Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny awkward moments

• 26-04-2007 8:26pm

I was in the gym today. I was finishing off my stretching at the window that seperates the gym from the pool when a girl caught my eye the water.

She was getting out of the pool using the metal ladder. Whatever way she pulled herself out of the pool she fell fell out of her bikini top. She didn't realise and I had a bit of a smirk on my face when our gazes locked. She smiled back. There was a really awkward moment that seemed like forever that ended when I mimed downwards.

She went pure beatroot, fixed her top and was gone before you could say "watch your assets!". :)

Do you have any of those funny awkward moments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

any pics? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

ronoc wrote:
    I work out and have a terrific body. At the gym which I frequent every day I made eye contact with a chick who gazed back at me, she was obviously lusting after me. And to be honest, who could blame her. After all, I work out and have a terrific body

Pigheads whole life is one big funny awkward moment. The worst instance probably occured back in 94 when I first started going out with my ex-girlfriend.

We were making love in the sittingroom on a red and navy lilo and Pighead being Pighead ejaculated very prematurely, that wasn't too bad but the fact that both her parents had walked into the sitting room in the meantime caused much redness of face and lashings and lashings of awkwardness. Disaster for Pighead.

Pighead wrote:
    Pigheads whole life is one big funny awkward moment. The worst instance probably occured back in 94 when I first started going out with my ex-girlfriend.

We were making love in the sittingroom on a red and navy lilo and Pighead being Pighead ejaculated very prematurely, that wasn't too bad but the fact that both her parents had walked into the sitting room in the meantime caused much redness of face and lashings and lashings of awkwardness. Disaster for Pighead.

Just saw what you did there.

Pighead strikes again:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

I once sneezed in someones face by accident.

In fact, I made a thread about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I like doing the sidewalk shuffle, when me and another stranger cross each others paths and try to walk around each other, but keep going the wrong way. :D always makes me giggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I've a tendency to fall on my face. One morning in college I was strolling in reasonably happy with myself skipping down the steps two at a time(and I don't even go to the gym) when I misjudged the second last one and fell forward with the bag on my back pinning me to the ground. People noticed.

On another occasion in first year some girls I didn't know well said hello which threw me and I turned to wave back only to walk straight into a lamp pole. When I got to my friends house they'd already heard about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I used to always wave a people who were waving at people behind me. I've stopped waving at people now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Whn I was about 15, I was attending my grannies removal before her burial. I walked into the funeral home which was full of family and friends. I saw the open coffin, and out of pure nervousness, I just burst out laughing. Then my older brother done the same and we both just stood there giggling while the whole group were looking at us horrified.
    It was the first time I'd seen a dead body, and I didnt know how to react to it so the laughter just kind of came out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

A few years ago, my Ex's Dad came up the stairs while we were having sex (we thought he was out). We didn't quite have time to get dressed; I know this because when he walked in, I had one leg in my pants and a t-shirt around my neck, and she had a liverpool Jersey on, and nothing else.
    After about what felt like nine hours of silence I piped up with, "well, this is awkward".
    Cue laughter all round ....... not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I used to always wave a people who were waving at people behind me. I've stopped waving at people now.

My eyesight is not the best, so if someone beeps the horn of their car I squint to see if I know them. If I do I'll wave but sometimes I get caught out and wave at someone I don't know.

I was in a newsagents before and a girl came up to me and said "Hi petes how's it going?". Had to stop and say, I'm sorry but I have no idea who you are. Apparently I was with her some night in a niteclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Letting off a malodourous stinker when you're alone, and right on cue, someone comes into the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

petes wrote:
    My eyesight is not the best, so if someone beeps the horn of their car I squint to see if I know them. If I do I'll wave but sometimes I get caught out and wave at someone I don't know.

