Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Krav Maga or MMA in classes in Dublin Southside?

• 26-04-2007 6:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Hiya,
    Came across this site whilst doing some research & feel like its the optimal way of finding out what i need to know. Trying to find somewhere in Dublin southside that does either krav maga (preferrably) or else MMA classes. Its been a while since I've been in Dublin & coming back from a long time living abroad leaves me absolutely clueless :confused: Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Hey! Welcome on board!

There's a world of difference between KM and MMA in my opinion. I'd recommend MMA style training, as it has more athleticism to it and is pressure tested more often.

Millionaire, who posts here, will tell you about the standard of KM in Ireland from his perspective I'm sure, and he's a KM enthusiast.

As far as classes go you have Next Generation in Loughlinstown under the insanely strong Dave Jones; Fianna Gym under in Sandyford under the insanely conditioned Pearse Stokes, and Spartan MMA in Firhouse under the just pure insane me :) There's also Three Castles MMA in Tallaght/Clondalkin under Dylan Costigan (couldn't think of a unique insane reference there)

All of these guys post here so if you give your location we'll be able to provide you with times etc.

Colm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Hi kmac20in,

Welcome to Boards.

Patrick Cumiskey Teaches KM next to Stephen's Green shopping centre, KM does have a bad rep on here but I think Patrick is an excellent instructor.
    Here's his website: http://www.kravmagaireland.com

MMA: John Kavangh BJJ black belt has his gym SBG(Straight Blast Gym) in Rathcoole if you can make it out to there he's it's probably the best gym in the country to train MMA. Most of the guys Colm mentioned including himself started training in MMA with John.

Not sure if John still does this (he can correct me as he post here) he previously did a free 1to1 training introduction which covers his Gym's training methods & ideas. I'd highly recommend it!
    http://www.sbgireland.com/

You should probably consider what you're looking for from your training.
    Have you done either KM or MMA before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Once KM is pressure tested full contact then your on the right track.

Have a look at the photo here, that is an example, full contact with gear to protect from injury (its near impossible to get 100% real to street self defence in training, so this is one version that is pretty close)

http://www.isayeret.com/guides/kravmaga.htm

I have converted to Tactical Krav Maga which is a very simple version of KM, has alot less techniques, and we're not concerned how a technique looks, as long as it works. www.tacticalkravmaga.com.au
    but this version of KM is not available in ireland. I teach in Thailand.

We do similar drills to the one in the picture.

MMA is real good too. If you after Self Defence concentrate on the striking end of MMA...ala Muay Thai..especially punches, elbows, knees...and get sparring in.

On difference btwn combat sport sparring and the street style sparring of Tactical KM...is you pace yourself in the sport...say in Muay Thai to last 5 rounds, if you do not go for an early KO. while street full contact sparring is a complete 60 seconds of full on non stop attack, you are luck if you can last 60 seconds... 30 secs of full on, really gets you.

I back my KM with with Muay Thai, and i am learning grappling, I find the grappling a real challenge and my teacher says a year to 18 months to get it flowing...so I am prepared to put the time in.

Drills for street are great, but if your not getting into some form of sparring your cheating yourself.

Personally I like KM, if it is trained hard and in all ranges.

I just re qualified as a Tactical Krav Maga Instructor and I am going to be their Instructor for Thailand.

This is the Founder of Tactical KM, who also backs it up with MMA.

He developed Tactical Krav Maga while serving 9 years in YAMAM, then was unarmed instructor for them and other units for a few years. So he has real hands on experience. :-0
    its a very simple system...reminds me off Geoff Thompson...hit first, hit hard, hit fast, keep hitting until their down.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YAMAM

Some vids of him doing MMA training...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbSxL3-S_1w

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=336117900677525538&q=Itay+Gil&hl=en

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 kmac20in

Guys,

A sincere thank you for yere responses so far, am blown away by yere contributions! It's pretty obvious yee guys know yere stuff and are really into MA.

Have done jujitsu for a few years and only a few months of KM before i had to travel abroad for work. So when i do relocate to Dublin in a few weeks I will definately explore getting back into it. I did create a likening to KM but I do have an open mind and MMA sounds wicked aswell.

To be honest im liking the sound of both - so many pro's to each of them - Tactical KM sounds class - unfortunate that it aint in Ireland yet. MMA is something that i will def want to try out.

