Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Safety Ad

• 26-04-2007 9:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭

Just shown the new one there on RTE 1.

Powerful stuff folks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

What ones this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Girl sitting on wall, chatting to boyfriend

Civic overtaking Corolla, looses control and rolls.
    hits Corolla and crushes the lad into her in the wall.

Gardai and stuff at accident scene.

looked horrible, but unusually they displayed the reg of the civic quite clearly, 99c something

Unusual to display the reg but it cuddnt be as bad as the one were the car flips and hits a child playin out the back

• Registered Users Posts: 43,774 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I thought the judge's voice sounded a bit too stereotypical and comical.

I mean did THEY NEED THE BIG BOUNDING VOICE!

Other than that, it was powerful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

They overdid it. Seemed like a parody imo.

ye the judge was a bit over enthusiastic

Unusual to display the reg but it couldn't be as bad as the one were the car flips and hits a child playing out the back

i know that one, the drink driving one, but for some reason possibly cos i mightn't have been driving when that came out, can't remember, or else was so convinced that I'd never drink-drive that it would happen to me, it didn't seem to have as bad an affect on me.

This one, I now know that no matter haw a safe and conscientious driver i think i am, i know that these things can happen through no fault of my own.

And they aren't too shy about being graphically gorey either

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

does anyone think these ads work, people are still been killed day in and day out..i'm sorry don't want to come across as been heartless or blunt just way it seems...

gatecrash wrote:
    i know that one, the drink driving one, but for some reason possibly cos i mightn't have been driving when that came out, can't remember, or else was so convinced that I'd never drink-drive that it would happen to me, it didn't seem to have as bad an affect on me.

This one, I now know that no matter haw a safe and conscientious driver i think i am, i know that these things can happen through no fault of my own.

And they aren't too shy about being graphically gorey either
    It wasnt the thought of me being the driver but of the family of the child
    Think of what thated be like

I meant back then, it didn't seem as hard hitting to me. Feel differently these days

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Any link to this ad? As I watch very little television it'll be months before I see it :rolleyes:

Have a look at youtube im startin there

• Registered Users Posts: 6,302 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Unusual to display the reg but it cuddnt be as bad as the one were the car flips and hits a child playin out the back
    I laughed at that one at first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I reckon some real-life footage of broken bodies in splitered metal would be much more effective -if shock tactics are your bag.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

mike65 wrote:
    I reckon some real-life footage of broken bodies in splitered metal would be much more effective -if shock tactics are your bag.

Mike.

I agree

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

On the same topic. Did anyone see the Garda sample of how long it takes to stop a car at 80 km/h and 100km/h.

Total farce:

They used a basic CITROEN SAXO. I'm no expert but I'd say practically any car built in the last 15 years save it's sister the 106, the Fiat cunttogetinto series and possibly a Polo, would have stopped in a shorter distance.

"It wasn't really that scary, I've been in cars going faster" - I'm sure it was scary for anyone who hadn't been in a supermini in a while!!!

BACK OT

The kinda hits home because of the actual plausability of it as opposed to the liklihood of your mondeo flipping over a fence. The way the mother grabs the small kid adds something to the shock tactic and there's the sad look on the oul fellas face. The parents of the guy that died and the families in hospital were less shocking, but still give the overall message that you don't want it to be you.

Theyr'e still going for the speed though. In this case speed was the factor, but the slogan speedshame is a bit excessive imo. Speed is not always the overriding factor, it's lack of observation. If yer man had pulled out a bit slower instead of leapfrogging he would have seen the dog and not overtaken.

The courtroom is ridiculous in it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭tensecyclist

Well in any way these ads maybe effective coz it reminds us our/everyone's safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

I saw that ad. Its very good. I notice there's a vectra hatchback :confused: cop car in the background which is about 5 years old..... so i presume this ad is also to be shown in Northern Ireland and the usual variations will be seen such as computer generated Garda sticker on the cop car replaced with Police and the number plate on the Civic car turning upside looked very different to a typical Irish plate.

I noticed this type of 'cross border cooperation"in the ad which featured an Escort a few years ago and on one ad, probably the one on UTV, featured the real yellow plates and on the Irish version used computer generated IRL plates............:confused: well anything to save money............. but still getting the message across to people.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,895 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I laughed at that one at first.

So did I.

I liked the ones where they show a guy who ends up wheelchair bound for life after a car accident. The message was "not everyone dies in a car accident" or something similar. I think it's home harder than the simple road deaths message which some boy racers probably see as going out in a blaze of glory.
    Well in any way these ads maybe effective coz it reminds us our/everyone's safety.

