Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top Heavy

• 20-07-2007 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

Hey - i posted this here about 3 weeks ago only for it to be moved and get swarmed by loadsa horny men. i'm looking for advice from similar girls!!! not guys wit one (or two) things on their mind!!

Original Post:

Hey,

I'm new here cuz I have something to talk about that I can't really talk about wit family or friends. Basically its my boobs, i'm only 16 and they were big when i was 13, and they havent stopped growing since. I was a D cup when i was 13 (everyone was convinced I was just a early bloomer and I wouldnt grow much more) then I was a F cup on my 14th bday, and a 36H on my 15th.

Last xmas I bought a 38HH bra and it was snug, but i've been telling myself for years then they won't grow anymore. Since xmas i've put on about 2-3 stone and guess what, i'm now a 42K bra according to the lovely girl in marks and spencers who didnt know what to say (she went to school wit my older sister and never knew that i kinda grew up).

My band size is 38 and my bust size is 56 if you'd like to do the maths.

I'm basically looking for support (no pun intended) from other girls in my situation. I'm really afraid of them getting even bigger and i've no idea where to get bras in this size region. I'm even hoping that there are some bras u can adjust if your boobs are still growing??

Any help would be great.

K.

Original thread is here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055113967&referrerid=&highlight=big+boobs please don't go slaggin me i just need some help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i want to apologise for those idiots in the cuckoo's nest....nothing is taken seriously in there, but then again ,you should have reserched this board a bit better before posting there...

Anyhoo..i have no idea of what you are going through, i hate my 38B's cos i think thay are too big for my body, so i can only imagine what you are going through and only at 16yrs old.
    Have you tried talking to your GP about it?
    Breast reduction might be your only option here, but of course is probably expensive..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Bravissimo is a website from which you can order bras up to a J cup. Although it's irritating the way it still uses skinny models with not very big boobs - apart from the odd one.
    Also, did you need to put on the weight you mentioned? As in, were you underweight before. Or are you actually carrying extra weight now? Because if you are, maybe it might be a good idea to start slowly and sensibly losing it - this would also lead to a reduction in your breast size. K cups must be so uncomfortable for your back. I hope you don't feel to self-conscious.

And "gottoomuchmilk" - best username ever! Although you don't have any milk at all - imagine what they'd be like if you did? :eek: ;)

Best of luck with it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭microgirl

Actualy, afaik Bravissimo aren't too bad in the size girls they use - DD and E usually. Ok, so they don't stck anything less than a size D, so I suppose that's not saying all that much :)

An Irish specialist bra shop has also set up, although I haven't been in touch with them in nearly a year so I don't know how it's going - website doesn't seem to be updated all that much. Still, it's www.bellalusso.com if you're interested.

They do Perfect Fit parties, and have shows in various hotels around the country too.

There's also a shop on Earlsfort Terrace in Dublin called Bramora (I think website is www.bramora.com). They also cater for D cup and up, but my two friends who finally got me into a decent-fitting bra didn't think much of when they were in. They're Bravissimo girls through and through though.

The one thing I would recommend though is going to one of those specialist shops (the Bravissimo chain is only in the UK, but there are branches in Leeds and Nottingham, both of which Ryanair fly to for cheap - make a girly day trip with your mam?) and get properly fitted. The girls in M&S don't do a bad job, but they don't do a great one either. I was measured for years, in every shop I went to, as a 36 D. I lost a tiny bit of weight and thought I'd get measured again 'cos I didn't know if I'd be a 36 C or a 34 D. Was told 34 D. A week or two later my friend had a Perfect Fit party wth Bella Lusso, and I was told in no uncertain terms I was a 30FF - 32F (kinda inbetween). That's a substantial difference!

I also second what Dudess said - the 2-3 stone, is it overweight weight, or necessary weight? I know - and expect - the development of the breasts alone could count for a large amount of that, if your band size at 16 is 38inches then that would say to me that you might be carrying a bit more weight in places other than the breasts than you really should be. I say this just because my friend is a 38JJ and she's 5'11 and a pretty hefty girl. But if you are overweight in more general terms, getting that weight under control will help at least a little. It'll probably be quite difficult for you to judge what you "really" weigh, since breasts of that size are going to weigh a couple of stone just by themselves.