shouldnt you be wearing glasses while driving then? :D

cant think of any awkward moments, did the sidewalk shuffle thing yesterday in town, changed direction about 5 or 6 times before i was able to pass, myself and the other person just started laughing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

kdouglas wrote:
    shouldnt you be wearing glasses while driving then? :D

I never said I was driving :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Myself and the girlfriend decided to have sex in the car one day while we were out. We drove in to a multistorey car park (bad choice i Know) and parked on the most deserted level we could find. We had just barely got into it when I noticed a shadow on the seat, coming from the window. 2 kids just stood there watching us before their understandly horrified mother covered their eyes and dragged them away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

i used to work in bars and its becomes instinctive to move people aside with your hands when working in that kinda enviroment
    - im walkin across the road at busy traffic lights on a connell street and i subconsiously put my hand on a girl's back in front of me to gently guide her aside. Embarrasment and nervous smiles all round.

Or one time i was walkin around that same part of time and i dropped a ciggarette clean outta me mouth in the most awkward try to catch it as it falls manner :o , fits of laughter from girls walkin towards me. yeah i know they were laughin at me but i couldnt helpbut have a giggle aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

I remember being in church years ago and my sister and I couldnt stop laughing. The more we tried to stop the worse it got!! I remember old people looking around in disgust. That only made it worse.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

So Glad wrote:
    I once sneezed in someones face by accident.

In fact, I made a thread about it!

haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

At a funeral out in the wilds of clare on one typically god awful wet day. As the were lowering the coffin into the ground the sides of the grave gave way and my uncle landed on top of the coffin in the hole.

My father had to pick me up and carry me away I was laughing so much was only 8 at the time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

I was recently renting a room in my house and was showing this lad the bathroom. When I looked into the bowl there was a humongous turd in it. I mean this thing was massive. All I could think of saying was 'Jesus, who did that?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I was in a meeting in work yesterday and I completely zoned out. I was actually thinking about work though. Then of course I got asked a question, and I had no idea what they were talking about. For about 2 seconds it felt exactly like being back in school. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

First week in a new job and I'm standing beside a girl trying to get her attention by calling her name about five times, she finally swings around with a vicous look in her eye and tells me her name is not Mary and to f**k off. Everyone within earshot broke their sh*te laughing and I crawled off back to my desk :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

petes wrote:

Well alot of those times it was probably us. We like to beep at random people, start waving and enjoy them spinning around in confusion.

ronoc wrote:
    I was in the gym today. I was finishing off my stretching at the window that seperates the gym from the pool when a girl caught my eye the water.

She was getting out of the pool using the metal ladder. Whatever way she pulled herself out of the pool she fell fell out of her bikini top. She didn't realise and I had a bit of a smirk on my face when our gazes locked. She smiled back. There was a really awkward moment that seemed like forever that ended when I mimed downwards.

She went pure beatroot, fixed her top and was gone before you could say "watch your assets!". :)

I did the exact same thing coming off a slide in a water park in crete in 2003
    I didn't realise either the girls were shouting at me
    Oh god the memories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

First week in a new job and I'm standing beside a girl trying to get her attention by calling her name about five times, she finally swings around with a vicous look in her eye and tells me her name is not Mary and to f**k off. Everyone within earshot broke their sh*te laughing and I crawled off back to my desk :(
    I fu*king hate cun*s like that - they're the ball-breakers that give Irish women a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Archeron wrote:
    Whn I was about 15, I was attending my grannies removal before her burial. I walked into the funeral home which was full of family and friends. I saw the open coffin, and out of pure nervousness, I just burst out laughing. Then my older brother done the same and we both just stood there giggling while the whole group were looking at us horrified.
    It was the first time I'd seen a dead body, and I didnt know how to react to it so the laughter just kind of came out.
    i lol`d for quite a while at that.

My friend took his new girlfriend down to RAG week in Galway and they bumped into this albino kid who lives beside his relations, and shs pats his head saying"oh are you one of those albinos, ive studied you kind before (sociology)"! cue beetroot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Well alot of those times it was probably us. We like to beep at random people, start waving and enjoy them spinning around in confusion.