Just wondering which classes offer the most hands-on, as in the most hardcore training, would prefer to throw myself into the deep end - so to speak.

Once again, thank you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kravist

Millionaire, who posts here, will tell you about the standard of KM in Ireland from his perspective I'm sure, and he's a KM enthusiast.

Too bloody right Millionaire will throw in his two penny's worth..and has done! But fair play to you Gerry..not the usual approach which is refreshing.

Colm......for a second there i thought KM in Ireland was going to be given Equal Oppertunity....amazing i can still be so naieve!!

Well I've never witnessed or heard report of anything that would convince me otherwise so...
    Just wondering which classes offer the most hands-on, as in the most hardcore training, would prefer to throw myself into the deep end - so to speak.

The Agoge - my kids class would be the toughest around, pity you're an adult!

All of us spar or do resistance drills for most of our classes, so you'll get a workout in them all. I'd suggest giving each a go, what can you lose?

Colm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

kmac20in wrote:
    Hiya,
    Came across this site whilst doing some research & feel like its the optimal way of finding out what i need to know. Trying to find somewhere in Dublin southside that does either krav maga (preferrably) or else MMA classes. Its been a while since I've been in Dublin & coming back from a long time living abroad leaves me absolutely clueless :confused: Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thank you
    try..
    http://www.kravmaga.ie/
    and
    http://www.kravmagaireland.com/
    both dublin based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

Well you are more than welcome to try a free class at next generation plus if you choose Thursday night "Fight Class" and make it through every round and every exercise repetition you can have your first month free, although we have been open 5 years this summer and have had "Fight Class" for 3 of those and I have never had to honour that free month :D

Seriously though any of the places suggested will be both hard core and realistic , thats what we are all about.

Well I've never witnessed or heard report of anything that would convince me otherwise so...

Colm
    Lmao..typical...hear what you want to hear and then as a moderator, therafter block whom ever might contradict your opinion!

kravist wrote:
    Lmao..typical...hear what you want to hear and then as a moderator, therafter block whom ever might contradict your opinion!

kravist wrote:

Can you provide evidence of how I've blocked someone?

If you feel I have abused my role as moderator you could contact the feedback forum or PM an SMod or Admin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Colm has never abused his position as Moderator, cheap trolling attempt Kravist, personal attacks are bannable offences on these boards you know. How ironic it would be if you attacking him about banning people resulted in your banning :)

Well..im only quoting what i've heard so...

(This is in fact the truth.....but i will concede, it was a cheap shot and aoplogise for it!
    However......equally cheap was your shot at KM standards here in Ireland.
    To say you've never "heard report" of otherwise i believe in as untruth. As moderator, you've surely read posts from various people praising the work done at www.kravmaga.ie!!)

Here Here!

All for Krav Maga will Full out Training!

Tactical Krav Maga HQ

Tactical Krav Maga Self Defence Thailand

Bangkok Krav Maga Self Defence

Pattaya Thailand Self Defense Krav Maga Martial Arts

Plug Plug... I need to pimp this lads...I m sure ya all understand! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

YouTube vid on Urban Tactical / Krav-Maga

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgeU312nTH0&mode=related&search=

Well BJJers, what do you think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭ShaneT

If you'll be living on the South Side you'd be mad not to take Dave Jones up on his offer. If your heading in to town; you're more than welcome to pop down to us for a few visits: www.mmaireland.com

-S.

ShaneT,

Watch it or you'll get banned, he said Southside, not Northside! :D
    A lot of compliant drills, no sparring. The techniques were not too dissimilar to Kenpo ones I used to train. I've never personally been able to utilise a wrist lock to move someone around or know anyone who I've personally witnessed to be able to do it in a non compliant atmosphere.

Right at the end, with the guy running out the building and the others pushing him back with kick pads is real fun, I do that with my kids and call it "gauntlet"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

O'Leprosy wrote:

I OBJECT!

Why did you say "Well BJJers"? Why not, "Well, anyone with a critical viewpoint"? Its a grand video, and I'd say they had fun on their roadtrip around that Industrial Estate, but its not really "pressure testing" for the most part is it?

ShaneT,

Watch it or you'll get banned, he said Southside, not Northside! :D
    LOL! :D How's it going Colm?