Going to your doctor is also a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 gottoomuchmilk

Femmy wrote:
    i want to apologise for those idiots in the cuckoo's nest....nothing is taken seriously in there, but then again ,you should have reserched this board a bit better before posting there...

thanks, but i didnt post there, my post was moved from the fashion forum to the cuckoo's nest obviously by some male moderator.

i really dont want to go for surgery. i saw my gp last week and she said that obviously i would be a candidate for it but that she wasn't sure if i was finished developing so she is taking bloods every month from me to check hormones etc and has put me on a diet regime of horrible foods that only sticks like nicole richie wud go on. i dont wanna be skinny, i like being curvy but my boobs effect everything in my whole life from relationships to summer jobs to school to sports, exercise and clothes obviously.

i emailed a lady in bravissimo during the week there and mailed her photos of me in my current bra and she said she couldnt accomodate my size with anything they sell. as you can imagine she said a 42K was roughly the same as a 44J or a 48H etc etc. but she wouldnt reccomend wearing a wrong band size and told me to look locally for custom bra makers, has anybody got any ideas where to start looking??
    Dudess wrote:
    And "gottoomuchmilk" - best username ever! Although you don't have any milk at all - imagine what they'd be like if you did? :eek: ;)

Best of luck with it all.

haha yea my friends used to call me milky cuz i had blonde hair and white skin growing up and then the boys started calling me "gotmilk" when i was in 1st year so i thought it'd be funny! :D and no, i wont be having a baby anytime soon, i dont have a boyfriend out of choice. which moves me onto another thing...

why are only older men attracted to big boobs? and why dont guys like curvier women until they are older?? all the guys my age want to be seen with a stick thin waif, but then i have older friends just outta college who love women with a bit of extra weight etc... i dont wanna go out with a 22+ yr old!!!

and i wasnt underweight, i was a size 12-14 when i was 13 and now i'm a size 20-22 with 26 or mens XXL on top! if i wear a size 20 on top i get called a slut for wearing a tight top!!
    microgirl wrote:
    Was told 34 D. A week or two later my friend had a Perfect Fit party wth Bella Lusso, and I was told in no uncertain terms I was a 30FF - 32F (kinda inbetween). That's a substantial difference!

eh, m&s underestimate bra sizes????? they measured me as 42k??? what the fupp?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I saw this company on the tv, they are the Rolls Royce of bra makers. They do bespoke (ie made to measure bras) but it will cost you.
    http://www.rigbyandpeller.com/company/made_to_measure.aspx
    Also, I think you may have to go over to London to get it done, I dunno if all that suits you, but on the tv program it made a huge difference to the woman (who was a similar size to you), gave her the support that normal bras couldn't.
    HTH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Rigby & Peller is supposed to be excellent - not surprisingly. Its number 1 customer is her majesty!!! Probably a bit too much on the expensive side, but no harm in investigating.
    why are only older men attracted to big boobs? and why dont guys like curvier women until they are older?? all the guys my age want to be seen with a stick thin waif, but then i have older friends just outta college who love women with a bit of extra weight etc... i dont wanna go out with a 22+ yr old!!!
    Ah yes, those randy, horny auld 22-year-olds! ;) Sorry, I just find that funny - probably cos I'm 13 years older than you! I'm sure I felt the same way about 22-year-olds when I was your age. Well I had big boobs at a very young age too - around 10 they sprouted :eek: (although nowhere near the size of yours) but I was busty enough and it was particularly pronounced because I was skinny, and I noticed the same about guys - re boobs anyway. I wasn't bothered with guys my age though - found them too immature. I just waited til college when I was 18 and met loadsa lads then. But I'd be surprised if absolutely no guys your age went for curvier gals. Or maybe you might meet a slightly older guy - say 18? Don't worry about relationships yet though - you're still extremely young.
    if i wear a size 20 on top i get called a slut for wearing a tight top!!
    There's a word for that sh1te - it's called jealousy. So you reckon the weight gain is purely down to boobage? Well, maybe if you just watched what you eat to an extent - purely for your own comfort. If you tried not to go outside your correct daily calorie allowance (not sure what it is for a 16-year-old - I know it's 2,000 for adult females) and did some exercise (apologies if you're doing this already). But it will make you feel good. And don't deny yourself treats - maybe just don't over-do them. You're only 16 too - you may have some puppy-fat to lose. I had between around 13 and 15, then it just fell off.
    eh, m&s underestimate bra sizes????? they measured me as 42k??? what the fupp?
    They underestimated me too - always said I was a D or a DD. I'm actually an E - found out when I went to Arnotts, who I thought were excellent. Maybe call into them?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Is band size the same as waist size? If it is then 38" is quite large for a 16 year old (I'm 16 too :) ) So maybe if you started eating foods with fewer calories and did a bit of excercise you'd lose fat from your bobs as well as other areas of your body? Also if you work out your upper body you'll strengthen your back and chest muscles so that they can supports your bobs better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Oxendales.ie have a pack of two bras available in K and L cups http://oxendalesie.drct2u.com/productcache/OXI/BO5004/KD846KY.html.gz