Multiple personalities by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Although this is different to you guys and the OP's one here goes.

Down at the beach when i was about 14 with about 6 mates, im walking down this old style pier thing (Essiently a long narrow slab of concrete in the water, with metal rings and hooks on each side for anchoring boats too). So as i'm walking down to the end of it I suddenly decide to jump off to the beach below (about 7ft) So I leap off the pier thing and my Man U shirt catches on one of the hooks and being made of strong stuff holds me firmly in place. The beach is packed and my mates are just sitting on a big pile of rocks about 30meters away, im hanging there unable to get myself off the hook or move my arms at all due to the shirt pulling my arms up. So at this moment I hear a huge wave of laughter coming from the beach and view my friends almost falling over themselves with laughter, I feel my face go bright red, about 30 seconds after the inital wave of laughter some lad in his 20's comes over and lifts me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Ok picture this, first day off irish college, went into the hall and the principal does a role call. Anyway he goes Ca Bhfuil Sean McMahon? Ca bhfuil se?! now at this moment i have my hand up saying anseo! he is looking right at me and he asked the question again, i didnt have a clue what he wanted so i panicked and said......."Ta me go maith", que a hundred or so people laughing at me! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

On a similar theme to the above Gaeltacht story above:

I went to the Gaeltacht about 5 years ago. I was awful at Irish and at around the 2nd week we were all gathered in the hall before the ceile. Some lad came in and split the room, half on one side, other half the other side.

He started ranting and raving and half of us hadn't a clue what he was saying. During his talk, I caught the eye of the lass I'd been scoring and gave her a wave and a nod. As I did so, the man in the centre spun around, pointed at me and asked me a question. Me not understanding a word he'd being saying, I asked one of the fluent speaking lads.

Me: Dude, wtf is he asking me?
    Lad: Its a debate. He is asking for your opinion on abortion.
    Me: Bol0x.

Que me attempting to say "No, no - I was just saying hello" as gaelige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

a good few years back, think i was around 7 or 8,while helping the neighbours bring in the hay. It was a excuse to get a a ride on the tractor and trailer. Anyhow when the trailer was empty its time to get off. Normally you be lifted down by someone but i decide to jump down on my own, being the big lad that i am.
    I jump down but didnt see the small hooks which are used to hold on the sides of the trailer. I jump and catch my short trousers on this small hook and rip both my short trousers and y fronts. I of course run off home and i leave a field full of people in sitches laughing at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

This is pretty basic one but i find it hilarious each time.If i'm in a lift with a friend and there is one(or more)person in the lift with us we just start laughing uncontrolably because no one is talking and you could cut the tension with a knife.It's the funniest thing ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

When I was 4 or 5....

The mother was parking her car, and she was cut off from a parking space by a male drive.

She said under her breath "feck'in bollix" as you do.

She finally got the car parked.

It was a really hot day and the drivers window was well down, que the driver that cut her off passing by the car and me of course piping up at the top of my lungs "mammy is that the feck'in bollix?":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

R0ot wrote:
    Although this is different to you guys and the OP's one here goes.

Down at the beach when i was about 14 with about 6 mates, im walking down this old style pier thing (Essiently a long narrow slab of concrete in the water, with metal rings and hooks on each side for anchoring boats too). So as i'm walking down to the end of it I suddenly decide to jump off to the beach below (about 7ft) So I leap off the pier thing and my Man U shirt catches on one of the hooks and being made of strong stuff holds me firmly in place. The beach is packed and my mates are just sitting on a big pile of rocks about 30meters away, im hanging there unable to get myself off the hook or move my arms at all due to the shirt pulling my arms up. So at this moment I hear a huge wave of laughter coming from the beach and view my friends almost falling over themselves with laughter, I feel my face go bright red, about 30 seconds after the inital wave of laughter some lad in his 20's comes over and lifts me down.

