Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw an abandoned classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

pmg007 wrote: »
    These two are just outside Limerick city and are available for sale. owner deceased. early 60's mk2 jaguar rolling shell in reasonable condition. No eng/box/plates/tax book. Spoke to the owners nephew. E 500 for the jag.
    DSCN5349t2slider.jpg
    Mercedes 220 diesel. approx '72 re reg. '85 limk. city. Mostly complete but tatty.Would probably start up and drive out:confused: E 500.
    DSCN5347t2slider.jpg

2cv NOT for sale.

.............I'd be interested in that Merc, really interested. Can you PM me the location/contact details please.

Also I know that garage in Drumconrath. I pass it about twice a year, its intriguing, but the stock does change as there used to be a lot of very old Opels there too !

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

Posted before. I passed and asked. Somebody told me the owner was in a head on smash going home and (i think) there ws nobody to take it on. there seems to be some sort of works going on up the lane between the garage and the raised are where the old dyna and cars are. cupla polos with bonnets open.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055472647

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

These two are just outside Limerick city and are available for sale. owner deceased. early 60's mk2 jaguar rolling shell in reasonable condition. No eng/box/plates/tax book. Spoke to the owners ...

2cv NOT for sale.

They're the two yokes I posted up the "barnfind" thread about. I know the owners nephew a few years, but when I was there you could barely walk in with the amount of stuff in there. Must be cleaned out by now.

I didn't think the Jag was in anyway reasonable condition, but as I say it was hard to see.

The Merc has a big dent in the roof, rust on the front left wing but the the interior and a few other bits seem clean enough.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Saab Ed wrote: »
    If it was the former owner that turned up I'd be well worried .....he died last year :eek:.

Probably just an OTT local with fcuk all to do.

Thats what I was told by the people in the other garage, anyway! Got yer mans reg, so if the Guards get in contact with me (my van is heavily branded) I can just ask them to get the other garage's CCTV to see him literally driving after me (on foot!) around the village.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭ikb

wrote:
    If this is the same garage I think it is, there should be a shed/barn across the road, Full of gems,I know there is a mk3 zephyr or zodiac in there somewhere among other stuff, had some pics (somewhere), got chased away also...that was years ago...nothing was for sale..strange really..!

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Coxy_VW

These two are just outside Limerick city and are available for sale. owner deceased. early 60's mk2 jaguar rolling shell in reasonable condition. No eng/box/plates/tax book. Spoke to the owners nephew. E 500 for the jag.
    DSCN5349t2slider.jpg
    Mercedes 220 diesel. approx '72 re reg. '85 limk. city. Mostly complete but tatty.Would probably start up and drive out:confused: E 500.
    DSCN5347t2slider.jpg

2cv NOT for sale.

I know those cars very well. I knew the owner as he lived on the same road that I grew up on. I towed that Jag into that garage years ago with the owner.
    The Merc was bought in Spain by the owner and was a LHD but he converted it to RHD.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭brosnadog

a couple of nice projects

IMG_0358.jpg

IMG_0360.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭gfwd

That MG looks like one of the Jubilee edition models. Wouldn't be too many of those around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭rabbit Stew

Hey brosnadog,
    Wheres the landy and any idea what yer man wants for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭briana7214

Spotted this today on the main road between newcastlewest and rathkeale in limerick, pretty far gone by the looks of it. Also spotted another R4 near Feenagh but no-one home so didnt get pics as I had to go into owners yars to get em ,will try again soon and also spotted an R4 van by the side of an old railway house on way to Claregalway, no camera though
    DSCF2029.JPG

DSCF2034.JPG

Hey brosnadog,
    Wheres the landy and any idea what yer man wants for it?

its located in Nort Tipp (near Roscrea) i can try and get a price if you really interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Landyaddict

brosnadog wrote: »
    its located in Nort Tipp (near Roscrea) i can try and get a price if you really interested.