They have a few J cups too, but this pack seems to be all that is available in a K.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Piste wrote:
    Is band size the same as waist size? I
    AFAIK, the band size is the measurement around your body taken directly under your breasts + 4 (or 5 to odd number), measured in inches. The cup size is then the different between the band size and the measurement around the fullest part of your breasts also in inches
    0 inch difference = A,
    1 inches = B etc

sunbeam wrote:
    Oxendales.ie have a pack of two bras available in K and L cups http://oxendalesie.drct2u.com/productcache/OXI/BO5004/KD846KY.html.gz

They have a few J cups too, but this pack seems to be all that is available in a K.

thanks a million sunbeam, this is exactly what i was looking for. I've ordered 4 packs!!! 42K, 42L, 44K and 46L. I'm always worried about buying online cuz u obviously have no idea if its a small fit or if i'm gunna grow a cup size while its getting posted to me!! thanks a million again and i'll let u know how it goes when they arrive.

i've gotten a pack of these too http://oxendalesie.drct2u.com/productcache/OXI/BO5004/CO852KY.html.gz in 44J aswell as these too, http://oxendalesie.drct2u.com/productcache/OXI/BO5004/KD962KY.html.gz, http://oxendalesie.drct2u.com/productcache/OXI/BO4004/KD551CK.html.gz and http://oxendalesie.drct2u.com/productcache/OXI/BO5004/KD964KY.html.gz, a girls gotta have a sexy black bra, right? haha

thanks again!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

AFAIK, the band size is the measurement around your body taken directly under your breasts + 4 (or 5 to odd number), measured in inches. The cup size is then the different between the band size and the measurement around the fullest part of your breasts also in inches
    0 inch difference = A,
    1 inches = B etc

Oh I never knew that was called Band size!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 islay

Ok slightly off topic but the girls in many of the large stores are not really trained just given a tape and ten minutes training know this from working in a big store.

I am in a similar situation but harder as I have a very narrow back 30/32 with a double d/e cup I am looking for a bra that does not cost 70ish euros that is femine/pretty not lacy(itchy) and definitly not moulded any suggestions??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Well I ordered stuff from Bella Lusso this week and they were very good and very professional over the phone when they didn't have the bra I had ordered in stock. They certainly seemed to know their stuff.

They are up in Mayo but I'm planning to take a trip to their store up there next time I'm in that part of the world. They will also send you a measuring tape to work out your bra size easily if you ask for a catalogue.

Rigby and Pellar are also excellent. My mum went there recently, she always thought she was a 38 B but in fact she's a 36 D.

She got really nice bras. However they are expensive.

Islay, bella lusso and figleaves both seem to do smaller back sizes with bigger cup sizes.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Femmy wrote:
    i want to apologise for those idiots in the cuckoo's nest....

get a grip Femmy, why teh feck do you think it's called the Cuckoo's nest? Have you been there?

Also the OP's name is 'gottoomuchmilk' and a thread appears in the cuckoo nest of all places about her huge boobs, etc etc.

There was no message on the thread from any Mod stating it was been moved to the Nest (or from anywhere else).

jesus christ, i just got back from a few days break and i'm actually kinda shocked to see the lack of maturity in this forum

heh. :D

Read teh stickies ftw.

The-Rigger wrote:
    get a grip Femmy, why teh feck do you think it's called the Cuckoo's nest? Have you been there?

Also the OP's name is 'gottoomuchmilk' and a thread appears in the cuckoo nest of all places about her huge boobs, etc etc.

There was no message on the thread from any Mod stating it was been moved to the Nest (or from anywhere else).

heh. :D

Read teh stickies ftw.

OMG!!! mind your own business and read the facts in future?!! i'm sick of people treating this web pages as if they were so fricken structured and bound by god-given rules! get a life like! here is proof my original thread was moved AGES ago from the fashion forum to the cuckoo's nest. END OF!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You are 100% missing the point.

I am telling Femmy that he/she is misguided to say the posters in the cuckoo nest are idiots for not taking your thread serious.

Do you know what the cuckoos nest forum is all about?

Don't expect any thread that is created/moved there to be treated seriously, however, plenty of people posted to let you know you should make contact with the mods once
    you stated your thread had been moved in error.

Now go back on topic with the issue with hand, just keep the toys in the pram, if you have any beef, it's with whoever moved your thread to the nest, clearly they didn't take it seriously either.

I don't understand why it took 5 pages of a thread spread out over more than 3 weeks for you to get it moved back to the right place. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭Esmereldina

islay wrote:
    Ok slightly off topic but the girls in many of the large stores are not really trained just given a tape and ten minutes training know this from working in a big store.

I am in a similar situation but harder as I have a very narrow back 30/32 with a double d/e cup I am looking for a bra that does not cost 70ish euros that is femine/pretty not lacy(itchy) and definitly not moulded any suggestions??

