Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA v Soccer (get in!!)

• 13-08-2007 11:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭

blackbelt wrote:
    Well,this stems from Boards Beers 17 in Messrs on Sat night and seen as how access is denied for me on the soccer forum,I am challenging the soccer forum on behalf of the GAA forum to accept our proposal on having challenge matches in both codes.

Heres the deal,you soccer heads choose your venue and we'll show up and play you at soccer.Then some other time,we'll choose our venue and we'll meet you there and play GAA.I really think it would be interesting.In fact I trained on Sunday and this morning at 6am.:D

Anyway,I think it will take a few weeks or months even.We have to rally the troops,get our jersies made and train.We wouldn't go in unprepared you know.

Anybody interested,please PM me or The Pope and we'll get organised.You never know,we could have games against other companies and groups.In such a case,I'm more than happy to organise it.
    Just throwing this here for bb. If this goes ahead (which hopefully it will) theres only 1 rule we have. Any tackles that are fair game in GAA are fair for the footie match also. ie. a punch is just a warning but 5 punches are a yellow ;) Joking of course. Actually, who from here were we talking to about it? I cant remember the nickname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Twas myself.

Where is that posted elsewhere, the GAA forum I imagine?

I don't like going there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

seansouth wrote:
    I don't like going there!
    hehe, we dont bite. :) Ok then, lets take over a random forum for this. The greyhound one is usually quiet ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

If we do pull this off, we could do it for charity, namely the one I am trying to raise money for at present. See my signature. I am going to Malawi in Africa at the end of October for two weeks to teach computer courses for an Irish-based and sport-related charity. The charity is Playing for Life and the specific project I will be involved in is this one in Zomba in Malawi. The charity has connections to both the FAI and the GAA, as well as other sports. I depart on October 30th, and I am meant to have as much of the €5500 that I have to raise by the end of September. I have about €1400 so far.

This is the poster I was sent, and I have other documentation:
    PFLPoster.JPG
    If anyone can help in any way, please contact me, as every euro helps. I have set up an online page that you can donate to by credit card, which you can access through my signature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I'd be well up for this. Haven't played GAA in years but could be an fun addition to pre season

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

Yeah I'd be well up for that too.

It`ll take us a while to get ready for it tho. Most of us havent run further than to catch a bus in years :) Should be fun tho. Would be good to get a charity thing involved also.

Im drunk, but not too drunk to foresee this game as a victory for GAA :D we lose 5-0 in the footie (soccer)(them yolks across the wather)(whatever u want to call it :D ) but win 8-14 to 3-2 in the Football. We doing this by collective scores or as each game being just a win? ie. if you win the soccer and we win the GAA its a draw? More entertaining id say if the scores mattered from each game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Well folks,we've been talking a lot about the proposal for some matches a lot on the GAA forum and we're getting there as far as numbers are concerned.Thought I'd give you guys an update.

Phoenix Park looks likely to be the venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Just so we're sure on this, I can punch people in GAA right? And do that silly thing that gah players do, you know where they bounce of each other like two fat seals?? I've always wanted to do that! :D

You can Leixlip but you`ll get back more than you give ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

If other Boardeaux players are doing this, I'll give it a go. Never played it before and don't know the rules.

Seen it on TV though, looks like its a walk in the park alright... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

id be well up for a bit of "bogball" as Des likes to call it...im sure us country folk can teach ye a few tricks!!!! Art and Dan should be up for it also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

id be well up for a bit of "bogball" as Des likes to call it...im sure us country folk can teach ye a few tricks!!!! Art and Dan should be up for it also.

Count me in, I havent had a good boxing match, i mean GAA game since I moved to Dublin :p

so des, can we organise this? we have a free week in 2 weeks time, so maybe we could play that week? organise it now please!!!something different and shold be a laugh. i reckon we would take them in both codes!

I don't know how the bogballers are getting on with a team, I suppose I could ask.

Also, only about three of the regular posters on this forum said they'd get involved.

Also, probably better to do it in off season, to avoid unnecessary injury.

Also, will take more than 2 weeks to organise.

Also, why the feck do I have to organise it by myself?

DesF wrote: »
    I don't know how the bogballers are getting on with a team, I suppose I could ask.

Also, only about three of the regular posters on this forum said they'd get involved.

Also, probably better to do it in off season, to avoid unnecessary injury.

Also, will take more than 2 weeks to organise.

Also, why the feck do I have to organise it by myself?

we will have more than 3,we would have at least 7 or 8 people who have gaa experience, that would do and remember, there is soccer involved too, so i cant see how we wouldn have a team.

injury, come on, im playing gaa since i was 7 and i have been injured alot more times playing soccer. gaa is upper body contact mostly.

2 weeks to organise? christ, ill fecking do it if it would take you 2 weeks!

christ, ill fecking do it
    Good man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

will play if its on a weekend.

Can play for both too, i gots 2 all ireland schools medals :cool:

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote: »
    will play if its on a weekend.

