Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Booze!! Whadda you drink on a night out?

zaph wrote:
    Ah go on and admit it, you really love Guinnes, don't you? :D
    I really really really do not like guinness. Tastes horrible. I've heard it said that its an acquired taste, but not one I could imagine acquiring myself.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Stky10

I really really really do not like guinness. Tastes horrible. I've heard it said that its an acquired taste, but not one I could imagine acquiring myself.:D

Depends where you get it from. If its from the right pub, its like pure cream, and a pleasure to drink. From the wrong pub, and its horrendous, and probably what boiled socks taste like.

I don't get the Heineken drinkers here myself. The taste of chemicals off it is something unreal, with explains the hangovers it gives. A friend of mine that didn't drink in college, but started drinking once he'd finished college used to drink it, but nearly gave up drink because of the hangovers he got from it. We converted him to Guinness, and he's well happy out.

zaph wrote:
    Says the man who drinks Miller "Genuine Draft" :rolleyes:
    I drink Miller because out of all the mass produced piss that most pubs serve, its better than most and its miles better than crudweiser.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

maple wrote:
    yes but i'm female so he gladly hands it over.

Forgive me for getting your gender wrong - this is afterall a forum for the manliest of manly men.

Jesus woman, drinking homemade rohypnol sends out a very dangerous signal. If they saw you, some of my dodgy mates would call a taxi immediately to ferry you home in (their home of course, not yours)

And why is there so many wimmins in here? Its alright when they have girly names like Irishbird and Happygirl but maple is too ambigious. How are we supposed to know when to stop scratching our balls and talking openly about pornography unless wimmins clearly identify themselves as such??

J.S. Pill wrote:
    How are we supposed to know when to stop scratching our balls and talking openly about pornography unless wimmins clearly identify themselves as such??

These are things that wimmins must simply learn to accept when they set foot in BGRH. Why should we alter our behaviour for them.
    WIMMIN, ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Guinness of course, if I'm in a decent/foreign pub leffe duvel aventinus westmalle triple, if not, carlsberg grolsch sometimes smithwicks. Partial to the odd jameson and if shots are involved tequila it is.

humbert wrote:
    Guinness of course, if I'm in a decent/foreign pub leffe duvel aventinus westmalle triple, if not, carlsberg grolsch sometimes smithwicks. Partial to the odd jameson and if shots are involved tequila it is.

westmalle triple-lovely, but hard to come by most of the time.

I drink Miller because out of all the mass produced piss that most pubs serve, its better than most and its miles better than crudweiser.:D

But they sell Stella everywhere now, so you've no excuse. (well, everywhere in Dublin).

For meself, you can't beat a decent pint of oul' Uncle Arthur. Sad thing is that it's next to impossible to get a decent one anywhere in town. Only a select few meet the acceptable standard. 'Tis a shame really.

My theory on this is that it's only the dingy old-school pubs that sell enough of it for it to be fresh every time. A lot of the time i reckon the one keg is sitting there all day (maybe longer). You just wouldn't get that down the country.

So, sadly, I've recently become addicted to Stella. 5.2% rocket fuel.
    For chasers/shorts i'd go between Hennessey, Capt. Morgan's rum, and (budget permitting) Midleton whiskey. Costs a fortune but it's liquid silk.

Was in an early house once and heard a Cork lad order a "cement mixer". Bailey's mixed with Tequila :eek: When i asked him why it was called that he said, "cos it's great at getting everything churning so you can make room for more drink". He then went into the jacks to drink it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i made a lovely cocktail at a party recently - rather inspired i thought but maybe a bit too girlie for you real men

frangelico, coffee, vodlka and milk, loads of ice and wiss it all in the blender - the good about it, is the coffee keeps you awake

i stick with my heino or guiness (depending on what i am in), death chargers, black rum and coke or jd and coke (but this sends me a bit mad)

Had a good, but simple cocktail recently. Its nothing special, but its good. I was at a party at my cousins gaff, and it was about 3 in the morning when someone said hey were getting tired(not me).
    My cousin goes out to the kitchen, empties a big fruit bowl, pours in a bottle of jamesons and a bottle of Smirnoff, chops up a load of limes that were previously in said fruitbowl and squeezed the juice into the mix.
    Lovely sweet and tangy and very strong. Good stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Guinness or Heineken normally depending on how I feel that night.

I love a nice whiskey but know that I can't drink more that about 2 or they make me go a bit crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

irishbird wrote:
    i made a lovely cocktail at a party recently - rather inspired i thought but maybe a bit too girlie for you real men

frangelico, coffee, vodlka and milk, loads of ice and wiss it all in the blender - the good about it, is the coffee keeps you awake

At least it keeps you in the kitchen :D

I'm a big fan of the Guinness. My local does a lovely pint - thankfully the place is only a five minute walk;) . At this stage I know the pubs that do good and bad pints of Guinness. I just don't go to the pubs that serve bad pints - nothing worse than a bad Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭retrospect

tequila and red bull = funny nite out :cool:

retrospect wrote:
    tequila and red bull = vomiting in the street :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MiniMetro

Pint wise, I've switched from Guinness to Heineken to Bulmers pint bottles in the last few years.