Fantasie do lovely bras like this, and the prices can start at 40/50 though they do go up to 70ish too. They have them in Brown Thomas, House of Fraser and the shop on Earsfort Terrace that was mentioned earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

ok, no offence OP, but you just need to lose weight
    size 20-22 at 16? you may not want to be a waif, but you're at the total opposite end of the spectrum right now.
    your boobs will only get bigger as you put on weight, and you're gonna end up with some serious back, as well as other health problems if things continue like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

and i wasnt underweight, i was a size 12-14 when i was 13 and now i'm a size 20-22 with 26 or mens XXL on top! if i wear a size 20 on top i get called a slut for wearing a tight top!!

Ok...i'm going to be blunt here, please don't think I am slagging you off.

You are very overweight. If you are a size 22 at the age of 16, chances are you are going to be even bigger by the time you're 21. It's not 'normal' or healthy to be a size 22 no matter what age you are. You must have a bad back with breasts that size. I'm a 34D and I get backache sometimes!

You need to go on a diet and exercise. You don't simply have 'big breasts', you are obese. I cannot believe that your GP said you were a candidate for reduction surgery. The surgeon would not operate on you until you lost a considerable amount of weight.

Unfortunately when you are put on a diet you don't get to eat nice food like pizza and chinese takeaway, but if I were you, I would follow that diet you were given. Finding a nice bra in your size, you are just avoiding the real problem.

Again, sorry if this offends you, but it is the truth and I don't agree with people skirting around the real issue here.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,030 ✭✭✭✭event

eth0_ wrote:

You don't simply have 'big breasts', you are obese.

i would love to know how you can define someone as obese without knowing their height?

the word obese is used far to often these days, you cannot make that claim without properly examining a person medically

if you are trying to use BMI, forget it, as it doesnt take into account muscle.

if you use the BMI index, brian o driscoll is morbidly obese

• Registered Users Posts: 13,297 ✭✭✭✭fits

anyone with a back size of 42 inches has to be obese, I'm afraid.
    32-36 is the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

event wrote:
    i would love to know how you can define someone as obese without knowing their height?

No one mentioned BMI and she never told us her weight.
    She's a size 22. Unless forgot to mention she is a body builder, that is obese in anyones book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Lauraaa!

ok well this isnt really a support site so im not sure what the point in posting this was.

but you do seem a bit big and that often affects breast size
    my sister has been dieting/exercising for almost a year now, she was only a size 10/12 to begin with so its not that she was trying to lose weight
    but with all the exercise she toned up alot and did also lose some weight around her waist
    but the biggest difference was the drop in 2 cup sizes going from a DD to a C
    i think you really need to focus on losing some weight and in time your breasts should shrink alot too
    it really the only thing i can think of other than surgery for you

i'm not skinny, or slim, anyone wit big boobs is gunna have some padding. my band size is 39ish and my cup size is 57.5 inches, hips are 44inches. i'm coming in at 105kgs (don't know how to turn that into stones???) and i know i'm a bit curvy but the doc says i'm 16 and i'll level off and its important not to diet too much cuz i'm still growing, cud affect my bone growth or something??? anyway thanks for the words of advice

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭CathyMoran

i'm coming in at 105kgs (don't know how to turn that into stones???)
    That is 16.5 stone. I only am 34DD and a size 6-8 but I have found that Marks and Spencers is quite good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

If you lost 6.5 stone you would find your boobs will shrink to a more manageable size

• Registered Users Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

That's a lot of extra weight. You'd have to be over 6 foot tall to even consider carrying that much weight around.

Rather than looking at custom bras you should start losing weight, by doing at least half an hour exercise a day, and rather than dieting, just eat the right amount of food! (3 meals a day, minimum grease and no snacks should do it!) It should make you healthier and happier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 goldielocks05

don't get yr self down.. its easy to get depressed in this situation. i'd recommend goin to ye gp because i'm pretty sure you'll qualify for a breast reduction under the health board because of yr age and the damage it will do to yr spine. it's a risk to yr body.. never mind when u have kids!!!!

keep smiling..;)

thanks goldielocks05! i'm a happy person! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Thats 16.5 stone and regardless of your height that is going to be overweight for nearly any woman. Depending on your height you may be obese. I know this isn't the issue you came on for but your GP sounds like an idiot. I can't believe he hasn't made you aware the issue of your weight which could drastically affect your health in future. Its a lot weight for a girl so young and it will only be come harder to shift as you get older.
    Eating well and a bit of exercise will not affect your bone density, what a stupid thing to say. In fact regular exercise and weights will increase it. It sounds like your GP is only telling you what you want to hear rather than giving you proper advice.

I am almost positive you will not be a candidate for breast reduction surgery. Another GP doosy imo. Tell will tell you to come back for a reassessment after losing weight. No surgeon will opt for a serious medical procedure when a more healthy non-invasive option is staring him the face.

Finally if you do decide to change some eating habits or start into some exercise try the health/fitness forum. Its a great help for anyone, even beginners.