We're in town; so we're neither north nor south. Still think he'd bad mad not to take Dave up on his offer though (assuming he'll be living near Loughlinstown). ;)

ShaneT wrote:
    We're in town; so we're neither north nor south.
    Oh Shane, you still have much to learn in the ways of the Liffey. We own from the bridge back, never concede a yard or before you know it we'll all be drinking decaf lattés and calling our children Fuinneog.

Roper wrote:
    ...never concede a yard or before you know it we'll all be drinking decaf lattés and calling our children Fuinneog.
    :D You may own south of the Liffey... but I own... Um... I own... well... East Wall... 915.gif

ShaneT wrote:
    :D You may own south of the Liffey... but I own... Um... I own... well... East Wall... 915.gif
    What a faux pas Shane! I'm a Northsider!

Roper wrote:
    What a faux pas Shane! I'm a Northsider!
    Holy Crap! So you are!

Wait up. So, Dave own's the south. You own the north. What do I get? :(

See.. this is what I get for being Johnny foreigner! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Barry's not a real Northsider anyway. Everyone knows that "da Nortsoide" ends at the Five Lamps, everything after that is "de cunntry"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

MMA makes you big and strong. Chicks dig MMA. Chicks dig big a strong men. The choice is clearly obvious.

Clive wrote:
    Barry's not a real Northsider anyway. Everyone knows that "da Nortsoide" ends at the Five Lamps, everything after that is "de cunntry"
    I'm worse now I'm living in De North County, but I'm not married to my cousin so I don't fit in that well. Its true, if theres a field between the city and you, thats out in the country.

dlofnep wrote:
    MMA makes you big and strong. Chicks dig MMA. Chicks dig big a strong men. The choice is clearly obvious.

Guys dig chicks rolling about on mats together..wasn't aware the reverse was true! Interesting!

" A lot of compliant drills, no sparring. The techniques were not too dissimilar to Kenpo ones I used to train. I've never personally been able to utilise a wrist lock to move someone around or know anyone who I've personally witnessed to be able to do it in a non compliant atmosphere. "

Yeah Colm, there also similiar to soem of the techniques I done in TKD. In these compliant drills - (a) the 'bad' guy doesn't resist or (b) he resists EXACTLY in the way the other bloke wants. That's interesting about wrist locks. Aikido trains a lot in wrist locks dosn't it. Anyone ever done Aikido and used a wrist lock in real life ? I'm not out to insult anyone, but if it doesn't work in real life what is the point ?

Why ask BJJers especially about their opinion of Krav Maga submission/restratant techniques - because BJJ is done with full resitance of the opponent. I do a bit of BJJ myself and to be honest, when it comes to grappling/restraint on the floor, it's the business. BJJ has more than proved itself in MMA.

O'Leprosy wrote:
    " A lot of compliant drills, no sparring. The techniques were not too dissimilar to Kenpo ones I used to train. I've never personally been able to utilise a wrist lock to move someone around or know anyone who I've personally witnessed to be able to do it in a non compliant atmosphere. "

Yeah Colm, there also similiar to soem of the techniques I done in TKD. In these compliant drills - (a) the 'bad' guy doesn't resist or (b) he resists EXACTLY in the way the other bloke wants. That's interesting about wrist locks. Aikido trains a lot in wrist locks dosn't it. Anyone ever done Aikido and used a wrist lock in real life ? I'm not out to insult anyone, but if it doesn't work in real life what is the point ?

Why ask BJJers especially about their opinion of Krav Maga submission/restratant techniques - because BJJ is done with full resitance of the opponent. I do a bit of BJJ myself and to be honest, when it comes to grappling/restraint on the floor, it's the business. BJJ has more than proved itself in MMA.
    right from the start?
    first minute of the first class taken?
    or is there a progression of training leading up to it?
    i agree with what is being said about the clip, but that doesn't mean that full resistant training isn't included in krav.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Subbway

SorGan wrote:
    right from the start?
    or is there a progression of training leading up to it?

Pretty much from the start. Best way to learn what not to do when rolling is getting tapped 100x doing same mistake (I don't know how many triangles it was before i learned to keep both hands out or both hands in... But it was plenty).

Off course there might be some position sparring or just drill sparring just for starters... But it is done in full resistance. But off course when learning techniques they are drilled bit for start.

right from the start?