I'd be interested to know also.

thanks
    Landy

I spotted 3 Land Rovers, exactly like the one in the above picture off the M50 in Santry. They look to have been there for years but with the works going on are now suddenly visible.

I reckon you'd have to access them from the Collinstown area.

MercMad wrote: »
    I spotted 3 Land Rovers, exactly like the one in the above picture off the M50 in Santry. They look to have been there for years but with the works going on are now suddenly visible.

I reckon you'd have to access them from the Collinstown area.

Any chance you could PM me more details on the location, I can head out that direction this evening

thanks
    Landy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭rabbit Stew

Yeah. I'm interested. That would be great brosnadog.
    Plus any extra detail would be much appreciated too.i.e Fuel Type, Year, Condition
    (I know, I don't ask for much do I?)

Stew

Yeah. I'm interested. That would be great brosnadog.
    Plus any extra detail would be much appreciated too.i.e Fuel Type, Year, Condition
    (I know, I don't ask for much do I?)

Stew

pm sent

I'd be interested to know also.

thanks
    Landy

pm sent

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Pagoda113

Coxy_VW wrote: »
    I know those cars very well. I knew the owner as he lived on the same road that I grew up on. I towed that Jag into that garage years ago with the owner.
    The Merc was bought in Spain by the owner and was a LHD but he converted it to RHD.

Collected that Merc this evening. Its a 200D. Looks pretty solid. I will have to lift it and have a look under it tomorrow evening. We put a new battery in it and it fired up after getting a bit of a heating. Started pretty easily. The speedometer is reading 73 K (KM's).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Nice,sounds like a bargain.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭pmg007

Dont know whether this 4L is coming or going..On the N69 just outside newcastle west going towards Limerick.
    DSCN5341t2slider.jpg
    looks solid enough where it matters..
    DSCN5338t2slider.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

^Saw that yesterday,looked pretty battered alright,***MIU reg i think?
    Edit can see that in the pics..lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭pmg007

Spotted in Co Limerick minter Simca 1100 with just a small spot of rust on the tailgate easily sorted. I'd love to drive this in to the nct centre.
    DSCN2785t2slider.jpg
    DSCN2786t2slider.jpg

Spotted in Co Limerick minter Simca 1100 with just a small spot of rust on the tailgate easily sorted. I'd love to drive this in to the nct centre.
    DSCN2785t2slider.jpg
    DSCN2786t2slider.jpg
    Can you imagine the face on the tester, He laugh his Ass off at you.

Classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

Dont know whether this 4L is coming or going..On the N69 just outside newcastle west going towards Limerick.

looks solid enough where it matters..
    DSCN5338t2slider.jpg

Is that just on a trailer in a field or was it actually moving somewhere very slowly?

That looks like an Irish assembled model around 1981.

Any chance you could PM me more details on the location, I can head out that direction this evening

thanks
    Landy

............sorry I didn't see your post till now. i'll PM you shortly, try to get a google earth/maps location.

I havent seen a Simca in 25 years !!! Always odd cars IMO, but something charming/honest about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭maidhc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

DSCN2785t2slider.jpg
    DSCN2786t2slider.jpg

There is another one in a garage outside Carrick-on-Suir, Co Tipperary but not as rusty as this one. I also saw two Mark 2 Escorts being lifted into a
    scrap-metal lorry last Friday :o,

maidhc wrote: »

The guy selling the Hitachi (Frank) is going to find out more on the VW and get back to me

Landy

brosnadog wrote: »
    a couple of nice projects

IMG_0360.jpg

Looks like this has already been sold, I'll know more later. Spend most of yesterday trying to call this man, but his phone was off.
    sure will see later what happens.

Landy

Looks like this has already been sold, I'll know more later. Spend most of yesterday trying to call this man, but his phone was off.
    sure will see later what happens.

Landy

if you want ill call to him this evening cant promise anything but you never know.
    Dermot