Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

What was the story with Mairéad and the bananas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Neeson wrote: »
    What was the story with Mairéad and the bananas?

She admitted to having a phobia about eating a banana in public. Someone brought a banana and suggested that since it was her first time in Westport it could also be her first time eating a a banana in public, She flat out refused to but Ray kept insisting she would. It went on for nearly ten minutes between songs and ads or whatever and when Ray basically bullied her into it he played some porn-style music in the background to mortify her even further. She really didn't want to do it, was talking about resigning (half jokingly) right up until she took a bite and the live audience cheered. Ray was going on like he did her a favour then, was really poor form.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 183 ✭✭Paracore

It would take a lot to embarrass her in fairness, Finglas through and through that one.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

In fairness, twas Tommy that brought up children in that interview, not Ray. Not that Ray minded the segue on a plate though. :\

That interview was cringe worthy stuff, twas as if they'd nothing planned to talk about and were just randomly jumping from topic to topic, with little awkward pauses in between.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    In fairness, twas Tommy that brought up children in that interview, not Ray. Not that Ray minded the segue on a plate though. :\

That interview was cringe worthy stuff, twas as if they'd nothing planned to talk about and were just randomly jumping from topic to topic, with little awkward pauses in between.

Ah yes, certainly sounds like a typical Ray interview alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,390 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Horse84 wrote: »
    She sounded more than hungover to me, she was downright drunk.If some of us turned up to work in that state, we'd be shown the door in 2 seconds. Of course she could've been just putting it on too for 'entertainment'.
    Either way, what's the betting he'll be preaching about responsible drinking attitutudes in the country next week or how he hates how sporting events are sponosored by drinks companies!
    Seriously getting sick and tired of the constant talk about kids. Pretty sure kc has a small one too, yet when he fills in there isn't one word about the family.

You guessed it, he is ranting about alcohol and sponsorship this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭fifi234ie

When he was talking to the father of the boy who got the football deal, he asked about his other kids. The oldest was 18 the next was 12, he said "there's a big gap there".
    Kate and Tom have the same gap, give or take a few months grrr.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,040 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ray saying irish should boycott mauritus coz few newspapers say it. Wata numpty

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

neris wrote: »

I agree with him. I had the very discussion yesterday with my fiance that we would never ever consider Mauritius after what happened. It's not just a newspapers opinion, but pretty much the collective views of a lot of people who were appalled at the judicial farce there.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,401 ✭✭✭✭kippy

neris wrote: »

Anyone with an IQ over 40 wouldn't be spreading this nonsense. I've seen a few facebookers spreading the same thing: Boycott Mauritus.
    Makes absolutely no sense whatsoever and shows how small minded some people are.
    I mean if the same logic were applied no one would ever visit the North of Ireland and indeed on one example only the French would have called for a boycott of Ireland over the Sophie Toscan Du Platier murder.

I hope a few people text him in saying as much and highlighting his ignorance.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,294 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

kippy wrote: »
    Anyone with an IQ over 40 wouldn't be spreading this nonsense. I've seen a few facebookers spreading the same thing: Boycott Mauritus.
    Makes absolutely no sense whatsoever and shows how small minded some people are.
    I mean if the same logic were applied no one would ever visit the North of Ireland and indeed on one example only the French would have called for a boycott of Ireland over the Sophie Toscan Du Platier murder.

^This.

Sure don't our papers print images of dead people on streets of Syria/Libya/etc?

Also - heard about 10 seconds of D'Arcy today, for first time in ages (since child was born), and the only thing I heard was him talking about how much sleep he gets. I promptly turned off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Nile Rodgers was a very entertaining guest. Chic was before my time, but can't believe how many good songs they had! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Live performances were top class alright.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

kippy wrote: »

This x1000000.

People would seriously want to cop on to themselves. I've every bit of sympathy for the Mcreavy family, but calling for a boycott of Mauritius over it is just nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

If I recall correctly, it was a listener that texted in to say that we should boycott Mauritius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭fifi234ie

Live performances were top class alright.

Couldn't believe when Ray said the women were sitting down, excellent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

Ok.

If rays not obssesed with kids its couples & marriage. Duno wat this about but sounds to lovey dovey.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,390 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

This guy sounds a bit weird.

Sounded like a right weirdo and the missus must have been desperate coz his story seemed to involve an afwul lot of booze. Wonder is going feminine in. His old age. Stories of babies and couples lately sounds a bit girly

Keith Barry in. Ray hadn’t prepared again by the sounds of it…

Vague line of questioning about Keiths claim that nobody is psychic etc. He seems passionate about it, but it went on for the full “interview”.

