis per gramme, then convert to ounces and calculate the cost of that, adding on a cut for dealers and "friends-of-friends". Subtract the appropriate amount for gardaí completely bullsh!tting about prices"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Crucifix wrote:
    I love the metric system as much as anyone, but are they really measuring drugs in grams these days?
    Funny how this seems to be dependant on the drug in question. Hash is old and steady, it likes to be in ounces; coke is brash and modern, it likes to be in grams.

If I was a dealer I'd use old-fashioned apothecary measures. Just to be more old-skool than the rest.

This is only one reason why I wouldn't be good at being a dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

maybe the garda is just used to buying really really expensive st1t? someone should tell them to shop around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Gonzo_Fiend

Eh €10 per gram is a decent deal in Ireland. Most times you are paying €15 - €18 unless you buy in bulk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I used to work out the price per quarter of the hash that the gardai would seize, based on what they claimed the street value was. It consistently turned out to be over 200% of what the *actual* street value was. Guess something's gotta make em sound good or they're working off 20 year-old rates or something :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Who do the Gardaí measure in grammes when everyone who's dealing/buying the stuff measures in ounces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Gardai are no different than your mates, always bragging and exaggerrating about how much they bought!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Shortly after the big cocaine haul, there was an article in the Sunday Times about how they calculated metrics. I can't recall the specifcs, but they make the point that when they said a €300m haul, they knew damn well that the drug importers themselves had only lost a fraction of that and that the prices were dictated by a "high price" markup. Indeed during that cocaine haul, figures in the papers ranged from about 100m to 300m, so even the papers distorted the numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Piste wrote:
    Who do the Gardaí measure in grammes when everyone who's dealing/buying the stuff measures in ounces?
    Cos you gotta modernise, maaaaaaaaaaaaaan.

Non stoner answer: Because the Republic of Ireland officially uses the metric system, and An Garda Síochána, being the official police force of the state, utilise it accordingly.

(Also, I've encountered instances where weed has been measured in grams by dealers, it's not all that uncommon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Assuming it's any good and not some piss poor homegrown, that's a good price.
    As for metric V imperial? Who the f*ck cares, it's all going to the same place in the end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Give me 2 fingers of yaya please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

ballooba wrote:
    The Gardai made a seizure of 50 kilos of herbal cannabis in Donegal today. They are claiming that it's worth €500,000. I have never bought grass but this sounds a bit far fetched to me. Are the Gardai playing us for complete mugs these days or is inflation really gone that bad?

jazzzzzzzzzzzus quite cheap so.....
    or so im told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Solid hash was/is sold in imperial measures...1/4 oz or whatever.
    But skunk was /is usually sold by the gramme. More potent, a gramme might last you a few days. €10 a gramme for good skunk aint cheap, but it's not unreasonable.
    Used to be 70 sterling a quarter for skunk, but cos people couldn't afford to shell out 70, they started selling by the gramme.
    Well, that was the case where I came from anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Once again, they seize cannabis while at the same time a large quantity of Heroin has probably made its way into the country. The priorites really need to be straightened out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Piste wrote:

Not true.Big deals are measured in kilos or multiples thereof.Its only when you chop a kilo up into quarter k's you start refering to them as 9 ounce bars..divide that into ounces and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

cost of good weed in ireland not bush weed or glass / sand weed although ****ers will try charge ya the same price

7grams : €75-80
    28grams : €300-350

252grams / 9 ounces : €22-2400

1000grmas / 36 ounces : €6-7000 if ya buy just one kg

this is street prices in dublin

alot of small timers are selling weed in 5grm bags for 80€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

As a non-druggy I find this very educational,
    Please continue. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

5 gram bags for 80 euro... I think we'd better call Eddie Hobbs because thats a ****ing rip off!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

well if your buying good uncontaminated weed which is few and far between in ireland at the moment.....

the price is kinda justified. supply and demand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

€50 bags are typically 3.0 - 3.5 grams in Ireland.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

the lovely police done a friend of mine who had enough smoke for max. two small joints and when he went to court, the judge was told he had enough for 8 joints. they are scabby feckers with their smoke those Guards