Yes, I've people starting and in their first class they'll be sparring. I'll pair them up with someone for 30 seconds or so with an objective like "hold him down" or "get him off" you and let them experience it firsthand. Once you've experienced the problem you're more open to the solution.

No, that's the introduction, then the warm up. :D About ten-fifteen mins in they'll be drilling: given an objective and a level of resistance they're to offer and then let train it athletically. Some drills are competitive, where both people have an objective and are trying to win. Others one partner is a training aid, adjusting their resistance until their partner can just about execute the technique, then upping the resistance.

Then sparring: intensity at your own level. Beginners invariably are intense and gas out quickly, but sure it's a great experience.

Hopefully that paints a better picture,
    Colm

To be fair, that would depend on the BJJ club. I'm sure there are clubs out there who don't train with progressive resistance or even resistance and whose training methods would leave a lot to be desired athletically. Once again it comes down to the methods, not the man!

Yes, I've people starting and in their first class they'll be sparring. I'll pair them up with someone for 30 seconds or so with an objective like "hold him down" or "get him off" you and let them experience it firsthand. Once you've experienced the problem you're more open to the solution.

No, that's the introduction, then the warm up. :D About ten-fifteen mins in they'll be drilling: given an objective and a level of resistance they're to offer and then let train it athletically. Some drills are competitive, where both people have an objective and are trying to win. Others one partner is a training aid, adjusting their resistance until their partner can just about execute the technique, then upping the resistance.

Then sparring: intensity at your own level. Beginners invariably are intense and gas out quickly, but sure it's a great experience.

Hopefully that paints a better picture,
    Colm
    it does indeed:)
    perhaps we can get a brief response from some krav maga exponents, on the question of resistance training?

SorGan wrote:
    it does indeed:)
    perhaps we can get a brief response from some krav maga exponents, on the question of resistance training?

When training Krav Maga properly, one should always be reminded of if necessary to "Be a Good Attacker!" ie: when throwing a punch, ensure if it is not defended properly..contact is made. How intense this contact is, is determined by the ability of those training.
    Similarly, during a stick attack...training partners should ensure the stick would strike but for the hand or body defence of the would be victim.
    Obviously..the better the guys are..the harder/stronger/faster the attacks.
    When slow fighting....invariably people go faster than they are supposed to. This is not necessarily a bad thing as it becomes more realistic, provided "Safety in training" levels are maintained..Again...the ability (and more often than not a bruised ego) of those training will decide speed etc.

any padded suit/mma type sparring?
    pressure testing etc?

my knowledge is limited here:)

O'Leprosy wrote:
    "

I do it all striking, Muay Thai, Krav Maga and learning BJJ/Grappling.

The problem with BJJ is it takes too long to learn. my own MMA coach tell sme give it at least a year before I can "roll" with any level of skills. (and outside BJJ grappling, I am very experienced MA person).

Also you do not want to be on the ground in a self defence situation, as attacker usually has buddies who will boot your head in, nor will you probaby have nice mat under your knees to stop them getting minced, and nor nice easy to move in training gear.

I much put a hard striking art like Muay Thai, Boxing or Full Contact Kickboxing (KM should be trained striking as per these arts anyway IMO), and some street psychology from the likes of Geoff Thompson ala the Fence etc... I d recommend this a million times over just learing BJJ for the street.

Take the above strike arts e.g. Muay Thai with good boxign skills as your foundation and add a slightly different angle for the street. Spar alot etc. Train hard. learn to hit hard and fats with 6 - 8 punch combos...this I train alot myself on bag, with pad man etc etc.

Then you'll be ok for street. as long as you have "win at all costs attitude"!

I've never trained mma, although i'd like to..so i can only guess the type of sparring they do.
    In Krav, Head butts, groin strikes etc are par for the course....so to spar these 100% is almost impossible. I've taken many a good shot on my groin guard that bent me over and even at that, the guys were working closer to 60%.
    We do spar with gloves etc, but this only happens at instructor level.
    Pressure testing...stress testing would be Krav's equivalent. This would include drills like the victim standing still, eyes closed with attackers surrounding and attacking at will, and the victim dealing as best they could. Again..this can't be done 100%...after all..it's training not fighting. This is more to protect the would be attacker rather than the victim... who would want to turn up again and again if they kept getting knee'd in the groin and headbutted in the face. (unless you wanted to go to the "Learn it all in 24 hours class"..often commented on here)
    I guess the Krav ethos is more to train as hard as possible with as little as possible padding. This makes one more aware of the pain both in giving and receiving an attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

The problem with BJJ is it takes too long to learn. my own MMA coach tells me give it at least a year before I can "roll" with any level of skills.