That post reminds me of the quotes at the end of this article: http://www.examiner.ie/story/?jp=MHKFMHKFSN&cat=Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭Archeron

basquille wrote:
    I thought the judge's voice sounded a bit too stereotypical and comical.

I mean did THEY NEED THE BIG BOUNDING VOICE!

Other than that, it was powerful.

ITS QUITE APPARENT TO ME THAT YOU WERE GOING TOO FAST!!

I think that Barry Scott of Cillit bang fame may have finally passed his tests to become a judge. "BANG AND THE CAR HAS CRASHED!!"

Its a powerful ad, and I think it could have the desired response; it was certainly on my mind this morning wile driving, but the part with the judge seems odd and doesnt fit with the rest of the ad.
    Tis a nasty image filled one as car safety ads go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

None of these ads have ever had the same affect on me as one I saw in Australia. Guy driving home from a bbq with his son after having a few beers, all nice a cheary until they take a left at a T junction (without looking properly) and are ploughed into by a truck going about 100km/h.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Quite a bad ad - watch the flaw of how when the car is shown to be flipping over the wall, the child is already on the ground....

Like that ad where the guy sees a hot girl while turning corner and hits mother and school child - they are walking across the road but the dummies that are hit are completely turned to face the car....
    Crap ads all round, havent seen the new one though.

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

Quite a bad ad - watch the flaw of how when the car is shown to be flipping over the wall, the child is already on the ground....

Like that ad where the guy sees a hot girl while turning corner and hits mother and school child - they are walking across the road but the dummies that are hit are completely turned to face the car....
    Crap ads all round, havent seen the new one though.

I agree - they should crash into real people when making these ads. FFS! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

A bit of thought and care is what I mean - I think that the ad featuring the guy on the motorcycle talking about being free is a good ad - the one with the bass beat in the background and it ends with the woman holding the child and feeding a bottle......to the guy in the crash.

No crash actually shown, nobody shown injured but powerful and effective.

(or maybe they should follow Australia's lead and show real crashes, they do a similar thing in Ireland with the smoking ads showing brains and veins *bleugh*)

🤪

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Archeron wrote:
    I think that Barry Scott of Cillit bang fame may have finally passed his tests to become a judge. "BANG AND THE CAR HAS CRASHED!!"
    I laughed :D

In relation to these ads being effective, most people base that on how many people are killed in a given year. It amazes me that a 'good' or 'bad' year is based on the total killed. Never mind the 99.99% who took head of safety campaigns or decided to slow down. Its the same when a large number of people are killed over a particular weekend. If 5 or 6 people are killed then the papers scream of headlines such as 'CARNAGE ON OUR ROADS' etc. calling for heads on plates. I just don't see how such a small amount of people (and I mean no disrespect here) can be representative of how safe we are on the roads as a whole population.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

delly wrote:
    I just don't see how such a small amount of people (and I mean no disrespect here) can be representative of how safe we are on the roads as a whole population.

Because it's correlated to the total driving population? i.e. 6 killed for 500,000 IE drivers, vs 6 killed for 10 million UK drivers

NB: not actual figures, but to illustrate the point

[init::broad brush] I haven't ever been in any country where I felt less safe on the road than in Ireland[end] - and that includes Iraq, before the whole shebang stuff, when it was still the Far West (so to speak), with artics going 90 mph or more on 4 lanes m'ways with no markings :eek:

I doubt the ads are having any long-term effect at all.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

ambro25 wrote:
    Because it's correlated to the total driving population? i.e. 6 killed for 500,000 IE drivers, vs 6 killed for 10 million UK drivers
    Oh I know the theory behind it, I just don't see it as accurate. Mind you I think the same of political polls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

To be honest (and not sounding cruel) I don't find these ads to be shocking in any way. I'm not sure why, but when I watch them they just bore me. Saem goes for the smoking ads with the stuff being squeezed out of the "lung". Wonder how much they paid for that potato salad?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,288 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Haven't seen the ad but I don't find any of these ads that powerful. They remind me of the crashes that you see in soap operas.

I think the 60 mph head on crash test that 5th Gear did was more chilling esp the in car footage and the sound of the impact.
    "next time you're on a country road, in a contraflow or about to overtake........just remember this"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARMNR2MKRlM

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

Saw this ad last night and while it's quite powerful in some ways, I think it gives the impression that it isn't really sure what it's trying to say. The accident shown was caused, IMO, by a dangerous overtaking manoeuvre and poor observation, yet the drum the makers obviously want to bang is the speed one.