Your post has saved my life...well not quite but I was having the crappiest day and reading all of this thread but especially your post have made it all seem better. Guess I better offer a few of my own stories.

I was at the gym a while ago and decided to go for a swim, but hadn't brought my contacts with me and so had to swim without being able to see. This in itself wasn't too bad until I decided to get out of the pool and go to get changed. Because I was without my glasses / contacts I made my way into the mens changing rooms and realised my mistake a little too late:o

Last Friday I was walking to my car after work and I have to walk past the canteen to get the the car park. Three walls of the canteen are glass and there I am walking past, too cool for school, sending a text message when I fall flat on my face in front of about 50 people and my hand bag wasn't closed so everything fell out all over the place. Had to scramble around picking up all the rubbish I carry around on a daily basis in front of all these people breaking their hearts laughing:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

blow69 wrote:
    This is pretty basic one but i find it hilarious each time.If i'm in a lift with a friend and there is one(or more)person in the lift with us we just start laughing uncontrolably because no one is talking and you could cut the tension with a knife.It's the funniest thing ever!

Yea this always happens to me too. Even after getting out of the elevator we kind of look at each other embarrassingly wondering why we were laughing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Yea this always happens to me too. Even after getting out of the elevator we kind of look at each other embarrassingly wondering why we were laughing?

This reminds me of the first time I heard the recording of the man with the funny voice in the elevato rsaying: "doors closing", "going up" etc..
    I was with my brother and some randomer in the lift and the two of us were in stitches laughing at the voice to the bemusement of the other guy.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

One day a long time ago, I was meeting the ex at O’Connell Bridge. I was standing at the lights beside Carroll’s waiting to cross to the north side, now himself was standing there looking all cool. It was rush hour time so there was probably about 200 people standing at lights to cross, this big gush of wind comes along, and blows the baseball cap (his favourite) off his head, he starts doing this whole dancing routine trying to catch it, jumping up and down, waving his arms around. As I am standing, as everyone and I mean everyone at the lights was in convulsion laughing at him. The end result – the cap went in the Liffey and I kept walking straight past him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boffin

Was at irish college and was sitting on the wall --- pretending to be cool and impress the boys of course -- while waiting for our bus to bring us back to the house! A cute dog strolls up to us and so we started cooing over it and petting its head. Then I notice a really cute guy sitting a little bit further down the wall - then I noticed he was smiling at me and then the smile turned into hysterical laughing - when I turned around the oh so cute dog had cocked its leg and preceeded to pee on my leg!! Cue an attack of a serious red face - never managed to live it down for the next two weeks :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I had to run an errand at work, which involved driving into the own centre. I was a new driver at the time and I was in a company car, so I decided to park on the roof, which was deserted.

I walked over to the lift, which only stops at the roof and the ground and the door opens as soon as I press the button. Inside are a couple, he about 50, her about 30 and as they realise the doors are open, they spring apart, which meant her pulling her hand away and him quickly covering his “Bits” which are hanging out of his trousers.

Being a naïve 17 year old, I say the first thing that came into my mind…are you going down?

She could not stop laughing and I had no idea why :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

One day me and the ex where in the sitting room, we got a little bit jiggy and decided to get down and dirty. Her parents were in the kitchen but in the 2 years or so we went out i'd say they used the sitting room about 3 times, anyway we are halfway into it, blankets over us, lying side to side, when a knock on the door comes, her mum comes in and tells us get up as the guy is here to do the fireplace......

Well i'll leave the rest up to your imagination :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Not exactly my most embarrasing moment but certainly an embarrasing humourous situation i was involved in, but an ex of mine and myself were fooling around a bit, and her being so excited by my amazing physical physique and unrivalled technique (probably!) she looks me int he eye and goes "do you want to s*ck my c*ck?" instead of you know..do you want ME to suck your hoo haa...you get the picture. I was in convulsions of laughter, i think she almost cried, but f*ck me, it was funny