Depends on how much effort you are willing to put in. I have guys with under 6 months trainingwho can roll and cause blue belts all sorts of problems. Once you have a grasp of the positions and a few basic subs under your belt, its all about practice, practice, practice with a resisting opponent(s)

I would also argue that anyone with 6 months BJJ under their belt and no other martial arts experience would cause those holding black belts in arts other than judo or BJJ no end of problems. So its a quick sharp learning curve but one well worth jumping on.
    Also you do not want to be on the ground in a self defence situation
    Granted, but not always a choice and would be nice to have the necessary skills should you end up there.

The problem with BJJ is it takes too long to learn.

I'd extend that to saying that fighting takes a long time to learn before you can play, when compared to simpler sports, but any sport or physical activity takes quite a while to gain mastery in it.
    Also you do not want to be on the ground in a self defence situation

Again you can extend this one step, I don't want to be in a self defence situation. But like Dave said, when you're on the ground in the dreaded street is not the first time to be put in that situation.
    I've never trained mma, although i'd like to..so i can only guess the type of sparring they do.

I don't have access to youtube right now but you could probably do a search for mma training and get something. John has posted vids of his athletes preparing for comp, there was a thread a while back so maybe a boards search for "sbg training" or "sbg training vids"?

I'd extend that to saying that fighting takes a long time to learn before you can play, when compared to simpler sports, but any sport or physical activity takes quite a while to gain mastery in it.

Again you can extend this one step, I don't want to be in a self defence situation. But like Dave said, when you're on the ground in the dreaded street is not the first time to be put in that situation.

I don't have access to youtube right now but you could probably do a search for mma training and get something. John has posted vids of his athletes preparing for comp, there was a thread a while back so maybe a boards search for "sbg training" or "sbg training vids"?
    and a year before you can hold your own sounds reasonable.
    anyone know what the ground techniques in krav maga/combatives are based on/taken from?

I would also argue that anyone with 6 months BJJ under their belt and no other martial arts experience would cause those holding black belts in arts other than judo or BJJ no end of problems. So its a quick sharp learning curve but one well worth jumping on.

Granted, but not always a choice and would be nice to have the necessary skills should you end up there.

Yes agree 110% on that. Thats why I am learning.

Yes, KM got ground work, but not to stay on ground, get back to feet asap.

Tactical KM I do lots of defences against MMA G n P, and do alot of wrestling bridge roll work, to get attacker off, and us back to feet. eyes, balls, thrown in too. but KM I do , we realise an experienced grappler would cause problems. many of the guys in the organistation i m in now cross train MMA, SUb Wrestling, Muay Thai, just for their own interests.(a bit like myself)

I do find it a steep learning curve, and will stick at it. I know myself once I get through a certain level it will click for me.

Again for street, assuming we cannot walk away (cause I do not want to be in fights either), I d still go striking.

Also you do not want to be on the ground in a self defence situation, as attacker usually has buddies who will boot your head in, nor will you probaby have nice mat under your knees to stop them getting minced, and nor nice easy to move in training gear.

"Also you do not want to be on the ground in a self defence situation," You mightn't have any choice in the situation, does'nt take an international Rugby player to grab a hold of someone in a brawl and for both parties to end up on the floor in a second or two.

" as attacker usually has buddies who will boot your head in " If he has a few buddies with him, either (a) you try run for it like an olmypic sprinter or (b) your fcuked anyway. One fella fending off several attackers is lovely in the movies, unless your Chuck Liddell, Tito Ortiz, etc in real life the chances of it are almost zero for the average amateur martial artist.

" nor will you probaby have nice mat under your knees to stop them getting minced " No BJJer is going to tell you that if it goes to the concrete he is'nt going to get a bruise or two. That's one of the problems with many trad MA promisies by the masters and 'experts', i.e. you'll walk away like James Bond with your maybe hair slightly ruffled but that's all. BJJ/MMAers live in the real world, a stupid brawl is not pleasent and that you'll come out of it without a scratch. But in the white heat of a brawl, with testosterone running wildly thru you, most people could live with a few bumps while wrestling on the ground . Besides, you may have no choice in the matter.