Eventually Keith turns around and says “Have I got time to do a trick with mairead”. Ray says no time.

Imagine bringing him in and not even having a trick? Useless.

Ray comes back after a break and says to the band in studio “Did ye see that lads, he did a trick there with Mairead. That was great. Anyway, we’ll talk about it off the air”

WTF?? :eek:

Seriously need some change in that slot in Today FM. Tom Hardy has posted here before. He must read this thread of endless bad remarks about that show.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭el diablo

Keith Barry in. Ray hadn’t prepared again by the sounds of it…

Vague line of questioning about Keiths claim that nobody is psychic etc. He seems passionate about it, but it went on for the full “interview”.

Eventually Keith turns around and says “Have I got time to do a trick with mairead”. Ray says no time.

Imagine bringing him in and not even having a trick? Useless.

Ray comes back after a break and says to the band in studio “Did ye see that lads, he did a trick there with Mairead. That was great. Anyway, we’ll talk about it off the air”

WTF?? :eek:

Seriously need some change in that slot in Today FM. Tom Hardy has posted here before. He must read this thread of endless bad remarks about that show.

Tom Hardy (the actor from Warrior and Bronson?) :confused:

Anyway, I don't see the point of doing magic on the radio. Same goes for banana eating, dating etc.

Keith Barry is a bit of a knob anyway. :rolleyes:

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭dg647

What was the name of the band that he had in today on the show?

el diablo wrote: »
    Tom Hardy (the actor from Warrior and Bronson?) :confused:

Anyway, I don't see the point of doing magic on the radio. Same goes for banana eating, dating etc.

Keith Barry is a bit of a knob anyway. :rolleyes:

Ah, not really. Have heard him pull it off very well before. Entertaining at least.

Tom Hardy is the programme director in Today FM.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

A bunch of whiny nerds on the internet isn't the Ray Darcy show's target market so I'd imagine they don't give a flying f*** about this thread of endless whinyness.

Are you calling me a whiny nerd?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

dg647 wrote: »
    What was the name of the band that he had in today on the show?

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros.

I'm not one to complain but I thought Ray D'arcy treated the band like shit. Ray trying to be funny comes across as Ray being insulting, obnoxious and patronizing. First he slagged off the band's name (which is a bit odd in fairness). Then he likened the band to a 'crazy cult'. And then he kept referring to one of their songs which features in a Vodafone commercial when it was clearly making the lead singer uncomfortable.

Ray was seriously unprofessional. I'm not saying he should be fawning all over his guests but he should at least be civil, polite and respectful to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Are you calling me a whiny nerd?

No not directed at you. Just that that's the general tone of this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros.

I'm not one to complain but I thought Ray D'arcy treated the band like shit. Ray trying to be funny comes across as Ray being insulting, obnoxious and patronizing. First he slagged off the band's name (which is a bit odd in fairness). Then he likened the band to a 'crazy cult'. And then he kept referring to one of their songs which features in a Vodafone commercial when it was clearly making the lead singer uncomfortable.

Ray was seriously unprofessional. I'm not saying he should be fawning all over his guests but he should at least be civil, polite and respectful to them.

They were as bad as each other, to be honest. The lead singer groaned when asked about the name (pretty standard with a name like that), then groaned when Ray said they were most famous for the Vodaphone ad here in Ireland (which is true, to be honest). Ray then went into full blown arsey mode with him which made for completely uncomfortable listening.

The lead singer admitted to being really drunk the night before, and sounded still half canned, hardly the height of professionalism from him there either.

As for the 'cult' comment, seems to be a pretty common theme that............

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67448773&postcount=4

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Klim wrote: »
    They were as bad as each other, to be honest. The lead singer groaned when asked about the name (pretty standard with a name like that), then groaned when Ray said they were most famous for the Vodaphone ad here in Ireland (which is true, to be honest). Ray then went into full blown arsey mode with him which made for completely uncomfortable listening.

The lead singer admitted to being really drunk the night before, and sounded still half canned, hardly the height of professionalism from him there either.

As for the 'cult' comment, seems to be a pretty common theme that............

They're a rock band on tour, it's their job to be out late at night partying and being hungover in the morning. In fairness I thought Alex was fairly upbeat until he realised where the interview was going, and the band still put in an excellent live performance.

Yes I indeed made that reference...2 years ago, on an indie music forum. I wouldn't say it to the singer whilst live on air. Either Ray was being quite blasé about bringing up their likeness to a cult or he was intentionally trying to provoke a reaction out of him.

And personally, I never knew Vodafone used their song in a commercial.