Special guest appearance.

We have about six right backs at this stage.

Special guest appearance.

We have about six right backs at this stage.

I playing centre mid for a team on friday nights/sat afternoon :o

kdjac

I playing centre mid for a team on friday nights/sat afternoon :o

kdjac

rofl.

How many games you won?

You'd never displace the Shay/Sav partnership.

er....Friday nights...no wonder the stains form has dipped.

All them top of the work league with 30 points out of 30 (its really easy) and in sat league i only appear when my bro calls me to say his team short a player.

Just cant play midweek, seems boards defended well when i was playing :p

kdjac

seems boards defended well when i was playing
    * In our last 6 league games we have won 5, keeping 4 clean sheets and only conceding 3 goals.

And

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/Boardeaux

In our first season, the six games before Xmas, which you played in, we conceded nine goals.

Stats don't lie:D

* In our last 6 league games we have won 5, keeping 4 clean sheets and only conceding 3 goals.

And

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/Boardeaux

In our first season, the six games before Xmas, which you played in, we conceded nine goals.

Stats don't lie:D

You count wrong i didnt play in the 6-1

the 2-1 was my last game

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Man I suck at Gaaaaah. Count me out.

So you soccer heads think you can take us in both codes?:D

Tell you what,I'll make the call again on GAA forum and get the numbers.However,I propose we have these games in a few months.We need to get organised.We wouldn't go in unprepared you know.:D

blackbelt wrote: »
    So you soccer heads think you can take us in both codes?:D

Tell you what,I'll make the call again on GAA forum and get the numbers.However,I propose we have these games in a few months.We need to get organised.We wouldn't go in unprepared you know.:D

Desf has abandoned me , will play for you in both matches.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

F**k that lads, you don't get to mouth off with a 'shure we'd bate yous in both gaa and that foreign man football game' rant and then say 'eh, I'll get back to you on that after I've had 6 months training'. Either put the f*ck up and play us as soon as this can be organised or good luck.

I'd expect a certain level of organisation from a gaa team, and one of the fundamentals of soccer is good organisation - very hard to break down a well organised defence, so I'll back us for only a 2 or 3 goal win on the soccer side. One caveat being is that its reffed by a qualified soccer ref cos otherwise we'll get the gaa heads going 'shure that was a grand tackle, he only floored him and with gaa rules who honestly knows whats a foul and whats not?'. If we have a 2 goal lead by half time we'd at least double it in the second.

The gaa match (reffed by a gaa ref with normal levels of physical contact allowed) would intrigue me though, I think our team needs just a little bit more toughness, though we've come a long way on that front, so would be good to see how we fare up. Bottom line is gaa is more a specialist skill with point kicking from hand and foot and many of those skills are directly transferrable to soccer so if paddy power was here he'd have to back the gaa team for an aggregate win. Me, I'll be playing full forward and will back myself to score at least 1-3 and I'll reckon we'll take yous no bother.

F**k that lads, you don't get to mouth off with a 'shure we'd bate yous in both gaa and that foreign man football game' rant and then say 'eh, I'll get back to you on that after I've had 6 months training'. Either put the f*ck up and play us as soon as this can be organised or good luck.
    I'd expect a certain level of organisation from a gaa team, and one of the fundamentals of soccer is good organisation - very hard to break down a well organised defence, so I'll back us for only a 2 or 3 goal win on the soccer side. One caveat being is that its reffed by a qualified soccer ref cos otherwise we'll get the gaa heads going 'shure that was a grand tackle, he only floored him and with gaa rules who honestly knows whats a foul and whats not?'. If we have a 2 goal lead by half time we'd at least double it in the second.

The gaa match (reffed by a gaa ref with normal levels of physical contact allowed) would intrigue me though, I think our team needs just a little bit more toughness, though we've come a long way on that front, so would be good to see how we fare up. Bottom line is gaa is more a specialist skill with point kicking from hand and foot and many of those skills are directly transferrable to soccer so if paddy power was here he'd have to back the gaa team for an aggregate win. Me, I'll be playing full forward and will back myself to score at least 1-3 and I'll reckon we'll take yous no bother.

The difference between our team and your team is that your team all know each other from playing together.We don't have this hand when it comes to the GAA forum except for a small select few of us who have met for some drinks after Dublin/club matches.I'm still getting numbers and building from the last invitation and it is starting to look really good.

Haha,I think the 1-3 is a bit ambitious on your part.You are not Declan O Sullivan :D We have lads playing for clubs who will be able to take care of you and I don't mean that in the physical style you think I might be ranting on about.With a bit of luck you might score three wides and miss a penalty.:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Ah, I was hoping to get a bit more of a rise out of you than that ;), far too sensible a response altogether.

For the record, I've never played gaa so have absolutely no way of knowing if I'd be any use at it, but would defo be on for giving it a shot cos it does seem like it would be a good buzz.