" nor nice easy to move in training gear. " I'm not trying to undermine every statement you make Millionaire, because when it comes to self defence your heart is in the right place, but that's why BJJers train in a Gi. I only got a Gi before last Xmas, done it with reluctance as I thought to be honest, it was just for keeping up tradition/sport etc. Just goes to show how little I knew. Firstly, because the Gi is so thick and heavy and difficult to move in compared to the freeness of a t shirt, it actually similuates grappling in an everyday situation say, a jacket of anorak on. Serious. There are many ingenious choke submissions that can be learned and applied from it, not to mention taking better control of an opponents arms, legs etc Even the belt can be utilised, such as by gripping when someone is trying to pull at your arm to get a keylock or armbar or whatever.

I have no doubt Millionaire with your Muay Thai background that when it comes to striking you can more than do the business. I only done a few classes in Muay Thai and how you blokes can put up with those low shin kicks !!! I'll stick to doing TKD patterns (kata) :D . But BJJ does have a steep learning curve, ( God knows I'm long enough trying to learn it ), but a learning curve that's worth learning, even just for the sheer enjoyment/sport of the art itself.

O'Leprosy wrote:
    does'nt take an international Rugby player to grab a hold of someone in a brawl and for both parties to end up on the floor in a second or two.

Yes, and if one does not address the attacker with strikes to get him out of the game, this has happened me too in real situations...for me dirty tricks worked wonders.
    One fella fending off several attackers is lovely in the movies,

I got attacked by 6 in a foreign country, while alone, got 2 sucker punches in the eye, and a bottle attack, and I still managed to fight them off, even though I was coming from a bad start. In the end they did get my wallet, but I damaged 3 bad, and the other 3 ran with the money. I just came out with a black eye and cuts on head from bottle. (and it is not the only 3 - 4 on one I had)....if you have the fighting spirit and the aggression sometimes you can save you butt...or minimise the damage...its down to survival at that stage.
    I've been there, I 've done it, I know.

" nor nice easy to move in training gear. "

no need to use a BJJ Gi to get reality...train in jeans, t shirt, jacket if winter in ireland.
    but a learning curve that's worth learning, even just for the sheer enjoyment/sport of the art itself.

Yes of course, that why I am a grappling (mix of sub and bjj) beginning student! :) (humbling to leave years of striking outside the door of grappling school, thats a good leave you ego behind exercise for any experienced MA person)

" and if one does not address the attacker with strikes to get him out of the game, ". Doesn't mean that strikes are foolproof at preventing someone taking you to the ground. Look what happened to some of the best striker's in the world in the early UFC's. Ok, they were against first class BJJers, wrestlers, Judo etc, but the boast of striking for decades was that strikers punches , kicks, knees etc would prevent the grappler from getting a hold of them, if not knock them out on the spot. Didn't happen. If Joe Bloggs is determined enough, I'd say he's got at least a 50/50 chance of taking it to the ground in the pandamonium and white heat of a brawl.

" no need to use a BJJ Gi to get reality...train in jeans, t shirt, jacket if winter in ireland. " True, it's possible to use a jacket, jeans, t shirt, but the Gi is stitched super strong. Indeed, a jacket would lend more reality to training, but an ordinary jacket collar wouldn't last too long training in a BJJ club, a couple of classes and the collar/neck would start to be in shreds. Ok, you could buy another cheap one in an Oxfam shop :) , but the hardy Gi would probably cost less in the long term ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mrknash

hi friend,
    theres a kravmaga seminar on the 21st and 22nd of july from 10am until 3pm at the okc in shandon street cork its been run by steve folan and aiden caroll two of the best instructors ever to come out of krav maga they are israeli trained and with tons of experience in other martial arts aswell cost is 150€ and worth every cent you will learn so much in a short space of time you can get more details at info@kravmaga.ie i will be attending myself and hope to see you and who ever else is interested in a reality based and proven fighting system

O'Leprosy wrote:

For the record......................
    this is not Tactical Krav Maga
    The instructor in this clip is Peter Lakatos, IKMF director in Hungary!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 jilindragon

hi,guys .recomand a club in city centre
    contact master yang:0879349509
    or www.jilindragon.com