In the days of the Palace(€2 a drink) or Pegs(€1/£1 a drink) it used to be a quintuple vodka with a WKD or a Smirnoff Ice in a pint glass. The barmen used not let you order more than a double so you had to buy it as 4 "seperate" drinks. That's what you call protecting the youth! Luckily our noble Gardaí/court system convinced me to change my ways somewhat.

The old vodka and cranberry is your only man now or a vodka tonic. Especially nice when washed down with ample Rennie or if you are in the know, a simple Zantac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

found bass tonight!! in the newtown house if anyone is interested, god i love that drink

• Registered Users Posts: 22,769 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Out: Guinness when it's cold, Bulmers when it's warm. The odd Jemmy to be thrown in for good measure.

In: Corona, red wine, brandy.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

So, sadly, I've recently become addicted to Stella. 5.2% rocket fuel.

Used to have many a good night with a crate of stella. I've gotten off the stuff now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dublin's Finest

Stella hangover can be, how should I put it, "aggressive".

Peroni is good...not that common in Ireland yet though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Ok i'll usually start the night easy on a few bottles of Erdinger where available, possibly dabbling in Tiger or Cobra where found.

After a couple of those im done with beer, move on to the double Southy and limes... over here that's a fair amount of Southy and lime cordial, over in the states that order would be like be getting 5 or 6 shots of Southy and a slice of lime on the side! And at a fraction of the price.

I love american bars... gotta visit the hick towns for the cheap cheap booze though.

Only one place in the world can you get 16 pitchers of beer, 40 random shots (US size shots) and 4 huge home cooked pizza's for $150... yes $150.... thats less than i'd spend on a good night out! I love Wisconsin, wooo!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

J.S. Pill wrote:
    Forgive me for getting your gender wrong - this is afterall a forum for the manliest of manly men.

Jesus woman, drinking homemade rohypnol sends out a very dangerous signal. If they saw you, some of my dodgy mates would call a taxi immediately to ferry you home in (their home of course, not yours)

And why is there so many wimmins in here? Its alright when they have girly names like Irishbird and Happygirl but maple is too ambigious. How are we supposed to know when to stop scratching our balls and talking openly about pornography unless wimmins clearly identify themselves as such??

pray continue with scratching your balls, it will not offend me.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

matrim wrote:
    I love a nice whiskey but know that I can't drink more that about 2 or they make me go a bit crazy.

me too - i love whiskey and used to limit it to one at last orders - i have a need to fight the world after a few :(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

irishbird wrote:
    me too - i love whiskey and used to limit it to one at last orders - i have a need to fight the world after a few :(

Me too, I get incredibly vicious after whiskey and I'm normally the happy-go-lucky chap. Still doesn't stop me lately as that's how I start my weekend. I live away from my hometown during the week so I don't know anybody here nor do I drink during the week. But as soon as I pop into my local I order a Guinness and take a swig of whiskey to bring me good luck for the weekend ahead, though since I've started that strange things have happened in my local:

Me getting pistol whipped in the face by a toy shotgun leaving a nasty scar on me face, a guy my friend knocked out before comes into our local with an army of heavy fúckers; much chaos ensued, lesbian teen gets into a fist fight with my male friend, etc. Still though, I suppose it brings flavour to the weekend :p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Duggy747 wrote:

Me getting pistol whipped in the face by a toy shotgun leaving a nasty scar on me face, a guy my friend knocked out before comes into our local with an army of heavy fúckers; much chaos ensued, lesbian teen gets into a fist fight with my male friend, etc. Still though, I suppose it brings flavour to the weekend :p

Sounds like a great boozer. I must pay it a visit. Do they charge for all this entertainment?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

crosstownk wrote:
    Sounds like a great boozer. I must pay it a visit. Do they charge for all this entertainment?

They'd make a fúckin' killing if they did.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭McFearless

Heineken OR Guinness,cant go near shots,im a pussy when it comes to shots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

McFearless wrote:
    Heineken OR Guinness,cant go near shots,im a pussy when it comes to shots!
    hehe your name dosent suit you then

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

Multiple pints of Guinness with Jameson straights in between. Old school:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Used to have many a good night with a crate of stella. I've gotten off the stuff now though.

Ahhh an auld bottle of wife beater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

bottles of guinness where i can find them.
    pints of plain if im in the porterhouse

after a while ill get bored and start drinking double vodkas or them mojito things.
    jesus, theyre tasty